Xiaomi Mi3 Official Thread V7, The fastest thread ever milestone!

volrath
post Jun 2 2014, 02:11 PM

440 posts

Does everyone here updated the firmware to 14.0?

Just got it just now (Silver 16gb).

My hand is itchy to root, coz used to use MIUI for 2 years already, suddenly see bloatwares here and there, I beh tahan >.<.

Thanks in advance!

volrath
post Jun 2 2014, 02:20 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jun 2 2014, 02:15 PM)
well some case will give u this kinda problem... depends how it design... maybe u take out the case and use blade to trim it a lil... i did for some case also... sometimes also u stick it slightly offset or slanted... so no choice...
mine upgrade... if root already no OTA u need to push it in yourself everytime...
your choice.. i'm still thinking to push in Dev ROM or not... or just root n use...
shits... how how how...
Haha thanks for the input!

Well, my phone is only 1 hour old, guess maybe I should just give it a go and see?

I just can't live without Titanium only T.T

I'll update using OTA sin.
volrath
post Jun 2 2014, 02:24 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(WIS9000 @ Jun 2 2014, 02:22 PM)
bumping my earlier question in case everyone missed it.

was asking whether there are any flip cases which mi3's screen would turn on when it is opened.
I tried on my friend's Mi3 with that flipping case thing.

It didn't turn on/lock the phone.

Not sure if there's only 1 type of flip cases or he could be using other ones.
volrath
post Jun 2 2014, 02:26 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jun 2 2014, 02:23 PM)
my fren is a Dev Beta Tester in SG... he said there are bounce out of apps once a while...
but all core function on messaging (incl whatsapp and wechat) and call no problem...
but overall is a usable daily driver... but instead if you are not a ROM flasher previously...
you might not able to withstand the small bugs... so give and take lo...

once flashed to Dev u got ROOT... that is really  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
back up apps and things will be much much easier...
Yea, I'm an avid flasher (probably a core reason why I have never used an Apple phones) . I can live with bugs.. I just want full control.
volrath
post Jun 2 2014, 03:21 PM

440 posts

So, I am charging my Miao.

The charging speed is horrendously slow T.T

Is this the way it is? I heard about this 1A charger 2A charger..so how do we speed things up?

volrath
post Jun 2 2014, 03:42 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(chlim @ Jun 2 2014, 03:25 PM)
Get a 2amp charger,  you won't regret.
Hey, you led me to my next question biggrin.gif

How would I know which charger is safe to get? Apart from it being a 2A charger?

Like any particular good brand?

P/S: Will USB charging also apply? Or USB charger is always the same regardless of what cable we use.
volrath
post Jun 2 2014, 03:56 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Jun 2 2014, 03:53 PM)
I get Ipad charger 2.4A... but freaking RM79  sweat.gif tongue.gif
http://store.apple.com/my/product/MD836MY/...b-power-adapter
Oh help me understand this. The thing that matters is the head plug right? The one with the ampere power. It's never the cable?

If that's the case then I just use my iPad charger only lah lol. (they don't have any conflicting issue right? You know, like incompatibility).

volrath
post Jun 2 2014, 04:00 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(apache_utara @ Jun 2 2014, 03:57 PM)
I bought several 2A adapters from lelong (found one which was around RM15, cheap!  laugh.gif )
And used that to compare with ori xiaomi charger which is 1A, and true enough it's 2A (incoming about 1.2A)

But yeah, different cables do affect the charger to, i used a cheapo usb cable, and the charging current down to ~600mA-700mA only

doh.gif
Interesting. So we can measure this current thing right? Saw it on a thread, like the output power showing on his android device.

volrath
post Jun 2 2014, 04:10 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Jun 2 2014, 04:01 PM)
there's an app in play store... but some say it might not accurate
I see. Thanks.

So, in theory... there's no way to speed up USB charging, like charging via notebook.

But, high quality USB cables (which I had no clue how we can see this apart from trusting good brands?)

volrath
post Jun 2 2014, 05:03 PM

440 posts

I play Little Empire.

So this is the first game I played on Miao.

Very vivid graphics, huge boosts for me.

But the phone heats up until my palm sweat! Hahahah god damn it.
volrath
post Jun 2 2014, 05:13 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(mstr583 @ Jun 2 2014, 05:10 PM)
Why with Phone ON that charging is more faster than OFF condition??
IF I were to think logically, the OS assisted the distribution of power and fasten the process with the use of some sort of software embedded in the phone(of course by not using data/wifi/gps on maybe)......whereas Off charging means it just does stuffs normally.

Just my opinion if it was true, otherwise, the poster was drunk as he was typing.

volrath
post Jun 3 2014, 04:06 PM

440 posts

So here's my 1 day review after I got my Miao. (Silver)

I hope I can shed some light to people who intended to own but not too sure if you'd want it.

Info:

Got it from directd SS15 Subang (they have quite large amount of stock...macam ada underground cartel supplying to them haha).

Went there at noon yesterday, the shop was freaking packed with people. Till the dude shouted "Okay, Mi3 buyer please queue this lane, for other phones please queue on this lane!" lol..what a handful.

Price: RM 929, they marked up, but I didn't care. Coz I went to Lowyat Plaza the day before, almost everyone is selling at RM1,100-1,200.

Black/White - RM960 respectively.

Build: Very light and solid. I had a hiccup trying to pluck the sim card tray out, becareful when you use the pin, it could peel the housing/color layer. Be gentle. I dented mine lol.

Speed: Blazing fast. Godamn it no complains there. (I'm a skeptical douche la, when I did AnTuTu benchmark, mana tahu if mi3 can somewhat always come on top each time we bench it haha...coz no matter how many times I do it, it always score #1. Is this benchmark really legit?)

Heat: It heats up quite mad also, certain games really squeezes its juice to the max. If I play on conserve mode, then games slowed down a little, quite noticeable but the phone doesn't heat up as much. I'm a naked user, so the heat is quite intense, making me sweat. So, if you're concerned, use a phone cover.

Capacity: 16GB non-expandable, some people live through this, I do. But if you are the kind who likes to store images of your selfies all the time, better get cloud storage.

Display: 441ppi, I don't think I need to clarify further. It's awesome.

Camera: Not much of a camera man, but according to my fiance's claim, its pretty good.

All in all, it's a good daily use phone that's only a fragment of a flagship brands prices out there. I think the black Mi3 is the best among all colors. Very sleek like Prada liddat. But I chose Silver..coz it's RM40 cheaper. (Kind of regretting a little bit when my fiance said, I could've just closed an eye and pay for Black color and be happy and don't smoke for 4 days to make up for hahah...shit).

volrath
post Jun 3 2014, 04:11 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(SetsunaFSeiei Exia00 @ Jun 3 2014, 04:10 PM)
Anyone having any problem verifying number for WhatsApp?
Reboot your phone, mine had a problem too. I rebooted the device and it worked.
volrath
post Jun 3 2014, 04:26 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Jun 3 2014, 04:22 PM)
[/spoiler]

Splendid review there mate. Wanna add, the front camera is actually pretty good. My friends gf kept using his Mi3 for selfies laugh.gif
Thanks! and hey, yeah I misquoted. I was actually referring to my fiance's feedback towards the frontal camera where people like to selfies. It's pretty good compared to her Note 2.

Thanks for pointing that out biggrin.gif
volrath
post Jun 3 2014, 04:34 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jun 3 2014, 04:10 PM)
Actually all phone will heat up if play game.

And please don't put in case. Else, the heat cannot escape and damage your phone.
Hi, thanks for the input.

Coz I never owned luxurious phone after my Galaxy Note 1, 3 years ago and recently changed to Mi3, I didn't know about flagship phones. Means even the likes of S4, S5 also heats up like mad?

And yea, I always use my phone naked. But the solid body still feel flimsy like I can scratch it any time haha.

But as you said, heat may not ventilate freely out of the cover hence it's better naked.

But to be honest, this is a primary phone for me which I don't really care if it's damaged physically for the price I paid. I am the king, not the phone. So the phone has to take care of me lol.

volrath
post Jun 3 2014, 04:49 PM

440 posts

Ohhh okay bah liddat.

Then I don't think I got any negative feedback on this phone..people say 16gb isn't enough, I don't take pics much and I got an Ipad to enjoy games.

Software-wise also is so good it doesn't feel like bloatwares.

..will stay stock for awhile until root is more friendlier. Can't wait to have full control over miself~~~
volrath
post Jun 3 2014, 05:55 PM

440 posts

I think it's pronounced as Mi-yu-eee.

Watched their presentation and hear them say that. But maybe I was wrong. Heck maybe the company was wrong pronouncing it hahaha!

Yea, CPU load is above 50% for me as well, but as the poster said before this, as long as it doesn't lag your phone, don't bother trying to reduce it. This isn't Windows hahahah!
volrath
post Jun 4 2014, 04:51 PM

440 posts

Darn, thread moved too fast.

Sorry if it was posted before.

I couldn't find a timer on camera, like for selfies for example...back/front camera..I can't find it in the settings.

Any ideas?
volrath
post Jun 4 2014, 04:59 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(baowen @ Jun 4 2014, 04:57 PM)
bro... the stable rom  come with Swiftkey preinstalled
the dev rom doesn't have it

so just dl from play store and add it, problem solved.. why need keep restore reset wipe so ma fan... hhahaha
deadravel.... ur avatar already told everyone your fingering skill is superb and managed get 6pb on 3rd sales.. that proven already biggrin.gif
Lol exactly. Why so ma fan wiping? Just go PlayStore and re-download only. I did the same too.

My phone did not come with SwiftKey (I opened from box, and turn it on, and there's NO SwiftKey)

So that alone exclude the fact that it came with it, unless my Mi3 came from different planet.
volrath
post Jun 4 2014, 05:25 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(Kyl3 @ Jun 4 2014, 05:21 PM)
Neat trick, you can add a new note quickly by swiping up on Notes app icon
Omg new discovery! I just leveled up!

Thanks bro for the tip! really handy.

@De Gaea: Mine didn't come with SwiftKey -.-..weird.

0.0402sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:59 AM