eXPeri3nc3
post Sep 3 2006, 06:28 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

How about doing this??

I like AVS because it's more reliable than other free AV's. smile.gif

Although sometimes my system will lag a bit.
eXPeri3nc3
post Sep 17 2006, 02:59 PM

9,257 posts

Ok la, although it lags my pc a bit while scanning...
Pentium III... sleep.gif

erm, it detects virus in zipped files where other anitvirus can't detect...
I like this feature...

Even in installers it still can detect virus encrypted inside, the only thing matters is time. smile.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Sep 18 2006, 01:29 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(alvintan84 @ Sep 18 2006, 02:35 AM)
It sounds good from the way it looks..But i still stick with AVG..don't wan put so many antivirus program too many if not my notebook hang later laugh.gif
But seriously AVS is way better than AVG.
Despite the fact it might lag your pc a bit more, it provides better protection.
You might reconsider whether to change or not. nod.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Dec 15 2006, 05:11 PM

9,257 posts

I got mine in inbox. Using GMail FYI.

And one activation code can be used on multiple PCs FYI. biggrin.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jan 3 2007, 05:49 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(nessus @ Aug 8 2006, 03:53 PM)
How to: Offline Installation for AVS Without Online Activation
Note: You still need to get the license key online first. This guide is for subsequent offline installation of AVS

1) Obtain an activation code from AVS via email.

2) Generate a license key using the activation code at https://activation.kaspersky.com/

3) The next time you install AVS, make sure the .key file is in the same location as AVS setup file. That way, it won't have to activate online.

A general installation and configuration guide is available at http://www.drtweak.com.  Note that AVS will flag mIRC as riskware if you enable "Potentially dangerous software..." in the Protection Menu.

1 : Quoted directly from http://www.kaspersky.com/faq?qid=194134869
2 : Quoted partially from http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,126803-p...cy/article.html
Thank you very much for the heads up notworthy.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jan 3 2007, 06:14 PM

9,257 posts

On second thought, does it work?

Since there's no activate using existing license key option in AVS. That function is only available in Kaspersky... sweat.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jan 8 2007, 08:54 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(nessus @ Jan 8 2007, 08:13 PM)
Yes it does smile.gif. I won't post it up if I haven't tried it.
Oh ok thanks for clearing that. smile.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jan 10 2007, 04:12 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(nessus @ Jan 9 2007, 03:29 PM)
Hi mdzaboy, by the look of the pic you posted, are you running 2 network cards at once or are you running a wired and a wireless connection at once? There's a very rare issue with Kaspersky KIS v6 and I think it also applies to KAV v6 where running two network controllers would trigger the error you're getting. You could clarify the problem by disabling one of your network controllers, then restart and see if the error still occurs.

If you're running a ppoe connection, I don't really know if it would trigger the problem or not. You could try setting your modem to router mode to test it out. Try this only if the above paragraph fails to solve your problem.

Normally customers would contact Kaspersky to get a new key which eliminates the problem but because AVS is free, I think they won't provide you with tech support. There's currently no fix for the issue either. What you can do now is see if the above solutions work for you or not. If they don't you can try applying for keys until one of them works (I have no idea if this would work or not). If all else fails, use another free AV. There's a few which are pretty good smile.gif
Respect, and I just can't help it, how the hell you know that? doh.gif notworthy.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jan 16 2007, 12:25 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jan 16 2007, 09:05 AM)
KAV only 28.5MB.  brows.gif
Although this might seem out of the blue, but how large is AVS?
I'm not at home, don't bother asking me to check it out myself wink.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jan 17 2007, 06:51 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jan 17 2007, 05:36 PM)
i think should be the less or the same since both is actually almos he same,right?  icon_idea.gif
As AVS doesn't have that webprotect function or whatever...
So I assume it to be smaller..

I know the size of the installer is around 12MB icon_idea.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jan 18 2007, 12:42 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jan 17 2007, 07:27 PM)
i advise not to use a AV without web protec feature. sad.gif
That's why I use firewall brows.gif
I love AVS so much.. It even saved me from that pesky VML exploit that time... Thank god...

If not I need to reformat again... doh.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jan 26 2007, 06:02 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(tan_pang @ Jan 25 2007, 09:34 PM)
after that stupid Norton expired and ask me to pay
i change to this, and give it a try

and it is good!!!
first update is really slow like hell, transfer rate is around 1-2kBps only...
after that when run full scan in safe mode, not bad
and the mem usage is low too!! thumbup.gif

is it really didnt have web protect??
the Windows Firewall can help??
Sadly, no.
Use outpost or PC Tools Firewall.
I used both. Quite good. But outpost comes with anti-spyware and trial version. sad.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jan 29 2007, 12:19 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jan 26 2007, 07:03 PM)
but the outpost can detect the trojan trigger inside webpage ler. =_="
because it comes with that anti-spyware function =_="
eXPeri3nc3
post Jan 31 2007, 07:06 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jan 31 2007, 06:39 PM)
acually i type wrong, it cant actually.
But for once it actually blocked VML exploit... sweat.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Mar 6 2007, 06:27 PM

9,257 posts

Hey guys, is there any way to download the AVS definition updates manually? unsure.gif

Thanks. smile.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Mar 20 2007, 01:41 PM

9,257 posts

You're infected with virus lah, non-related to the presence of AVS.
But since you're with AVS, it should have tackled it out. unsure.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Mar 20 2007, 06:31 PM

9,257 posts

Run this

http://www.techsupportforum.com/sectools/s...Disinfector.exe
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 1 2007, 01:21 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(nessus @ May 30 2007, 06:27 PM)
Giving this thread a much needed bump  smile.gif and also to inform eXPeri3nc3 on how I manually update AVS upon first install.
The closest I got to installing updates manually is by copying three folders from an already updated system with AVS installed and copy them to a new AVS installation before restarting the system. These three folders are

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\AOL\AVP6\Bases
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\AOL\AVP6\Data
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\AOL\AVP6\Dskm

How I do it is I create the following folder structure AOL\AVP6, then put the three folders into it. After that I make a self extracting archive using Winrar instructing it to extract the contents to %AllUsersProfile%\Application Data.

So after initial installation of AVS, I run the winrar file, then restart the system. AVS might complain about corrupted files after the restart and it will ask you to restart again to apply updates. After the second restart, updates will be applied without any errors. Apart from the Bases folder, I don't know what exactly the other two folders do, I'll be very happy if someone could find out smile.gif. If I manage to find out what files are needed exactly to update AVS without going online, I'll post a how-to on the first page then.
Woot! Nice bump indeed. flex.gif
Thanks for the heads up again. Tho' my main question is to know whether manual updates can be downloaded, as sometimes auto updates gives you trouble. =3
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 9 2007, 12:39 AM

9,257 posts

Webprotect... Sweat sweat.gif

I'll change to NOD32 soon, try and see if it's really that resource friendly or not. Til then I'm still a proud user of AVS! rclxm9.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 10 2007, 12:03 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jun 9 2007, 07:00 PM)
still review had show tat avs is lot more efficiency than nod32 in real time protect.
I know, but if nod32 is really resource friendly I rather choose it over AVS as I'm running out of resource very fast. sad.gif

0.0393sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:41 AM