Condo facing direction

TSHou_JaI
post May 30 2014, 04:46 PM, updated 12y ago

1,129 posts

Hi all, I am planning to purchase a condo, and while looking for available units, there are different facing i.e. south-east, north-west etc ...
Just want to know if i were to choose north-west, what are the things that i need to take note of? example heat, wind, etc ...

notworthy.gif
Xander-G
post May 30 2014, 04:48 PM

316 posts

Feng-shui
TSHou_JaI
post May 30 2014, 04:55 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(Xander-G @ May 30 2014, 04:48 PM)
Feng-shui
not interested in feng shui more lie everyday things that i should take note of blush.gif
futra
post May 30 2014, 04:59 PM

1,267 posts

What parents told me.. find a house facing the sun rise, but not directly lol.. It brings light into the home, ur wet clothes can dry faster/longer than those house not getting sunlight. Moving towards sunset, u can lepak at balcony without worrying sun shining ur face while having ur tea time..
Xccess
post May 30 2014, 05:00 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

Yes....better take note of where your rooms are facing, any walls roasting from afternoon till evening will turn the rooms into oven.

This post has been edited by Xccess: May 30 2014, 05:02 PM
TSHou_JaI
post May 30 2014, 05:02 PM

1,129 posts

icic, but facing north-west, not directly west, would the impact be severe still ?

anyone having houses/rooms facing north-west? plz advice
Xccess
post May 30 2014, 05:41 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

It also depends on the orientation of your unit like example, corner unit or a unit beside you to help shield a bit from the sun or a unit behind you acting as a shield from the afternoon sun.

Think you better post the building plan. I'm a bit dizzy and confuse with what I'm trying to explain. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
BingYao
post May 30 2014, 05:45 PM

446 posts

I'm also interested to know what if the rooms are facing south west.
TSHou_JaI
post May 30 2014, 05:49 PM

1,129 posts

xccess, my master bed room and balcony are facing north-west.

Xccess
post May 30 2014, 06:18 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(Hou_JaI @ May 30 2014, 05:49 PM)
Better wait for other sifu to give you guidance, best is to visit that place early in the morning and return again in the evening.

This post has been edited by Xccess: May 30 2014, 06:23 PM
tarvalslain87
post May 30 2014, 06:22 PM

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
5,054 posts

My house is facing north-east... So it gets the indirect morning sun and not the afternoon sun. Preferably avoid facing western side unless there is no other option (due to developer's layout). Thats my opinion smile.gif
MonsterPips
post May 30 2014, 08:10 PM

332 posts

facing east or west is just one thing. the other thing is the view.
Will you choose east facing with highway view or west facing with pool view.
PangurBan
post May 30 2014, 10:08 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(Hou_JaI @ May 30 2014, 05:02 PM)
icic, but facing north-west, not directly west, would the impact be severe still ?

anyone having houses/rooms facing north-west? plz advice
I have a house facing north-north west, and although the late afternoon/evening sun only strikes the walls of the front bedroom obliquely, this was enough to make the room feel very uncomfortable at night. Until I fixed it.
CoffeeCow
post May 30 2014, 11:42 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Hou_JaI @ May 30 2014, 05:49 PM)
Will be hot like hell for 6~9 months of a year cause the earth tilt 15 deg, you getting as west for 6 months.

BingYao
post May 31 2014, 10:34 AM

446 posts

http://www.suncalc.net/#/3.139,101.6869,12/2014.05.31/10:31

It really depends which part of the year..

http://singaporenewshub.blogspot.com/2010/...-chart-for.html

Generally west will be hot while east will be cool. North-West and South-West alternates half yearly to whom receives the noon-evening sun.
PSM Home
post May 31 2014, 11:59 AM

76 posts

I'm not a sifu on feng shui, but my personally experience is not to have your sleeping room window facing the West, as the heat from the sun will makes your room feel like you are living in a hell.

#TrueStory #PersonalExperience
sean810818
post May 31 2014, 02:33 PM

452 posts

I just bought a second hand unit. All the room windows is facing west. Any way to reduce the heat? Plan to tint the windows. Does it help ??
Xccess
post May 31 2014, 03:21 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

Sorry TS, just remembered by previous old place bedroom is facing West, every time after work, the entire bedroom macham oven. Please consider wisely as several bros here already contributed their experience.

I have 2 units facing South and North, nice and cooling.
idoblu
post May 31 2014, 05:05 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

this kind of direction best rclxms.gif
wawa.chan
post May 31 2014, 08:56 PM

Avoid unit facing west, even north-west or south-west. It's gonna be hot at late afternoon.

0.0182sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:35 AM