Travel Bangkok V4

Xccess
post May 29 2014, 05:34 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(NoEntrY @ May 29 2014, 05:02 PM)
The busy street infront of Platinum Shopping is as busy as usual. Everything is normal.. didnt see any protestor/army around.
Traffic seems smooth, could be the road blocks that's reducing cars from jamming up the central district. Should be a good time to visit BKK as hotels are slashing prices, maybe air tix also cheap now. rclxms.gif

Xccess
post May 30 2014, 01:06 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(NoEntrY @ May 29 2014, 11:56 PM)
Not many road block at town area..  Everything seems normal. You'll be surprise that the air tics price remains the same. hahaha
Dammit! Must be the school holidays. Nvm I can wait, will pack my bags either July or August.
Xccess
post Jun 4 2014, 02:55 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

I may plan my trip to BKK next week, personally I think it's a good time to visit due to cheaper hotel rates and air tix.
Xccess
post Jun 11 2014, 12:44 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 9 2014, 10:22 PM)
is there any recommended nice dining place? had a look at the sky bar but what we really want is a nice food maybe like western of fine dining for thai
Try Sirocco at Le Bua, will definitely put a dent in your wallet. This place consist of dining and bar.

http://www.lebua.com/sky-bar
Xccess
post Jun 11 2014, 01:15 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 11 2014, 01:01 PM)
i heard the food is just so-so/overrated, no?
i don't really want to spend money just for the good environment. food is important as well
This place have one of the nicest view. Food wise I'm not too sure because I usually go there for drinks. 63rd floor with magnificent night view is worth the money especially if you go there with your love ones.

You want to try Chocolate Ville? Good for family outing, nice place for dining but quite far from BKK centre, about 45 mins taxi ride. http://www.chocolateville.net/

This post has been edited by Xccess: Jun 11 2014, 01:16 PM
Xccess
post Jun 11 2014, 03:40 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

There's nothing dangerous in BKK unless you purposely go looking for it. Just make sure you avoid touts and taxi/tuk tuk driver who suggest to bring you shopping for cheap jewelry and food. Some may resort to telling you the place you are visiting is close and they have a better place to go, just avoid these people.

You just need pure common sense to survive BKK. I can definitely say you will enjoy your maiden trip and sure there's many more to come.
Xccess
post Jun 11 2014, 04:35 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

Bangkok will be warm and humid, if you go Chatuchuk Weekend Market, try to go early around 9am. Wear shorts, singlet and slippers.

Do visit Asiatique. http://www.thaiasiatique.com/index.php/en

A bit far from BKK, around 45 mins taxi ride will bring you to Chocolate Ville. http://www.chocolateville.net/
Xccess
post Jun 14 2014, 11:20 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

Good news to all. Curfew lifted for Thailand.
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asiapa...ew/1154478.html

Xccess
post Aug 15 2015, 03:37 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

Heading to Chiang Mai in January, decided to change Thai Baht before MYR dip further, RM2300.00 only get me 20K Baht (Midvalley), that's pathetic. Gonna change another 30K Baht next month.
Xccess
post Aug 17 2015, 02:55 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(babylck @ Aug 16 2015, 06:26 AM)
Which money changer? I went there yesterday the one below the escalator on the LG floor.. There was quite a long queue and the rate was 11.70!! I didn't change mine..  doh.gif
Yes, that's the one. With the weakening of Ringgit, exchange rate will only get worse unless miracle happen.

Xccess
post Aug 17 2015, 02:59 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

New shopping center at Phrong Phom BTS, EMquartier. There's sky garden at 5th floor and plenty of new restaurants that you don't see around Asia at Helix that's connected to EMquartier.
Xccess
post Aug 22 2015, 06:15 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Aug 22 2015, 02:32 PM)
Haha can also.  biggrin.gif. I went wattana panich ytday, very nice beef noodles. Where do u recommend for seafood?
Go Huai Khwang night market area, there's a restaurant where many locals goes to, the seafood and local food there is much better as compared to T&K. I've already dropped T&K off my list when I go Bangkok.

This is the place I'm talking about. http://anotherdreamytraveller.com/2011/10/...-kwang-bangkok/

This post has been edited by Xccess: Aug 22 2015, 10:31 PM
Xccess
post Aug 22 2015, 10:28 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Aug 22 2015, 08:23 PM)
I see if got time to go there biggrin.gif how bout somboon seafood?
Somboon considered commercialized for me, prefer places where Thais hangout. You can't go wrong with Noi seafood @ Huai Khwang. Do drop by EMquartier for some shopping and dining experience, it's a new shopping centre, plenty of niche restaurants at Helix, connected to EMquartier.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Aug 22 2015, 10:33 PM
Xccess
post Aug 26 2015, 01:11 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Aug 26 2015, 11:54 AM)
Hi guys, i will be going to BKK this sunday. Considering our weakening MYR, is there any problem to purchase THB from the money changer there?
You can try but when Ringgit is slipping with no end in sight, I doubt money changer in Thailand would want to hold on to them so there's chances they may not accept RM. Just my opinion, better change here.
Xccess
post Aug 26 2015, 01:14 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(Glamourousfit @ Aug 26 2015, 11:44 AM)
Totally agreed wz tis area n there is nite mkt too tat open till wee hra. There is a somboon branch here too but havent tried any at all.

N in Huai Khwang there is a good kueh chap too n d local laksa...super yummy
Yes, Somboon is at Ratchadapisek, somewhere along the side street from the main road. Looking at this thread gave me the urge to go back Huai Khwang, think I'll book my ticket next month....LOL
Xccess
post Aug 27 2015, 03:23 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(Glamourousfit @ Aug 26 2015, 05:02 PM)
Is just near the MRTA , the moment you get out is on the right.

Cant wait to go there too for food hunting n shopping however may not be this year. Already booked tix to CM...my another fav destination
LOL... also booked my tix to CM too, going on Jan 2016, purposely go there for their cold season. Can't stand the heat these days.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Aug 27 2015, 03:48 PM
Xccess
post Aug 27 2015, 03:45 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(myw66 @ Aug 27 2015, 03:40 PM)
how do you go around in CM? tour or book a van driver?
Most likely book a private tour for a day then explore city by local transport for remaining of my stay. Info can get from CM thread, better stick to BKK discussion here, later kena screw. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by Xccess: Aug 27 2015, 03:47 PM
Xccess
post May 12 2016, 12:18 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

Those going Bangkok do visit EM Quartier shopping at Phrom Phong station, new shopping and do check out their dining.

For those who frequent T & K at Yaowarat, perhaps it's time for a change. Now I go Noi Seafood located at Huai Kwang, so much better and less touristy. Heading there end of May, purposely stay at nearby so can eat there as often as I can.

0.0535sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:55 AM