TSyinchet
post Aug 27 2014, 11:10 PM

If you wish for peace, prepare for war
1,157 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Aug 27 2014, 10:52 PM)
i think impossible they make 12 variants at one time, also each variant also take time to R&D, there factory capability also no ability to make 12 variant at one shot. 
so just like u said, they mostly will be product phase-by-phase for variant, first variant should be denel turret.
Memang impossible at one go.
which is y I disagree av8 project doing it in such manner.
it time consuming to develop 12 variants and expensive.
which is also the reason y deftech yet to begin initial production phased.
they spend quite lots of times contract negotiations as well.
iinm they should have already finalised all the contract for all variants and most of them under development status.

if they going for lesser variant let say start with development of 3 variants. Deftech should have already long begun their initial production might even begin deliver the av8.
It also lots cheaper since contract on development of 3 variants which means we can buy more units.
TSyinchet
post Aug 27 2014, 11:23 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Aug 27 2014, 11:20 PM)
need to see end of this year.
Deftech to deliver 12 AV8 to Malaysian military by year-end

DRB-HICOM Defence Technologies Sdn Bhd (DefTech), a defence arm of DRB-HICOM Bhd, targets to deliver 12 units of its 8x8 armoured-wheeled vehicles (AV8) to the Malaysian military by year-end.

Its chief executive officer, Amril Samsudin, said of the 257 vehicles scheduled to be delivered by 2018, two variants – IFV 25 and AFV 30 – out of 12 would start production in June.

- See more at: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/busines...ary-by-year-end
I see they already start production in june.

TSyinchet
post Aug 28 2014, 12:45 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Aug 28 2014, 12:17 AM)
the reason mahathir didnt slonglap on defense is primary because of his ego also tongue.gif

we once boost the best equip military in South east asia, oh the good old times laugh.gif

now everything is on wish-list only
Actually during Mahathir times there were lots of thing left on wish list as well.
attack helicopters and aew is the best example.
We also almost get 18 hornets but thanks to the 97/98 economy crisis it didn't happen.
Anyway currently it is not like military is getting nothing ec725, a400m, gowind, av8 quite okay imo.
The main complaint is still on the budget as it seen rather flat.
Even after ld standoff and china knocking the doors the government still reluctant to increase significantly on the budget.
It is a shame we do not have politician who is passionate and enthusiastic on national security and military.
TSyinchet
post Aug 28 2014, 01:00 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Aug 28 2014, 12:50 AM)
at least his time, he will set straight. He will try allocate it for next even cutting others to support the military

now? the top just want to save their skin and their pocket

that old ppl say, during M time, corruption run but work done
now, corruption run but work nvr done
Hence I say "we do not have politician who is passionate and enthusiastic on national security and military"
TSyinchet
post Aug 28 2014, 08:29 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Aug 28 2014, 08:23 AM)
well, there are local politicians in power who are passionate and enthusiastic on national security and military, the problem is that they also passionate and enthusiastic on 'whats in it for them'..
Well they passionate on something else rather than on military.
TSyinchet
post Aug 28 2014, 09:15 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Aug 28 2014, 08:41 AM)
tuler, it seems that the Lahad Datu incursion taught them nothing...
Dat because it yet to hit their back yard.
anyway dat also what would happened when you put someone without any military background as menhan.
TSyinchet
post Aug 28 2014, 06:08 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 28 2014, 01:54 PM)
agreed..
true, but ego fueled purchase dont benefit the rakyat
so you like kim jong un? putin?
Putin ftw.
TSyinchet
post Aug 29 2014, 12:44 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 29 2014, 12:38 AM)
if we are as rich as saudi or russia then ok... ini budget xcukup everyyear.. baik bina rumah prima ka, buat water plant ka... etc

kill d stupid ns and channel the funds to defend sabah!
diff topic go to main kopitiam n create new thread.... here only for military junkies
Tak mintak sampai usd20bil pun.
Yg saya mintak budget yg mengcukupi untuk pertahanan negara lebih kurang lar usd6bil-7bil.
Kalau pasal esscom saya paling kurang pun mintak usd1bil untuk initial funding pembelian asset yang mengcukupi.
faham tak.

This post has been edited by yinchet: Aug 29 2014, 12:48 AM
TSyinchet
post Aug 29 2014, 12:59 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 29 2014, 12:52 AM)
baget satu tahun 4.9 bill usd... tambah sikit... susah la.. ini mrt hsr mau $$$

krn ada spekulasi kes songlap.. skrg susah mau baget

actually procurement in msia done by military personnel? decision making, contracting... etc etc?
Mrt and hsr dia orang boleh keluar bond mah.
Masih boleh funding sampai billion of dollars.

Not sure on the procurement though.
but the government always have the last say.
Evaluation been done by the military personnel though.
TSyinchet
post Aug 29 2014, 01:17 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 29 2014, 01:08 AM)
cost of financing also need $$$... hsr 40 bill, mrt 40 bill... 80 bill... financing cost 5%, 4 bill... there goes ur baget

even heavy weapons by military personnel? a lot of developed countries seem to have both military and prof. civilian input.. was reviewing another country's procurement SOP... the civilians select the choices, the military test n give feedback... but other matters all decided by civilian but final acceptance by military.. so got check n balance
But then economy benefits created by mrt and hsr will huge for the country.
I'm still okay with the idea of improving the public transportation.
But I do not like the idea of subsidies such as brim and petrol.
look at singapore they constantly improving their military and their country infrastructure as well.
thus I dun see the point of mrt and hsr will eat up the military budget.
TSyinchet
post Aug 29 2014, 01:47 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 29 2014, 01:31 AM)
cutting subsidies is good, as long as the $$$ saved is used for constructive activities including defense... problem lies when there's leakage.. to cap the budget to the gdp is a good thing.. so there's an incentive to develop both the economy and defense at the same time... as for esscom's case... i would agree that a special one off fund should be given hopefully at the expense of ns

to think that sg's armed forces is sg's defense is wrong... almost every aspect of life in sg is part of their defense... any big GLC there's surely someone from the military... cabinet ministers... etc etc and all are very highly educated... following d footsteps of israel.. attack on the economy is also an attack to them
It would be nice if we are able to cap it within 3%@gdp.
I hope the military able to come out with short term, mid term and long term procurement plans.
I also hope that the military able to come out a white paper on the direction of the military should be heading.
With these procurement and planning able to be done more efficient and effective manner.
TSyinchet
post Aug 29 2014, 02:52 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(tuo850 @ Aug 29 2014, 02:47 PM)
do anyone can post here our air defense coverage by our tudm jet and radar system?
OSA.
TSyinchet
post Sep 1 2014, 09:07 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Sep 1 2014, 10:04 AM)
not going to buy ec725 soon, mindef already provide budget for upgrade nuri again (upgrade avionic, digital glass), maybe next purchase on 2018~2020. 
But hope mindef can change mind set, like buying small quantity ex: 2~4 unit every 2 year.
just like TNI they many time buy Jet/Heli/ship in small quantity. than 2~3 year later buy again.
Our mindef like buy in big quantity (for 10~20 year once) but one time investment is huge, so some time need cut some spec or quantity.
It is most likely due to the way we structure our budget on a 5 years basis.
as currently large protion of the annual budget being use to paid existing and ongoing procurement.
Unless the government willing to push the procurement budget higher in the overall annual budget.

TSyinchet
post Sep 1 2014, 11:28 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Sep 1 2014, 10:15 PM)
near to 10 million Each AH-6i  smile.gif

It would be nice for scouts, heli escort and small scale mission.
TSyinchet
post Sep 1 2014, 11:31 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(LTZ @ Sep 1 2014, 11:26 PM)
With current policy....I dont think so. I would like to see gowind in service with ASW heli. Hopefully all 6 will be placed at KK as all gowind are for ASW. south china sea is a good sub operational theatre.
Yup 2nd batch not happening anytime soon.
asw heli very likely to happen.
I'm more hopeful if we are able to get 20-30units fac and heavily armed kedah class first before we get any sub.
TSyinchet
post Sep 2 2014, 08:50 PM

1,157 posts

New thread -> https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3338077

kolos.

8 Pages « < 6 7 8
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic