> Military Thread V12, 31/8 Merdeka; 16/9 Malaysia Day

TSyinchet
post Jul 25 2014, 06:11 PM

If you wish for peace, prepare for war
1,157 posts

Selamat Hari Raya, Maaf Zahir dan Batin to all /k/ military members and Malaysian.
though it a sad and difficult years for us and our country; I'm sure can overcome it and be much stronger.
congrate Indonesia have a such great leader elected.
TSyinchet
post Aug 1 2014, 07:39 PM

1,157 posts

Stop with the Malaysia vs Singapore.
two close allies wanna fight each other is real stupid.
zaman dr.m have long gone.
TSyinchet
post Aug 4 2014, 02:53 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(KYPMbangi @ Aug 4 2014, 11:40 AM)
I still want superbug for RMAF!
I will support it if US give a good package.
if not move on to others.
TSyinchet
post Aug 6 2014, 02:12 PM

1,157 posts

Not bad
TSyinchet
post Aug 22 2014, 03:30 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(KYPMbangi @ Aug 20 2014, 03:43 PM)
All this talks about SGPV.. I wanna NGPV or kedah class batch 2 to materialize..

Or at least for the current NGPV to be armed..
Kedah class batch 2 is very unlikely.
I dun think boustead have the capacity to do sgpv and kedahclass batch 2 at the same times.
Upgrading kedah class is more feasible.
smart-s + mk29 essm + nsm + ds30sigma would be top of the line upgrade. Probably would cost us around usd1bil though for the entire kedah fleet.
TSyinchet
post Aug 22 2014, 04:42 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Aug 22 2014, 03:50 PM)
Actually no need replace TRS-3D/16ES radar for Kedah Class, it already support RIM-116/ESSM and Harpoon ASM/Exocet ASM, TRS-3D enough for Kedah class, although Smart-S 3D have 250km range, TRS-3D only 200km, not much different, but TRS-3D have some advantage on radar update rate to 1s, more suitable for counter ASM missile attack. unless change to alot more better like TRS-4D AESA radar. other than that if change Radar, many combat system or fire control system have to do software/hardware integration again, so un-likely happens.

also Kedah class original design is using RIM-116, is almost plug and play to fit in. if using mk29 the launcher more bigger and longer ,need to see can fit in or not, but if really want ESSM, i more like the place fit with  small mk56 VLS with 12 ESSM unit, at lease VLS can provide 360' area defence, Mk29 only front defense only.

For cost RIM-116 RAM missile each about 500k usd, with total 21 pcs it cost 10 million+ usd plus few million for launcher cost.  cost ESSM around 1 million total 12 million  not much different, but MK56 ESSM need more module integration, modification body, launcher installation cost around USD 30-40 million. so i i think if gov go to fit with missile, mostly will use RIM-116.  Mk29 ESSM less cost also missile unit but also some extra cost for integration.

For ASM, Exocer or Harpoon more easy to fit int, but if NSM, need extra cost for integration.

so i think no need until 1 billion for all ship, mostly around usd 50-80 miliion each ship of kedah class missile upgrade.

If it can fit rim116 it should not have much problem fitting mk29.
Though it would be ideal to have vls, the question is does kedah class hull allocate such space for its?
Which I dun think it will be likely so.
anyway intergration of weapons system on kedah class is quite easy due to its modular design concept and these apply into its software design lvl as well.

Also trs3d radar update rates is varies depending on several factors. 1sec to 6 sec. Perhaps LTZ can explain better on these.
It is similar to smart-s radar.
Anyway additional 50km in long range and mid range is not something to overlook at.

rim116 is good as ciws but I prefer kedah to use essm for longer range and further supported by ds30 sigma as ciws.

Y I said it needs usd1bil as that money include to buy stock pile of missile as well.
Need at least 100 antiship missle, 100+essm and other ammunition as well.

This post has been edited by yinchet: Aug 22 2014, 04:48 PM
TSyinchet
post Aug 22 2014, 07:23 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Aug 22 2014, 06:49 PM)
for VLS need to check weather can fit in or not, anyway MK56 can fit in below/half/above deck, if can fit in than better.
Smart-S 3D only 2.2~4.4 sec. anyway Smart-S and TRS-3D just average3D radar. not much to compare it.

other than that i think hard for gov spend 1 billion for upgrade Kedah class, it more than our military development budget, event 0.5 billion already 60% of budget (last year budget only RM 240 million). If gov have  budget LCS already used ESSM.

ideally each ship with 30~40 RAM missile (21 fit in launcher) , if essm just need 20 pcs, 8~12 fit in launcher, and ASM 8 pcs, 4 unit in launcher, remaining unit for spare/training/exercise.    than cost should be keep cost upgrade to around max 100 million each unit.
Budget wise malaysia dun use annual but more to rmk.
TSyinchet
post Aug 23 2014, 03:38 PM

1,157 posts

Airforce is the one who left out the most.
army and navy already have their big ticket.
sgpv and av8.
Airforce did not get anything in prior of 2010-2015.
Though they supposed to get mig replacement done in thesetime frame.
Unfortunately nothing happen for them.

next rmk we might see.
navy - asw heli, fac, kedah and lekui class upgrade.
Airforce - mmrca, aew, long range radar and mpa
Army - mid range sam, sph, attack heli.

Airforce have a good chance get what they asking for.
as some insider rumors were quite positive.

As for sph, asw heli, mid range sam and attack heli remain hopeful.

This post has been edited by yinchet: Aug 23 2014, 03:39 PM
TSyinchet
post Aug 23 2014, 03:43 PM

1,157 posts

On another notes, subang afb get their c2 upgrade.
I think we might buying another gm radar as well.
TSyinchet
post Aug 23 2014, 04:43 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Aug 23 2014, 04:29 PM)
What are the hopefull candidates for mmrca?
Rafale and sh.
TSyinchet
post Aug 23 2014, 05:08 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Aug 23 2014, 05:03 PM)
Lease or straight purchase?
Purchase.
Only gripen and ef offer lease deals
TSyinchet
post Aug 23 2014, 05:33 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(KYPMbangi @ Aug 23 2014, 05:20 PM)
Somewhat gooding news, but is there a plan for interim fighter?
To fill in the gaps after the migs retire in 2015 and until future mrca full operational date
Not sure.
I think we might get the sh pretty fast.
that could be a good interim solutions.
TSyinchet
post Aug 24 2014, 02:54 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Aug 24 2014, 02:42 AM)
well buk was never in ATM plan anyway
only Starstreak with Pantsir as small dome protection
SLAMRAAM for medium dome protection while the S300/S400 for the rest

opss me thinks me talk too much
but meh if only the gomen is serious to pour money like they used to  whistling.gif
kesian TUDM  sad.gif
SLAMRAAM no gooding.
I prefer we going for MEADS.
TSyinchet
post Aug 24 2014, 03:06 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Aug 24 2014, 02:59 AM)
well even I am not a big fan of Slamraam, me more on the NASAM with IRIS missile
but seems that ATM have interested in these a while ago
nak letak atas VAMTAC kot
Boleh ke nak letak vamtac tak berat and tak oversize ke?
Senang nak terbalik.
US pun takat letak stinger je kat hummwv mereka.
Kalau letak kat adnan mayb masih boleh.
TSyinchet
post Aug 24 2014, 03:12 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Aug 24 2014, 03:07 AM)
SLAMRAAM? are you sure?

I was told that it was like mentioned once during meeting then no news after that because other cheaper and equally range system like for example the buk are considered. pantsir again i also heard for point defense purpose but no news after that
They say they try to opt for russian or europe even maybe china based system first before american

from past news, i can see why  laugh.gif 

s300/s400 got news said offered to us but again seeing our budget  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif Especially if 1M duit masuk pocket still on, no hope lah rolleyes.gif
no point having one battalion, should have a few then can consider nation wide air defence tongue.gif
Tbh if we have money I prefer we going for MEADS.
but seeing our small budget it would be very cost effective we go for saab bamse.
TSyinchet
post Aug 25 2014, 10:55 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Aug 25 2014, 10:41 AM)
Singapore Defense procure alot new equipment think this year already ... 
- 50 Merkava Mark IV
-  Eurosam (late 2013)
- F-15 sg increase to 40 unit
- A330 MRTT
- Type 218sg submarine (late 2013)
- Joint-Multi-Mission Ship (JMMS)?
Not surprising there.
I think you miss their Fearless-class replacement.
with their budget it will be smart to spend it rather than saving it.
-----
Forget to add their f16 upgrade project.

This post has been edited by yinchet: Aug 25 2014, 10:58 AM
TSyinchet
post Aug 25 2014, 11:34 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Aug 25 2014, 11:20 AM)
just search Fearless-class replacement,

there design look very good, suitable for RMN as patrol boat as well, specially with 2 RIBs. a bit like small version Gowind 1400.

Iirc tldm have issue rfi from a korean shipping company.
similar size as that ship as well iinm.
The ship model were shown in dsa2014.

This post has been edited by yinchet: Aug 25 2014, 11:44 AM
TSyinchet
post Aug 25 2014, 11:49 AM

1,157 posts

Hehe found the articles.
I dun expect much from these but it will be cheaper than kedah class.
however since then we dun have much info on these and wont be surprising as even its rfi were low profile only been notice in dsa2014.

DSA 2014: DSME reveals missile corvette proposal for Malaysian Navy

South Korea's Daewoo Shipbuilding & Marine Engineering (DSME) showcased its proposal for a missile surface corvette (MSC) for the Royal Malaysian Navy (RMN) at DSA 2014.

Junho (Bruno) Joung of DSME's Naval and Special Ship Marketing Team, told IHS Jane'son 15 April that the model is being presented to the RMN in response to its request for information to replace at least three platforms with new corvettes.

The proposed vessel has a length of 85.5 m, a beam of 12.9 m and displaces 1,800 tonnes at full load. The corvette can reach a top speed of in excess of 25 kt.

http://www.janes.com/article/36864/dsa-201...-malaysian-navy

This post has been edited by yinchet: Aug 25 2014, 11:57 AM
TSyinchet
post Aug 25 2014, 01:38 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Aug 25 2014, 12:55 PM)
Replacement for?
Nope it is not replacement of anything.
I'm sure you guys remember when navy officiate the samudera class training ship.
There were a suggestion for building 10 of those in warship configuration as an cheap alternative for our urgent need of ship.
these could be the said suggestion.
Imo, it is an cheaper alternative compare to kedah class.
possible less than half the cost of the kedah class.

This post has been edited by yinchet: Aug 25 2014, 01:41 PM
TSyinchet
post Aug 25 2014, 01:53 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(Piap @ Aug 25 2014, 01:46 PM)
Any news regarding Dokdo-class amphib class for the malaysian navy? Quite impressed with the singapore endurance 160.
I'm afraid it is not happening.
unless the government increase the budget significantly I dun see us going to afford it.

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.2482sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:51 AM