lolzcalvin
post Sep 14 2023, 02:39 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(Windsux @ Sep 14 2023, 12:04 AM)
Asus tuf vg27aqml1a
in layman's term, ur monitor has fake HDR

a true HDR monitor must have all of these 3 requirements:
1. can dim itself to show true black (mini-LED with >1000 local dimming zones, or OLED panel), or minimally, has very high contrast ratio which mimics near black
2. peak brightness of 1000cd/m2 or more, a.k.a. HDR1000 and above
3. high DCI-P3 coverage, >95%

a monitor which lacks number 1 and 2 is not a true HDR monitor, and many monitors steer towards fake HDR.

fake HDR monitors e.,g. majority of gaming monitors on the market, tout HDR400 but is incapable of showing actual HDR on their displays, means they can receive HDR input, but cannot give proper HDR output.
the monitor receives HDR input, cranks its backlight to 400 nits near constant and call it a day.
this is one of the fake HDR symptoms, because true HDR doesn't set its backlight to near-constant, but instead it's dynamic in every inch of its area.

in HDR image, different part of light emits different brightness intensity, so say a fluorescent light in a film may be set to 700cd/m2 while the sunlight in said film is set to 1200cd/m2. true HDR monitor and fake HDR monitor respond differently to this information.
a true HDR monitor can properly process these HDR inputs and output correct intensity of these different points of light (but still, if the brightness is more than what said monitor's peak brightness per window percentage, it'll cap it to its max peak brightness but it's already bright enough to show true HDR)
a fake HDR monitor cannot properly process said HDR inputs, and therefore leads to washed-out colour and light as what you've seen on ur monitor.
myway1985
post Sep 14 2023, 04:15 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Sep 14 2023, 02:39 PM)
in layman's term, ur monitor has fake HDR

a true HDR monitor must have all of these 3 requirements:
1. can dim itself to show true black (mini-LED with >1000 local dimming zones, or OLED panel), or minimally, has very high contrast ratio which mimics near black
2. peak brightness of 1000cd/m2 or more, a.k.a. HDR1000 and above
3. high DCI-P3 coverage, >95%

a monitor which lacks number 1 and 2 is not a true HDR monitor, and many monitors steer towards fake HDR.

fake HDR monitors e.,g. majority of gaming monitors on the market, tout HDR400 but is incapable of showing actual HDR on their displays, means they can receive HDR input, but cannot give proper HDR output.
the monitor receives HDR input, cranks its backlight to 400 nits near constant and call it a day.
this is one of the fake HDR symptoms, because true HDR doesn't set its backlight to near-constant, but instead it's dynamic in every inch of its area.

in HDR image, different part of light emits different brightness intensity, so say a fluorescent light in a film may be set to 700cd/m2 while the sunlight in said film is set to 1200cd/m2. true HDR monitor and fake HDR monitor respond differently to this information.
a true HDR monitor can properly process these HDR inputs and output correct intensity of these different points of light (but still, if the brightness is more than what said monitor's peak brightness per window percentage, it'll cap it to its max peak brightness but it's already bright enough to show true HDR)
a fake HDR monitor cannot properly process said HDR inputs, and therefore leads to washed-out colour and light as what you've seen on ur monitor.
hard truth for asus fanboy..
Windsux P
post Sep 14 2023, 09:03 PM

Probation
13 posts

Thanks for both Sifu info … lesson learn I off my hdr than later set it as 2nd monitor after I get my budget on a nice one
miyakochan89
post Sep 15 2023, 03:28 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

Hey guys, I’m using a dell monitor right now. And it comes with those usb-c port that can do charging as well, which I’m using.

The problem is when I plug it into my MacBook Pro. I got no issues, charging and monitor is working fine.

When I plug it into my lenovo T14S (office laptop) the monitor keeps flickering. Which is fucking annoying. Why ah???? This laptop charging adapter is using USB-C too. When I’m in office there’s a dock system so I got no problems. But it seems like at home the monitor will keeps flickering.

This post has been edited by miyakochan89: Sep 15 2023, 03:29 PM
WaNaWe900
post Sep 15 2023, 04:12 PM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 15 2023, 03:28 PM)
Hey guys, I’m using a dell monitor right now. And it comes with those usb-c port that can do charging as well, which I’m using.

The problem is when I plug it into my MacBook Pro. I got no issues, charging and monitor is working fine.

When I plug it into my lenovo T14S (office laptop) the monitor keeps flickering. Which is fucking annoying. Why ah???? This laptop charging adapter is using USB-C too. When I’m in office there’s a dock system so I got no problems. But it seems like at home the monitor will keeps flickering.
Maybe the power wattage draw/requirement different causing the monitor flickering
miyakochan89
post Sep 15 2023, 04:38 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Sep 15 2023, 04:12 PM)
Maybe the power wattage draw/requirement different causing the monitor flickering
Ohhh! How should I check ah?
WaNaWe900
post Sep 15 2023, 08:52 PM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 15 2023, 04:38 PM)
Ohhh! How should I check ah?
Check the monitor USB supply spec, then Macbook charge spec & Lenovo charge spec icon_rolleyes.gif from there I think you'll see variation
miyakochan89
post Sep 15 2023, 11:11 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Sep 15 2023, 08:52 PM)
Check the monitor USB supply spec, then Macbook charge spec & Lenovo charge spec  icon_rolleyes.gif  from there I think you'll see variation
Can see the variation. Seems like the power supply is more than enough, the MacBook the Lenovo and my monitor. Damn weird. Oh well…
WaNaWe900
post Sep 16 2023, 01:04 AM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 15 2023, 11:11 PM)
Can see the variation. Seems like the power supply is more than enough, the MacBook the Lenovo and my monitor. Damn weird. Oh well…
Is this your Lenovo T14S Gen4? if so seem it have 2 different USB Type-C...

While your MacBook Pro either 14 or 16 should have identical USB Type-C (either 2 or 3 port)

Above just my assumption seems not knowing your device spec icon_rolleyes.gif

Dell monitor with USB Type-C also have different function subject to which model (Upstream and/or Downstream and variable power delivery wattage) and not all USB Type-C can be Thunderbolt if not specified by the manufacturer notworthy.gif

Above variation may lead to the issues hmm.gif
miyakochan89
post Sep 16 2023, 03:14 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Sep 16 2023, 01:04 AM)
Is this your Lenovo T14S Gen4? if so seem it have 2 different USB Type-C...

While your MacBook Pro either 14 or 16 should have identical USB Type-C (either 2 or 3 port)

Above just my assumption seems not knowing your device spec  icon_rolleyes.gif

Dell monitor with USB Type-C also have different function subject to which model (Upstream and/or Downstream and variable power delivery wattage) and not all USB Type-C can be Thunderbolt if not specified by the manufacturer  notworthy.gif

Above variation may lead to the issues  hmm.gif
Huh, so the Lenovo and MacBook Pro are using both thunderbolt. Even if the monitor cannot support thunderbolt, buts it working and charging my MacBook Pro just fine.

Just that the Lenovo one, either USB-C also will have on and off or flickering issue. Sometimes I have to restart a few times or plug in and out.
WaNaWe900
post Sep 16 2023, 06:22 PM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 16 2023, 03:14 PM)
Huh, so the Lenovo and MacBook Pro are using both thunderbolt. Even if the monitor cannot support thunderbolt, buts it working and charging my MacBook Pro just fine.

Just that the Lenovo one, either USB-C also will have on and off or flickering issue. Sometimes I have to restart a few times or plug in and out.
without further troubleshooting on the spec, best way I can suggest to use a powered docking instead to resolve it icon_rolleyes.gif
miyakochan89
post Sep 16 2023, 07:27 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Sep 16 2023, 06:22 PM)
without further troubleshooting on the spec, best way I can suggest to use a powered docking instead to resolve it  icon_rolleyes.gif
Yes i guess. Cause in my office, my lenovo is connected to a dock. lol. but even then some of us complained about the monitor flickering. I think it's the damn lenovo. haha
Azims
post Sep 26 2023, 12:16 PM

211 posts

Does anyone have experience with samsung or viewsonic?

which one to pick for quality and good after-sales service?

1. ViewSonic VA2432-h (RM300+-)
- IPS 100Hz
- HDMI, VGA
https://www.viewsonic.com/my/products/lcd/VA2432-h#specs

2. Samsung LS24C330 (RM350+-)
- IPS 100Hz
- HDMI, DisplayPort
https://www.samsung.com/my/monitors/flat/es...30gaexxs/#specs

This post has been edited by Azims: Sep 26 2023, 12:19 PM
andrekua2
post Sep 30 2023, 03:19 PM

13,469 posts

Finally bought a H100 monitor arm so that I can use the 32inch FHD that I bought last year. Damn... sad to report that I finally feel age is catching up with me. Despite the poor PPI, I can actually read better compared to a 22" FHD.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Sep 30 2023, 03:19 PM
SUSceo684
post Sep 30 2023, 08:06 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Azims @ Sep 26 2023, 12:16 PM)
Does anyone have experience with samsung or viewsonic?

which one to pick for quality and good after-sales service?

1. ViewSonic VA2432-h (RM300+-)
  - IPS 100Hz
  - HDMI, VGA
https://www.viewsonic.com/my/products/lcd/VA2432-h#specs

2. Samsung LS24C330 (RM350+-)
  - IPS 100Hz
  - HDMI, DisplayPort
https://www.samsung.com/my/monitors/flat/es...30gaexxs/#specs
The first one, its been years since I had one from them but I can still remember how to drive to their service center in Bdr Puteri Klang ranting.gif

The second one, I bought one used, terrible colours and luckily able to offload it at the same price I bought it.

Recommend to get an AOC 24B2H2. I bought a couple of their IPS monitors and very happy with them.
https://shopee.com.my/AOC-24B2XH-(23.8-IPS-...9596.6365329163
Azims
post Oct 1 2023, 08:36 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 30 2023, 08:06 PM)
The first one, its been years since I had one from them but I can still remember how to drive to their service center in Bdr Puteri Klang ranting.gif

The second one, I bought one used, terrible colours and luckily able to offload it at the same price I bought it.

Recommend to get an AOC 24B2H2. I bought a couple of their IPS monitors and very happy with them.
https://shopee.com.my/AOC-24B2XH-(23.8-IPS-...9596.6365329163
thx for sharing thumbsup.gif
Maxieos
post Oct 7 2023, 06:53 AM

3,757 posts

Why now all monitor is VA panel ? and all pushing 144hz as gaming ?

For months , can't even find a decent IPS Monitor.Review all only talk about gaming monitor but not productive type.

Andrewtst
why you stop buying 60hz ? It had been so hard to find an IPS QHD 27 inch 60/75hz monitor.
All over rm700-1k
No reviews on monitor at all on rtings for 60hz or 2k.https://www.rtings.com/monitor/tools/table/120742 All only focus on expensive monitor.

Any suggestion on 60hz , 2k IPS monitor below rm600 ?
Andrewtst
post Oct 7 2023, 12:40 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Oct 7 2023, 06:53 AM)
Why now all monitor is VA panel ? and all pushing 144hz as gaming ?

For months , can't even find a decent IPS Monitor.Review all only talk about gaming monitor but not productive type.

Andrewtst
why you stop buying 60hz ? It had been so hard to find an IPS QHD 27 inch 60/75hz monitor.
All over rm700-1k
No reviews on monitor at all on rtings for 60hz or 2k.https://www.rtings.com/monitor/tools/table/120742 All only focus on expensive monitor.

Any suggestion on 60hz ,  2k IPS monitor below rm600 ?
60hz gaming monitor no need to review, as it is low end where basically all same.

Sorry to said monitor below RM 600 all perform not good, this price is always superb low end spec since I know monitor.

Animation smoothness is important part to me, that the reason I don’t use 60hz monitor. Minimum 120hz is basic requirement now, not even smoothness, also can more prevent tearing on gaming as it is very easier over 59fps which means once you hit 60fps, tearing will occurred not matter the monitor got adaptive sync, g-sync or free sync. Vsync do can prevent tearing for fps higher than refresh rate but it gives big delay issue.

And sorry no recommendations for RM 600 or below even for 1080p monitor, you want 1440p which is even not possible.

Now monitor had many variety from TN (crap), VA (crap also unless you spend around RM 4k, IPS (for budget should look for this but not your budget of below RM 600, a good IPS 24” 1080p already required around RM 630) and the best OLED (minimum cost is RM 4k).

For your budget with a little increase, then I can recommended you the AOC 24G2SP, this is a very good 24” 1080p SDR IPS 165hz monitor, around RM 630 can get now from Lazada or Shopee.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Oct 7 2023, 01:58 PM
OlgaC4
post Oct 7 2023, 08:43 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 7 2023, 12:40 PM)
60hz gaming monitor no need to review, as it is low end where basically all same.

Sorry to said monitor below RM 600 all perform not good, this price is always superb low end spec since I know monitor.

Animation smoothness is important part to me, that the reason I don’t use 60hz monitor. Minimum 120hz is basic requirement now, not even smoothness, also can more prevent tearing on gaming as it is very easier over 59fps which means once you hit 60fps, tearing will occurred not matter the monitor got adaptive sync, g-sync or free sync. Vsync do can prevent tearing for fps higher than refresh rate but it gives big delay issue.

And sorry no recommendations for RM 600 or below even for 1080p monitor, you want 1440p which is even not possible.

Now monitor had many variety from TN (crap), VA (crap also unless you spend around RM 4k, IPS (for budget should look for this but not your budget of below RM 600, a good IPS 24” 1080p already required around RM 630) and the best OLED (minimum cost is RM 4k).

For your budget with a little increase, then I can recommended you the AOC 24G2SP, this is a very good 24” 1080p SDR IPS 165hz monitor, around RM 630 can get now from Lazada or Shopee.
Sifu for 1440p 32inch. What is best in the market?
OlgaC4
post Oct 7 2023, 09:19 PM

5,292 posts

32GQ850-B. IPS nano

or

LG 27“ 27GR95QE UltraGear™ OLED Gaming

Pening

172 Pages « < 148 149 150 151 152 > » Top

0.0281sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled