Xiaomi Redmi 1S - Official Thread V1, coming on 8 July 2014, online RM419 !

sniperwolf
post Jun 17 2014, 09:22 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jun 16 2014, 04:33 PM)
I just did a quick Google about the code name "2013029" is the new Xiaomi Redmi 1S model number. So confirm Xiaomi Malaysia skip Redmi and straight forward go for Redmi 1S.
I dont think it should be called as skip, since from what I understand, its gradually replacing all the older hongmi with the newer hongmi, at the same pricing.
sniperwolf
post Jun 17 2014, 09:37 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jun 17 2014, 09:24 PM)
Pity those Singaporean. whistling.gif
Aiya the mtk6589T soc powered one aint actually bad la for that price
sniperwolf
post Jun 17 2014, 09:48 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jun 17 2014, 09:39 PM)
People always want for more... laugh.gif
anyway, I'm not in that kind of person, as long it perform good user-experience for me, and I'm good to go for it.
To be honest the phone actually performs quite fluent with the mtk soc for that kinda specs, where compare to those offering from big branded company.
sniperwolf
post Jun 18 2014, 12:29 AM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jun 17 2014, 09:55 PM)
Not sure, as I never test a real life of Xiaomi Phone before. Only flashing MIUI ROM to previous S2 and Nexus. Work smooth, but not sure how it perform on 1GB RAM and MTK chip. sweat.gif
It still running smooth once you clean the memory with the default clean utility, once it hit till maybe like 800 to 900mb ram usage.
sniperwolf
post Jul 3 2014, 11:22 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(keybearer @ Jul 2 2014, 09:36 PM)
Guys, I'm looking to buy a new smartphone, below are my specs :

Budget: Below RM500
Requirement:
-Mostly using it as a PDA : Calendar notes, GPS, chat (whatsapp), decent camera, some small office works, etc..
-Smaller the better, don't want hefty stuffs that's hard to fit in pockets.
-Very long battery life.
-Durable would be nice.

How well do you think the Redmi 1S meets them? I'm conflicted here on what to choose, this / Huawei's Honor 3C / Zenfone 5 (or 4).
Hongmi itself can be pretty thick for some user la and actually not light for its size. As for your budget, its not easy to get something with very long battery life. If not in a hurry you can try check up on Lenovo Golden Saint A8, as it should be available pretty soon with 4g support.
sniperwolf
post Jul 4 2014, 04:40 AM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jul 4 2014, 03:51 AM)
How soon is pretty soon? hmm.gif
Well I cant answer you that but since its already been announced, guess it wont be long for the product to be available. Unlike previous S8, its now available in both TD and WCDMA version, and dont think it will have much contender with that kinda price/ spec ratio.

This post has been edited by sniperwolf: Jul 4 2014, 04:55 AM
sniperwolf
post Jul 4 2014, 06:03 AM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(acexii @ Jul 4 2014, 05:46 AM)
That would be true if the price not vary much from it announce price. Indeed it has very good spec with cheaper price.
Well the price is announced by lenovo so I dont think there will be much changes. Its more bout how much local resellers intend to charge only. And the phone already pass through TENAA inspection so its already confirmed will be market, depends on when Lenovo want to release it

But in terms of design wise, I myself will prefer the 1st gen s898t with the metal gold design smile.gif

This post has been edited by sniperwolf: Jul 4 2014, 06:12 AM
sniperwolf
post Jul 4 2014, 09:05 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jul 4 2014, 08:43 PM)
Get ready guys. smile.gif Mark your calender!

Not attractive at all now to be honest. A year or half ago will be a different case la smile.gif
sniperwolf
post Jul 6 2014, 04:23 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Jul 6 2014, 12:30 PM)
Stingy fellow try to use original screen protective film as Screen Protecter, as the film doesn't come with proximity sensor hole, sure screen off when making call, as the proximity sensor cannot sense the phone no longer on the fellow face...lol

Then we have 2 fellow who never own the phone spreading rumour like thinking Bomba use masking tape to repair sinkhole which in fact measuring the crack getting bigger or not...wakakaka
Actually I have phone where the sp cover up the sensors but still working like normal, only dark screen when phone is near to the face, so I dont think the sp will actually affect the sensors, but that not xiaomi la biggrin.gif

As for bomba tale, what that all bout?
sniperwolf
post Jul 6 2014, 08:04 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Jul 6 2014, 07:29 PM)
Not screen protector, i am talking about orginal screen protective film with some printing on it, the film quite blurred, if Samsung one most user will remove it as the big super amoled work printed in the middle which make it impossible to read phone screen, but xiaomi one only some small fine print, some user didn't take it off as they thought of using it as tempo screen protector.

Bomba case refer to recent sinkhole at Imbi Pudu junction, Bomba used masking tape to tape the cracked line, some ignorant netizen start spreading rumors our Bomba is so dumb that they use masking tape to repair the crack, anyone with logical thinking would understand Bomba actually try to mark the crackline to see whether it getting worsened, but many mouth move faster than their brain.. that why i cannot tahan those who never own the phone starts saying "my friends" or "i heard oh" without checking legitimate of hearsay bashing.
Lol I thought what bomba tale is that your are referring to biggrin.gif rclxms.gif Anyway I never actually see anyone use those default protective film from the phone packaging lor, even without any printing on it, as its totally weird. SP is freaking cheap also to be honest.
sniperwolf
post Jul 11 2014, 03:35 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jul 11 2014, 03:25 PM)
from my past experience with fedex, if ur items reach KL on friday morning and u stay in klang valley
u can get ur stuff on saturday wub.gif

---

u all still dont get it...
mod are okay with all the items related to the phone
as long as u r not selling or indirectly promo your stuff...
get the fact right!!!
My past experience with fedex ie is item out from custom clearance at 8am+, reaches my friend office the same day in Kelana Jaya before 12pm.

Well there might be a 4g version of hongmi release on 22nd
sniperwolf
post Jul 11 2014, 03:56 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(Hawaiiii @ Jul 11 2014, 03:41 PM)
Any source? Coz i wanna order 1 more redmi note, the conference starts on 2pm right? But redmi note start selling at 12pm, i think just order and hold payment until go through all the keynotes.
Its as lucaswjk pointed out, TENAA leaks confirmed a few 4G device from Xiaomi. Besides majority China brand now is pushing 4G rapidly since few months back. So its better to hold on awhile before the press conference, unless you are really in need of the phone la. Also the 4G version which release might only be TD version, where FDD might come in later, just my guessing only.

Not sure of the time when the conference start, but usually around evening time, exact time will usually announced few days before .

This post has been edited by sniperwolf: Jul 11 2014, 03:58 PM
sniperwolf
post Jul 11 2014, 05:31 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jul 11 2014, 04:04 PM)
once it is launch in china,
im very optimistic the model will b 3months late here (at most)
fastest will b taiwan/hong kong 1-2months + and singapore 1-2weeks later

conclusion, if ur phone is still working... buy it, otherwise... wait lo
Its more bout which network mode that get launch 1st, as commonly china phone will launch their td network (china mobile) version 1st. Take mi3 as example, wcdma version only launch bout 3 months after td version available. Newer note wcdma version also took almost 2 months after td version launched. After that it will usually be in those market you mentioned bout 1st before reaching malaysia market. And to be honest after all those delay, there most likely better options in the market already.
sniperwolf
post Jul 11 2014, 07:07 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jul 11 2014, 05:53 PM)
6months sweat.gif
lucky redmi oni hv 3g version
unless china have own lte... 3months prediction still stand

and the thing u mention... better option... is true
afterall mobile tech change every year
wat majority of ppl here expect is cheap and outdated midrange product tongue.gif
TDD standards is china own lte version lor which used by china mobile, which has the most widest 4g coverage in china compare to the FDD standards that recently official only by china unicom and china telecom

Actually outdated product here also not actually cheap lor, which you could take a look in the market price. If warranty issues not a major concern, its much better to buy oversea directly and ship in back, which I doing it myself.
sniperwolf
post Jul 16 2014, 09:34 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

Seems like the 4G version Hongmi will be announced next week during the press conference if nothing goes wrong, as TENAA specs already official out.

From specs, its most likely will be the same mt6582 soc + mt6590 modem setup, 1gb ram 8gb rom, supporting TDD standard network only. Also it runs on Android 4.2.2

This post has been edited by sniperwolf: Jul 16 2014, 09:37 PM

0.0464sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:42 AM