7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Xiaomi Redmi 1S - Official Thread V1, coming on 8 July 2014, online RM419 !

suntzulee
post Jul 17 2014, 02:09 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Jul 17 2014, 02:06 PM)
On my first charge

serious battery drain.... sad.gif
suntzulee
post Jul 18 2014, 03:18 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jul 18 2014, 03:16 PM)
SP is smoother and also bettery in battery management...
RedMi 1s is poor in battery management but u always can have the spare battery to extend the stamina, but the system UI is not that smooth...
your call lo... i also prefer something around 4.8" with Snapdragon 800 n 2G RAM, around 3000mAH battery and also 13MP camera... memory internal 16GB also ok, if got external mSD card support is better...
finally someone revealed something i'm worried about 1s....sad sad.gif
suntzulee
post Jul 18 2014, 03:26 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jul 18 2014, 03:23 PM)
well bro... different ppl got different requirement... but HongMi 1s speed is still acceptable...
but again if you are use to Mi3 speed then it will be jerky as some one said...
another catch is try to disable animated transition for windows in developer tab... smile.gif
QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Jul 18 2014, 03:24 PM)
i also like what u mention, decent compact 4.7-4.5'' with decent spec,but i can't find any. most of 2012/2013 flagship(4.7'') is phrased out  ohmy.gif

i brought z1c for my bro,but its too small,though the battery is the best i seen in android(6 sot average without stamina mode)
suprisingly i found hongmi is a better phone compare to 1s. better BC, smooth and responsive...what's wrong with you xiaomi??? hmm.gif
suntzulee
post Jul 18 2014, 03:51 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jul 18 2014, 03:35 PM)
that is a lil too small la... maybe u can try Zenphone 5 also... i feel it is not as big as Mi3...
actually 5" is my maximum already, i do not prefer to have bulky phones in my pocket already haha...
got a few 5"also not that big...

Xperia ZR also not bad actually with removable battery, i sold off coz i got Mi3 already and my gf don let me keep too many phones... haha...
then u have a few MTK Chipset phones like Lenovo S660...
@suntzulee
maybe it just the optimization of the new MIUI system vs MTK/Snapdragon...
we don know yet...
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jul 18 2014, 03:36 PM)
you are correct... but the UI really a lil laggy... it is not that obvious but if you see properly it does...
try to off all transition animation, it will be gone... smoother overall...
overall in the games i play no lag or what so ever... Asphalt8, CoC, King's puzzle games also all smooth...
but sometime because of the RAM, app starting or closing back to home screen will have a slight delay...

that is just what i feel, i'm not complaining and say this is a SHIT device...
but i feel it should have better in optimization of software vs hardware...

over all HongMi 1s and Mi3 need to have better optimization on their software...
2G RAM is just nice for MIUI to run, 1G RAM is a lil too less...
with the software hogging the ram multitask of apps and also apps launching might have slight delay...
well, then we need to wait someone or developer to perfect the software so that it can fully utilize the power of snapdragon. Antutu high score can give me happiness for a moment. but what if the phone has battery drain and also lag UI...chinese say, nice to see but not nice to eat... doh.gif
suntzulee
post Jul 20 2014, 08:17 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(lajubroadband @ Jul 20 2014, 05:02 PM)
Redmi camera better or 3C better ?
I wud say 3c...
suntzulee
post Jul 22 2014, 11:13 AM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jul 22 2014, 09:37 AM)
while it 'may' be lag free, moto E is a much weaker phone than 1s in terms of:

1. screen size
2. display ppi
3. processor
4. camera
+1 rclxms.gif
suntzulee
post Jul 24 2014, 11:22 AM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 24 2014, 11:15 AM)

How's the battery life as compared to MotoG?
No doubt moto g last longer..
suntzulee
post Jul 24 2014, 05:08 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 24 2014, 04:10 PM)
Is the phone rooted out-of-the-box?
no. smile.gif
suntzulee
post Jul 24 2014, 06:06 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Jul 24 2014, 05:54 PM)
i think all sapu by those hp shop dealer one lar
where got ppl so demain on 1s
for that price...no suprise tongue.gif
suntzulee
post Jul 26 2014, 05:55 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(blahbleh @ Jul 26 2014, 01:21 PM)
Haha as I recalled, my room was bright yesterday, and I switched on the light too, maybe because of that the red buttons were so visible biggrin.gif
QUOTE(adie82 @ Jul 26 2014, 03:11 PM)
As i posted few pages back. Lol... me also notice it had light before. But ... hahaha
haha u guys experience delusions is it? perhaps month 7 come already sweat.gif yes, 1s has no backlight.
suntzulee
post Jul 27 2014, 03:11 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 27 2014, 02:54 PM)
Please state the issues please. Thanks.
battery drain lor... sad.gif
suntzulee
post Jul 28 2014, 12:31 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

One man's meat is another man's poison...self peference la....
suntzulee
post Jul 28 2014, 04:18 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

for the price you pay for it, dont dream it will work like a 1k device performance. great processor, great rom size...but too bad, even hongmi perform way better than 1s...that's sad.
suntzulee
post Jul 28 2014, 05:30 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jul 28 2014, 04:53 PM)
do elaborate how hongmi is 'way better' than hongmi 1s?
hongmi is lagless, faster and more no battery drained as compared to 1s... smile.gif
suntzulee
post Jul 28 2014, 06:51 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jul 28 2014, 06:44 PM)
Guys , i remember a few of you running custom rom + Xposed framework compatible . Can i have the link of it ? Cant read chinese and chrome translate is not making much sense after translating it .... Deng . Flash the rom become " brush the rom "  rclxub.gif
afaik, xposed framework doesnt work in 1s. you may end up bricking your 1s...stay away bro... sad.gif
suntzulee
post Jul 28 2014, 08:48 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 28 2014, 08:25 PM)
DannyOP said the 1S china rom is stable too. Why don't you try it and give feedback.
I just ordered 1S on Tuesday. I hope mine is stable.
This thread is making me worried.  sad.gif
well, you paid only that amount and if you expect less, then you will feel much better. After all, is still a great phone but not to my liking of usage... sad.gif
suntzulee
post Jul 29 2014, 03:43 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(cruel_boy @ Jul 29 2014, 03:39 PM)
whats the purpose of the blue colour film that came along with the screen protector?
its an anti static function. can use to stick out small residue or dust on the lcd... smile.gif
suntzulee
post Jul 29 2014, 05:56 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(Zelz92 @ Jul 29 2014, 05:49 PM)
is it me or all of u don't received the warranty card like the Mi3?
1s dont have warranty card. just keep the packing list that shipped along together when u received it. smile.gif
suntzulee
post Jul 30 2014, 10:06 AM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Jul 30 2014, 08:07 AM)
Not me but since I have my 1S for over 2 weeks now, just want to share my experience and personal views of this phone here. Mine is with Miui V27.0 out of the box and I am a light user and not a gamer.  Most of the stuff here is not new and is meant for newbies so sifus here can skip or correct any mistakes.

Find the Miui very iPhonish, logical since Xiaomi is supposed to win over iPhone users. There is so much options and customisation that it is overwhelming for new users but good for those who want full control over the phone.  There are 150 (or more?) themes available for download (including one Malaysian Theme that you can impress your friends) but I just use the default one.

There are many apps and utilities built-in which is convenient for newbies but to others, they used up too much resources.  Luckily some can be uninstalled or disabled so you can use your own favourite apps.  I find some of them pretty good, eg. In Data Usage (inside Security), you can prevent specific apps from using Data on the road if you are on a limited data plan based on the data usage statistics. In Explorer (file manager), it is very easy to choose the specific media to manage your files. In Browser, you can view text that can auto-fit the screen (horizontally) as you zoom in or out; don’t see this in other browsers like Chrome, Dolphin, Morzilla, etc (but I could be wrong).

I also have the issue of numbers appearing instead of names in some calls or messages. As pointed out elsewhere, this is due to the country code prefix that can be fixed by an app and this function is in one of the set-up pages.  Heat issue? Never felt this, maybe because I am a light user and non-gamer. Battery draining fast? Yes, I suppose that’s how they can sell their spare battery, chargers and power bank; luckily they are reasonably priced.  Clash of Clans? I can install and run this game (just for testing since many complaints in this thread) without any problems and it runs smooth in my trial. Of course, I did not play for very long but I can buy stuff and fight!

Rear Camera? Pretty good; fast autofocus and very responsive with some manual controls for those who need them. The Auto Mode also seems quite intelligent. Only cannot understand why the maximum picture size is only 6M while this is supposed to be an 8M camera! (Sifus, please help here.)  Issue, cannot auto-save photos to SD card so have to manually move them. Did not try a third party camera app since it may not be as good as the default one.

Wi-fi? Quite sensitive, no problem so far, can connect wherever available. GPS? Indoor, forget it! Outdoor, connects in seconds.  Some other likes:- long press button to close apps; scheduled Do Not Disturb so the phone sleeps while you sleep; has OTG function so can transfer files in a hurry without a PC; etc.

Well, the 1S is not perfect and many of the above functions are probably also available in other smartphones in this price range or in other apps but at RM419, it is a good buy if it meets your requirement and if you don’t mind the quirks. There’s always hope that future Miui versions will iron things out (and not introduce more problems like V29.) Just for sharing and my two cents!
actually the main let down is the battery drain issue. perhaps greenify should solve it but again till date, there's no success to get it hibernate the system app that might be cause of the problem. Until someone able to resolve the issues of xposed framework compatibility...else the battery drain is significant... sad.gif
suntzulee
post Jul 30 2014, 12:56 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

QUOTE(danieloo @ Jul 30 2014, 12:37 PM)
Downloading : armani_HM1S31.0_072914.zip.

Gonna give it a try. It's my 2nd phone now. Can afford to wipe & restore stuffs.
pls report if it solve the battery drain issuel... tongue.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0506sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:01 AM