Xiaomi Redmi 1S - Official Thread V1, coming on 8 July 2014, online RM419 !

ronaldkwok
post Aug 9 2014, 02:10 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Aug 9 2014, 11:29 AM)
I'm pondering to get a Redmi 1S or Lumia 525. 1S trumps lumia 525 on everthing. And i'm going to get either from DirectD.

So is there any problems with 1S that i should be aware of if i decide to buy it? The reviews from youtube and even some sites makes the 1S a good buy.

The reason why i wanted to buy the nokia is basically the robust nature of the phones. I'm using a C3 for nearly 3 years now and its starting to age badly from falls and stuff.

I wonder how robust the S1 is compared to 525? I could be buying either these few days. Need the users here to guide what to expect of this phone. How about the GPS feature?
I suppose you have compared the specs of both phones and as you said the Redmi 1S trumps the Lumia 525 on everything with both phone about the same price. Unless you are a Windows fan! Or you want something smaller and lighter. You can read the feedback from users here from the earlier posts and I did a sort of mini review after playing with my 1S in post #1388 here. The main concern is the fast battery drain and it also depends on your usage. My advice is to get a spare battery and charger and stay with V27 until they come up with something better. And I don't think I dare to drop my S1. Just my view.

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Aug 9 2014, 02:38 PM
ronaldkwok
post Aug 10 2014, 06:58 AM

656 posts

I would advise the not so technical 1S users here not to upgrade to V34 (especially if you have V27) until we get feedback from those more adventurous and technical users. Remember the fiasco of the short-lived V29.
ronaldkwok
post Aug 10 2014, 05:43 PM

656 posts

Is this V34 just to address the security issue or with other improvements? Hope the sifus and those who have updated to this version can advise. notworthy.gif
ronaldkwok
post Aug 13 2014, 09:17 AM

656 posts

Can someone advise if the Whasapp notification icon comes on in V35? I'm on V27 and I never see the Whatsapp notification icon at the top even if there are incoming chats. Tried all the settings or I missed something?

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Aug 13 2014, 09:19 AM
ronaldkwok
post Aug 13 2014, 01:39 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Aug 13 2014, 12:58 PM)
You did miss something, it has got nothing to do with firmware version.

To turn on notifications for any installed app, do the following:
Settings --> Notifications --> Manage notifications --> From the list of the app, pick whatever app you're missing the notifications from --> And Enable both "show in notification shade" and "show in status bar".
Thanks for the tip. I checked the notification settings for Whatsapp and found that both "show in notification shade" and "show in status bar" are already enabled. Yet I never see any Whatsapp notification. You do not have this issue and are you on V27or another version? Or any other Whatsapp user on on V27 having the same problem? Or is it the problem with Whatsapp? My version is 2.11.301

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Aug 13 2014, 01:41 PM
ronaldkwok
post Aug 13 2014, 03:23 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Aug 13 2014, 02:04 PM)
That's kinda odd that it still doesn't show when both are enabled. I had mine intentionally turned off at certain hours. There's no way to turn off notifications on WhatsApp itself either.

Silly question, but have you tried reinstalling your WhatsApp to see if it's fixed?

I was on V29 by default so I can't answer if it only happens on V27, why not just upgrade the firmware to V35(latest)? RAM management is way better, not much bugs as far as I know especially that annoying Mi Cloud warnings.
I was thinking of reinstalling Whatsapp but afraid that I will lose all the previous chats. Will that happen or the previous chats are automatically saved and restored after reinstalling Whatsapp or need to saved them manually? How to do that? I think I will stick with V27 for a while first since from feedback here, the battery usage seems to be better (?) than the later versions. Also like to hear from other Whatsapp user on V27 if they have the same problem. Anyway, thanks for your suggestions. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Aug 13 2014, 03:24 PM
ronaldkwok
post Aug 13 2014, 05:15 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(kurz @ Aug 13 2014, 04:45 PM)
no problem on my side...notifications from most social apps are there.
8 days since order date for my phone
Thanks for the feedback. notworthy.gif Do "most social apps" above include Whatsapp in your case? I get notifications for others like Gmail, email, etc and the problem is only with Whatsapp. cry.gif Maybe this Redmi doesn't want to disturb me!

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Aug 13 2014, 05:18 PM
ronaldkwok
post Aug 13 2014, 10:12 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Aug 13 2014, 08:46 PM)
Before you use the uninstall method, try this. Goto Settings>Apps>Whatsapp>Scroll down to the bottom : choose 'Manage permissions'> Enable 'Trust this app'. And reboot your phone.
Thanks, I'll give it a try. notworthy.gif
ronaldkwok
post Aug 14 2014, 04:43 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(kurz @ Aug 14 2014, 12:24 PM)
my social apps are whatsapp/ instagram/ facebook
ronaldkwok
post Aug 14 2014, 04:52 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Aug 14 2014, 04:24 PM)
I noticed when the phone boots up, Whatsapp will be loaded into memory if it's not denied at the startup permissions. The problem now is Whatsapp won't be visible(not until you open it to see messages and Whatsapp will be automatically locked) in the MIUI cleaner app. So users might also unknowingly clear Whatsapp from memory. They just need to fine tune the cleaner app I guess.
Also thanks for all the suggestion on the Whatsapp issue. I tried all of them but seems result not consistent. Finally I reinstalled Whatsapp and it says need to remove Watchdog Lite since it may kill Whatsapp. I uninstalled Watchdog Lite but the result is also not consistent but at least I can see the Whatsapp notification icon sometimes. I also get the chat arriving late and as pointed out earlier, this is a known issue in MIUI. Nevermind, I think I can live with it. On the plus side, now I control Whatsapp and not Whatsapp control me. LOL rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Aug 14 2014, 04:52 PM
ronaldkwok
post Aug 17 2014, 08:25 AM

656 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 16 2014, 09:00 PM)
Actually 1s more accuracy in color but  Note also output nice. The M8 is the least in accuracy.
Hi bro Andrew, I see instead of collecting BD, you are now collecting smartphones and flowers! rclxm9.gif
ronaldkwok
post Aug 17 2014, 05:16 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Aug 17 2014, 08:51 AM)
are you on stock v27?
could you please list a few bugs?
I am still on stock V27 and the main issue I experienced (like many others here) is the battery drain but you can reduced the drain by going into "Do Not Disturb" mode say at night when you are sleeping or periods when you do not expect any calls/message. Some said over-heating but not me, maybe because I don't play games or watch movies on my phone. The other issue I faced is the late/no notifications for whatsapp (see my posts in earlier pages on this) but OK for others apps; others users here don't seem to have this issue. Otherwise normal usage seems OK.

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Aug 17 2014, 05:18 PM

0.0429sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:17 PM