Credit Cards OCBC Titanium MasterCard Cash-Back v5, Unlimited 1% cashback only

adele123
post Jun 13 2014, 04:27 PM

4,724 posts

Has there always been this OCBC flash deal? quite interesting really.

makes me want to apply for one... though i'm not eligible for a titanium card. will be awhile before i start earning 5k a month.

damn should have applied for it when the titanium requirement was only 36k... =.="'
adele123
post Aug 11 2014, 07:00 PM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Aug 11 2014, 06:14 PM)
Hmm. Need to find replacement to avoid GST.  biggrin.gif

This yr OCBC. Next yr. xxx card.
If you want a card of almost same benefit, try HLB essential.

also 1% rebate. but excludes petrol (the slight difference)

of course, you don't get the ocbc flash deal, but everything the same
adele123
post Nov 14 2014, 11:06 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(confuzan @ Nov 14 2014, 10:21 AM)
if you don't have to pay any gst for the card, it is still some cash back to be earned when all other cards has been maxed out and amex is not accepted.
that is the only reason i kept the card.
^ agree.

(Disclaimer: I’m NOT promoting and I don’t work for HLB and affiliates, just sharing my experience)
And also for those who can't spend 30k-40k on this card, but one can opt to switch for HLB Essential Card. When I wanted to cancel my card, they actually call back and willing to waive the GST (no swipe-3-times condition or anything but they did say I cannot cancel within a year, which is fine).

So they actually gave me the RM50 BEFORE my GST is due… roughly 2 weeks earlier (one day after I receive their call). And my usage for the past year? Less than 5k.

The downside is HLB Essential rebate excludes petrol. But you have better cards for that.

adele123
post Nov 18 2014, 11:17 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Nov 17 2014, 03:17 PM)
noted and thanks for point 1...

more exiciting about point 3... haha... sicne august til last month already spend 80k on xiao mi website yet only get to so call 80k point and convert to cash rebate is less then 500... should sign up early this ocbc at least can rebate 800... almost like earn 1 mi3 free already.
But ocbc titanium (and their world mastercard) not opened for new application currently. Someone mentioned this some pages back. Though OCBC great eastern and hlb essential gives 1% rebate and still opened… so, I think for your xiaomi case, looks like the unlimited 1% is the best?

OCBC seems the better option simply due to HLB online banking does not allow bill payment via credit card for many payee. Example, most important/common payee is TNB, does not accept CC via HLB online. I’m not sure about OCBC online, but I think should be way better than HLB.

This post has been edited by adele123: Nov 18 2014, 11:18 AM
adele123
post Nov 20 2014, 08:59 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Nov 19 2014, 11:40 PM)
Bigbadwolfbooks, next month lol
big bad world partner is HLB now. OCBC still open booth there?
adele123
post Feb 18 2015, 02:57 PM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Feb 17 2015, 01:38 PM)
thanks for prompt answer smile.gif

The GE Co-brand Card is only issued to eligible applicants who hold any currently
valid insurance policies by GE Life and/or Overseas Assurance Corporation (Malaysia)
Berhad (Company No. 102249-P) (“OAC Assurance”).

cry.gif
you can swap your car/fire insurance to OAC...

Or... you can go for HLB essential.

This post has been edited by adele123: Feb 18 2015, 02:58 PM
adele123
post Feb 26 2015, 09:32 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Feb 26 2015, 07:58 AM)
so if i lost or broke or expired my card then need to change?
you should get a replacement. it just mean, not opened to new applicants. they are not removing it entirely from the product shelf, i think.
adele123
post Mar 10 2015, 09:02 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Mar 10 2015, 07:57 AM)
regarding the 1% for the 365 card, i'm not sure how to interpret it exactly but i think what they meant was minimum spending of RM1000 to be eligible for 1% cr.

things about bank is, they like to play with word, they ranked second next to lawyers in twisting words
i think bank rank 3rd, insurance rank 2nd.

ANYWAY, i think ocbc is asking you not to spend above 1000. cause they give 0.5% rebate for spendings ABOVE 1000.

i still recommend HLB essential to to other people though.
adele123
post Mar 18 2015, 09:12 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ Mar 17 2015, 09:44 PM)
OCBC Mastercard Titanium....anyone have waived GST ?
if you look back few pages, some forummers reported yes... but have (to me) very high spending... i've seen 40k per year...
adele123
post Apr 2 2015, 12:41 PM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(funlp @ Apr 2 2015, 11:19 AM)
I'm also wondering abt this as it seems we can longer apply for this card on OCBC's website. Could it be that they are discontinuing the Titanium unlimited 1% rebate card?
you can go for OCBC GE. still 1% unlimited... or you can go for HLB Essential (but the 1% excludes petrol)

the OCBC titanium not opened for new applications... has been for quite some time...

adele123
post Apr 8 2015, 11:27 PM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(ytan053 @ Apr 8 2015, 05:24 PM)
For hlb essential, cash bk only valid when have min 1 retail transaction at RM100,meaning nd to swipe one transc at RM100 at least to get rebate?
T&c is correct...

However the loophole is... I spent rm60, i got rm1 rebate... Hlb essential go by Round nearest ringgit. I did this unknowingly last year... I repeat after i found out. But the last time was probably more than 6 months ago...
adele123
post Apr 9 2015, 08:41 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Apr 9 2015, 03:42 AM)
lol, now you learn something new? brows.gif

by the way the minimum rm100 doesn't need to be in 1 transaction right? can be a combination of a few transactions right?
No no... Not based on transaction

i don't know if they fixed the loophole, since i spend >100 usually. there were 2 statements, that i spent between 60-70. Both times i got RM1 rebate.

anyway, there might be a possibility they covered this loophole. worst, they will also switch their rebate % this year.

times are hard tongue.gif
adele123
post May 6 2015, 12:21 PM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 5 2015, 08:21 PM)
i have been using this OCBC Titanium for its unlimited 1%
rebate.....now  no more? sigh............

Anybody knows how to pay AIA insurance online with this Ti card to qualify for that 1%?
there's also HLB essential... if they don't change their cash back in the next few months...
adele123
post May 7 2015, 08:46 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 6 2015, 02:32 PM)

i dont have this card, only HL Wise. How many % Cash back  for insurance premium there?

1% unlimited on all retail except petrol.

so yes 1% including insurance.

0.0220sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:33 PM