Edifier Fan Club V7, A Passion For Sound

CyrusWong
post Aug 16 2014, 08:55 PM

1,643 posts

anyone can gimme some tips and guide to place my subs on the best place to get the best experience? unsure.gif

as you can see in be below picture, my subs are placed right side under my pc table. the bass are.... ermm... not good... muddy?

and here's how the subs woofer breathing hole direction. smile.gif

stay cool cool2.gif

This post has been edited by CyrusWong: Aug 16 2014, 09:03 PM
CyrusWong
post Aug 16 2014, 10:16 PM

1,643 posts

QUOTE(Cosef @ Aug 16 2014, 09:35 PM)
How do you think about the current bass sounding?

If not sure and want to try new position, maybe you can try re-position your satellite speaker first as lower mid range can possible affect the way you perceive the subwoofer bass.

Make both satellites height identical and the bottom of the tweeter is around your ear level, if you can't do that maybe you can use door stopper to angle it up.

As for subwoofer positioning, maybe you can try pull out the table and leave the sub at the same position so you got your sub around the same distance to your satellite speakers. Try it back and forth see which gives a fuller sounding to you.

Hope that helps  biggrin.gif
as the c3 originally bass are not solid. now plus the current condition, make the bass are more soft. and i am using laptop onboard sound output.

watch movie are great, coz i open the bass to max, real great.

but when listen to songs, the bass are just too soft.

thx for the satellites suggestion. notworthy.gif maybe i should move my table to corner wall sweat.gif but i din't like the corner side coz no windows there. surrent position is very good during daylight ^^
CyrusWong
post Aug 17 2014, 11:17 AM

1,643 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Aug 16 2014, 11:22 PM)
get yourself a better soundcard like T-Muso for the extra bass boost optionĀ  brows.gif
no $$ already, bought few things this month doh.gif still studying, budget tight. I'm building a rig now. So I duwan spend $$ on buying an external sound card/amplifier. Would like to buy a internal sound card that cost around 300. next semester just buy. Will use onboard 1 first.

QUOTE(cdspins @ Aug 16 2014, 11:30 PM)
Why not try move it out from the pc table. Actually sub is low frequency, not much effect in placement unlike high frequency speaker
nope, you can experience some kind like bass "boast" if place at corner place and you stand at the opposite corner. but in this room, I dunno how to place it lol sweat.gif Currently I place it under my table coz it will .... err as I said just now, corner place laugh.gif but hunting for new spot now. I tried put outside of table, the bass is softer than before, then I tried place under the... the... the... left hand side of the walled table there, bass is stronger a little bit, just a little bit but still failed coz I can feel the bass is come from left downside... doh.gif something like not balance... bass come from another way. In the end I place it back under my table. doh.gif

This post has been edited by CyrusWong: Aug 17 2014, 11:20 AM
CyrusWong
post Aug 17 2014, 06:43 PM

1,643 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Aug 17 2014, 04:13 PM)
Speaker should face the longer side of the room, not the current way round. Only 'boomy' speaker can give quantity bass in that configuration, or if the room's enviroment allows it.

Since your room is pretty empty judging from pict, there is nothing to soak up higher frequencies or reverb the lower frequencies. Since room is not treated try not to position subwoofer dead centered between 2 side walls, unless your listening position is 1/3 distance to the far end or listening at the far end of room.

Best position for sub is at the corner of the room IMO. Best if you can move the whole table & set to the windowed corner, speakers facing bed for near field listening. For more bass coverage, set it at the current bed position facing the WC door, that way the bass port is facing a longer side-wall. If the room is squarish / square / alot of indents (current place other table is placed), there will be alot of 'crosspoints' where there will be almost no bass / mids. C3 doesnt have a dominating bass, pretty challenging if you need for more bass, eq can help as te woofer doesnt bottom out easily. good luck!
thanks for the professional advice notworthy.gif I will move it then to the corner window laugh.gif
CyrusWong
post Aug 23 2014, 10:59 AM

1,643 posts

between pcie sound card and dac, which 1 should 1 get?

im using edifier c3, my budget oso very low sweat.gif still studying

This post has been edited by CyrusWong: Aug 23 2014, 11:03 AM
CyrusWong
post Aug 24 2014, 06:05 PM

1,643 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Aug 24 2014, 05:51 PM)
Some laptops have slightly weak outputs from their integrated audio system. Both PCI soundcard and external USB DACs are essentially the same thing, just packaged differently. I don't think PCI sound cards can fit inside a laptop, thus a more logical choice would be an external USB DAC. You may want to try putting that subwoofer in a down-firing position with the woofer facing the floor (reflecting the bass directly off the floor) and see. Make sure there is a substantial air gap between the woofer and the floor... hmm.gif

Kinda dfficult to find/see any S2000 around the shops, plus pretty pricey too (one of the most expensive models from Edifier). And which "SuperM" is that? Is it the small Bluetooth thingy? If it is then that is worlds apart when compared to the S2000 (including the price also).... rclxub.gif
im building a rig now. pcie sound card is possible. the laptop... going to put at home.
CyrusWong
post Jul 24 2015, 12:40 PM

1,643 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Jun 24 2015, 03:51 PM)
if you liked bass then the Altec will win no matter how it sounds as R1280T isn't bassy in computer speaker range

but since R1280T doesn't have the generic bass of average computer speaker, it won't have bass mudding it's sound

but lets say I were to switch off the VS4621 subwoofer and only compared the two stereo speakers,

The R1280T is extremely full sounding with body and texture compared to the dead plastic sound of VS4621 down firing midranges
which 1 will more suit for home tv speaker?

VS4621
-more bass?

R1280T
-more rich sound experience
-not bassy (becoz it's studio speaker)
-got remote control (good for tv speaker, easy remote)

just need a firm answer sweat.gif

2nd question,
how about for pc speaker?
which 1 will be better in overall? I'm using asus xonar stx too.

if you hav better suggestion will be good icon_rolleyes.gif just budget friendly

This post has been edited by CyrusWong: Jul 24 2015, 12:43 PM

0.0253sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:10 PM