Safest way to paste posters on the wall...

TSkurogane
post Aug 5 2006, 08:15 AM, updated 20y ago

508 posts

I hope this is the right board to post on..

Anyways, here's my problem. I have some double-sided posters which I'd like to decorate my wall with. But I'm living in a rented room, so I can't use something that will damage the wall with.

So... what should I use as an adhesive so that it won't damage the poster or the wall and where to find them. Please don't answer with cellophane(or any usual types) tape or glue, because those WILL damage the poster.

Thanks a lot for any help.
Yoh
post Aug 5 2006, 08:32 AM

StayHomeKid
1,755 posts

use tack it! i like the green ones from faber castell... easily to get off and won't spoil ur poster..

*click* tack it

the downside is if u use it too long, e.g. 1 yr.. it will start to harden/oxidize and leave a bit of stain on the wall
shyghost
post Aug 5 2006, 08:47 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(Yoh @ Aug 5 2006, 08:32 AM)
the downside is if u use it too long, e.g. 1 yr.. it will start to harden/oxidize and leave a bit of stain on the wall
I agree with YoH using the "tack it" material. However, there is quite a number of downsides actually other than YoH mention above.

You're lucky if you get away with a stain on the wall after some time it is harden. Unlucky ones can even peel the paint of the wall.

The material should leave an oily spot (the spot where u stick the material) on your poster after some time.
Yoh
post Aug 5 2006, 09:34 AM

StayHomeKid
1,755 posts

can overcome one sweat.gif

just keep rolling the tack it in your hand like those playdoh..then it won't get too sticky and lengthen the period of usage.
grouchy_smurf
post Aug 5 2006, 11:51 AM

56 posts

use blutack...although if you leave it for quite a long period of time you'll have a slight stain on your poster sweat.gif but no damage to the walls though...
TSkurogane
post Aug 5 2006, 09:00 PM

508 posts

Yeah... actually, I've used those back a long time ago, but I discovered the stain problem with it. Perhaps something to do with the climate, as my temperate climate friends don't seem to have that problem.

Any other alternatives to suggest, everyone?
etsuko
post Aug 6 2006, 08:25 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

Blue Tack can peel off paint if the paint in your rented space isn't done properly. so beware you go an tack then later when you decide to take down the thing after a month, there's a small crack. and from that comes the angry landlord. tongue.gif
devince83
post Aug 6 2006, 09:27 PM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

frame it and gantung.. easy~ icon_rolleyes.gif
Sesshoumaru
post Aug 6 2006, 09:40 PM

1,190 posts

QUOTE(devince83 @ Aug 6 2006, 09:27 PM)
frame it and gantung.. easy~ icon_rolleyes.gif
Yay and nail the wall! Whoopy!
chilicandy
post Aug 7 2006, 12:22 AM

sweet and spicy
1,389 posts

the cheap way...

wrap the poster with clear plastic sheet . This way, both sides are protected.
Next, use cellophontape and direct stick on half edges of the poster front with the wall. ( remember, you already have the poster covered with clear plastic sheets. )

the wall will only be ruined of cellophontape white marks if u removed them later. ( as the wall tend to yellow a bit over sometime ).
But it wont leaves undesireable holes, and easily be painted over a new coat of paint.

when the plastic sheet turns yellow after sometimes, just change over with a new one.

i did this to my slam dunk poster.... biggrin.gif
kyLL
post Aug 7 2006, 12:43 AM

-=-
1,638 posts

do whatever u like to the wall. before u leave. buy a small can of paint or wood putty and plaster the area u messed up. gg.
renegade7
post Aug 7 2006, 04:53 PM

depending on the size and the weight of the poster, if it's quite light, use masking tape. To avoid lifting the paint off the wall when poster is taken down, dab the tape on your skin lightly before pasting your poster. Hope it works for you, coz it did for me.

TSkurogane
post Aug 8 2006, 02:05 AM

508 posts

hmm... thanks for the ideas. I was actually thinking of laminating them, but the posters are about 3-4 A4 sizes, so i think it will be very expensive. I'll try some out first. Any more suggestions are welcome.
shiinkuro31
post Aug 11 2006, 12:29 PM

Chef of Straw Hat Pirates
1,259 posts

hey, i think i can help. try find 'magic tape', u can stick ur poster on ur wall easily. its not like typical silifon tape, its kinda illuminate itself, and im used to it, u know what i mean.. when u paste it, it just kinda invisible..just go to big stationary shop, they sure have it, not small shop.. the name is magic tape, brand name i forgot lor...
andrienne
post Aug 12 2006, 11:42 AM

429 posts

my blue tack will come off if i switch on the aricon too long cause it will be harden. eventually, the whole thing came off together with the tag.

0.0163sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:07 AM