107 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Xiaomi Mi Pad, 7.9″ tablet with Nvidia Tegra K1!

TSEddx
post May 16 2014, 11:57 AM, updated 10y ago

G Stadia
2,107 posts

At today’s Xiaomi event (15th May 2014), they have announced their first ever tablet called the Mi Pad. It gets a 7.9″ display that does 2048×1536 pixels which is similar to the iPad mini with Retina Display. Powering the device is Nvidia’s next generation Tegra K1 processor which consists of 4-Plus-1 Quad-Core ARM Cortex-A15 clocked at 2.2GHz and mated to a 192 Cores Kepler GPU.

According to Xiaomi, the Tegra processor offer 230% greater graphic performance than Apple A7 chip. It also gets 2GB of RAM with a choice of 16GB and 64GB of on-board storage. If that’s not enough, there’s an microSD expansion slot which accepts cards up to 128GB capacity.

For imaging it gets a 5MP at the front and a 8MP shooter at the rear. Both cameras are having f/2.0 aperture for better low light photography. Juicing up the Mi Pad is a whooping 6,700mAh capacity battery which lasts 86 hours of music or 11 hours of video playback. Connectivity is handled via WiFi and it supports the faster 802.11ac standard. Similar to the iPhone 5C, it comes a variety of striking colours. Overall it weighs 360 grams and has a thickness of just 8.5mm. As comparison, the iPad mini weighs 331 grams (WiFi) and is 7.5mm thick.

The biggest challenge of Android in tablets is the lack of apps. This is why the iPad is taking a lion share of tablets despite the number of Android tablets available in the market. To address this, the Mi Pad currently has 100 high quality apps and 400 games available to make full use of its display and processor. They aim to bring this number up to 1,000 apps and 1,000 games by year end. For more information, check out Xiaomi Mi Pad product page.

In terms of price, the Mi Pad 16GB is priced at 1,499 Yuan (about RM776) while the 64GB is listed at 1,699 Yuan (about RM880).

Sos

This post has been edited by Eddx: May 16 2014, 12:00 PM
123joe
post May 16 2014, 11:58 AM

PHONE AND TABLET ACCESSORIES
2,894 posts

i want 1 unit. tq
TSEddx
post May 16 2014, 11:59 AM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(123joe @ May 16 2014, 11:58 AM)
i want 1 unit.  tq
lol

I think Ele Wholesale is doing pre-order

MiPad 16GB for 899 and 64GB for 930
hafizhans
post May 16 2014, 12:00 PM

haa..ahnn..ahnn..aduii
1,484 posts

already available in malaysia?
lkc_86
post May 16 2014, 12:01 PM

50 posts

Will go and try one once they launched!!!
red.john
post May 16 2014, 12:03 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(Eddx @ May 16 2014, 11:59 AM)
lol

better wait from Xiaomi Malaysia store release.
skloda
post May 16 2014, 12:03 PM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,857 posts

the pricing quite attractive ...
mtxx
post May 16 2014, 12:04 PM

5,011 posts

another product that looks good, have good spec, and sell for very cheap. but not sold here.

so pretty much vapor ware to me.
meh~

TSEddx
post May 16 2014, 12:04 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(red.john @ May 16 2014, 12:03 PM)
better wait from Xiaomi Malaysia store release.
doubt they will launch it here soon, but what im interested to know is if we buy from china, will xiaomi MY cover the warranty hmm.gif
nakTT
post May 16 2014, 12:44 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(Eddx @ May 16 2014, 12:04 PM)
doubt they will launch it here soon, but what im interested to know is if we buy from china, will xiaomi MY cover the warranty  hmm.gif
I don't think they will unless yours are under international warranty, which I doubt.
suntzulee
post May 16 2014, 12:58 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

wow mipad thread...so fast...keep it up TS!
123joe
post May 16 2014, 01:05 PM

PHONE AND TABLET ACCESSORIES
2,894 posts

QUOTE(Eddx @ May 16 2014, 11:59 AM)
lol

nice price for 64gb
-kytz-
post May 16 2014, 01:15 PM

12,509 posts

Wait a second, is this using Android or ?

The biggest challenge of Android in tablets is the lack of apps. This is why the iPad is taking a lion share of tablets despite the number of Android tablets available in the market. To address this, the Mi Pad currently has 100 high quality apps and 400 games available to make full use of its display and processor. They aim to bring this number up to 1,000 apps and 1,000 games by year end

noobandroid
post May 16 2014, 01:17 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 16 2014, 01:15 PM)
android MIUI variation
andyjyneo
post May 16 2014, 01:18 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,662 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 16 2014, 01:15 PM)
I'm sure the stats are based on MIUI market, since China banned Google Play services and GApps.
-kytz-
post May 16 2014, 01:35 PM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ May 16 2014, 01:17 PM)
android MIUI variation
QUOTE(andyjyneo @ May 16 2014, 01:18 PM)
I'm sure the stats are based on MIUI market, since China banned Google Play services and GApps.
Question is, can we download Google Play and download apps from there since we are not in China... ? hmm.gif
click2me
post May 16 2014, 01:42 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 16 2014, 01:35 PM)
Question is, can we download Google Play and download apps from there since we are not in China... ? hmm.gif
first download "google installer" from Miui market, that will install first the GOogle framework, then also all the necessary Gapps.. but better just install the framework, then only install the Play Store from there, while the rest download from Play Store..
andyjyneo
post May 16 2014, 01:42 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,662 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ May 16 2014, 01:35 PM)
There's an app in MIUI market called "Google installer", if I'm not mistaken.
Download the app, then open the app to download all Google services, including Google Play Store, Google Contacts, etc.

By the way, as for Xiaomi phones sold outside China, they already integrated Google services in their phones.
This is through my expensive of using Redmi.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: May 16 2014, 01:43 PM
SUSyujy
post May 16 2014, 01:43 PM

333 posts

Lol design and interface looks almost like apple
-kytz-
post May 16 2014, 01:46 PM

12,509 posts

QUOTE(click2me @ May 16 2014, 01:42 PM)
first download "google installer" from Miui market, that will install first the GOogle framework, then also all the necessary Gapps.. but better just install the framework, then only install the Play Store from there, while the rest download from Play Store..
QUOTE(andyjyneo @ May 16 2014, 01:42 PM)
There's an app in MIUI market called "Google installer", if I'm not mistaken.
Download the app, then open the app to download all Google services, including Google Play Store, Google Contacts, etc.

By the way, as for Xiaomi phones sold outside China, they already integrated Google services in their phones.
This is through my expensive of using Redmi.
Sounds good thanks guys!

Anyhow, I think I'll wait for a while for the announcement of the Nexus 8 and then decide hmm.gif

107 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:39 PM