Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Official YTL WIMAX YES 4G Broadband Thread V3 (Yes)

views
     
efariz
post Nov 14 2014, 08:59 PM

Network Engineer To Be
******
Senior Member
1,030 posts

Joined: Apr 2010
From: Kuala Lumpur-Cyberjaya-Subang Jaya



Hi guys, anyone know which router compatible with Yes 4G dongle?
i want to make a wifi hotspot (don't want to use huddle or zoom)
i only know Draytek VigorFly 210 LINK

This post has been edited by efariz: Nov 14 2014, 09:00 PM
efariz
post Nov 14 2014, 09:22 PM

Network Engineer To Be
******
Senior Member
1,030 posts

Joined: Apr 2010
From: Kuala Lumpur-Cyberjaya-Subang Jaya



QUOTE(donalduck @ Nov 14 2014, 09:14 PM)
Read it somewhere here, Asus router can. Price is rm300 ++ though.

Might as we get a zoom from me haha
*
the reason i don't want huddle or zoom is because if use router, i can connect to my unifi (replacing crappy TM router) at home..i just use Yes 4G at my rented house at Melaka (i studied here) nod.gif nod.gif
efariz
post Nov 14 2014, 10:09 PM

Network Engineer To Be
******
Senior Member
1,030 posts

Joined: Apr 2010
From: Kuala Lumpur-Cyberjaya-Subang Jaya



QUOTE(donalduck @ Nov 14 2014, 09:42 PM)
Ic Ic, ok try look for Asus router that supports broadband
*
up on further research (via google), i found out several Asus router can use with Yes 4G dongle..
to name a few: RT-N16U, RT-N65U, RT-N66U, RT-AC52U, RT-AC66U, RT-AC56U and RT-AC68U
but not sure which one stable or can plug-and-play sweat.gif

but the price is more expensive than Draytek VigorFly 210 (RM290) doh.gif
efariz
post Nov 15 2014, 10:10 AM

Network Engineer To Be
******
Senior Member
1,030 posts

Joined: Apr 2010
From: Kuala Lumpur-Cyberjaya-Subang Jaya



QUOTE(donalduck @ Nov 15 2014, 08:31 AM)
yea somewhere around +- RM300 is the price for that asus router. i myself havent got the chance to try it yet though, but in case u did, do update us here? definitely wanna know which model do supports it
*
right now i'm just eyeing on Asus RT-N16U & Drytek Vigor 210 brows.gif
efariz
post Nov 15 2014, 10:32 AM

Network Engineer To Be
******
Senior Member
1,030 posts

Joined: Apr 2010
From: Kuala Lumpur-Cyberjaya-Subang Jaya



QUOTE(donalduck @ Nov 15 2014, 10:24 AM)
price wise, the same?
*
asus more expensive, rm300++..dreytek rm290..
efariz
post Nov 15 2014, 11:19 AM

Network Engineer To Be
******
Senior Member
1,030 posts

Joined: Apr 2010
From: Kuala Lumpur-Cyberjaya-Subang Jaya



QUOTE(donalduck @ Nov 15 2014, 11:10 AM)
brand cost. haha

warranty wise, go for drytek? asus is wellknown for bad warranty claim
*
haha..i don't know about Asus warranty, coz i never claim warranty for their item.
draytek seems establish company for high-end/industry grade router (like cisco)..
but the brand is not very well known in malaysia sweat.gif
efariz
post Nov 17 2014, 08:03 PM

Network Engineer To Be
******
Senior Member
1,030 posts

Joined: Apr 2010
From: Kuala Lumpur-Cyberjaya-Subang Jaya



Just test my Yes speed using speedtest.net (DiGi server)..
result quite impressive since i never get this speed before drool.gif

my location : Kg Seri Mendapat, Jalan Merlimau-Jasin, Melaka
device : Yes dongle + 10m USB extension

Attached Image

This post has been edited by efariz: Nov 17 2014, 08:04 PM
efariz
post Nov 18 2014, 12:57 PM

Network Engineer To Be
******
Senior Member
1,030 posts

Joined: Apr 2010
From: Kuala Lumpur-Cyberjaya-Subang Jaya



QUOTE(mrhulk @ Nov 18 2014, 10:12 AM)
i use dongle too....is 10m cable affect the yes dongle signal?
*
signal will become unstable (often disconnect or sudden drop in signal bar) if I use dongle with 10m extension cable WITHOUT booster/amplifier.. since I didn't have booster/amplifier, I cannot test the stability using booster/amplifier..

the strange thing is eventhough signal not stable, I still manage to online, downloading files & streaming YouTube video using my laptop (acer aspire s3)..but I CANNOT online at all if using my PC (same dongle, same 10m USB extension).. when I click 'connect', the signal will drop & my dongle will be automatically disconnect & reconnect back.. so strange!

QUOTE(donalduck @ Nov 18 2014, 10:14 AM)
yea , try move ur laptop and speed test without the cable, ull see slight difference on speed.

full 5 bar can go as high as 18MBPS for mine here
*


i placed my dongle on the rooftop (using 10m USB extension) coz I have try walk around my house with dongle attached to my laptop.. I can't any signal at all.. that's why I'm using esp extension.. so I might buy USB booster/amplifier to solve the unstable issues..

the signal & speed is sufficient enough for my usage right now.. I'm satisfied with each speed.. but if can go higher than that, it will be privileged brows.gif

This post has been edited by efariz: Nov 18 2014, 01:16 PM

Topic ClosedOptions
 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0238sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st May 2022 - 07:45 AM