Movies Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Harry Potter Spin-Off: 2016, 2018, 2020!

TSfiredauz
post May 14 2014, 04:08 PM, updated 12y ago

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Sauce: http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=118226
Harry Potter Spinoff Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Set for November 18, 2016

Warner Bros. has set their Harry Potter franchise spinoff, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, for release on November 18, 2016. The film, based on J.K. Rowling's world of witches and wizards and inspired by Harry Potter’s Hogwarts textbook of the same name, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them will follow the adventures of the book’s fictitious author, Newt Scamander.

The first in a planned trilogy set in the wizarding world, the story will feature magical creatures and characters, some of which will be familiar to devoted Harry Potter fans. The laws and customs of the hidden magical society will be familiar to anyone who has read the Harry Potter books or seen the films, but Newt's story will start in New York, seventy years before Harry's gets underway.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is the first to claim the November 18, 2016 date, although Walt Disney Pictures has a placeholder set for an untitled animated feature five days later.

This post has been edited by firedauz: Oct 16 2014, 01:08 AM
TSfiredauz
post Oct 16 2014, 12:42 AM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

3 movies until 2020! rclxms.gif

JustcallmeLarry
post Nov 10 2015, 04:41 PM

1,363 posts

Looking forward to this. Will it be as dark as the Harry Potter series I wonder???
defaultname365
post Dec 17 2015, 11:40 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

The music score towards the end was almost Harry Potter-ish but decides not to go there tongue.gif
elm0001
post Dec 18 2015, 09:39 AM

I'm Tyrion Lannister's whore
998 posts

take my money
elm0001
post Dec 18 2015, 09:39 AM

998 posts

double post

This post has been edited by elm0001: Dec 18 2015, 09:39 AM
defaultname365
post Sep 29 2016, 03:15 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

lord_aminkin
post Nov 17 2016, 11:27 AM

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

I didn't know if its my high hope or the expectation after seeing it rate 100% at RT on early review, but it just didn't quite pleased me. The visual and world building is great but the dynamic between main characters and plots not so much. There so much happening in the first act that I didn't bother to care (even put me to good sleep a few minute).

Need to watch it again for its visual and to catch up what I've missed during my snooze. Maybe I'll like it better the second time.

This post has been edited by lord_aminkin: Nov 17 2016, 01:19 PM
tonYe
post Nov 17 2016, 11:56 AM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

Perhaps the best spinoff (of a big franchise) in recent years. This is how you should do it, cash-grabbers!
Dominic Toretto
post Nov 17 2016, 02:45 PM

70 posts

Will go to watch this with my fiancée this Saturday. Weeeeeeeeeee

I hope it will not disappointing.
G_KeN
post Nov 17 2016, 04:32 PM

~~Cheers love <3~~
1,453 posts

well, this movie exceeded my expectation. was expecting a kiddy movie ala the first harry potter, but ended up pleasantly surprised with the darker theme similar to the latter movies in the harry potter series.

oh and there's a surprise actor appearance near the end of the movie. similar to matt damon's appearance in Interstellar, who was not involved or shown in any of the movie's ads or promotion.

my only major gripe is with the acting of the main actor, eddie redmayne. i dont know, something's a bit off. i believe he is supposed to portray a weird character but ended up being a bit cringey lol.

character development a bit lacking, but since this is the first movie in the series (they planned 5 movies), im pretty sure jk rowling will take her sweet time to reveal more in depth on each of the characters' past.

a solid 8/10 from me smile.gif

This post has been edited by G_KeN: Nov 18 2016, 01:10 PM
Mov_freak
post Nov 18 2016, 01:28 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2016)

Gosh, how am I to review this...

Truth to be told, the Harry Potter books got me back into reading books...

Then the movies came about, and they were actually decent adaptation of the books!

So, in short, I read all 7 books, and have to admit, I have not read the Fantastic Beast and Where to find Them... It is a thin book...

And I understand they are making a couple of this???!!!

Let me do it this way

The Good

I am NOT a fan of Eddie Redmayne. I understand he had won awards for his works, and I cannot remember being drawn by his acting skills... Until now...

Warner, hoping for another cash cow, spared no expense, and the production is GORGEOUS!

The Bad

Because it is a Warner Production, this HAS TO take place in America... Sigh...

They even introduced an American School of magic... Groan x 2....

The Ugly

Apart from Newt Scamander (and vaguely at that) there is HARDLY any character development!!?!

This also suffers from what I call "The Hobbit Syndrome". meaning, reference material, a story does not make!!!

So, certain parts were spectacular, others...

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Nov 18 2016, 02:00 AM
JustcallmeLarry
post Nov 18 2016, 01:55 AM

1,363 posts

lord_aminkin
post Nov 18 2016, 09:54 PM

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

Upon 2nd viewing, my impression on the movie increased a little bit. Because now I know, what's going on and what to expect. Turn out I did miss a lot during my snooze on the first viewing.

I watched both times at IMAX3D and the effect still impressive. I especially like the dark thingy sequence. So beautiful and engaging.

And I think kids will not enjoy it as much we adults do.
whirlwind
post Nov 19 2016, 01:42 PM

http://purplemonkey.com.my/
3,602 posts

Good movie! I like watching all the different and interesting beasts shown in the movie. Watch it even if you are not a fan of Harry Potter.
LightningZERO
post Nov 19 2016, 07:12 PM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

Pretty good movie, very enjoyable

The last reveal have me lol instead of being impressed
alucard89
post Nov 19 2016, 07:43 PM

4,454 posts

If anything, it just goes to show how American Sorcerers handles their problems, full blast battle magic to the threat and ask questions later.
I really thought they were gonna capture Ezra's character and keep him under magic lock and key but I guess that's how Americans do it.

I keep pronouncing his last name as Salamander haha, just noticed how he never really keeps eye contact with other characters when he was talking to them.

This post has been edited by alucard89: Nov 19 2016, 07:44 PM
elm0001
post Nov 19 2016, 08:12 PM

998 posts

YASSSSSSS to this!

loved the cameo! he was announced to be in the sequel but i never expected to see him in this first one.

instead of the loooooooong scene of catching the rhino look alike at the central park, i thought they should have focused on building the Credence character. but other than that, no complains!
skylinelover
post Nov 19 2016, 09:25 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,256 posts

Wow stuckmann just gave an A minus not bad laugh.gif rclxms.gif
whatever06
post Nov 19 2016, 10:57 PM

21 posts

An overrated movie due to HP relation hype. Boring, tasteless, weak storytelling. 5.5/10

0.0205sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:12 AM