230 Pages « < 149 150 151 152 153 > » Bottom

Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

mike86
post Jul 15 2019, 01:31 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 15 2019, 01:27 AM)
Are you in a rush to get one?
actually kinda out of time already and wish to get by next week sad.gif
kambingkoh
post Jul 15 2019, 08:57 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(mike86 @ Jul 15 2019, 01:31 AM)
actually kinda out of time already and wish to get by next week sad.gif
Then you have not much choice due to time constraint. You may want to focus on shops that provide you the most options and the best deal.
Elkaebe P
post Jul 21 2019, 10:33 AM

Probation

Hi sifu @kambingkoh , been silently lurking on this thread for few months.
Looking for a ring 0.7-0.8 carat with budget of 10-12k for diamond (gf preference on bigger size definitely).
Not looking for super ideal, just best value for money (probably benchmark those wah chan standard?)
Still have a couple of months to decide at this point but ok to buy now if there is something suitable.

Thanks in advance notworthy.gif
kambingkoh
post Jul 21 2019, 12:08 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Elkaebe @ Jul 21 2019, 10:33 AM)
Hi sifu @kambingkoh , been silently lurking on this thread for few months.
Looking for a ring 0.7-0.8 carat with budget of 10-12k for diamond (gf preference on bigger size definitely).
Not looking for super ideal, just best value for money (probably benchmark those wah chan standard?)
Still have a couple of months to decide at this point but ok to buy now if there is something suitable.

Thanks in advance  notworthy.gif
If you want to include the ring, you can consider this :
https://www.facebook.com/775461832580869/po...39124899547882/

You can also consider reducing colour to increase carat, depending on what you have in mind. What is your colour and clarity preference?
Elkaebe P
post Jul 21 2019, 12:19 PM

Probation

Thanks for the quick reply.. Budget is excluding the ring.
Looking at color G- H and clarity vs1-2 .. Based on what I have been reading so far, SI is not really recommended as it may be noticeable to naked eye?
kambingkoh
post Jul 21 2019, 12:43 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Elkaebe @ Jul 21 2019, 12:19 PM)
Thanks for the quick reply.. Budget is excluding the ring.
Looking at color G- H and clarity vs1-2 .. Based on what I have been reading so far, SI is not really recommended as it may be noticeable to naked eye?
Let me take a look and get back to you. SI1 can sometimes be eye-clean and be very value for money. Have to go case by case basis.

Btw, I have just dropped you a PM regarding some recommendations. You may refer to it.

This post has been edited by kambingkoh: Jul 21 2019, 02:40 PM
adrianteo
post Jul 26 2019, 06:56 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 6 2019, 07:41 PM)
Based on the overall look and proportions, I am sure it will perform well. Most importantly you found some place that you are satisfy with.

Alternatively, If you want options like that with a store front, do consider Jann Paul at Singapore. In-house diamonds are available for viewing.

Good luck and all the best!
Thanks! Got my sarine light report and to be honest, it's more than what I expected.

Also as you rightly pointed out, the cut may not be perfect hence probably affected the light symmetry rating.

But overall, I am satisfied and the jewellers has been quite transparent.

kambingkoh
post Jul 26 2019, 08:56 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(adrianteo @ Jul 26 2019, 06:56 AM)
Thanks! Got my sarine light report and to be honest, it's more than what I expected.

Also as you rightly pointed out, the cut may not be perfect hence probably affected the light symmetry rating.

But overall, I am satisfied and the jewellers has been quite transparent.

Glad you sorted it out!
Blue_Diamond
post Jul 27 2019, 06:01 PM

98 posts

Hi all sifu, got a quotation for this diamond for 8.5k inclusive of 14k white gold setting which is within my budget. Is faint fluorescence ok in a diamond? Any advice? Thanks!

kambingkoh
post Jul 27 2019, 06:19 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Blue_Diamond @ Jul 27 2019, 06:01 PM)
Hi all sifu, got a quotation for this diamond for 8.5k inclusive of 14k white gold setting which is within my budget. Is faint fluorescence ok in a diamond? Any advice? Thanks!

Personally, i don’t mind faint fluorescence as AGS (another grading lab) takes them as negligible too. While the proportions look not bad, do you have the actual stone image?
Blue_Diamond
post Jul 27 2019, 08:08 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 27 2019, 06:19 PM)
Personally, i don’t mind faint fluorescence as AGS (another grading lab) takes them as negligible too. While the proportions look not bad, do you have the actual stone image?
Oh i see. Yeah. They included the image below in the quotation.
kambingkoh
post Jul 27 2019, 08:25 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Blue_Diamond @ Jul 27 2019, 08:08 PM)
Oh i see. Yeah. They included the image below in the quotation.
Looks not bad. Can consider. Other things you can ask will be:
1. Tint
2. Lustre

Tint should be white, while lustre should be max. Usually the diamond supplier will provide.
Blue_Diamond
post Jul 27 2019, 09:36 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 27 2019, 08:25 PM)
Looks not bad. Can consider. Other things you can ask will be:
1. Tint
2. Lustre

Tint should be white, while lustre should be max. Usually the diamond supplier will provide.
Okok noted. Got this quotation from TJ btw. Seriously considering this after comparing other brands so far. Prefer their setting design the most too smile.gif

This post has been edited by Blue_Diamond: Jul 27 2019, 09:38 PM
kambingkoh
post Jul 28 2019, 12:08 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(Blue_Diamond @ Jul 27 2019, 09:36 PM)
Okok noted. Got this quotation from TJ btw. Seriously considering this after comparing other brands so far. Prefer their setting design the most too smile.gif
No problem. All the best!
kambingkoh
post Jul 30 2019, 09:54 PM

76 posts

Newer batch of diamonds have better prices:

http://www.myengagementringexperience.com/...-inventory.html
christcwl9
post Aug 4 2019, 11:16 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jun 19 2019, 12:00 AM)
It can be cheap, but much more details are needed to evaluate. Such as, which grading report they use, is it triple excellent or equivalent? Does it has fluorescence? How are the proportions pairing?

I know some people do just aim for carat weight by sacrificing other areas. Nothing wrong with that, it is really a matter of preference.
Hey Sifu Kambingkoh, im looking to get a proposal ring very soon, and from what i read so far, I am being advised to get only those diamond with:

COlor : at least F or better (D.E.F. with D being the best color?? )
Clarity : at least VS1 or better
Cut : Excellent only and ignore those which are not graded excellent
Carrat : Still no idea whats the sweet spot for this proposal ring
Budget : Still no idea yet but im open to any good ring up to RM10k+
Crown angle : 35 degree
Pavillion angle : 41 degree
Cert : from GIA

Is there anything more that i need to check out when i m sourcing for the ring out there ??
kambingkoh
post Aug 4 2019, 03:00 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Aug 4 2019, 11:16 AM)
Hey Sifu Kambingkoh, im looking to get a proposal ring very soon, and from what i read so far, I am being advised to get only those diamond with:

COlor : at least F or better (D.E.F. with D being the best color?? )
Clarity : at least VS1 or better
Cut : Excellent only and ignore those which are not graded excellent
Carrat : Still no idea whats the sweet spot for this proposal ring
Budget : Still no idea yet but im open to any good ring up to RM10k+
Crown angle : 35 degree
Pavillion angle : 41 degree
Cert : from GIA

Is there anything more that i need to check out when i m sourcing for the ring out there ??
Colour: yes, D is the highest. But different lab sometimes can have one colour grade difference. No hard and fast rule though, and if there is nothing to compare side-by-side, it is hard to tell sometimes, especially from normal viewing range. Personally I also prefer D, E, F, but I may choose G or H to maximize value.

Clarity: VS1 is good clarity. It is what I prefer personally for mind-clean and eye-clean factor. But if I don't mind eye-clean VS2 too. If you don't mind SI1, you can also go for it as it brings much more value.

Carat: on average I believe 0.3,0.4ct are the common ones in Malaysia. Don't really have sweet spot afaik, but you can consider the finger width if you want.

Budget: It is very possible for you to land on a good 0.5ct colourless VS1 with a 18k solitaire ring.

Crown: 34-35

Pavilion: 40.6-40.9

IMO, 35 Crown pair with 41 Pavilion needs more clarification in terms of light return, as both are steep angles and may or may not work well with each other. The relationship between a Crown and a Pavilion should be inverse of each other - one towards steep, one towards shallow and vice-versa. Of course, if both hit the middle spot then will be best, theorectically - which is the original Tolkowsky cut, 34.5 crown and 40.75 pavilion (closest you can see on cert is 40.8).

You can consider both none fluorescence and faint fluorescence diamond graded by GIA, as AGS considers these 2 are negligible. Price wise, faint one will be slightly cheaper. Usually fluorescence is blue, if it is not explicitly stated as other colour. Blue fluorescence usually is quite safe, just that some people prefer none.

Other things to look out for is Blue, Green, Mixed tinge and milkiness. These stats are usually provided by the diamond supplier, whereby some locals jeweled source their diamonds from.

christcwl9
post Aug 4 2019, 03:34 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 4 2019, 03:00 PM)
Colour: yes, D is the highest. But different lab sometimes can have one colour grade difference. No hard and fast rule though, and if there is nothing to compare side-by-side, it is hard to tell sometimes, especially from normal viewing range. Personally I also prefer D, E, F, but I may choose G or H to maximize value.

Clarity: VS1 is good clarity. It is what I prefer personally for mind-clean and eye-clean factor. But if I don't mind eye-clean VS2 too. If you don't mind SI1, you can also go for it as it brings much more value.

Carat: on average I believe 0.3,0.4ct are the common ones in Malaysia. Don't really have sweet spot afaik, but you can consider the finger width if you want.

Budget: It is very possible for you to land on a good 0.5ct colourless VS1 with a 18k  solitaire ring.

Crown: 34-35

Pavilion: 40.6-40.9

IMO, 35 Crown pair with 41 Pavilion needs more clarification in terms of light return, as both are steep angles and may or may not work well with each other. The relationship between a Crown and a Pavilion should be inverse of each other - one towards steep, one towards shallow and vice-versa. Of course, if both hit the middle spot then will be best, theorectically - which is the original Tolkowsky cut, 34.5 crown and 40.75 pavilion (closest you can see on cert is 40.8).

You can consider both none fluorescence and faint fluorescence diamond graded by GIA, as AGS considers these 2 are negligible. Price wise, faint one will be slightly cheaper. Usually fluorescence is blue, if it is not explicitly stated as other colour. Blue fluorescence usually is quite safe, just that some people prefer none.

Other things to look out for is Blue, Green, Mixed tinge and milkiness. These stats are usually provided by the diamond supplier, whereby some locals jeweled source their diamonds from.
Thanks Sifu Kambingkoh for your informative advise notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Just a side notes, i realised that Poh Kong advertised their Hemera branded diamond with 101 facets (as compared to normal 57 facets). Do u think this is good??
kambingkoh
post Aug 4 2019, 06:30 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Aug 4 2019, 03:34 PM)
Thanks Sifu Kambingkoh for your informative advise  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Just a side notes, i realised that Poh Kong advertised their Hemera branded diamond with 101 facets (as compared to normal 57 facets). Do u think this is good??
AFAIK, more facets mean more scintillation, but the sparks should be smaller. I can't really comment because I don't really see one before, but the price should be somewhat more expensive. But no harm walking into poh Kong and find out more. Know more is better to make a better decision.
Gnas22
post Aug 8 2019, 10:47 AM

23 posts

Hi Sifus,

Can you help to see if this Diamond specifications looks ok.

Shape: Round
Cut : ideal
Colour : D
Clarity : VVSi
Carat Weight : 0.3
Fluorescence : Strong
Length/Width Ration: 1.01
Depth % : 61.6%
Table % : 60.0%
Polish : Excellent
Symmetry : Excellent
Girdle: Medium to Slightly Thick