Are Condos depreciating assets?
SUSMaterazzi
May 13 2014, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(cmk96 @ May 12 2014, 06:46 PM) I think u dun understand what I meant at all. Of course I hv heard stock market crash n property market crash. But TS is talking about condo losing value over time. Can u tell me which condo lose its value over time? from the beginning an owner buy from developer. I'm curious. Something wrong with ur eyes. Read carefully uncle. i wish i am still young... i invested in properties since 2008.  sold 2, now still have 3. See my first post la bro. I asked about condo when they reach 50 yrs. Then will you agree if you hold your condo for 25 years then value depreciate?
wodenus
May 13 2014, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(newbie99 @ May 13 2014, 10:20 AM) American Concrete Institute puts the design life of reinforced concrete structure at 75 years. Does it mean when the apartment blocks reach 75 years, bank wont refinance it, insurance company wont insure it, and city council will ask for to demolish it en bloc because it may post a danger to public, or ask structural engineer to submit yearly safety report etc? Do we have a law for that? The Empire State Building in NY is 78 years old.. it is still standing. This post has been edited by wodenus: May 13 2014, 02:10 PM
rachel9966
May 13 2014, 02:17 PM

for me, i will stay there if the location is good...
but i think TS will die die say condo is no good compared to landed.
but TS didn't consider the huge price difference of condo and landed in the same area.
no point dreaming of a landed if you can't afford it. buy condo then.
wodenus
May 13 2014, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(rachel9966 @ May 13 2014, 02:17 PM) for me, i will stay there if the location is good... but i think TS will die die say condo is no good compared to landed. but TS didn't consider the huge price difference of condo and landed in the same area. no point dreaming of a landed if you can't afford it. buy condo then. Yea it all depends on the location.. location is almost everything
sheahann
May 2 2015, 03:32 PM
When condo let's say 70years old. What will happen when the age already too old and no longer safe?
MUM
May 2 2015, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(sheahann @ May 2 2015, 03:32 PM) When condo let's say 70years old. What will happen when the age already too old and no longer safe?  read post #22...
]K[
May 2 2015, 07:15 PM

QUOTE(rachel9966 @ May 13 2014, 02:17 PM) for me, i will stay there if the location is good... but i think TS will die die say condo is no good compared to landed. but TS didn't consider the huge price difference of condo and landed in the same area. no point dreaming of a landed if you can't afford it. buy condo then.
BabyZebraCrossing
May 2 2015, 08:00 PM

99 years , anything can happen. At that time there are natural disaster, depression, or war. Government can be change. I guess we can only predict about 10 years time frame only then.
Kaka23
May 2 2015, 08:01 PM
Price will be stagnant and reducing for condos...
sheahann
May 2 2015, 08:32 PM
Condo cannot buy. Pay monthly installment so long when finish pay if build quality no good then can tapao ady. Landed can easily demolish and build new on the same land. Condo land dunno how to settle
cherroy
May 2 2015, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(sheahann @ May 2 2015, 08:32 PM) Condo cannot buy. Pay monthly installment so long when finish pay if build quality no good then can tapao ady. Landed can easily demolish and build new on the same land. Condo land dunno how to settle That's why a 2000 sq feet landed cost 1~2 million, and condo 500~800k at a similar location. Landed demolish also cost a few hundred K which could be equivalent to half of condo already. Condo is a strata properties, so you follow strata act accordingly, aka owner of condo joint own the land. Can't compared head to head when the property price and nature are different to start with.
cherroy
May 2 2015, 08:45 PM
Residential property generally is 99 years lease, why worry about something beyond one life is beyond my understanding.
Leasehold residential property still appreciate in value according to market rate, it is not like leasehold is not totally worth it or must depreciate.
Unless the lease left with less than 30 or 25 years or so, then another different story. So, there is a window of appreciation of 50 years at least. 50 years is more than enough for a lifetime already. (come out to work at 20~30 + 50, almost reach the destiny of life already)
Somemore lease can be renewed when expired or even way before reaching its lease at a fee.
wil-i-am
May 3 2015, 07:26 AM
I know car depreciate every yr n yet u c a lot of new car on d road When d lease of property getting closer to maturity, d value will start to head south gradually
billytong
May 3 2015, 08:29 AM
QUOTE(cherroy @ May 2 2015, 08:45 PM) Residential property generally is 99 years lease, why worry about something beyond one life is beyond my understanding. Leasehold residential property still appreciate in value according to market rate, it is not like leasehold is not totally worth it or must depreciate. Unless the lease left with less than 30 or 25 years or so, then another different story. So, there is a window of appreciation of 50 years at least. 50 years is more than enough for a lifetime already. (come out to work at 20~30 + 50, almost reach the destiny of life already) Somemore lease can be renewed when expired or even way before reaching its lease at a fee. this. I cant see a point of worrying this issue. If u still worry u could always get the freehold one. Tho the freehold land are getting lesser and lesser, the gov arent going to make anymore new land freehold, it is unprofitable to them. This post has been edited by billytong: May 3 2015, 08:29 AM
sheahann
May 3 2015, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(billytong @ May 3 2015, 08:29 AM) this. I cant see a point of worrying this issue. If u still worry u could always get the freehold one. Tho the freehold land are getting lesser and lesser, the gov arent going to make anymore new land freehold, it is unprofitable to them. Freehold also got issue. Eventually the condo will not be safe to stay anymore. Very bad quality and below 100years old condo might no longer safe to stay. So if really happen, what can owner claim? A piece of land where few hundred owner stacked together on it. If wanna rebuild, not everyone can afford
billytong
May 3 2015, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(sheahann @ May 3 2015, 08:33 AM) Freehold also got issue. Eventually the condo will not be safe to stay anymore. Very bad quality and below 100years old condo might no longer safe to stay. So if really happen, what can owner claim? A piece of land where few hundred owner stacked together on it. If wanna rebuild, not everyone can afford building could last easily pass 100years, the first skyscraper are still standing over 120 years old. I dont see why i need to worry that. Assuming u buy ur condo at young age 20, do u happen to live over 140 years old? I doubt that. This post has been edited by billytong: May 3 2015, 08:47 AM
guanteik
May 3 2015, 12:15 PM
Condos do depreciate in the past. But not now.
I've a condo in Mont Kiara, when the value starts to stagnant. Rental is stagnating too so owners like me have to think hard how to maintain its rental compared to a smaller scale projects around that area. Just an example to support Mr Wong.
There are some middle range condos which are <500K are appreciating too. Because properties market are too hot now, affordability level for most are still within 500k.
SUSMNet
May 3 2015, 12:40 PM
Condo is too young for malaysia.
u can take US condo for reference on how they manage old condo
Berkshire Breakaway
May 3 2015, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(MNet @ May 3 2015, 12:40 PM) Condo is too young for malaysia. u can take US condo for reference on how they manage old condo that is no point stating that without giving examples
sheahann
May 3 2015, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(billytong @ May 3 2015, 08:45 AM) building could last easily pass 100years, the first skyscraper are still standing over 120 years old. I dont see why i need to worry that. Assuming u buy ur condo at young age 20, do u happen to live over 140 years old? I doubt that. Next time my children inherit. By that time if cannot stay ady how. If mati dy already don't care, then no diff for freehold or leasehold. As for landed. The land is inherited and wanna rebuilt wat also easy. Just discuss only. One day if really the condo not safe to live in. What will be the action? Curious