FOREST CITY, Iskandar Johor

icemanfx
post Nov 22 2016, 01:02 PM

21,457 posts

The scale of the projects is dizzying. Country Garden’s Forest City, on four artificial islands, will house 700,000 people on an area four times the size of New York’s Central Park. It will have office towers, parks, hotels, shopping malls and an international school, all draped with greenery. Construction began in February and about 8,000 apartments have been sold, the company said.

It’s the biggest of about 60 projects in the Iskandar Malaysia zone around Johor Bahru, known as JB, that could add more than half-a-million homes. The influx has contributed to a drop of almost one-third in the value of residential sales in the state last year, with some developers offering discounts of 20 percent or more. Average resale prices per square foot for high-rise flats in JB fell 10 percent last year, according to property consultant CH Williams Talhar & Wong.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/features/201...ut-of-everybody

icemanfx
post Nov 22 2016, 06:50 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(DS4 @ Nov 22 2016, 06:43 PM)
You are RIGHT.
Invest in capital city will not goes wrong.
KLCC / KL City psf price is still way below Singapore, Bangkok, Manila, Jakarta or even Ho Chi Minh.
brows.gif
With rm recent depreciation, it is probably the cheapest and also means those invested earlier lost in forex.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Nov 22 2016, 06:52 PM
icemanfx
post Apr 4 2017, 05:57 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Clement1001 @ Apr 4 2017, 05:07 PM)
Given that most of the buyer are from China and they are on the verge of retreating, any promotion or strategy that can spur local to buy this project?
Believe the land is paid for; the developer is not under pressured to continue.

Locals have choice and most couldn't afford to pay. Doubt they will target locals.
icemanfx
post May 18 2017, 12:53 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ May 15 2017, 10:17 PM)
Country Garden set to build world’s largest IBS factory in Forest City
http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/coun...ory-forest-city
IBS could revolutionize the building industry in the country, which is long overdue.

icemanfx
post Aug 28 2018, 09:29 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Aug 27 2018, 07:36 PM)
"Bubble will burst" since 2008 lol
QUOTE(Captain1 @ Aug 28 2018, 01:46 AM)
Agreed.
All the nay sayers been shouting wolf since...
Yes! Oversupply, increasing foreclosure is fake news.

icemanfx
post Aug 28 2018, 11:07 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(alvinX @ Aug 28 2018, 10:02 AM)
With that scale in mind, it will likely just ended up with another "ghost town" made by Chinese company.

Build by Chinese company, hired Chinese work, bought by Chinese investor, on our own soil and with our own raw materials, which all belongs to sultan.
I don't see how it hugely benefits the local community, seriously.

Most buy are foreigners, out of them only a very small portion will live here.
So far, there isn't many job opportunity down there, it just pure residential, what's the point to live down there with just an expensive price tag.
Chinese developers would not have develop unless have obtained undertaking from federal gomen on entry visa. entry visa denial may apply on new buyers, unlikely to effect those bought before may 2018.

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Aug 28 2018, 10:38 AM)
it is just that malaysians or johoreans arent buying, doesnt mean its not for malaysians. I believe majority of malaysians just dont think its a value buy.

i believe only lah.....there is a deal btw people of power down south in johore pakat w developer to give PR status to foreign buyers kua.

ONE MORE thing, I dont know how a reclaimed land can be FREEHOLD. Really catch no balls. Ex mining land and golf course land CAN NEVER BE freehold, but reclaimed land CAN???????

banyak politicking going on this forest city. we will never know the real picture.
Land is under state jurisdiction. if h.m consented, it is possible.

QUOTE(flight @ Aug 28 2018, 10:46 AM)
That place was an empty sea. U think an empty sea benefits anyone? U put in 1 million people there. U see how much food they need. Teachers,, schools, hospitals.

To build that thing u need factories, labour, land. So many things can benefit the country. This is a political move.

Banning foreigners is a very stupid move. Why not ban foreigners from buying mont kiara?
Editt: if forest city becomes successful, i can imagine locals wanting to buy there, but if its a wasteland nobody will buy it, u ban foreigners from buying it and the development will slow down tremendously.
Except sands, aggregate and water, most if not all building materials and services were brought from china, not much was spent here for the construction. should the chinese enclave is occupied, it will add a substantial amount of gdp to johor state in consumers consumption, education, etc.

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Aug 28 2018, 10:56 AM)
Johore got so much land, but they rather reclaimed land and give FREEHOLD status.....
Politically, no land was not sold to foreigner. financially, land reclamation contract worth $$$$$$$$$$$$$.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Aug 28 2018, 11:09 AM
icemanfx
post Aug 28 2018, 12:40 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 28 2018, 11:52 AM)
So much discussion on this project..
What can I say..  Its surely become ghost city...
Chinese investors won't be staying.... There's simply no attraction for them to relocated from China...
Not if f.c have excellent Chinese and international schools and Universities.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Aug 28 2018, 12:40 PM
icemanfx
post Aug 30 2018, 06:37 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Captain1 @ Aug 29 2018, 10:40 PM)
Again, see above comment by Max... who thinks developers going to be in trouble. (Yeah right)
Established developers are super rich.

I won't speculate.
Forest city is a major event.
China may dump and Singapore may seize it at low price. May not fail at all. But best wait and see.
Current oversupply is mostly held by buyers not developers.

Are Singaporean property investors more welcome than Chinese by politician?

icemanfx
post Dec 4 2018, 11:25 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Dec 4 2018, 11:21 PM)
Future lelong house in the making.
Property is a zero sum game; one's loss is another's gain and vv.

icemanfx
post Jan 18 2019, 04:34 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(penartur @ Jan 18 2019, 12:00 AM)
Are you saying that 1,500,000 RM for a half-decent apartment is cheap for retired chinamen? I wish I was a chinaman then...
QUOTE(onnying88 @ Jan 18 2019, 01:13 AM)
Yes, rm1.5mil for Chinaman is consider cheap for a retirement property in Asia. Many of them looking place to spend during winter time, And Malaysia weather is just nice. Most important point they can communicate with Chinese easily in Malaysia.

Even RM1000 psf is cheap compare with RMB20,000+- per meter square in those second tier China city.

Of cause,if you ask me,I’ll say there are many better place to consider in Malaysia for retirement with 1.5mil budget to consider for a property.

Not all are aware that China gov are monitoring RMB flow out from China, thus it’s not easy to buy Malaysia property using RMB. So buying Malaysia property from China developer will have some advantage in this.
In first tier china cities, price within 3rd ring road is from rmb 60,000/m2.

icemanfx
post Jan 18 2019, 08:14 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(onnying88 @ Jan 18 2019, 05:57 PM)
That's why even KLCC RM3000psf is consider peanut for them. They can sell just off their apartment and retire in Malaysia with lots of cash in pocket if they like Malaysia.

My china friend's village (佛山)every year got extra cash (2018 he receive RMB10k+- each month) give out to each village member from village land banking rent/sales. In their term the whole village own by all villages and all income is divided equally. That's why they try to give birth to more children so that can get more share. Many easy money for them.
People don't buy property on pricing alone e.g. dsl in gua musang is substantially cheaper than kv, how many from kv snap up dsl or retire in gua musang?

the rich have many and better location to choose from e.g sydney, melbourne, vancover, new york, london, fort lauderdale, dubai, bangkok, cape town, little red dot, etc.

icemanfx
post Jan 18 2019, 09:37 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(onnying88 @ Jan 18 2019, 09:19 PM)
Don’t compare price within MALAYSIA, we are comparing MALAYSIA vs CHINA or others country city.

Did you know that MALAYSIA is top 10 best retirement country in the world? There is a reason we are in the list, and I believe cheap property price will be big plus point.

And how many country in your list above can easily communicate in Chinese in daily? How many country in your list can get Chinese food as easy as here?

P/S I’m not promoting FC as best retire place for Chinese. What I’m promoting is MALAYSIA.

Anyway, I do know some MALAYSIAN also choose to retire at their Hometown for the simplicity of life.
Chinese foods is available in almost every city and town in the world. local chinese food is more for southerners, which many northern and inland chinese can't take regularly.

how many chinese retire to overseas? of those retired overseas, where do they currently retired to?

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jan 18 2019, 10:25 PM
icemanfx
post Jan 18 2019, 10:18 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(leodinouknow @ Jan 18 2019, 10:02 PM)
yeah, you must never visit any outside country, just based on your theory and internet for the info about chinese food available easily.
May be you can enlighten us which city and town that chinese invested in numbers or may retire to don't have chinese foods.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jan 18 2019, 10:24 PM
icemanfx
post Jan 18 2019, 11:21 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(onnying88 @ Jan 18 2019, 10:34 PM)
Try check out how much a plate of sweet and sour pork selling in each country you mention.
Foods in rural china is cheaper than malaysia

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jan 19 2019, 12:51 AM
icemanfx
post Jan 19 2019, 11:01 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(onnying88 @ Jan 19 2019, 10:19 AM)
We are debating why Malaysia consider good place for Chinaman to retire.

Maybe the property not suitable for Malaysian as we have many better choice to choose, but the technology from this project, facilities like medical center ,international school are benefiting Malaysian. How many private company able to build such township in such short time in Malaysia before this.
These facilities are built for profits, not welfare.

QUOTE(onnying88 @ Jan 19 2019, 10:22 AM)
you pay less for Malaysia property and pay less for nice chinese food in Malaysia.
For cultural and political reason, few Chinese retired to overseas. Those northerners couldn't stand cold winter may move to hainan island. And there are many vacant property in hainan.

What is nice food to locals may not be popular with northerners and inlanders, and vv.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jan 19 2019, 11:09 AM
icemanfx
post Jan 19 2019, 03:42 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(onnying88 @ Jan 19 2019, 11:14 AM)
We should welcome any parties in the world to pour in money and build advance facilities in Malaysia for the beneficial of Malaysian and surrounding area.

You expect them to build for free for you? Even your own gov also can't do that.
As if there is a shortage of private medical center in Malaysia and country garden built for welfare.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jan 19 2019, 03:43 PM
icemanfx
post Oct 10 2023, 10:54 PM

21,457 posts

Country Garden Holdings, a private real estate developer at the center of China's property sector crisis, said it had failed to make a $60 million debt payment and lacked sufficient cash to "meet all its offshore payment obligations."

In a statement published Tuesday on the Hong Kong Exchange, Country Garden President Mo Bin said the company has "been under remarkable pressure," and faces "significant uncertainty," as there has "not been any material, industrywide improvement in property sales."

https://asia.nikkei.com/Business/Markets/Ch...s-it-lacks-cash

country garden is unlikely to pump in more funds to forest city in the near future.

icemanfx
post Dec 28 2023, 02:59 PM

21,457 posts

There is a rumour; after january 2024, the gomen may declare forest city a 'bonded area'.

0.0215sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:44 AM