Line 6 Toneport Users Thread, UX1 & UX2.. Incoming KB37!

TSneuvas
post Aug 3 2006, 12:30 PM, updated 20y ago

2,323 posts

Since there is no thread (correct me pls). I wanna start one dedicated thread since i hv big intention getting the UX1 this week. Please share:

1. Usage tips
2. Links
3. Patch Settings
4. Reviews etc..

Official Line 6 Toneport website
http://line6.com/toneport/index.html
Everdying
post Aug 3 2006, 12:53 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

well no dedicated thread, but got this.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=167

i also thinkin of getting UX1, but UX2 looks more tempting cos got VU meter and footswitch.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Aug 3 2006, 12:54 PM
pornstar
post Aug 3 2006, 01:01 PM

All.night.long.
798 posts

Thanks for staring this thread.I was also looking at this product as i cant use any pci/pci-e solutions starting next month because im on laptops now.It looks good but im also looking at products from m-audio.How much is the UX1 and UX2?
Pix
post Aug 3 2006, 01:44 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

yes, that's a good thread smile.gif feel free to describe/compare those things ! I have no idea how they work and what they do and what's the difference between them biggrin.gif

neuvas, i'm happily surprised your advertising for this brand.. does bentley carry line 6 ?
Everdying
post Aug 3 2006, 04:46 PM

30,735 posts

also interested in checking out the guitarport instead.

i guess guitarport is more for guitar recording (duh), while the UX1 has inputs for mics and stuff.
but UX2 has phantom power, VU meters, footswitch to control stuff like patch in and out, more inputs and stuff basically.
for roughly RM300 more.
UX2 also has level control for headphone etc.
led_zep_freak
post Aug 3 2006, 10:50 PM

5,231 posts

I'm very interested in the KB37, anyone knows how much it will cost when it is released? smile.gif
TSneuvas
post Aug 4 2006, 05:52 PM

2,323 posts

QUOTE(pornstar @ Aug 3 2006, 01:01 PM)
Thanks for staring this thread.I was also looking at this product as i cant use any pci/pci-e solutions starting next month because im on laptops now.It looks good but im also looking at products from m-audio.How much is the UX1 and UX2?
no problm.. for the prices contact CK music.. ask for their best price..

QUOTE(Pix @ Aug 3 2006, 01:44 PM)
yes, that's a good thread smile.gif feel free to describe/compare those things ! I have no idea how they work and what they do and what's the difference between them biggrin.gif

neuvas, i'm happily surprised your advertising for this brand.. does bentley carry line 6 ?
mana ada advertise.. smile.gif i just like to promote handy stuff like these. Nope bentley doesn't have this. they do have line6 pod xt live though doh.gif

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 3 2006, 04:46 PM)
also interested in checking out the guitarport instead.

i guess guitarport is more for guitar recording (duh), while the UX1 has inputs for mics and stuff.
but UX2 has phantom power, VU meters,  footswitch to control stuff like patch in and out, more inputs and stuff basically.
for roughly RM300 more.
UX2 also has level control for headphone etc.
with toneport u get connections for stereo line ins, monitor out + in, headphones out.. It also replaces ur sound card drool.gif

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Aug 3 2006, 10:50 PM)
I'm very interested in the KB37, anyone knows how much it will cost when it is released? smile.gif
uncle google sez fall 2006.. malaysian market?! year end maybe.. USD 41x.00.. u do the math..

got my UX1 yesterday from CK music. didn't have time to play around yet..
My setup:
Squier Tele + EMG T set -USB-> Compaq Presario Laptop (2Ghz P4, 768MB RAM) + Phillips SHP 895

for the presets:

clean presets:
mostly usable love presets with warm jazz tones. not many fx to play around though. Be CREATIVE!!

crunch presets:
u'll need a good guitar to get a really warm tone. its always workable, dont give up!

heavy presets:
i'm still waiting for my next axe. EMG Tele sets are too twangy for heavy settings. gonna try my old DIY guitar (B tuned) fitted with oldskool kramer humbckers. I did a lot of recordings with that sucker.

Overall... Its exactly like guitar rig IMO. Why i choose UX1? Because of the interface itself! I mostly travel BTS - KL, KL - Bangi, Bangi - BTS. so its a pain in d @ss to haul a rig, i use a lappy now. at my studio i still use Guitar Rig because want to take advantage of my audigy card.

tips..
1. Play around with Gate treshold settings to get the optimum NR.
2. Avoid using 2.1 PC speakers, they tend to suck on midrange, use headphones or studio monitors instead.
3. Mix n match amps n cabs, its fun and easy to get the right amp.

i'll try to record a lick or two.. i'm not that good shredder sad.gif i like to arrange parts for songs. some of u might heard.. hehehe ph34r.gif

This post has been edited by neuvas: Aug 4 2006, 06:00 PM
Everdying
post Aug 4 2006, 06:00 PM

30,735 posts

NEUVAS.
i want to try your EMG-T set!

was surfing just now and looked interesting.
TSneuvas
post Aug 4 2006, 06:03 PM

2,323 posts

har har... organize a jam session at my place in bangi lor.. give u guys two hours jam, pay only rm25.. ehehe

Everdying
post Aug 4 2006, 06:09 PM

30,735 posts

damn far, no thanks tongue.gif

well i know i wanna change the bridge pickup of my MIM tele, too low vol and bit noisy.
thinking of either the EMG or Lace sensor.

anyway, for the UX1, do you need to disable your soundcard in the bios? or does it override your soundcard when you plug it in?

TSneuvas
post Aug 4 2006, 06:29 PM

2,323 posts

nope.. u can run both cards simult. al u need to do is set which device for playback and recording in control panel.
Pix
post Aug 5 2006, 06:22 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

on my computer, doing this ends up in an infernal echo, because of the delay between the input sound (pod) and the output from the internal PC soundcard. Basically...
guitar -> podXT -> USB port -> audio software -> internal soundcard -> speakers

so i just use the pod soundcard, so the computer just has to play the backing track and record the input guitar sound.

(1) guitar -> podXT -> USB port -> audio software
(2) guitar -> podXT -> speakers
TSneuvas
post Aug 5 2006, 11:43 AM

2,323 posts

did a simple guitar part last night..

i'm experiencing sudden gaps (<1 sec) monitoring the guitar.. i wonder why.. maybe need to play around with ASIO settings.. using sonar 4.
TSneuvas
post Aug 11 2006, 04:55 PM

2,323 posts

i wanna start a bulk for line 6 stuff.. anyone want to participate, just list the stuff u want, i'll find out the price..

edit:
and i'll start a bulk thread elsewhere...

This post has been edited by neuvas: Aug 11 2006, 04:56 PM
Everdying
post Aug 11 2006, 10:09 PM

30,735 posts

well if ur bulk price is more than 20% off list price then i dont mind.
else i can get myself 20% off.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Aug 11 2006, 10:09 PM
led_zep_freak
post Aug 12 2006, 02:52 AM

5,231 posts

20%? Wow? Where?

I'm interested in the UX2 if there'ill be a bulk. thumbup.gif
TSneuvas
post Aug 12 2006, 10:30 AM

2,323 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 11 2006, 10:09 PM)
well if ur bulk price is more than 20% off list price then i dont mind.
else i can get myself 20% off.
QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Aug 12 2006, 02:52 AM)
20%? Wow? Where?

I'm interested in the UX2 if there'ill be a bulk. thumbup.gif
i dont think i could get 20%..

0.0182sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:38 AM