LYN Guitar Phreaks Club, I get up and nothin' gets me down...

pleasuresaurus
post Jan 28 2022, 05:51 PM

spin spin sugar
2,577 posts

Spot on mate, stock pups are jb/jazz.

In comparison, exceptional. In my experience of all 3 brands n the models I have had the opportunity to play/own, I would go so far as saying that Mayo is ahead of the pack (especially considering that this is from 10 years ago). But then I'd sound biased la pulak kan? šŸ¤£ Ok la, I have been told by a bandmate A/B-ing the Mayo and an ESP that he prefered the Mayo.
quarantined
post Feb 7 2022, 10:45 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

Nice, if I can play more than 3 notes per sec I might consider getting myself one. lol

It made an impression when I saw Pain of Salvation live, pretty cool designs they have.
pleasuresaurus
post Feb 23 2022, 04:22 PM

spin spin sugar
2,577 posts

Hahaha nvm 3 nps bro, I play in a ska band now, that's one chord every 3 seconds sweat.gif getting old di la, metal riff shred all rusted and dusted di. Although I have to say, pain of salvation is pretty nice

This post has been edited by pleasuresaurus: Feb 23 2022, 04:24 PM
quarantined
post Feb 24 2022, 05:58 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

Yeah.. how high did you set your BKPs to the strings?

Got a set of Nailbombs with no good home til recently installed them in a PRS SE, set real low in height and damn they sounds better than I ever remember.
pleasuresaurus
post Feb 26 2022, 09:06 AM

spin spin sugar
2,577 posts

Not sure of the exact height la to be honest. But its set low, close to the string. I find this pair, along with my Blackhawks, respond well being close to the strings.

Its nice kan? Dropping different pups into a guitar n suddenly it comes to life. Its like having a new axe. Makes me wonder whether I should have hung on to my old Tremonti SE n just did wat u did, swapped pups with something better. Nailbombs would be a fair bit hotter than Holydivers I reckon. Ur bridge unit is using alnico or ceramic?

This post has been edited by pleasuresaurus: Feb 26 2022, 09:11 AM
quarantined
post Feb 28 2022, 11:41 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Feb 26 2022, 09:06 AM)
Not sure of the exact height la to be honest. But its set low, close to the string. I find this pair, along with my Blackhawks, respond well being close to the strings.

Its nice kan? Dropping different pups into a guitar n suddenly it comes to life. Its like having a new axe. Makes me wonder whether I should have hung on to my old Tremonti SE n just did wat u did, swapped pups with something better. Nailbombs would be a fair bit hotter than Holydivers I reckon. Ur bridge unit is using alnico or ceramic?
Alnicos, tried ceramics too. haha pickups are fun but ultimately you dont want to keep guitars around just to put pups in..

I think yours are set high if close to the strings for maximum power. Mines almost low to the level of the pup rings, cause i want to tame the NB a bit. Surprisingly still sounds good cause many pups will thin out a lot that way.

always wanted to try Blackhawks, sounded great in their website but my experience with rails was meh.. you like them?

pleasuresaurus
post Feb 28 2022, 07:10 PM

spin spin sugar
2,577 posts

Ah yes, you're right, I was thinking in terms of string height, my bad. Yes, it is set high, close to the string.

Blackhawks are great, very versatile, lotsa clarity. From glassy cleans to high gain and in between. Cuts through the mix in live settings and forces u to play cleanly since mistakes sound painfully obvious. Its bright so needs to be EQed accordingly. They are more modern sounding though. If ur specifically looking for an old skool feel, or something thats a lil more wooly, this isn't it. More Intervals than Gary Moore.

quarantined
post Mar 29 2023, 11:24 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

One year of no activity here.. how's fellow guitarists doing??
LeaSe*lineR
post Apr 3 2023, 07:54 PM

622 posts

godekĀ² free amp sim haha
GamersFamilia
post Aug 11 2023, 05:45 PM

Videogames Enthusiast
13,511 posts

we're still alive and keep on practicing since such a long time didnt touch my guitar
ariffdude
post Aug 23 2023, 07:48 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Aug 11 2023, 05:45 PM)
we're still alive and keep on practicing since such a long time didnt touch my guitar
ever since i had my son i can count the number of times i touched my guitar with one hand.
GamersFamilia
post Aug 24 2023, 06:33 AM

Videogames Enthusiast
13,511 posts

QUOTE(ariffdude @ Aug 23 2023, 07:48 PM)
ever since i had my son i can count the number of times i touched my guitar with one hand.
my daughter already 5 years old , and lately she seems interested when im playing a guitar , may be someday i can send her for a guitar class sweat.gif
pleasuresaurus
post Dec 8 2024, 07:49 PM

spin spin sugar
2,577 posts

yo sunyi nya, semua warga guitar phreak dah jadi orang tua ka hahaha...quick question, anyone have experience using the tech21 flyrig 5 v2?
tentenko
post Jan 2 2025, 01:58 PM

144 posts

hi long time lurker here. prs se custom 24 any good? i want coil splitting humbucker..
khelben
post Jan 4 2025, 03:15 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,040 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Dec 8 2024, 07:49 PM)
yo sunyi nya,  semua warga guitar phreak dah jadi orang tua ka hahaha..
I picked up electric guitar over the MCO. Bought a Squier Telecaster. newbie jer. laugh.gif

0.0159sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th January 2025 - 03:00 PM