32 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

LYN Guitar Phreaks Club, I get up and nothin' gets me down...

quarantined
post Jun 3 2014, 02:34 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Jun 3 2014, 12:32 PM)
Sebut pasal screw floyd rose ni teringat zaman masa mula angkat gitar dulu. I have fond memories of my very first guitar, which happened to be an Ibanez with a floyd rose on it  biggrin.gif . Being the noob that I was, I hadn't an inkling of the countless hours of grief, anguish and frustration the floating trem system would cause me. It began one fine day, after listening to a couple of Fear Factory records, I decided to attempt their crazy ass riffs.

So I set about to detune the guitar to B standard. After about an hour of noodling I realized my dreams of being the next Dino Cazares weren't happening. So ok lah, tune back up again. Tune tune tak jadi, tune tune tak jadi. The action was getting higher and higher but the guitar was nowhere in tune. Thinking back, it got ridiculous at one point - the neck bowed and the saddle rose so high i could stick a finger clear under  sweat.gif Failing to get stuff to work, I had to send it back to arwah Pak Din at Art Tune to repair. The locking screw threads gave out and he cut his fingers on them.

After that and a series of other grievances, I decided to tell floyd trem lain kalilah. Did I say fond memories? I meant nightmares  tongue.gif hahaha
Im sure there are many stories like this one. biggrin.gif

My first Ibanez, an MIJ RG470, isn't that great at all but it teach me a lot about guitar setups.
quarantined
post Jun 4 2014, 12:52 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

Does your GF knows about LYN? She might read your post...lol
quarantined
post Jun 5 2014, 05:43 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

"The finest hand-crafted guitars"??? Is it even made locally?

I hope they can show some photos of the guitar making process to make me more convinced.
quarantined
post Jun 7 2014, 03:47 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

wub.gif
quarantined
post Jun 9 2014, 03:41 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

No comments on the sounds on EBMM JPX-7??
quarantined
post Jun 10 2014, 10:15 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

That new SG look unplayed.. give it some love lah bro
quarantined
post Jun 10 2014, 03:00 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

Your did a refinish to the Floyd SG right?

Where you got it done? Did you like it?
quarantined
post Jun 11 2014, 10:09 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

I like Jeff Hanneman's Camo ESP better tongue.gif
RIP
quarantined
post Jun 11 2014, 10:42 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

For PRS there are too many lovely finishes. I like all the new 2014
even this one:
quarantined
post Jun 11 2014, 12:18 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 11 2014, 11:13 AM)
wtf comes up with those names? leprachaun tooth? as if anyone has ever seen one tongue.gif
Must be the grass they smokin
quarantined
post Jun 11 2014, 03:51 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

QUOTE(regiuseven @ Jun 11 2014, 12:57 PM)
Angry Larry, Eriza Verde, Vanilla Affogato, Bonnie Pink..  laugh.gif

My fav would still be plain black, powder blue and tricolor sunburst
PRS are the very few companies are keeps their finish interesting, I see Gibson is following suit now...
Suhr is another one, quite like this one:

quarantined
post Jun 11 2014, 05:54 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

For me, 10 strings, medium height

Setup too low and you'll get too much buzz tuning down half step.
quarantined
post Jun 16 2014, 12:20 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

EMGed my Strat, plays Death Metal now biggrin.gif
quarantined
post Jun 16 2014, 02:14 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jun 16 2014, 01:37 PM)
pink floyd go!
lol you get the idea.. That PULSE concert tone of his are to die for.
quarantined
post Jun 16 2014, 02:40 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

No la.. Im not gunning for his tone entirely, those are SLVs, not the EMG SAs that he is using.

Just figure to try something new, and now I'm already a fan!
quarantined
post Jun 17 2014, 10:53 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 16 2014, 03:50 PM)
ahh more power to SLV.
my SG with EMGs also is a SL setup with 85 / SLV tongue.gif
So that would be a Luke SG? Awesome! rclxms.gif

Actually I'm not quite a fan of the 85 in bridge, but I love them SLVs. Mines are actually SLVXs. Super versatile.
quarantined
post Jun 19 2014, 03:44 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

I guess you can try Craftsman/Custom guitar at CK as well
quarantined
post Jul 1 2014, 11:30 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

QUOTE(John6 @ Jul 1 2014, 11:17 AM)
Hi guys, planning to upgrade my amp and wanna hear some suggestions from u guys

Currently using a cheap nux mighty8, wanna upgrade to a tube amp, I'm eyeing on the blackstar ht-5, but its quite expensive, should I just get a cheap small amp like the ibanez valbee and use the spare cash on pedals? My budget is around 1.5k but the cheaper the better lol

Im looking for a more versatile amp, cos I play anything from blues to metal, tried the ux2 but didn't like it, prefer the sound from amps, thanks guys smile.gif
Versatile amp? Tube amps that are versatile can be very expensive.

Perhaps a clean tube amp with help from pedals will do? Probably over your budget but I'll save more and get the cheapest Ceriatone head (probably a champ clone) with a 12" speaker cab. Your guitars deserves a better amp!
quarantined
post Jul 1 2014, 12:57 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 1 2014, 11:35 AM)
if ur gonna get pedals, better u get a modelling amp.
Hmm I dont agree. pedals u can bring out and jam.. and modelling amps usually 1 month bored already biggrin.gif
quarantined
post Jul 4 2014, 11:41 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,390 posts

PRS territory? sapsapsui to u la
http://worldguitars.co.uk/brands/vigier

32 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0900sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 06:08 PM