Isn't this amazing? A glider will never get bored in a cage like this one.
~*Sugar Glider Club V2 *~, Staring Contest Champions
Oct 12 2006, 01:37 AM
327 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
![]() Isn't this amazing? A glider will never get bored in a cage like this one. |
Oct 12 2006, 02:43 AM
2,903 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Somewhere in KL |
I miss my Pickles.... Sent him to Pet Family to take care of him for awhile... Smelly has babysitting service for gliders? What's the charge rate?
Oct 12 2006, 09:09 AM
566 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Oct 12 2006, 09:48 AM
520 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: KL |
QUOTE(misa @ Oct 12 2006, 01:37 AM) http://img291.imageshack.us/img291/5616/glidercagesb7.jpg Isn't this amazing? A glider will never get bored in a cage like this one. |
Oct 12 2006, 12:46 PM
71 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Klang |
ahhh my charcoal losing her fur on her tail..can anyone tell me what could be the cause of this?..
i don think its the food i feed her but cant be too sure. could it be stress? |
Oct 12 2006, 01:17 PM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
QUOTE(joshlee @ Oct 12 2006, 12:46 PM) ahhh my charcoal losing her fur on her tail..can anyone tell me what could be the cause of this?.. Hmm... got any wounds? Maybe she pull it off so that would be a sign of stress.... I just think lah. If the skin looks scabby or like got dandruff, bring to vet coz it may be a fungus infection.i don think its the food i feed her but cant be too sure. could it be stress? |
Oct 12 2006, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Oct 12 2006, 09:09 AM) wah misa...the cage uber colorful! I prefer a more 'natural' looking cage but that one everything also got... super cool. Yeah, I prefer a more natural looking cage too but this one does look fun! And BabyBoy is into playing with all sorts of toys so I might work on his cage setup. QUOTE(heidityj @ Oct 12 2006, 09:48 AM) i wonder how long it takes to clean the cage... my cage only has a few items but cleaning up the poo poo and pee already headache.. Hehe yeah la it'll be a huge problem if the glider pees and poos everywhere in the cage. QUOTE(joshlee @ Oct 12 2006, 12:46 PM) ahhh my charcoal losing her fur on her tail..can anyone tell me what could be the cause of this?.. Usually that's a sign of overgrooming due to stress or depression. Have you been spending enough time with her? Did you change her feeding schedule? Her typical daily schedule? Did you change her diet? Is she the only glider you have? She might be feeling lonely...i don think its the food i feed her but cant be too sure. could it be stress? If you see any sort of bite wounds or redness on the bald spot, please bring her to a vet -- there's one in Taman Megah, the vet's name is Dr Yeoh. He's seen a few gliders before this. If you leave the wound untreated and if it gets itchy or uncomfortable for her, she'll start to bite into it and this is a form of self mutilation. Gliders have been known to bite their tails off or self mutilate when they are in pain. This can be fatal if not properly looked into. I hope she'll be okay soon. |
Oct 12 2006, 04:34 PM
71 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Klang |
QUOTE(misa @ Oct 12 2006, 01:52 PM) Usually that's a sign of overgrooming due to stress or depression. Have you been spending enough time with her? Did you change her feeding schedule? Her typical daily schedule? Did you change her diet? Is she the only glider you have? She might be feeling lonely... i don see any wounds that is visible so i don think she bit herself..i think its stress cause everytime when i hold her she get very shaky and scared so i'm trying to spend as much time as i can wit her..i actually got a a pair of glider but the boy died 3weeks ago due to illness If you see any sort of bite wounds or redness on the bald spot, please bring her to a vet -- there's one in Taman Megah, the vet's name is Dr Yeoh. He's seen a few gliders before this. If you leave the wound untreated and if it gets itchy or uncomfortable for her, she'll start to bite into it and this is a form of self mutilation. Gliders have been known to bite their tails off or self mutilate when they are in pain. This can be fatal if not properly looked into. I hope she'll be okay soon. so yes she is alone now i guess she's lonely..thinking of getting another boy for her to play with the underpart of her tail is losing hair but besides that she seems alrite and very active..slept in my arms last nite |
Oct 12 2006, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(joshlee @ Oct 12 2006, 04:34 PM) i don see any wounds that is visible so i don think she bit herself..i think its stress cause everytime when i hold her she get very shaky and scared so i'm trying to spend as much time as i can wit her..i actually got a a pair of glider but the boy died 3weeks ago due to illness if the boy died three weeks ago, keep a good watch on her as she might have been infected as well because with gliders they don't show obvious signs of illness until it's too late. hopefully, you cleaned the cage right after the boy died and gave the pouches, toys, etc a good cleaning and aired the room out. so yes she is alone now i guess she's lonely..thinking of getting another boy for her to play with the underpart of her tail is losing hair but besides that she seems alrite and very active..slept in my arms last nite but well, don't worry too much la and well, if you don't have the time and cash to care for joeys (as they get babies twice a year), you can also get her a female buddy instead of a boy hehe. This post has been edited by misa: Oct 12 2006, 05:36 PM |
Oct 12 2006, 09:20 PM
44 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
hi guyz may get a SG very very soon and i was thinking if there is anything specific i need to look out for when buying it?
such as attitute(fierce), mite-proof, anything else? can i keep it in my room cos i have a ceilling fan which is blowing around speed 3(i scare he sg will get cold) and do i need to cover the cage wih cloth so that the sg will feel more secure as menttion from smellycheese? i think i may be getting a pair which is about 3-5month old but its both male from wat i hear (i scare they brokeback food=5mealworm per week and lots lots of fruits right? anybody selling cheap cage or can recommend some place which is cheap? forget o mention the person selling me say the sg eat dog food when they r 3 month old is it bad? This post has been edited by yagami15my15: Oct 12 2006, 09:22 PM |
Oct 12 2006, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(yagami15my15 @ Oct 12 2006, 09:20 PM) hi guyz may get a SG very very soon and i was thinking if there is anything specific i need to look out for when buying it? When you first get a glider, you need to understand that it won't bond with you immediately and it'll crab at you, etc. Please read this to learn how to bond with your glider -- it takes time and patience --> such as attitute(fierce), mite-proof, anything else? can i keep it in my room cos i have a ceilling fan which is blowing around speed 3(i scare he sg will get cold) and do i need to cover the cage wih cloth so that the sg will feel more secure as menttion from smellycheese? i think i may be getting a pair which is about 3-5month old but its both male from wat i hear (i scare they brokeback food=5mealworm per week and lots lots of fruits right? anybody selling cheap cage or can recommend some place which is cheap? forget o mention the person selling me say the sg eat dog food when they r 3 month old is it bad? http://www.sugargliderinfo.com/Bonding/ Also, please take the time to read this to find out more information about gliders and how to care for them --> http://www.sugargliderinfo.com/ http://www.critterhut.com/gliderknowledge.htm If you're getting two males, please be aware that they will scent mark a lot as they're unneutered -- meaning they might pee all over the place to mark their territory so their cages will stink quite a bit (unless you clean their cages periodically) when they get older. It's best you get two females. Don't get a breeding pair unless you're able to care and provide for the joeys. If you're getting a single glider, please make sure you have the time to play with it so it won't get lonely and depressed. You need a 3 ft tall cage at least. It's going to cost you around RM80+ or more depending on where you get it. Check out the pet stores listed in the forum. You can go to Natural Aquatic. They have a 3ft tall cage for RM110. Or you can go to Irene's Aquarium (the one in KL not PJ!) -- they sell cages for a cheap price there -- around RM40 above. You can also go to Pet Safari in Ikano -- the cage there is RM100. You can give 5 small mealworms per day or a little more than that. Not per week. Besides that, yes, they will need fresh fruits. Please read up about the dietary requirements for the gliders -- so you won't accidentally give them something they're not supposed to eat. This can be fatal. I would suggest that you purchase the glider mix from Hun. See this thread. This can be supplemented with the fresh fruits. It's good to feed the gliders with that as it already contains calcium and vitamin supplements which is important for your gliders or they will suffer from hind leg paralysis which yet again can be fatal. So if you don't feed them right, they will suffer. Please educate yourself with regards to their dietary requirements. And no, they shouldn't be eating dog or cat food. All the best! This post has been edited by misa: Oct 12 2006, 10:11 PM |
Oct 13 2006, 01:29 AM
346 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
waaa...long time not post here....
so many gliders owner now and the cage is very colourful and creative one.. but i agree that the owner must got headache to clean the pee n poo |
Oct 13 2006, 10:20 AM
3,589 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Not like me, I dun clean the cage coz BenBen & GongGong will scent mark everything again
Oct 13 2006, 01:24 PM
Aiyo, BabyBoy's very active in the afternoons these days. He will be jumping around from about 12 to 2pm after having his mealworms and he'll refuse to go back into his pouch and he can go on and on if someone's willing to play with him. Super active summore. And extremely naughty.
The fella la -- sleep until 2 or 3 am everyday. Haih. Turning out to be a little unnocturnal already In the evenings, when I ask him to get out of his pouch, he'll poke his head out but refuse to come out to play. He'll only stay awake enough to chew on some fruits -- even then, he has his eyes closed! Die la like this -- a furry little animal jumping around in the afternoon during office hours. |
Oct 13 2006, 02:40 PM
3,589 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Good entertainment ma.. hahaha.. My babies time is same so far... like it also coz they wake up during dinner time and sleep midnite. Ngam me
Oct 13 2006, 11:36 PM
1,001 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Bhutan |
QUOTE(suiteng @ Oct 13 2006, 10:20 AM) I found out tht when u don't clean their cage after two days...got horible smell leh...I mean the branches...n their coconut shell...lately I found out tht ants had patron their cage...how u prevent the fly fly thing and ants away ha? mind to teach? |
Oct 13 2006, 11:40 PM
Fly fly thing? Ermm... Cleaning the cage often I guess. Pickles' cage always shink after 2 days but it never attracts the fly fly things. Use bedding that can absord well, may help. I used woody pet and it took longer to smell, about a week then got smell.
Oct 13 2006, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(Reanne @ Oct 13 2006, 11:40 PM) Fly fly thing? Ermm... Cleaning the cage often I guess. Pickles' cage always shink after 2 days but it never attracts the fly fly things. Use bedding that can absord well, may help. I used woody pet and it took longer to smell, about a week then got smell. yalor...having drove back all the way from singapore...hav to clean the cage daily..n mop the floor...alamak....lazy n working pipol out there...think twice if u wanna keep glider... lets say I wipe some ant poison at the cage's 4 base leg...will tht affect the glider ? erm...the glider hav no contact with the poison..but I scared the bau will affect them leh |
Oct 13 2006, 11:54 PM
LOL
Use vaseline la. Smear it in a line across the sides at the base of the cage, ants will not cross but you would need to smear again over it once a week to be sure it doesn't have any smudges that will allow ants to cross. |
Oct 13 2006, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(Reanne @ Oct 13 2006, 11:54 PM) LOL vaseline is wht har ?Use vaseline la. Smear it in a line across the sides at the base of the cage, ants will not cross but you would need to smear again over it once a week to be sure it doesn't have any smudges that will allow ants to cross. u mean those insect magic chalk arr ? erm...little nugget here need to buy glider mix...any 1 wanna do buiness ? but u hav to send via currier serv to jb...$ vil be bank in before hand lar off course... |
| Change to: | 0.0179sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:45 AM |