125 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Bottom

~*Sugar Glider Club V2 *~, Staring Contest Champions

icytea
post Mar 16 2007, 08:05 PM

hi everyone! i'm new in this forum.
anyway, i was thinking of getting a sugar glider because i would love a pet that i could carry around with me most of the times.
but i've heard from some of my friends that sugar glider hates the smell of dogs.
my family owns a dog at home and he's only 1+ years old, still pretty active.
would this scare off the sugar glider? is it bad to get one with a dog at home?

This post has been edited by icytea: Mar 16 2007, 08:08 PM
hamster9
post Mar 16 2007, 08:08 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(icytea @ Mar 16 2007, 08:05 PM)
hi everyone! i'm new in this forum.
anyway, i was thinking of getting a sugar glider because i would love a pet that i could carry around with me most of the times.
but i've heard from some of my friends that sugar glider hates the smell of dogs.
my family owns a dog at home and he's only 1+ years old, still pretty active.
would this scare off the sugar glider? is it bad to get one with a dog at home?
I don't think that should be a problem. Crazymouse's SG Kiah best friend with her dog Chealsea. thumbup.gif
icytea
post Mar 16 2007, 08:09 PM

ooh i see! could you give me some tips on how to introduce the sugar glider to the dog? i'm totally new at this sugar glider thing. biggrin.gif
krynzpeaches
post Mar 16 2007, 08:14 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

QUOTE(icytea @ Mar 16 2007, 08:09 PM)
ooh i see! could you give me some tips on how to introduce the sugar glider to the dog? i'm totally new at this sugar glider thing. biggrin.gif
hi there.

before you intro a glider to any other pet, it would be best to bond with them first especially if you say that your dog is 1+ and still active smile.gif

best also to read carefully the first info post on keeping a glider, responsibilty and all.

KP
icytea
post Mar 16 2007, 08:17 PM

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Mar 16 2007, 08:14 PM)
hi there.

before you intro a glider to any other pet, it would be best to bond with them first especially if you say that your dog is 1+ and still active smile.gif

best also to read carefully the first info post on keeping a glider, responsibilty and all.

KP
m'kay, i'll do some more research on these little darlings.
thanks. biggrin.gif

crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 17 2007, 03:17 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

First, you must now is your dog crazy around small animals or not. If your dog likes to chase little animals and try to bite them, then it is very dangerous.... my glider is best friends with my dog coz my dog doesn't bite her..... but chase her lah so my glider likes the fun hahahah... Intro by holding your glider up the dog's nose and let them smell each other, Must do it often each day and do it everyday..... once the dog is calm and likes the glider only then can they be ok with each other. Of course your glider must be bonded with you first lah.
coldfusionpower
post Mar 17 2007, 03:38 AM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

if dogs ok with SG, so hamster should be ok lorr .. hahaha damn.. cannot sleep la. met a SG tonight. so cute lar . just sitting so nicely on her shoulder.

read plenty of pages, and it seem that SG is kinda fussy animal. eat that, can't eat this, cannot kacau it when playing, etc...

btw, i just wondering, how much did you all spend on monthly expenses on a single SG ?

does u have to kept a pair ? afraid the sg go boring ?

p/s : just wondering... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: Mar 17 2007, 03:39 AM
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 17 2007, 03:49 AM

12,047 posts

Hahaha... SG memang tame... but some SGs are aggressive to small animals... erm... mine steals food from my WW, she will sit next to the WW to makan.... kinda funny since my WW just look at her without doing anything... but this is a rare case hahahah.... I think Syrian would attack WW since Syrians are bigger. Campbells might attack also.

If you keep single, you must devote your time and almost your life to them hahahah..... they cannot be alone when they are joeys so must bring around everywhere in a pouch.... only when older can they tolerate being alone....

Monthly expenses... for me Rm15 only a month hehhehe.... cheap lah... but when you first get a SG, the expenses memang high....
coldfusionpower
post Mar 17 2007, 04:21 AM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 17 2007, 04:49 AM)
Hahaha... SG memang tame... but some SGs are aggressive to small animals... erm... mine steals food from my WW, she will sit next to the WW to makan.... kinda funny since my WW just look at her without doing anything... but this is a rare case hahahah....

hahaha .. poor WW. but it just stealing food right ? no fight or such ? tame ? let me help you to rephrase that one .. VERY TAME ! .. i like it so much .. can go shopping for parts with the SG .. haha ..if go outside, they didn't fly away meh ?

If you keep single, you must devote your time and almost your life to them hahahah..... they cannot be alone when they are joeys so must bring around everywhere in a pouch.... only when older can they tolerate being alone....

oooic... big problem la like this.

Monthly expenses... for me Rm15 only a month hehhehe.... cheap lah... but when you first get a SG, the expenses memang high....

the monthly expenses are cheaper than hamsters but if hv to buy two SG ? eat maggie mi for a month laaa.

they ranges from rm200 to rm400 right ?

misa
post Mar 17 2007, 04:53 AM

327 posts

Ooh it's been a long time since I last checked out the SG thread. biggrin.gif Hehe speaking of suggies interacting with different animals, well, I can only speak for my suggie BabyBoy -- he's not afraid of animals and humans but but but! -- my cat is very, very afraid of him doh.gif This fella la (as in the glider, not the cat) he likes to play rough lol, he makes sudden jumps and stretches his arms out wide acting like a mini mafia dude. Adoi...

Well, the important thing to remember as with all small animals is to always keep an eye out for them when they're playing with other pets. Cuz you never know, yanno.

This is probably the wrong place to ask but is there going to be an SG meetup sometime? tongue.gif Would love to see everyone else's suggies. Hehe~~~
hamster9
post Mar 17 2007, 10:16 AM

CFP
2,251 posts

Yuri escaped right in front of our eyes and ran away.... we couldn't chase him cry.gif Spend whole night looking for him. He could really jump from the head of a 5 ft person and run away... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
alieamin
post Mar 17 2007, 11:30 AM

Mobile Phones Authorized Reseller
1,279 posts

1st time to get my SG i spend almost Rm300+
the SG itself,cage,food. now i think wanna get bigger cage for her.

here's the latest pics oshine n chiwek... biggrin.gif
so anyone wanna picit chiwek? damn chubby laa this boy. i also geram... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by alieamin: Mar 17 2007, 01:57 PM
MamaHui
post Mar 17 2007, 02:57 PM

23 posts

hi, i am so happy coz my SG pregnant already...smile.gif any suggestion on diet on this period? thanks!
suiteng
post Mar 17 2007, 03:30 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Mar 17 2007, 10:16 AM)
Yuri escaped right in front of our eyes and ran away.... we couldn't chase him  cry.gif Spend whole night looking for him. He could really jump from the head of a 5 ft person and run away... cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Sorry to hear that sad.gif cry.gif cry.gif
icytea
post Mar 17 2007, 03:41 PM

can someone tell me would a male or a female sugar glider be easier to handle?
misa
post Mar 17 2007, 05:11 PM

327 posts

hamster9

Oh no ;0; sorry to hear that Yuri ran away.

alieamin

Aww, Oshine and Chiwek -- so cute!

MamaHui

Congrats on your suggie's pregnancy! smile.gif

icytea

Well, the only reason that I would say for you to get a female glider is if you're worried about the male's flossing issue. You can read more about it on the web. They'll also develop a bald spot on the forehead after the age of 4-6 months old. This is their scent gland. They might also give out a certain musky odour during mating season. Other than that, either one is fine, really. Every glider's got a different personality.

I guess, the big difference is their appearance.

You can read more here under Appearance -->

About Sugar Gliders (Appearance)

I would also suggest that you take your time to read this website and google for more smile.gif

http://www.sugargliderinfo.com/

Hehe it's always so exciting when you're first thinking about getting a suggie. icon_rolleyes.gif
icytea
post Mar 17 2007, 05:23 PM

those links a really useful. thanks a lot misa! biggrin.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 17 2007, 05:50 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Mar 17 2007, 10:16 AM)
Yuri escaped right in front of our eyes and ran away.... we couldn't chase him  cry.gif Spend whole night looking for him. He could really jump from the head of a 5 ft person and run away... cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
HAr? So in the end did you manage to find him?

QUOTE(MamaHui @ Mar 17 2007, 02:57 PM)
hi, i am so happy coz my SG pregnant already...smile.gif any suggestion on diet on this period? thanks!
Congrats congrats!!! Well, you must feed them a good diet of fruits, lots of protein. Stay away from commercial dogfood, if you can, get holistic catfood and soak in water till soft for the glider coz hard food can cause "lumpy jaw", a mouth disorder tha is very painful. Also give more mealworms and crickets and you can add hard boiled egg into its diet.

QUOTE(icytea @ Mar 17 2007, 03:41 PM)
can someone tell me would a male or a female sugar glider be easier to handle?
Well... both sexes are easy to handle.... just males smell slightly more due to the fact that they got a scent gland to mark their territory... If you want a pair, best is go for female pairs since some sellers sell siblings... so male and female... could be brother and sister. Also breeding is a lot of time and when you need to sell off the joey it is really heartbreaking.

I got a female with me... very fun to have. I also took care of males before....erm, I think males are more playful.
hamster9
post Mar 17 2007, 05:58 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

cannot find until now...how? how? the area is so big and got cats too cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif been crying the whole night sad.gif how could Yuri do this to me ?
icytea
post Mar 17 2007, 05:58 PM

hmm.. i'm thinking of getting one.
but i just can't decide on a male or female.

125 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:44 AM