7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

~*Sugar Glider Club V2 *~, Staring Contest Champions

misa
post Oct 27 2006, 12:52 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(pervasive @ Oct 26 2006, 11:28 PM)
Getting them in a pair is worth it. trust me. no loneliness n its a lot more fun for them too. I'm following this BML diet I found online.
Hey, with the BML diet -- how do you get the gerber baby chicken food? Can't get it in Malaysia so I'm importing it from the states lol. But well, I'm going to modify it a little -- too much honey la.

misa
post Oct 31 2006, 02:41 AM

327 posts

homg so adorable la lil boy ;0;! i'm sure you'll miss him.

QUOTE(Reanne @ Oct 31 2006, 01:44 AM)
Went to a couple of sites and some said gliders are grey when they're young, then turn brownish when they're older, while some say it's a different colour altogether. Which is true? So weird...
yup, yup cause of the scent glands -- for males usually at their chest area.

This post has been edited by misa: Oct 31 2006, 02:42 AM
misa
post Nov 1 2006, 04:10 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(Sugre @ Oct 31 2006, 10:46 AM)
On another note: I went to the 100Yen Store at SS2 but the only drawstring pouches they sell are lined with some sort of aluminium like foil for keeping food warm. Poor babies will suffocate. I think I will try Sunway like misa advised.
Yeah la I think a lot of suggie owners have raided all the pouches from the 100Yen store lol I checked out the one near my place and they don't have any left. Sunway got loads of kiosks selling cute pouches! Keep us updated on your finds! I'm heading that way next week. Might go and get the yellow pouch for BabyBoy hehe RM10/12 wor... wub.gif

misa
post Nov 4 2006, 12:48 AM

327 posts

At Sunway Pyramid, it's one of those kiosks selling handbags. From the entrance, go to the first few floors on the left and right. They have really pretty pouches for sale. RM10-RM12. Also, you can go to Zara's Exotic Pet Store in Summit, USJ. They have proper sugar glider pouches for RM36/- for those who would like the ones with the zipper and the net window for your glider to breathe easily. This is for those of you who are new to caring for gliders and are afraid they'll escape from the drawstring pouch. : )

This post has been edited by misa: Nov 4 2006, 12:50 AM
misa
post Nov 4 2006, 09:02 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(yagami15my15 @ Nov 4 2006, 01:59 AM)
U mean jeff shop?i forget his shop name liao blink.gif jeff sell things very expensive le. i think its jeff la cos i remember there is only 1 pet shop there.Misa u mean the sugar glider can escape from drawstring pouch ah?cos if can get the 10-12 one i think its good enuff if its glider proof safe cos 36 one a bit mahal le. mine still new to me so i dunno how he would react to the pouch thing.

My glider still havent wake up and its almost 2am, i m not sure he is sleeping or not and if i go kacau him he crab(so should i kacau him) cos its supposed to eat his food-_-i wan him to follow time table le or else a lot of ants.(will ants bite sugar glider?)
Not to sure whether the guy's name is Jeff or not haha anyways, with regards to them escaping from a drawstring pouch, well, that can happen if they want to get out of the pouch. But if you're always guarding them, then that's fine. After a while. you'll know your glider best. For me, I bring my glider everywhere -- to work, to the shops, etc and he's just in his drawstring pouch. I'm always keeping an eye on him so : )

With regards to him not waking up eventhough it's 2am -- that's normal la -- usually if the lights are turned on -- they won't bother to get up. Mine doesn't. As long as the lights are on, he'll go on sleeping which is a bad thing so I usually turn the lights off and he'll get up but --- these days he wakes up at about 1am or so -- so that's when I prepare his dinner lol

You should clear the food dish after 12 hours la max : )~~~ no worries wan la.

Ants..hmm it depends -- if its red ants -- they bite anything that moves lol~~~~ try to give the whole place a good wipedown or change the position of where the cage is at until the ants have stopped making an appearance there. Then return it to the same spot. Just be sure that you give the area a good clean every time la~~~ hopefully that'll get rid of them. So far, I've got no trouble with ants. I always wipe the cage and the area next to it with baby wipes haha~~~

This post has been edited by misa: Nov 4 2006, 09:05 PM
misa
post Nov 10 2006, 04:32 AM

327 posts

crazymouse_yyh --> wow, i absolutely love Kiah's play gym! she's so lucky!

Sugre --> whoa. 88 Pets Mart huh. ;0; damn. i went to irene's aquarium in subang and saw that they placed 20 adult gliders in one misearable tiny cage. they were sitting in their pee and poop. it was a pitiful sight. i'm starting to have a severe dislike for pet stores. i think jabatan haiwan should really check these pet store every couple of months or so to make sure they're not mistreating the animals. : /

yagami15my15 --> yeah, you're definitely right about suggies and them being like babies. when i first got mine, i realized how much care and attention a glider needs. i remember browsing through a lot of websites, doing tons of research with regards to their dietary needs. nah, don't feed them cat food. they don't need it. give them a variety of fruits each week, complimented with a glider mix (like the one from crazymouse_yyh) -- brilliant stuff and the mealworms (i feed mine 6 mealies a day). and the only sg pouches being sold in summit is the one at Zara's Exotic Pet Store. it's rm36 if i'm not mistaken. with regards to mealies, i used to cut the head off for my glider -- because he wasn't interested in mealworms so i had to squeeze a bit of the juice out to get him to want to eat it but now i don't have to do that anymore. he just eats it as it is. everytime i get new mealworms, once a week, i'll feed the worms with a few slices of apples and carrots. this is called gutloading the worms so they'll be more nutritious for your glider to eat. i also keep my mealies in oat bran (2 inches deep). they eat that too. mealies are fattening -- so don't feed the glider with too many mealies a day.

hamster9 --> yay! congrats on getting the male glider from Hun. saw his piccies -- what a handsome fella hehe! my glider uses both the ceramic water bowl and the water bottle. i tried taking either one away and he was severely disastified lol! greedy fella. he likes drinking from the water bottle and then he goes to his water dish and drinks again. funny fella. whoa, i never dare to sleep when my glider's freely jumping around the room because i've read some glider death stories that kinda scared me. one lady slept with her gliders next to her and when she woke up, they were squashed. another guy slept while his glider was playing in the room. later he found the glider under the couch cushion -- squashed. ;0; poor thing.

nugget
--> congrats on the pregnant one! hope you'll get cute and healthy grandkids! take some photos yah? \m/

suiteng --> omg suiteing ;0; i'm so sorry to hear about GongGong. that's the scary thing about SGs though. they hide the fact that they're sick very well and when they die -- it's always unexpected.

Reanne --> he doesn't want to eat? or...? you could try giving him his mealies in the morning and feeding him his fruits and mebbe the glider mix at midnight, leaving it in the cage until the next morning. keep him on a regular schedule and you'll start to see an improvement. dice the fruits up, it might help.

This post has been edited by misa: Nov 10 2006, 04:34 AM
misa
post Nov 13 2006, 12:57 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(dananmy @ Nov 11 2006, 05:39 PM)
Hi you all.... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  I wanna ask the expert , my boy now hav grown to a mature male and now he got a bald spot on his head and yeah the thing that stick out fr his but too whistling.gif  whistling.gif  My question is he got this smell somethin like rotten egg. Is it normal ?? I've tried to wipe him with wet baby tissue but the smell only became stronger. Any Help??? icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
What do you feed him? What you feed affects how your glider smells. Mine eat fruits and crazymouse_yyh's glider mix and frozen veggies. He gets 6 mealworms a day. He doesn't stink. wub.gif
misa
post Nov 13 2006, 07:02 PM

327 posts

Whoa. Today BabyBoy bit my little brother on his butt -- it must have been painful because my bro cried. Funny thing was, he wouldn't let go and was just hanging there. Ouch!

And with regards to glider's stinking as they grow older, oh no, I hope it won't be that bad. BabyBoy's about 8months old now, I guess. But he still doesn't smell. His pee has a funny smell to it though -- it smells like something that's burning. sweat.gif lol! But other than that, thank god he himself is smell free. Hehe~~~

This post has been edited by misa: Nov 13 2006, 07:03 PM
misa
post Nov 14 2006, 12:07 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Nov 13 2006, 07:12 PM)
Waaah..ur bro try to sit on him or what? Or maybe your bro but taste like a jiucy watermelon  laugh.gif 

I also hope my glider doesn't stink. Getting Febreeze ready.  tongue.gif
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 13 2006, 07:56 PM)
Har? What your bro do lah? Hahahh... laugh.gif
You can use the syringes more than once. I use it a few times before I throw away.
My brother was just standing there and then BabyBoy jumped onto him and bit him on the butt lol! It was pretty hilarious!
misa
post Nov 14 2006, 07:03 PM

327 posts

Trim their nails when they're half asleep. With practice, you can finish the job in less than 5 minutes. If BabyBoy's in a super good mood, it can be done in 2 minutes flat. That's the time it takes to cut BabyBoy's nails -- all two feet and two hands. Before this, when I just started cutting his nails, it took me at least 30-40 minutes to finish the job. Patience... wub.gif

Edit:

For fun, I trimmed his nails. And I started at 7:04 and now it's 7:09 lol xD;

This post has been edited by misa: Nov 14 2006, 07:09 PM
misa
post Nov 15 2006, 12:06 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Nov 14 2006, 07:20 PM)
Wahh...u cut his legs as well? I dare not cut in case he needs the nails for climbing. But I've cut them yesterday, well only a small part, and it still hurts me. Hrm.... *massaging glider to sleep...*  laugh.gif
Well, he seems to be able to climb about fine with all his nails trimmed. I cut it at an angle so its not really that blunt. wub.gif

QUOTE(4b7g8w7 @ Nov 14 2006, 09:34 PM)
i want to ask ah..lets say i bring her out...i am on sales line..so i travel alot..what abt my girl ..later will it stress her out? how to feed them ?
It'll be okay. My glider travels with me everywhere. I bring his bottle of water and an apple, pear or mango in my bag. I also have a little knife with me so I cut some fruits up for him to eat during lunchtime. I also have another small container with his mealworms in it.

It won't stress your glider out because they just basically sleep in the pouch and they get used to daily routines.

This post has been edited by misa: Nov 15 2006, 12:09 AM
misa
post Nov 15 2006, 08:23 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(yagami15my15 @ Nov 15 2006, 03:18 AM)
climbing shouldnt be a problem in he cage right cos they dun use theyre nail.it climbing up material such as ur cloth and stuff they need theyre nail.
He climbs on the curtains at the office and at home and all over me every day and night without any trouble sweat.gif ...so I don't know. blush.gif

Sugre

Have you found the glider pouches, yet? wub.gif

This post has been edited by misa: Nov 15 2006, 08:24 PM
misa
post Nov 17 2006, 04:22 AM

327 posts

Just thought this article might be of interest to you guys~~~~~ wub.gif

+++

Can high fat diets cause cataracts?
================================
by Lisa

This article is actually a composite of discussions held with several veterinarians, an animal nutritionist, and a couple of other breeders. There's not much research done in this area, but there's a strong concurrence of opinion surrounding a condition that appears to be much like cataracts.

Unfortunately many people mistake the condition to be cataracts when they are really dealing with a nutritional issue that is highly controllable. It is often dangerous for us lay people to confidently diagnose our own pets because sometimes what may appear to be one thing may in fact be something completely different.

Are your gliders' eyes cloudy? Is there a whitish blob of something that appears to be floating inside of the eyeball? I've personally seen the condition in gliders that we've purchased over the years as we were building our breeding colony. I can wholeheartedly understand why someone would see this and assume it is cataracts. I've not met any doctors yet who've actually treated cataracts in sugar gliders. I think they agree that cataracts can happen, but this condition is actually related to the amount of fat in the diet.

Gliders do not digest fat well at all. It is why our own Dr C and other vets in the know recommend that the protein sources used in the glider diet be high in protein but low in fat. The goal is low in fat, not to be confused with no fat. Some fat is actually necessary in the diet, particularly with breeding sugar gliders; it is necessary for lactation.

Examples of foods that are high in fat which are not recommended are avocado, all nuts, peanut butter (unless your glider got stuck in a sticky trap!) red meat (including ground meat), pork, cheese, anything cooked in oil or butter. We use a short list of proteins in our feeding rotation here at SunCoast. We use boiled chicken, boiled egg, mealworms, crickets, grasshoppers, yogurt and sometimes chicken baby food. During the holidays, we may also feed some occasional turkey. This is not to say these are the only proteins you should be feeding. We just feel we are able to incorporate enough variety in the diet sticking to this short and proven list of good protein foods.

And even on this list, mealworms can be a bit higher in fat than may be ideal. If you only feed them 2-3 times a week as opposed to every day, you should not expect that to be a problem as things even out over the longer term. Daily feeding of mealworms may not be the best idea for your gliders.

As stated earlier, we have had a few instances of seeing gliders with the cloudy eye condition. Without having good background information on these animals, it has been hard for us to discern whether the condition can be completely cleared by changing to a correct glider diet. We have seen improvement in affected animals over time, but not a complete clearing in all cases.

And the consensus was clear amongst the team of professionals we've discussed this with. The major concern is not what permanent damage has been done to the eyes or vision, but what are the ramifications for the fat buildup in the rest of the body?

Your best bet is to stick with proteins that are lower in fat count. This will be the most supportive approach for your sugar gliders' long and happy life. And next time they wink at your with their big, black, clear eyes for another great meal served, feel good about your choices!

This post has been edited by misa: Nov 17 2006, 04:24 AM
misa
post Nov 17 2006, 05:01 PM

327 posts

Yeah hehe -- I feed BabyBoy 3-4 mealworms daily these days. I know the americans feed about 12-14 mealworms a day shocking.gif like whoaaaaa. I've never tried feeding him crickets. Scared la. I cannot tahan insects. If I see it, I have to kill it. : | But worms are okay. xD;;

This post has been edited by misa: Nov 17 2006, 05:02 PM
misa
post Nov 25 2006, 06:55 PM

327 posts

Whoa yesterday BabyBoy escaped from his pouch while I was cooking in the kitchen. I left him in the room cause he was sleeping. So when I headed back into the room and saw that the pouch was empty, I was like OMG!! xDDD;; The door was opened too so I thought he must have already ventured outside (let it be known that I have an 8kg maine coon cat who thinks the glider's a rat) but just as I was about to head out of the room, he jumped from the floor to my leg and scrambled up to my shoulder. I was like... ><;; thank god! Never again will I leave him sleeping in his pouch alone xD! Well, I'll at least close the damn door next time. Lucky, lucky...

sangterap

Congrats on the new OOP babies!!!!!! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by misa: Nov 25 2006, 06:59 PM
misa
post Dec 2 2006, 12:11 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(sangterap @ Nov 30 2006, 08:45 AM)
yeah...i noticed that my Sugus & Gizmo freak out whenever i open up plastic bags near them!!! they will go crazy!!!!

I believe they cannot take certain frequencies....
lol i do agree! it happened to me today -- BabyBoy was eating worms on the table and my mom crumpled up some plastic bags in the kitchen -- he went totally pyscho, worms flew everywhere as he jumped from the table onto my shoulder and then onto my head. I was like nooooooooooooooo! ><
misa
post Dec 24 2006, 11:01 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(heidityj @ Dec 23 2006, 10:39 AM)
Hey guys, has this ever happen to anyone's gliders before?

this is what i was talking about.. DeeDee's wound from Joey's bite when he tries to mate..

Yup, that sometimes occurs when gliders mate. You can find out more information at glider central.
misa
post Dec 27 2006, 12:13 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(heidityj @ Dec 25 2006, 04:41 PM)
Thanks Misa! I just finished reading the article.. smile.gif i'm just relieved that it's a natural thing. smile.gif
wub.gif Try to clean the wound so that it won't get infected and if it's a bad wound, best to bring her to the vet. All the best!
misa
post Mar 17 2007, 04:53 AM

327 posts

Ooh it's been a long time since I last checked out the SG thread. biggrin.gif Hehe speaking of suggies interacting with different animals, well, I can only speak for my suggie BabyBoy -- he's not afraid of animals and humans but but but! -- my cat is very, very afraid of him doh.gif This fella la (as in the glider, not the cat) he likes to play rough lol, he makes sudden jumps and stretches his arms out wide acting like a mini mafia dude. Adoi...

Well, the important thing to remember as with all small animals is to always keep an eye out for them when they're playing with other pets. Cuz you never know, yanno.

This is probably the wrong place to ask but is there going to be an SG meetup sometime? tongue.gif Would love to see everyone else's suggies. Hehe~~~
misa
post Mar 17 2007, 05:11 PM

327 posts

hamster9

Oh no ;0; sorry to hear that Yuri ran away.

alieamin

Aww, Oshine and Chiwek -- so cute!

MamaHui

Congrats on your suggie's pregnancy! smile.gif

icytea

Well, the only reason that I would say for you to get a female glider is if you're worried about the male's flossing issue. You can read more about it on the web. They'll also develop a bald spot on the forehead after the age of 4-6 months old. This is their scent gland. They might also give out a certain musky odour during mating season. Other than that, either one is fine, really. Every glider's got a different personality.

I guess, the big difference is their appearance.

You can read more here under Appearance -->

About Sugar Gliders (Appearance)

I would also suggest that you take your time to read this website and google for more smile.gif

http://www.sugargliderinfo.com/

Hehe it's always so exciting when you're first thinking about getting a suggie. icon_rolleyes.gif

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0460sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:38 PM