~*Sugar Glider Club V2 *~, Staring Contest Champions

crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 31 2006, 01:48 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Some pictures of a glider.... ah... this is not my Kiah but a cute little male which I call Lil Boy for now.... he will go to his new mummy soon!

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Oct 31 2006, 01:50 AM
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 1 2006, 08:47 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Nov 1 2006, 02:54 PM)
Hope you can find a good pouch for your babies biggrin.gif

My gliders are still greyish although BenBen have botak spot on the head already. But GongGong is a bit towards brownish side.. perhaps different batch? I dunno oh..

SiaoRat lil boy glider so cute.. cannot see the family jewel geh tongue.gif
Hahahah.... family Jewel got... small one now hehehe.... He don't have pouch so should be boy boy... checked yesterday and saw tiny jewel hahaha...

QUOTE(yagami15my15 @ Nov 1 2006, 07:24 PM)
hi guys i just got my sugar 2hour ago(finally afer so long hehehehhehe)  he hiss a lot he is around 1.5-2month old is it normal ?help me i m scared icon_question.gif

it eat fruits only and i keep him in a cage for cat and i saw somewhere they say keep a cloth over the cage and slowly allow him to adapt to my room is it true?

when can i play wit it HELP HELP HELP!!!

i havent name him yet anybody got any nice name i m still serching for babies name lol.

anyone here use BML diet cos it need a lot of stuff so i was wandering anyone here wanna share the cost?

and crazy_mouse the glider mix u make is it serve as a meal or threat?
Cat cage? How wide apart are the bars? They should be about 1cm wide, larger than that can hurt a glider.

Hissing is normal since he is scared. You must leave your glider alone for 2 days, let him get used to his new cage. Place your smelly shirt in the cage along with a pouch and let him be. If he gets into the pouch to sleep, you slowly take the pouch out, close it securely and hang it around your neck. He will crab and make noise but soon after feel your warmth and heartbeat... he sure sleep.

Do that way, in 2 weeks he will be tame enough to hold around and sit on shoulder.... 2 months you sure bonded with him already.

Hahahah... My mix not a threat lah....

My mix, the SLURP is served as a meal, like how we eat rice lah. You need to give the glider mix with 1 or 2 pieces if fruit at least. Quite balanced meal, so far no one complain about my mix and I get more orders these days tongue.gif

The other type is smoothie... now that is a treat.
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 2 2006, 01:48 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(yagami15my15 @ Nov 2 2006, 03:39 AM)
haiz my cage the bar too wide la he escape 2 times already i m catching him now he ran under my bed got dust i scared later got problem now i keep him inside a basket and close the top hole cose cage he can escape.

crazy_mouse when u free i wanna buy the mix from u le

is it ok to let it romp in my room in the 1st day?
QUOTE(yagami15my15 @ Nov 2 2006, 01:12 PM)
yalo the cage bar too wide but the size of the cage is good. i have a terrible ime cataching it when he was running, i wanna use hand but it was o fast so i have to use a box to capture him now he is inside a basket and he hide inside my cloth so i leave him alone, but when i go near he stilll make noise. dam worry i stress him too much
Coz you cage is a cat's cage. You really should go and buy a large bird cage lah. Also, by letting him roam during the 1st day, he won't be able to bond with you properly. Just hang him in his pouch around your neck and do the proper slow bonding. If you give him freedom now, he would not learn to be close to you.

I only let my glider roam freely around my room when she learned to answer her name when I call her. And that took me 2.5 months of bonding loh. So you just be patient.

Right now, catching him back can be very stressful. Firstly he dunno who you are yet, just some giant wanna catch him only. This is what I said earlier, bond first. So when you wanna catch him next time, it would be less stressful and he would learn that you carrying him in your hand is the best thing in the world.

If you still want to use the current cage you got, do go buy some of those wire fencing that are small... hardward store got... get a roll and somesoft wires to fence up the cage so that it's safe for a glider.

Since you bought only 1 glider and it's a joey, not a good idea to leave him alone.... you gotta carry him everywhere with you in a pouch. A joey can become depress if alone.

You can place an order for my mix anytime in my garage sales thread.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Nov 2 2006, 01:49 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 2 2006, 09:00 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(yagami15my15 @ Nov 2 2006, 04:25 PM)
u mean buy a pouch and bring him out wit me?

after i go back put him back in the cage again?

how do they breath if we zip the pouch?

1 more thing the glider keep hiding under the cloth i m worry if will have breathing difficulty.

The 100yen shop in ss 15 got sell the pouch u all mention ah?

crazy_mouse when he is still new to me will he like run riot inside the pouch?

and how do i feed him inside the pouch?

i was wondering when u all going to have another gathering i would like to noe more glider owner and learn from them.
That's is why you should buy cotton or denim or breathable canvas pouches. A glider can perfectly breathe thru those... If you wrap you head with a cotton towel, you can still breathe.

When he gets to know the pouch is for sleeping, then he would be ok in the pouch. May struggle a bit but later he will quiet down.

You only feed you glider twice a day. Early in the morning and late at night. I feed mine in the cage. Just let it out of the pouch and into the cage loh.
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 2 2006, 11:29 PM

12,047 posts

Hiding is normal hahah... coz Joeys like dark tight places...

In my pouch I put tissue paper so that it absorb pee if my glider got pee lah.
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 3 2006, 01:14 PM

12,047 posts

[quote=yagami15my15,Nov 3 2006, 12:15 PM]
lol it take like ages to find that legendary pouch-_-, i use to have one straw string type but it was cotton(i thing that would be the perfect pouch) but then i give it to someone else long ago cos i tot it wasnt cool, Now i cant find something i have b4-_-. Seriusly la someone have to tell me where to get lo 2 days he need to bond with his big tree liao lol. I was wandering if the uptown pasar malam in ss15 got ah later tonnight i go and check.

[QUOTE]Hahaha you are searching for a pouch too!

It isn't a bad thing that your glider hides under the clothe. This way he feels more covered, safe and warm. I let my SGs sleep in a cloth bed and also put in a small clothe as a blankie for them. They love it! Always cuddled up together in bed with the blankie wrapped around them - nearly the whole afternoon and evening.

but he hide inside and only run a round when i switch off the light shakehead.gif, and i have to use a touch light to see it from far.(its like nigh safari if i wanna see him)

One more thing i only give him 1/8 of an apple a meal is it too little cos if i give more he doesnt seem to finish it at one go and he ea he rest around 3-4hour later but then the fruits is not fresh anymore.(my seem to favour pear more lol)

[/quote]

Give more variety... Maybe include a grape and some papaya. I normally feed my glider at night around 12am... then leave it with my glider, next morning sure all finish.
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 3 2006, 03:40 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(4b7g8w7 @ Nov 3 2006, 03:00 PM)
me got a sugee alsoo.....cute ka???.... tongue.gif
Hahah... soon lah, you will get one.... You make sure you tell me when you already get a real one loh.... so I can take you off my waiting list coz now you are on my waiting list smile.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 5 2006, 07:57 PM

12,047 posts

Here are some new pics of Kiah and her play gym in my cluttered room hehehe....

crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 5 2006, 09:23 PM

12,047 posts

Yah hahaha... so she is rarely bored... she gets to climb anywhere and everywhere in my room... sometimes she goes missing the whole afternoon and later at night come out to cari makan, then later go missing again. Sure curled up somewhere to sleep.

I'm gonna add a hanging tissue box and more ropes and strings later on.
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 5 2006, 11:56 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(nugget @ Nov 5 2006, 11:35 PM)
mousy...do u know those plastic chain in yellow color ?
they are more suitable than rope I think....coz when u wanna disinfect it...u just boil hot water n dip them in....n they dry fast too...

your kiah bo luan luan pang jio eh arr ?adorable adorable...
Ohhh... yah, you gave me good idea hahaah...

She don't pee on the rope, so all quite dry.... poo always on floor so I sweep... but I wonder where all the jio go coz I can't find pee... LOL... oh wait, normally she pees on me hahaahh.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(yagami15my15 @ Nov 5 2006, 11:53 PM)
lol how do u even find stuff in ur room?dun worry kiah will find for ur in the future
Hahah... most of the things in storage boxes and my shelves aren't used anymore... just rotting there... so pretty ok to find certain stuff coz those that I need are easy to find in places I stored them... the hardest creature to find when its asleep is Kiah loh.
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 6 2006, 10:43 AM

12,047 posts

I just leave the food in the cage, next morning sure finish.... you don't need to wait for your Haru to wake up and watch him eat if he is a late nighter....
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 6 2006, 10:54 PM

12,047 posts

Do buy and bond with gliders DURING your holidays... then it's much less work when you go back to school. I also waited till I was on holiday when I got my glider.
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 6 2006, 11:09 PM

12,047 posts

NZT? NZX is it? Hahahah.... not sure where in Malacca.... normally all here in KL....
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 7 2006, 09:09 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(seryoung @ Nov 7 2006, 12:54 AM)
1 or 2 depends on 2 factors: 1) the time u have to spend with them and 2) money laugh.gif
lol...worse come to worst buy from pet store lor...but that will cost you a bomb. and until now i haven't seen a pet store that takes real good care of their gliders..

crazymouse..do you deliver sugar gliders?  laugh.gif
HAhaha.... deliver gliders? Hahahah.... nah... people come to me for gliders heheheh... too bad I only help out a friend... so stock damn damn limited. Today made Hamster9 very happy heheheh....

QUOTE(yagami15my15 @ Nov 7 2006, 03:20 AM)
consider properly b4 u buy sugar glider cos its no as easy as it seem since each glider is different from one another.Trust me i just started and i already done research for quite some time and i still find there is a lot to learn from taking care of the sg and his health the place they stay and so on i suggest u browse the whole topic in this sg forum and other forum such as sugarglider.com and glidercentral.net and in tthose forum they r ppl with story and testimonial on raising glider. Sugar glider is not just a pet it require u to treat it like its part of family if u truly wan it to bond and play wit it(trust me you will really need to devote a lot of time to understanding all this). After just 5days wit my sugar glider i find it similar to raising a baby(a lot of work), it think the rest of those sg owner would agree.lol my fren always ask me why i didnt bring my son out and i reply them he got grounded.

Sugre u feed them glider mixed and fruit nia?no meal worm?i have a big question is meal worm fattening for glider? cos i lot of ppl say tat cat food and nuts is fattening for sg and i didnt see anyone here feeding those food so i presume its meal worm for them as protein But..... jeff from zara pet shop in summit say feed glider wit cat food, kui chi and nuts wo (he say mix them wo). so i would like some information from some of u all on wat u feed when they r 2-6month old?if u all r feeding mealworm do u all cut of the head b4 feeding?

misa u noe there is this shop 1st or 2nd floor i forget liao which sell a lot of pouch in summit anot?I went to 100 yen shop in ss15 again and i saw something similar to the bonding pouch smelly_cheese posted on page 1 but i was wondering if its ok for sg cos i dun think air can go through(by the way its the blue pouch on page 1)

sugre when u glider bite u did u have blueblack?cos i put my hand near the cage and let it bite lo cos bonding mah(haiz the things u have to go through...... sad.gif )but the teeeth was really sharp and its painful lo(do they like to bite so much blink.gif or r they growing teeth cos u noe la when baby grow teeth they also bite mah).
OMG... you should never trust some petshop people.... catfood as treats are ok but not staple. Do not feed nuts or seeds.... if get stuck in the gut and get indigestion, impaction or stomach infection, later cry loh.... yah, it's fattening but gliders were not meant to eat nuts and seeds... they are not hamsters or squirrels. Catfood too high in minerals and proteins that aren't good for a glider in long term. As treats are ok. Avoid stuff with garlic, onion and avocado and soya.

Feed mealworms. Some glider readily eat without cutting of the head while some might need you to squeeze the mealworm juices out onto your finger to lick.

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Nov 7 2006, 07:28 PM)
Yo....
Got my SG from crazymouse today. Been crabbing whole day but still catch him up and console him. Now sleeping on my lap with my one hand holding him. He wants the heat from my hand I guess  laugh.gif  Now I'm typing slower than ever as I'm now using one hand to type  rclxub.gif  Ate papaya edi, so later will feed her with Hun's Glider Mix.  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(leezhunjin @ Nov 7 2006, 07:32 PM)
i know a lot of pet shops dont treat animals well... after all most of them are in this for money so i dont like to buy from them.... its like supporting their abuse.... I read that for Sugar Gliders you blend fruits and stuff and calsium and certain vitamins for their food. where should i buy the calsium and vitamins? can i keep 2 of them in separate pouches and take them around? Will they make a lot of noise?
That's why always get from a breeder coz at least you know the joeys are doing well.

If you need glider mix, do view my garage sales thread.

QUOTE(leezhunjin @ Nov 7 2006, 08:13 PM)
Where does the pet shop take Sugar Gliders from, I know one that takes ffrom Indonesia. Is it ok?
All from Indonesia... there is no law in Indonesia about exporting gliders but there is a law in Australia that gliders cannot be caught and kept as a pet or exported overseas. Anyway, in Indonesia, 1 joey is only RM50.
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 7 2006, 09:10 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Nov 7 2006, 09:04 PM)
i think u too kind edi...that's why...now he's walking around my body (so ticklish  sweat.gif ) but when i look into my shirt, he crabs. he now thinks my body is his house edi.  doh.gif  and he dunno my body and my hand are the same entity, he likes my body but hates to see my hands laugh.gif
Hehehe... yups, that is Lil Boy alright. He likes to walk on my body but see my hands he crab... but he ok when you move slow motion hahahah....

Glad you happy with him. He will sure make your days livelier loh.

So any names? tongue.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 7 2006, 09:32 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Nov 7 2006, 09:26 PM)
hahaha..i named him Chiwek, that Javanese for a manja crybaby.  laugh.gif

he is sleeping soundly now underneath my shirt, i guess it's a cold night he wans some warmth. but he tends to bite on my spare tyre tummy  sweat.gif  so ticklish. i move a bit he crabs...have to become a statue.  whistling.gif

yeah..at least got a friend to follow me around in the car and work. hope he learns fast so i can type with 2 hands rclxub.gif  laugh.gif

crazymouse sure made my day happier today notworthy.gif  laugh.gif
Chiwek, wah, sounds really suitable for him heheheh... unique name too.

Gliders love the warmth of our bodies... you saw the demo from my Kiah heheheh... on cold nights she like to snuggle with me but these days she likes to snuggle with my dog hahah....

He will learn fast lah. You carry him around everyday, in 2 to 3 weeks he will super stick to you wan and soon you will have a happy baby on you. rclxms.gif

I miss him already... lol, his cage now empty on my PC table... but so glad he got to go to you. wub.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 7 2006, 09:45 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Nov 7 2006, 09:39 PM)
hrmm i'm afraid of letting sleep with me in case i squished him. but i guess while i'm asleep he is awake? oh, are u using those hamsters bottle for him to drink?
Ahh.... do that after he has bonded well with you. Yups, he will be active around 12am onwards... you will see later he trying to run everywhere hahahah....

I use those heavy clay bowls... no hamster bottle hahahah.... maybe you can train him. I got no extra bottles liao so my glider use bowl heheheh...
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 7 2006, 10:07 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Nov 7 2006, 09:54 PM)
would they mess up the bowl?

he is now sleeping on my hand  wub.gif  wub.gif  playing with his feet and hands and also his bushy lil tail  laugh.gif  but when i flick his whiskers, he bite me. well, going back home soon after work, then he can have HUN's GLIDER MIX laugh.gif he was looking for something just now, licking my hand, so i tot he's looking for your mix.

i've already fed him with papaya  drool.gif
Yah... bowl got some food and poo sometimes hahaha... you can try those bird water feeders... those long long bottles for birds normall a few RM wan... good for gliders also.

HAhha... as long you don't move away or cry when he bites you, he won't do it hard... he is just plain naughty and crabby now heheheh....

Yah, soon he would want his food, later you see him makan lah, gulp everything. You can leave the bowl of food overnight, sure next morning all habis wan.
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 8 2006, 12:34 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(seryoung @ Nov 8 2006, 12:26 AM)
RM50??  shocking.gif

here its like converted to pounds  sweat.gif

hamster9...so fast ur glider bond with you..jealous betul!
Yah... my Indonesian friends said RM50 only after convert hahahah... too bad can't import... need special wildlife permit and a lot of paperwork, in the end also cost few hundred RM for 1 glider.
crazymouse_yyh
post Nov 8 2006, 08:48 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(seryoung @ Nov 8 2006, 12:09 PM)
i didn't sleep well last night. about 3-4am moochi was barking. so i woke up and layan her. feed her few mealworms..after that no more noise so i really KO on the bed.  rclxub.gif
I like it when gliders bark... so cute. Kiah once bark on my shoulder and on my pillow next to my head.... for no reason at all hahah.

QUOTE(suiteng @ Nov 8 2006, 12:13 PM)
My GongGong suddenly died of unknown reason cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif I dunno why... he was active and jumping around and the next day, he's not moving. cry.gif cry.gif

BenBen and Sasa was looking at him this morning, so I went to check them out. Then realized GongGong is not moving. I tried to take GongGong out, but BenBen bite me sad.gif What happened???? I'm feeding them well and they are active, then suddenly... GongGong left... I didn't see any weird disease or whatever mark on him. His fur is still very nice...
That is very sudden, really sad news. So sorry to hear such a loss. Hope BenBen and Sasa doing fine.

15 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:06 AM