> Should we close down Proton?

SUSdothackRAVE
post May 7 2014, 05:47 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ May 7 2014, 03:30 PM)
Find me a replacement car with tebocas engine lotus handling auto light auto wiper cruise control pedal shift 6 airbag esc reverse cam huge ass interior pls under 70k
Since the question includes the following assumption:

QUOTE(mrhulk @ May 7 2014, 03:29 PM)
yes, we want cheaper imported car. But is it worth to stop doing automobile manufacturing and leave thousands Malaysians jobless?

in my opinion, the proton cars are still ok. not usually broke down.
That if you close Proton, we take away excise tax, then a 2005 Toyota Corolla in the US will do it. IIRC, cost USD16,000, which is around 52k. Of course, no lotus handling, since lotus is owned by Proton.

It's meaningless marketing BS anyway. Lotus cars handle well because they're well balanced lightweight cars. Cars that have good handling with an entry level price include the Mazda 3, Ford Focus, Honda Civic, etc..
SUSdothackRAVE
post May 7 2014, 05:54 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(TamiyaOne @ May 7 2014, 05:52 PM)
i dun think Lotus design our Proton handling.. the just taruk cop only AKA pakai nama sahaja biggrin.gif
I doubt it too. Probably just a few components out of the suspension designed by Lotus, then send back to Proton, where the beancounters take everything they've designed, and ciplak with shit materials and manufacturing tolerances.

They still need some relation to Lotus though, since they sell in the UK, and advertise Lotus handling also. The authorities there do not take kindly to false advertising.
SUSdothackRAVE
post May 8 2014, 03:06 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ May 7 2014, 07:40 PM)
ASEAN Toyota and Honda cars, even in INDON n Thai, doesnt have those features I listed. How remove tongkat suddenly feature included?
Remove Tongkat, can sell full featured car for less money. Tentu sales hebat.

Now they have to decontent cars to reduce the import value of the car, and thus kena less tax (since tax is a function of percentage).

0.0128sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:18 AM