Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream

sheng291
post Aug 6 2014, 10:05 AM

455 posts

Fresh grad here looking for opportunity to serve in o&g field. I am currently looking at those service company, as easier to enter compare to upstream big company, and I prefer to travel to diff station rather than stay at one. Any suggestion on company? Btw I am mechanical background with 2nd upper.Thanks
sheng291
post Aug 6 2014, 10:14 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Aug 6 2014, 03:48 PM)
You might want to try Schlumberger and Baker-Hughes. Based on performance, they are known to send people to different posts in different places. hmm.gif
Ok, I submit the application via website, but I don't think there is high chance to get there via website application. Any suggestion on any other way to get in? thanks
sheng291
post Aug 7 2014, 09:29 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(undertaker123 @ Aug 7 2014, 07:30 AM)
Just be patient bro...Its not easy to get into a big company especially for a freshy..

FYI,i just got the phone iv from Baker Hughes 2 days ago after a long while applied

through their website..almost 1 year.need a lot of patience to wait

Gud luck! icon_rolleyes.gif
1 year? omg..I though the program is only for fresh grad? guess i should start consider other job first.
Nwa,thanks!
sheng291
post Aug 12 2014, 08:53 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Aug 9 2014, 07:45 PM)
That's pretty much it. If you REALLY want to join service company, look out for job fairs or anything similar. I know some of my friends who got their first jobs after dropping CVs or having on-the-spot interviews in job fairs. However, as undertaker123 has said, just be patient. More people are going for oil service company compared to oil company, so they have more candidates to choose from. hmm.gif
I see. I prefer oil service company as I go around different site and meet different people. That's why I prefer service company. I didn't know the pay is higher. haha..actually what kind of service company available? i know drilling, pump, turbomachinery,anything else?
sheng291
post Aug 17 2014, 12:32 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Aug 14 2014, 07:09 AM)
My background is Petroleum Engineering, so mostly I only know Schlumberger, Baker Hughes, Weatherford, and their kin. There are LOTS of smaller oil service company all around the world and their main service varies from logging, drilling, workover operations, etc. Google might help a lot in gathering information of oil service company. A short time googling lead me to this list here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_oilfi...rvice_companies nod.gif
Thank you for the list. I've found this list as well, but it didn't make it in category , such as drilling, turbo machinery, HVAC and etc, perhaps because most of the companies involved in more than 1 field. Appreciate much if you can give me some information on the type of service companies. Just give me the type and I'll do research myself =)

btw, wanna ask how about onshore service? I like to be involved in different project, meet different people and challenges, but I am not sure if I can fit in the lifestyle of offshore, so perhaps onshore service might be a better alternative.
sheng291
post Aug 27 2014, 03:29 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Aug 20 2014, 01:57 PM)
Well you might want to try searching for "oil drilling service company" or that kind of query in Google. I got quite some known companies from googling that term. hmm.gif

AFAIK, when you're in an oil service company, you just need to make do with whatever assignment you're given by your supervisor. You might have a say in where you will be located, but in the end it boils down to your supervisor's decision. These are all I get from conversation with my friends who are working in the oil service industry. Please do CMIIW. nod.gif
Alright, thanks for the kind advice, appreciate much!
sheng291
post Sep 8 2014, 08:07 PM

455 posts

I have just got an offered as assn proj engineer in a crane company. Thinking of choosing that as related to heavy industries and hence offshore/marine. Recently kinda hard to get a place in S'pore now..

My question is, what kind of technical skills I should focus on should I intend to move to ong field later on? What normally does the manager from o&g consider when getting applicants from outside o&g fields?

sheng291
post Sep 11 2014, 01:50 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Sep 11 2014, 01:31 PM)
Experience and correct attitude. For SG, qualifications in term of cert is a mandatory due to their recent years of more stringent regulations and CP. Also, incident cases, keyword WSH Council.
Thanks, but I wonder what type of experiences count?
For instant, I might be moving to M&E, mainly on piping and HVAC. Will piping design and project management contribute if I wanna go offshore?

sheng291
post Oct 15 2014, 05:33 PM

455 posts

Hi, I saw there is a lubricants graduate trainee program from BP Msia.
At first I though it is a technical program, but eventually it accept students regardless major.
Anyone who been through it before or those who have idea about it mind to share what is the scope and potential of the program? Thanks
sheng291
post Oct 15 2014, 07:03 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(undertaker123 @ Oct 15 2014, 06:00 PM)
How did you apply for this trainee?Mind to share the specific link?

dah open ke application nye?

just check the trainee position at their career website  but none .

Link : https://careers.bpglobal.com/TGWebHost/home...078&SiteId=5012
https://careers.bpglobal.com/TGWebHost/jobd..._5061&GQId=2050

remember to buy me a meal if u get in.haha
sheng291
post Oct 15 2014, 07:49 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(undertaker123 @ Oct 15 2014, 07:39 PM)
Bro..the link that u gave me is not valid la..LOL doh.gif

haha..I think there's another trainee program at BP named E-Star..My friend have been there,i think for 2-3 months already..

Nothing Technical work (Maybe have but not into deep)..More on management,planning,Doing SAP,some financial and marketing,etc..

What i hears from him, a lot of chances to go overseas, business trip etc smile.gif
https://careers.bpglobal.com/TGWebHost/jobd..._5061&GQId=2050

it works fine for me here, in case don't work again, when u go for job search, go for the one with students and gradautes
e-star seems to be a little bit diff, it seems more SAP oriented..

This post has been edited by sheng291: Oct 15 2014, 08:00 PM
sheng291
post Oct 16 2014, 09:06 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(fatvader @ Oct 16 2014, 04:27 AM)
wow freshie demanding for +3.2k yawn.gif
topkek
I work in JB in M&E ad getting 2.8k basic + 500 fixed allowance as fresh grad, takkan KL can't give 3.2k in oil and gas?My friend IT fresh graduate also can get 4k
I think the pay is reasonable, the question is, whether the guy got such capability to handle the responsibility and challenge come with the pay
sheng291
post Oct 16 2014, 04:12 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(BillySteel @ Oct 16 2014, 09:25 AM)
What are you talking?

The employer sets the salary...and not many local comps i know in o&g pays anything above 3k to their freshies.MNC's also very few. I started my first job in klang valley for 1.4k a month. If no allowance that month i makan timun.

From most people i hear in Malaysia high salary does not equate to higher responsibility and challenge it equates to who you know and how pandai u taichi. I make more money now overseas with so much less resposibility than i did locally in Malaysia with more responsibility. Why you think everyone in Malaysia want to jump?
hmm, in that case, o&g does pay well for skilled one with good experiences, but not fresh grad then..
considering banking grad trainee pay 2.8k+- as well, I doubt o&g will be less than that, unless those chinaman company..
pay wise, what I stated there is true, up to people to take it or not biggrin.gif

someone with high salary but lower responsibility is subject to skills and experiences then, such as those principal engineer..good for you rclxms.gif

0.0471sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:26 PM