Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream

razo2
post Nov 9 2014, 09:31 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 7 2014, 10:25 AM)
anybody working as operation/maintenance on offshore platforms? i need some feedback/comments on the pedestal cranes used there.
What you want to know about cranes?
razo2
post Nov 22 2014, 09:17 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(cicakubin @ Nov 20 2014, 09:49 PM)
Hi ONG sifus,
i have 2yrs+ experience in construction field (M&E), i wish to change career path into ONG. what are the chances that i'll be accepted as lets say graduate engineer since i have no experience in ONG. is there any ONG company willing to take me in?

there are firm providing some basic enrichment course about Process, Equipment & Safety in ONG. if i took the course, will i have better chance to enter ONG world?

http://oilandgascourse.gr8.com/
Dont waste your time on those course. Here are a few website for OnG stuff:

http://www.rigzone.com/training/howitworks.asp

for your free time to replace p*rn and youtube rubbish entertaiment:

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxY_yHkLilNVbUGCMYVsuhg

youtube search term "Oil & Gas Videos"

If you are really interested and desperate, get BOSIET.

This post has been edited by razo2: Nov 22 2014, 09:20 AM
razo2
post Nov 22 2014, 09:24 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(intersel @ Nov 19 2014, 11:42 PM)
Hey guys,

is there any list of companies that accept fresh graduates? Seems really hard to turn from any engineering background into oil and gas engineering. I'm a mechanical engineering as Product Engineer in HVAC company. Everytime I try to apply for an oil & gas companies, usually their requirement is 5years+ experience. Any idea how to tackle the 'first' job in oil & gas?
Join the vendor side. Learn things and get kipnapped by Operator.
razo2
post Nov 23 2014, 07:47 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(ak101ss @ Nov 22 2014, 12:19 PM)
Received same email, I applied for BHe Brunei. Same position.
UPDATE : 9 questions, and I f***ed it up pretty badly.

Questions 1-7 were all about challenges faced etc. etc. Last 2 about why you want to work in baker hughes

I wasn't used to looking into a camera at all, I just didnt feel comfortable, ended up stuttering and using the wrong words. Guess imma continue buildin' that god damned MRT.
Usually there is a trick to uncomfortable experience in any situation, next time try squeezing your left hand hard till it hurts a little. We generally get more control over ourselves when we feel pain. It will also regulate your heart rate as well. Having a cup of water also will be good, if you are in blank or panic mode just request for some time to drink some water.
razo2
post Feb 5 2015, 09:06 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(em0kia @ Feb 1 2015, 08:57 PM)
So you are saying that they are actually competing for clients so that when the market turns better, the one with more clients with earn more. i know this is a stupid question, but based on the example you give:
If US decide to drop its production, how will it benefit US other than being able to increase its oil price/barrel?

And right now if saudi decide to sell the same price as US, how will saudi defeat US? since both of them will have business.
Look there is a few things you need to know.

1. Saudi has 700 billion dollars in reserve from the sale from the USD 100+ oil price. Thus, saudi had a lot of money to burn compared to US small time shale oil. If saudi were to flood the market with oil, it will put alot of pressure on the small and mid oil shale producers in the US because they dont have reserve but loans from banks. Yes both of them will will lose money, but it depends who got the deepest wallet. Hell saudi might even buy these dumb ass over when their belly flip due to bust loans.

2. Saudi oil field is a giant that last for generations. Unlike US shale oil which can best last for 2-3 years oil well life. America is stuck in a shit pipeline where average oil production cost is based on the USD 50-60 oil market (with market price today of USD 48). But saudi oil is cheaper (if i am not mistaken it is based on the USD 30 -40 oil price mark, which is still a gain! It really depends on how much technology they use in drilling) oil because their mother nature like them with good reservoir flow with not much need for fracking unlike the US. If US sells it cheap now they will run at a lost, if they sell it later saudi will have the bigger share of the pie due to reliable oil supply contract. But dont forget US best option now is to sell it later than to sell it now. It is the better lost cost if you compared to both options.

This post has been edited by razo2: Feb 5 2015, 09:14 AM

0.0410sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:15 AM