empire23
post Jun 1 2014, 06:07 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Quick question for safety taikors out there;

CFSE/SP or TUV

Which is better if I want to go back to Malaysia?
empire23
post Aug 16 2014, 04:01 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(acgerlok7 @ Aug 16 2014, 11:02 AM)
mind me aasking...why all of a sudden...people from all kind of majors want to get into oil and gas? what's so attractive about it?
Because everyone keeps hearing about how good the industry pays. Which is correct to an extent but most don't know anymore than that and if they don't know more than that, it is very very hard to get in.
empire23
post Aug 18 2014, 02:58 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Aug 18 2014, 12:57 PM)
Agreed.
Also under hot working weather 40 plus degree C and humidity more than 80%.
They only know google then copy and paste...they read and or listen this that then want to join without consideration of their own background qualifications and experience which if nurture properly which may become more lucrative and satisfaction.
Office based senior posts mostly those promoted from field...
I used to do that, fook I'd go through 5 litres of ice water per day just to keep me cool. And that was with aircon my company 4x4 to take me from well to well tongue.gif

I'm very lucky in the sense that I was offered a position straight out of Uni in a small contractor's firm and learned my way around the industry pretty quick. Also we doubled up in the sense that my old firm serviced the mining industry as well, so I'm pretty ok with longwall gas drainage and underground hazardous zones as well as traditional OnG.

It is a very specialized industry that requires specialized training, a special mindset and special person to do. For example how many EnE engineers come out from uni knowing ATEX, IECex and other hazardous areas standards that the industry uses all the time?

But I did my homework before I joined. That was my key to getting in. How many people are willing to do their homework here?
empire23
post Aug 28 2014, 11:14 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(hammer88 @ Aug 27 2014, 07:24 PM)
Hi All,

May i know what a Fire and Gas Department/ Engineer job scope?

I thought the alarm, detector, system are under instrument?

Thanks for the advice!
QUOTE(dragonsuy @ Aug 27 2014, 07:39 PM)
whats the prospects for HSE Engineer?
Answering both questions above, generally a safety engineer deals with both design and validation of technical safety features and builds the most optimal safety system into the design of existing systems.

The key phrase being "functional safety". Most safety engineers come from a process or EnE background with around 5 years of existing industrial experience. The whole idea is take safety and environmental variables into context when designing a system. It isn't classed as instrumentation because instrument engineers are concerned about measurement, rather than safety as a whole. Also you'll have strong knowledge in process automation and the understanding of safety standards (eg; SIL rating, safety relays, safety PLCs like Guardlogix)

Most safety engineers in heavy industry will be certified by the likes of TUV, SIRA or have a CFSE cert as well.
empire23
post Aug 29 2014, 07:38 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Aug 28 2014, 07:17 PM)
Did my internship with Linde back when I was a student and am now working in LNG plants. Would defo say they are very very similar in terms of operations if you're lucky enough to get into production department
You with Bechtel or Conoco? I know UGL are starting to take a front seat in LNG facilities due to APLNG wanting more choices in the long run aside from LORAC.

But yeah, get into production or ops if you want to go downstream. Most of these plans have an operational lifespan of 30 years, which means a stable job from start to plant EOL.

I'm now on the team building a few LNG compressor plants in the field, so I'm upstream rather than downstream.
empire23
post Aug 29 2014, 07:57 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Aug 29 2014, 07:50 AM)
Not with either of them, am with the main operator of the two gas plants in Karratha. Not really a big company like Petronas however.
Woodside. A name rarely heard here in the East laugh.gif

How's the downstream business? I wanted to get with Conoco (we call them CoconutPhilips here on site) and see the world, but it seems they're not interested in hiring right now sad.gif
empire23
post Aug 31 2014, 04:12 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(stupidbo @ Aug 30 2014, 08:44 PM)
lets have some interesting topic for this thread...

i am wondering:

when we talk about safety shoe,which brand carries the weight and have the highest glamour in oil and gas industry??? brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

whistling.gif
We get supplied Blundstones and sometimes Redbacks.

But I personally prefer to wear Mongrel branded boots. Have worn the same pair for nearly 4 years now.
empire23
post Sep 8 2014, 03:54 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(budak minyak @ Sep 8 2014, 03:29 PM)
Project engineer in o&g possible to earn big bucks e.g rm15k with 5 years working experience?

Between operation engineer and project engineer, which one has better prospect and better salary?
That kind of money is entirely possible depending on the scale and complexity of the project.

Project engineer = Good salary but once you hit post handover and you don't get an offer to move to operations or a new project. You join the unemployment line. Also your roster is infinitely more shitty and stress levels are higher.

Operations = Stable job, decent pay + benefits and better rotation. But your pay packet will suffer lah and you won't be exposed to the more challenging aspects of implementation.

empire23
post Sep 8 2014, 04:22 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(budak minyak @ Sep 8 2014, 04:11 PM)
Thanks for the reply bro. Coz currently I'm working as operation engineer for one of local contractor and earn quite good money for a fresh engineer. But i jz sent my resign letter to join operator as graduate project engineer. Hoping this is a wise move for me. I always dreamed to earn 5 figures income (base salary) before 30 years old, and i work very hard for it.
Well it would depend on any future projects by the operator and whether there is a steady stream coming in. Also depends on the kind of contract you're being handed.

But above all it depends on their policy when it comes to hiring and retention. I work as a project eng and I know that once our APLNG project is complete in 2016, all future projects will be far smaller and I'll have to compete for limited operations positions with engineers who have like 10 years worth of experience working for WorleyParsons, Hatch, UGL, Clough and Thiess (all dedicated engineering firms). Money is good now, 5 figures in AUD a month, but I worry all the time about my job.
empire23
post Sep 8 2014, 04:51 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(budak minyak @ Sep 8 2014, 04:33 PM)
Wow, u got paid in AUD? U work here in Malaysia or Australia? And how many years of experience u obtain before u reach the 5 figures salary? Wow u really motivate me. Currently  u working with operator or contractor? It would be safer to be project engineer for operator compare to contractor right?
I work in Australia. I got my current pay after 3.5 years in industry. Working with the operator. I hope to move to Malaysia and get paid the same, but that's just a dream.

Actually it is less safe, a contractor usually just moves to the next project which may be with any other operator, depending on the economic climate. If you're a project engineer with an operator, we usually assume we're given 2 weeks pay and told to fark off once the project is finished.

That's why most project engineers have projects lined up with different firms. Finish one, quit and in 2 weeks start on another. But mind you this only applies to people with a decade or more of experience.
empire23
post Sep 22 2014, 10:25 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ctphua @ Sep 21 2014, 11:41 PM)
anyone from Electronic/electrical engineer background work in OnG?
Yeah. There are shitloads of us as well. How else would you run the wells and pumps lol?
empire23
post Dec 6 2014, 04:14 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(TehKopi @ Dec 5 2014, 07:48 PM)

I need some opinions frm the expert here.
I've been working in oil and gas as proposal engineer for almost 3 years now and
I'm going to further study in UK by September nextyear. I already recieved offer frm:
1. University of Leeds - MSc Engineering Management
2. University of Heriot-Watt - MSc Oil and Gas Technology

I'm confused between these two courses. Because I'm planning to work there for a few years before coming back to Malaysia. I don't know which course would give me a better job prospect in o&g field (consider if I work in UK for  few years and coming back to Malaysia)

I need the feedback soonest possible as the dateline for acceptance of the offer would be by the end of this month.

Please help me.  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

Thank you.
Herriot-Watts, their MSc degree is well regarded in Industry and is only a step down from the super-elites like CSM.
empire23
post Dec 12 2014, 04:32 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Dec 11 2014, 10:50 PM)
SBM to Shed 1,200 Positions in Restructuring Moveby  Jon Mainwaring|Rigzone Staff|Thursday, December 11, 2014 

Dutch oilfield services firm SBM Offshore announced Thursday that it will cut 1,200 positions out of the 10,500 people it employs worldwide by the end of 2015 as it seeks to reduce costs in a tough market environment.

The news comes less than a month after the firm settled a bribery case with Dutch prosecutors for $240 million following a two-year inquiry into improper payments to government officials in Angola, Brazil and Equatorial Guinea by sales agents between 2007 and 2011.

SBM said it would cut 600 contractor staff and a similar number of permanent employees in order to optimize its cost base. The cuts will vary by country, depending on local legal requirements, it added.

The firm believes that the restructuring of its business will generate annualized savings of approximately $40 million, with total redundancy costs amounting to $25 million – of which $17 million will be recorded in 2014.

SBM CEO Bruno Chabas commented in a company statement:

"Although we regret losing some of our colleagues, we believe these steps are necessary to deliver value to our stakeholders and drive profitable growth over time."

SBM also announced a plan to relocate its corporate headquarters from Schiedeam, Netherlands, to Amsterdam during the third quarter of 2015.

The firm provides floating production solutions to the offshore energy industry, with its main activities being the design, supply, installation, operation and life extension of FPSO (floating production, storage and offloading) vessels.
A 40 million dollar savings from the redundancy of 1200 employees (even with 25 mil redundancy package) generally equates to 55k annually per person, must be all the admin staff lol.

QUOTE(acgerlok7 @ Dec 12 2014, 12:20 AM)
What is CSM bro empire?
Colorado School of Mines

0.0472sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:04 PM