Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream
ZZMsia
Sep 23 2014, 04:10 AM
QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Sep 22 2014, 11:28 AM) AFAIK most local o&g consultancy firms have a base salary for graduate engineers regardless of which dept you're gonna be in although the figure varies among companies. I've heard some cases that you'll earn 100-200 more if you got master degree but not often, only a few. Some co. offer a slight salary bump after probation period ends. However, the bolded part is kinda funny though. If you're on permanent basis, you should enjoy the employee benefits as others as well. True, all permanent staff enjoy some form of same benefits. The only main difference is senior staff maybe entitled for more. Consultancy usually 3k basic in my experience
ZZMsia
Oct 9 2014, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(Brinkman @ Oct 1 2014, 02:05 AM) Hi all, I was called by Baker Hughes Singapore for the interview of electromechanical technician position (non-field job). I am a fresh grad with a degree in mechanical engineering. My first choice is actually to become a field engineer. Since it is hard to get into O&G industry, I am thinking perhaps I can start with this position and learn the basics of the industry. But I have some doubts, hoping to find an answer here. 1. May I know what is the career path for this position? Does it has a good prospect? 2. If I perform well, do I get to be promoted as engineer? Or I would stuck as technician for my entire career in the company? Thank you and really appreciate if all of you can clear my doubts. Try and go for an engineering position.. Say u got 3 yrs as technician..10yrs as engineer, in future u consider yourself as 13years experience..However, other companies wont!
ZZMsia
Oct 21 2014, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(yunodie @ Oct 20 2014, 12:57 PM) you can always quit and give up that big paycheque for a job in malaysia. What is stopping you? Fully agreed.. got 20 days leave already can see family what..
ZZMsia
Nov 5 2014, 06:35 AM
QUOTE(Thibs @ Nov 3 2014, 08:40 AM) Hi, guys! I just got an offer from Technip for my intern. I was told I will be working in the Mechanical Engineering Sector. Has anyone been with Technip? I'd like to know how they deal with interns. My intern duration is going to be 8 months long,fyi. Is it only office job, or will I be able to visit sites? What does a mechanical engineer do? Any additional info regarding will help. Please and thank you. depends on your boss and whether you are doing design or with MHB Technip
ZZMsia
Dec 1 2014, 02:35 AM
QUOTE(InF.anime @ Nov 30 2014, 02:18 PM) Project planning, but do you have an engr degree? Can join all sides as a planner/planning engineer. Many ways to package the job title.. Mostly you need an engineering degree but not necessary to be registered with BEM.. Thats from my experience Supply chain also good...can join procurement or contracts- all companies have this positions within the oil and gas spectrum....
ZZMsia
Dec 1 2014, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(InF.anime @ Nov 30 2014, 03:20 PM) Thanks bro I don't have engineering background.. I think most project planning jobs required engineering background and it's quite important I think. Now in downstream supply chain.. thinking to go further r Upstream supply chain after finish the master.. I highly suggest you to stick to downstream.. A lot of companies only consider upstream experience/downstream experience as opposed to considering it as one.. For exp: 3 yrs downstream 4 yrs upstream Most companies from upstream will pay u 4 yrs salary not 7..
ZZMsia
Dec 2 2014, 07:12 AM
QUOTE(rawrkun @ Dec 1 2014, 10:04 AM) What about Master of Geoscience, is it a good field to venture into? Appreciate if the sifus here can share their experience and thought  Yes, always in demand, ask a subsurface guy...
ZZMsia
Dec 2 2014, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 1 2014, 11:37 PM) Are you sure just THHE? There will be more related to O&G in the pipeline. Unfortunate? Not really, as O&G companies in the world are giving the most benefits. Economy are good, they can recruit and create all those useless departments. Economy bad, close the department down Sometimes to really survive in O&G companies, just paper alone won't give 100% job security. You need to have real technical skills to support. But not to worry much, if you have work experience and paper, can always try in Middle East countries. Saudi pay are lower, but cost of living are lower at the same time. Qatar not bad, but cost of living slightly higher. Best of all, tax free. If not mistaken, Saudi especially their client company Aramco pays the best salaries in the middle east.. THHE would be retrenching as most of their work is labour intensive thus with lack of projects can't sustain operations.. not due to some "useless" departments..
ZZMsia
Dec 7 2014, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(undertaker123 @ Dec 6 2014, 07:50 AM) I'm a little worried just now... I heard that SBM,Technip,Slb and THHE has retrenched their staff for a very short notice due to Oil n Gas crisis as we all know..Currently,i'm in consultant and now getting scared...  SLB confirmed?? Have seen the circulars for the other 3 companies..
ZZMsia
Dec 8 2014, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(buncho89 @ Dec 7 2014, 09:43 AM) slb also laying off? Damn... Friend who works there said business as usual....... In fact went offshore last week..
ZZMsia
Jan 18 2015, 12:29 AM
QUOTE(Charyl07 @ Jan 14 2015, 11:49 PM) Anyone has experiences with Gas Malaysia Berhad's interview here?? I'm seeking for tips and advices. Does Gas Malaysia come under O/G or just distribution?
ZZMsia
Jan 29 2015, 07:51 AM
Was wondering how are the safety consultants situation in the current oil/gas downturn? Companies like BV, ERM, DNVGL,Synergy....
ZZMsia
Feb 2 2015, 01:43 AM
QUOTE(InF.anime @ Jan 31 2015, 06:47 PM) I think hydrogen fuel cell might replace fossil fuels engine in near future. That time demand further drop again? Dont think, have heard of this in the past 5 yrs.
ZZMsia
Feb 4 2015, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(E Crew @ Feb 3 2015, 11:50 PM) Thank you for the information, appreciate it much. I have accepted the offer  Good decision, once you understand how each equipment works you can work in mechanical commissioning or construction(PCC)
ZZMsia
Feb 4 2015, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(E Crew @ Feb 4 2015, 08:51 AM) Yeah just hope that can learn as much as possible. btw what is the PCC you mentioned ? gotta start learning dy..  Procurement construction commissioning