Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream

StArk
post Sep 4 2014, 04:22 PM

29 posts

Dear otai2 oil n gas yg bijaksana.. This is my situation i hope you can help me.
I am fresh graduate having a chemical engineering background. I love engineering work eg. Calculation and learning software such as hysis, flare net ect. However i accepted a job in hooked up and commissing company. In this company they only have project management team (PTM) only. Soo there are not much of engineering works ( i asked already). They bond me with 2 years contract and im now in procurement.. what should i do? please help me masters.. (much appreciated if you can suggest me suitable company or any vacant position for me to apply)
Sorry because of the long article..

StArk
post Sep 28 2014, 03:10 PM

29 posts

Any one of you sifus knows about company name INTEGRATED PROCESS SOLUTION SDN BHD at setiawangsa? please PM me cause i wanna know what they do and how to apply job there.. PLEASE IM BEGGING U~~ thank you.. hehehe
StArk
post Oct 7 2014, 10:29 AM

29 posts

Hi. Sifu sume i nk tanya..kat mana kite nk dpt swec code petronas no. Se201010000?
StArk
post Oct 10 2014, 08:48 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(mouthpoop @ Oct 10 2014, 06:19 PM)
It is quite obvious that downsizing/ laying off is happening in Malaysia but not on a large scale.

earlier last week, my friend from Mcdermott came to my company to sit for an interview.
Seems like most fabricator/ EPC companies arent getting enough job and start advising their employee to seek other opportunities elsewhere, same goes to Technip.

but the problem is, last year I can see more than 300 vacancies floating around the intranet but today, the number halved to only 150 positions across the world, and none in Malaysia.

The only safe company to be in right now would be the operator, they would be the last one affected by this unfortunate event.
sweat.gif
How long do you think this going to happen untill the o&g stable again?
StArk
post Oct 26 2014, 01:30 PM

29 posts

Hi everyone,

Im a fresh graduate (chemical eng), looking for process design company (consultant). Can anyone give me suggestion? I dont care big or small company as long as design company....
StArk
post Oct 28 2014, 03:16 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Caca MarBa @ Oct 27 2014, 05:16 PM)
I hope i can join this oil n gas industry someday. Have read this thread from V1 until V6. Very2 jealous of you guys.  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
i pray that someday you can join the oil and gas industry. me myself also struggling to join oil and gas industry. cry.gif cry.gif
StArk
post Oct 29 2014, 11:55 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(undertaker123 @ Oct 28 2014, 03:54 PM)
Eleh..ye la tu  whistling.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Xcaya ke? bahagian mana yg xcaya 2? bahagia depan ke blankang? hahaha
StArk
post Nov 5 2014, 03:57 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(MadKat @ Nov 5 2014, 03:33 PM)
PTS stands for? P-something Technical Spec?
Anyway, thanks for the PIG launcher receiver explanation. It does help a lot.
PTS stand for Petronas Technical Standard. correct me if im wrong. it is a standard u used when designing a process, skid and etc. for petronas.
StArk
post Nov 5 2014, 04:21 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(fatvader @ Nov 5 2014, 03:45 PM)
I understand ur feeling coz I also have friend with pointer less than 2.6 able to to enter mmhe graduate program without even go to first and second stage of iv straight to third/final stage although the requirement is >3.0. He admit using cable and ironically these kind of people always become ustaz in social network. vmad.gif
i heard soo many cases like this.. however that is their leverage cause they have connections.

if you were in their shoes would u not use this advantage?

btw i am just like u guys. i dont have any connections in O&G field. i literally have to struggle to find a job right now..
StArk
post Nov 6 2014, 02:28 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(undertaker123 @ Nov 6 2014, 09:18 AM)
You are right bro..I don't mind if the people/freshie using CABLE if they have a minimum requirement to join a reputable company/Program or got an ANC/First

class title Because they really DESERVE that...and yes, that is their leverage cause they have a connections basically.

What i dissatisfaction is that the freshie who got a very low CGPA , but then secure to get a job in a reputable company by using this cable..I wonder,

are those reputable company operate their employment rule according to the principle of MERIT?

Belaja engineering susah2..dapat Grade ok and the other one,belaja cincai2,CGPA Cincai2 but work in reputable company..

This is so unfair..I know this is memang Rezeki dia..Tapi dia dah tutup rezeki orang lain yang sememangnya lagi LAYAK dari dia.
With this fact i have to agree with you... thumbup.gif
StArk
post Nov 26 2014, 02:25 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(RDS88 @ Nov 26 2014, 11:20 AM)
Hi guys. Im a Marine Coordinator for O&G Contractor Company. This is my first job (almost a year) as I graduated as E&I Engineering from local Uni. I feel that this job didnt have any career prospect/development. Before taking the job, I thought that this job is more technical-job, but ends up, charter vessels and dealing with clients/vendors.

What do you think? Pls advise
im facing the same problem.. my current job is into project management which is not into technical. yet with my ignorance i signed a 2 years work contract that if i violate i have to pay rm 20k. but it doesnt stop me from keep searching for job that i love. soo that is my advice.

hold on to your dream bro
StArk
post Nov 27 2014, 10:44 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(undertaker123 @ Nov 26 2014, 02:51 PM)
Wow Bro..20K ..Thats a lot man!
they'll ask you to pay lump sum.. however i think you can declare to court that u do not have money they thay'll let u go with much smaller amount.

for me i just go with it and see how it goes... if things get out of hand i just chiow from the company without notice can ah??

StArk
post Jan 16 2015, 11:34 AM

29 posts

To all the sifus out there.. can anyone please recommend a literature for line sizing calculation for gas flow/liqud flow and mix flow (including pressure drop calculation)?
StArk
post Jan 19 2015, 11:23 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(BillySteel @ Jan 17 2015, 07:20 AM)
For piping?
QUOTE(nash9701 @ Jan 18 2015, 11:40 AM)
This one I need to refer design practice (for process), usually just ask my PE to calculate, but for fire fighting system last time, i calculate myself (base on NFPA + design practice). For water can use hydraulic calculation

(^__^)
QUOTE(kaizoku30 @ Jan 18 2015, 02:46 PM)
Thank you for the help.

However i am a fresh grad my boss want me to do presentation on line sizing to test me lah.. that why im looking for literature to clearly understand b4 doing presentation..

0.0445sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:25 PM