Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream

Seager
post Jun 23 2014, 01:02 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

Hi guys, noob here.
Graduated end of last year, been working since February this year.

Now starting to regret my career choice sad.gif
Should have heeded the advice of some of the senior members here.

Anyway bro mohdyakup the link on the first post no longer stores the pdf.
Seager
post Jun 23 2014, 01:27 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Jun 23 2014, 01:13 PM)
Y regret? Share ur story brah laugh.gif
Stupid choice I made la
I had 2 offers from big consultation companies but I turned them down for my current job because this seemed exciting and I can learn a lot since it's a direct business.

Tapi cam haprak la bro.
4 months working I've not exactly learnt anything. The only technical stuff I do is support marketing which an intern could also do. Sometimes I wondered why they hired me laugh.gif
Pay and benefits here really good, but.... I don't see myself learning or proceeding further, I have nothing interesting to fill my CV with based on my time here so far doh.gif

Seager
post Jun 23 2014, 01:45 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Jun 23 2014, 01:38 PM)
i knw that feel bro...gaji high but no learning value cry.gif cry.gif

mine is gaji low and no learning value, so have to do self learning almost everyday in office because management give other engineer from other branch work also no give me, maybe because im a noob cry.gif
Mine I dunno what to learn also
The work they give me mainly to help support marketing team, which is really not exactly that technical
Anyone can do it, even an engineering intern doh.gif

Initially i thought I'd give this 1 year la, but now almost 5 months pun rasa cam no point already sad.gif
Seager
post Jun 23 2014, 01:52 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(jkkt87 @ Jun 23 2014, 01:50 PM)
i been 2 years also same situation. Waste my engineering degree.
That's why I want out, started looking for jobs.
I don't wanna wait too long, later too old pulak doh.gif

Gaji kena potong pun okay la, as long as I get to learn and be involved technically.
Seager
post Jun 23 2014, 02:02 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(jkkt87 @ Jun 23 2014, 01:57 PM)
be prepared for the worst situation...oil and gas 5 years experience just valuable...now jump out also dunno siapa mau.....i been searching long time also no ppl want......stay is die not stay also die.....makan gaji only
Susahhhh
Rasa2 cam nak jadi intern balik pun boleh jugak

Seager
post Jun 23 2014, 02:20 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Jun 23 2014, 02:19 PM)
wut ur company sell? chem eng or mech eng company?
Mainly mechanical
Dealing with the by-product of fossil fuel distillation whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Seager: Jun 23 2014, 02:21 PM
Seager
post Jun 23 2014, 03:10 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Jun 23 2014, 02:33 PM)
so there's a plant? and your position is process engineer? rclxms.gif
Haha yes there is. But our operations only include filling the product into containers to be sold smile.gif
So yes, a filling plant smile.gif

Seager
post Jun 25 2014, 08:50 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

Hi guys. Any tips to do well in Shell's competency based questionnaire? I took it last year but failed sad.gif

Now I've got a chance to take it again.

This post has been edited by Seager: Jun 25 2014, 02:51 PM

0.0185sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:39 PM