SUSsupersound
post Jan 10 2015, 10:15 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ProdigyD @ Jan 10 2015, 10:46 AM)
Hi, Morning all OnG sifus,

I need some recommendations,
Currently I am working as Design Engineer (consumer product) for 1.5 years, started low but the company gave huge increment, I earning roughly
4k monthly starting this year.

I am always interested oil and gas industry, but been trying hard, sent out resumes getting zero interview invites, I am graduated from overseas last two years with Mechanical Engineering background with okay grade.

I would like to ask shall I still keep trying and what should I put for expected salary.

Yet, I not quite sure what should I really want to do, I kinda of getting bored for my current job.

I still young, I really want to explore the all possible challenges.

Please give some useful advice. Thanks.
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...gins/?style=biz
Think again. Suggest stay at your current place.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 13 2015, 07:42 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Binyamin @ Jan 13 2015, 07:51 AM)
There is no way to overcome the low oil price. All you can do is to cut cost.

At that time Shell was about to lay off staff, luckily for the staff oil price rebound quickly

http://www.thestar.com.my/story/?file=%2F2...F20091128153433

Company can only keep staff if they are profitable. Company that are unprofitable will usually lay off staff.

That time was down to $30 a barrel. Looks like we will be heading to that price again. If we are lucky it will be a big and fast rebound from there. If not? Better think of having a second income fast.

Question to the seniors. Anyone here have live through a prolong deflated oil price and lack luster hiring in the oil and gas? Please share your experience. I was too young to care about the 1997 asian crisis when it happened.
Let's see, when the oil price are high, only certain group of people gains.
And now when oil price are low, it should be better for people.
If I were to choose between 1 person happy and 9 people cry due to high oil price, I prefer to have all the 10 people crying together with low oil price.
Is time for market to adjust back to last time. Oil price already way to high for the past 20 years.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 16 2015, 07:58 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ Jan 16 2015, 06:02 PM)
8% out of 100% is nothing.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 19 2015, 01:31 PM

11,554 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...ctor/?style=biz
SUSsupersound
post Jan 19 2015, 09:09 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(syazone90 @ Jan 19 2015, 05:48 PM)
I prefer not to as their current project is in Kerteh, with an under-average salary and living in Kerteh, I don't think I can survive there. Besides, I'm looking for a more work-life balance company as I'm really into photography. With O&G constructions hectic working hours ;6 days weekly, 13 hours daily.. It would be nice if I could avoid that. Although I'm thinking of applying there as my last option.
I'm working in such schedule, no problem with it.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 19 2015, 09:10 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Jan 19 2015, 09:02 PM)
Recent trips to Qatar and China.

Ras Laffan Industrial City - Qatar
RLIC

Central Equipment Platform - China
No photos for RLIC?
SUSsupersound
post Jan 19 2015, 09:28 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(syazone90 @ Jan 19 2015, 09:16 PM)
I did too, sometimes more than that. It's just if possible I would prefer to find a more work-life balance. I'm sure u are handsomely paid as well, the offered I got was RM2500 only Friday as day-off and have to live in Kerteh. Even manufacturing industry is more kind than that. Just my opinion  smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif
I'm working in Qatar. O&G companies better look for ME side, better pay.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 19 2015, 10:06 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(syazone90 @ Jan 19 2015, 09:38 PM)
I was called by AAF International LLC Dubai for Project Engineer post. They wanted to arrange an interview which was months ago. Till now nothing..hahaha..I guess I dont get the job. Was informed that ME preferred those with minimum of 5 years experience.  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif
Yup, experience matters for ME, they don't bother much on what paper you have.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 29 2015, 04:32 PM

11,554 posts

Expecting 1 big shocking news in June for O&G in Malaysia. Stay tuned.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 29 2015, 05:34 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jan 29 2015, 05:19 PM)
Which year?

Wish I had your crystal ball.  brows.gif
Will be this year. Earliest june, latest by September.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 29 2015, 07:38 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jan 29 2015, 07:36 PM)
relating to what ahh???? job cut??new contract?? closure??merger??opening??drilling? production?? downtream?? upstream??

basically apa itu surprise???  hmm.gif
Nope, cannot disclose laugh.gif

SUSsupersound
post Jan 29 2015, 09:47 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jan 29 2015, 09:38 PM)
you sounded like KeTum; Sept 16!  tongue.gif
We just wait and see. I also hope this won't happen.

SUSsupersound
post Jan 30 2015, 09:36 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(skypeace @ Jan 30 2015, 09:32 AM)
So it's good or bad news to O&G workers?
Don't know whistling.gif
You can't fish me on this icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSsupersound
post Jan 30 2015, 04:25 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(viole @ Jan 30 2015, 04:23 PM)
S**l* ?
Nope whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Jan 30 2015, 04:58 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(mariewsy @ Jan 30 2015, 04:48 PM)
next OPEC meeting la tu
Nothing to do with OPEC on this.
As now is US and Saudi are fighting, have to see who die first. If Saudi die first, oil price will shoot rocket high shakehead.gif
SUSsupersound
post Jan 30 2015, 07:16 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jan 30 2015, 07:09 PM)
double edge sword that, one side i will be like yoshaaa!!!!im gonna drill and drill!!, other side will be im using a bicycle and will bury any combustion engine i have lol hahahah rclxms.gif

dilemma's of us ong workers. brows.gif
US wins and oil price go rocket high, recession will come faster doh.gif
Oil price rise and other business can't catch up will be problem. US's debt are way too high than we can imagine, they are trying to cover the holes now. That's why they are trying to flood the market with their oil. 1st step is to dominate the market then rise the price.
But Saudi already see this, that's why they are playing poker with US. The stakes are high on this game. Both are chasing for the Ace.
If Saudi wins, oil price goes back to 70-80 will be the best.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 31 2015, 02:21 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jan 30 2015, 10:09 PM)
i think 7-080 usd is quite sustainable and reasonable for companies to go on E&P campaigns
It will be healthier in this range of price.
Current BP already taken some actions by freezing increment and bonus doh.gif

This post has been edited by supersound: Jan 31 2015, 02:22 AM
SUSsupersound
post Jan 31 2015, 04:33 PM

11,554 posts

With all the mega refineries being built in Middle East, China got another 3 in the pipeline, smaller scale refineries won't able to compete.
SUSsupersound
post Feb 1 2015, 01:51 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Feb 1 2015, 06:47 AM)
I think hydrogen fuel cell might replace fossil fuels engine in near future. That time demand further drop again?
For test run scale it can work. But to make it as a standard still more effort required. Until car manufacturers willing to change the engine design totally.
SUSsupersound
post Feb 1 2015, 08:33 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(em0kia @ Feb 1 2015, 07:39 PM)
Hello OnG peeps! biggrin.gif
I have read some your post. I know some technical stuff but i am completely zero in politics sad.gif
May i know why will oil price rise if Saudi lose? I thought killing US is the reason why Saudi set the oil price so low?
US has no money already after they extended QE for few times. QE won't solve economic issues, rather than make it worst.
That's why US try to flood the market with shale oil.
To make it simple, now is fight between US and Saudi. Both are having 4 customers(just example) with each taking 100 barrel.
As the price of crude oil are based on supply and demand, with current situation, the price sure will come down if both of them refuse to drop the production. But either US or Saudi dropping the production, like US dropping 100 barrel, meaning they will lose 1 customer. So this customer will buy from Saudi with the same price. When the demand rises due to market demand, Saudi will gain extra profit as they have 5 customers while US only has 3.
This is what Saudi sees already and the main reason production still maintain despite of weak demand.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0398sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:36 PM