Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream

nash9701
post Jan 6 2015, 09:28 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,356 posts

QUOTE(Binyamin @ Jan 6 2015, 11:28 AM)
[attachmentid=4288924]

So looking at the above screen shot. Earning pershare for Shell have been negative since 2011. Hence can we conclude Shell Malaysia group has not been making money since 2011?? As you can see 2014 was the most negative year for their EPS since the 2008 crisis.

I am curious to know:

a) Why even with favorable oil price last few years Shell Malaysia been losing money?
b) Why wait until now to shed jobs? Shouldn't they restructure much earlier to be more resilient at lower oil price?
c) What is the rational of keeping up money spending activities offshore in the face of negative earnings the last few years? (I know their activities offshore)
Bin
As they are global player, they can do something about the cost, same goes to Exxonmobil last time. There been rumours since last year about Shell, but me still wait n see. keep hearing from my friend inside and contractors

nash9701
post Jan 7 2015, 09:55 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jan 7 2015, 09:15 PM)
Typically SSB & SSPC and other PSC's operator in Malaysia will sell their crude oil via PETCO, according to the PSC agreement.

Shell PD refinery processing heavy crude if not mistaken.

All Malaysian crude are sweet type & exported to overseas (at premium price), we never consume our own crude, except PP(T)SB refinery which process Tapis crude.
PPT & Petron/Esso use Tapis. Tapis (light sweet) much more expensive compare to Brent and WTI. Tapis still sold outside to maintain the price. There is COSA for Tapis. Shell & PPM use heavy crude as they have facilities for that. Another things, we do consume our own crude

(^__^)
nash9701
post Jan 7 2015, 10:32 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jan 7 2015, 10:03 PM)
Yup we do consume our own crude via PPTAB refinery but very minimal, distribution only covering East Coast area.
That because the PPT capacity is small. Petron/Esso also consume our own crude as both plant not design to run heavy crude. Our refinery production in Malaysia is not enough to cater Malaysian usage, that's why we still import. But Pengerang project suppose to turn this.

Note : Supposedly PPM and Shell also consume our own crude as they can process it. All these crude can be mixed up as long as production get the product they want. Depend on cost, profit margin etc.

(^__^)

nash9701
post Jan 11 2015, 02:31 PM

1,356 posts

huhuhu
nash9701
post Jan 13 2015, 01:17 PM

1,356 posts

http://money.cnn.com/2015/01/12/investing/...s-saudi-prince/

hmmmm

This post has been edited by nash9701: Jan 13 2015, 01:18 PM
nash9701
post Jan 13 2015, 09:00 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(viole @ Jan 13 2015, 01:50 PM)
Does anyone know if Rosen involves in other business/services aside from pipeline inspection?

Is this company good?
For downstream, they have department performing inspection such as MFL floor scanning and intelligent pigging. Me engage them for certain inspection work

(^__^)
nash9701
post Jan 13 2015, 09:03 PM

1,356 posts

For reading...

http://www.marcon.com/print_index.cfm?Sect...=93&PageID=2322

(^__^)
nash9701
post Jan 18 2015, 11:40 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(StArk @ Jan 16 2015, 11:34 AM)
To all the sifus out there.. can anyone please recommend a literature for line sizing calculation for gas flow/liqud flow and mix flow (including pressure drop calculation)?
This one I need to refer design practice (for process), usually just ask my PE to calculate, but for fire fighting system last time, i calculate myself (base on NFPA + design practice). For water can use hydraulic calculation

(^__^)
nash9701
post Feb 2 2015, 10:53 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(budak minyak @ Feb 2 2015, 02:54 AM)
Hi guys.

I would like to seek for advise. Currently Im working as mechanical eng. with one of the top oil operator company in malaysia. I got a degree in mechanical eng.

I plan to further my study (part-time) in master petroleum engineering. But still confuse whether it will benefits me or not since I already in this 0il&gas industry and already in a good company. Would it be a wise choice for me to go with all the troubles to continue my study part-time? I mean it would be a challenge right to work during weekdays, class during weekend. But if its really beneficial for my career path, in term of career promotion by having a master's degree, I think I would take up the challenge. Can somebody confirm and advise?

Oh, btw I'm 26y and jz got married. And I'm in the process of making the Ir. title as well. So it would be a great by 28y old to have Ir. and master's degree.

Kindly advise and share your thoughts.

Thank you.
did they sponsor for further study?anyway, if you can manage your time well, why not, few my working colleagues do part time (i have wish for that, but still not manage to have time to do it). some my colleague take 1 year unpaid leave and further master in UK last year. plus, your master & Ir can assist u to climb up management position

(^__^)
nash9701
post Feb 7 2015, 08:57 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Feb 7 2015, 01:48 PM)
Kerja liao today... OT... Sobs...
u with Fluor now eh, often saw Fluor contractor around here, but not Gebeng

(^__^)
nash9701
post Feb 8 2015, 12:04 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Feb 7 2015, 10:11 PM)
Which project? RAPID Pengerang? MARLIN?

Ayam with Lemongrass liao
in-house sub con for Shell, alot of contractor, Fluor is one of them.

(^__^)
nash9701
post Feb 8 2015, 11:30 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Feb 8 2015, 02:59 PM)
I see. Ahaa Warga Hikmat I heard that before. Havent deal with PEC before but coming soon I guess hope they wont give much headache to me...
If you dealing with downstream, you will know there are big umbrella main contractor inside each plant (Petronas, Shell, Esso a.k.a Petron etc.) Btw, Warga Hikmat no more already after got problem with overseas project. They are one of pioneer contractor in downstream business

(^__^)
nash9701
post Feb 8 2015, 11:43 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Feb 8 2015, 05:57 AM)
Really, I generally thought that companies only emphasize on years of working experience we have, and our ability in handling various projects, before promoting us to higher position. For Ir. title, it may be important, as having several professional engineers may enhance the CV of personnel submitted for the award of a project. Plus, the AFC drawing may need Ir. stamp to be valid.

Master degree? I do not think that companies would value on-paper knowledge, citing that these theoretical knowledge is too idealistic to be applied in real life offshore challenges.  Thus, for companies, the Master degrees is not important, unless the research topic for Master degree is really relevant to company's area of interest.

Oil and gas experts, feel free to correct me, if I am wrong.  smile.gif I am more than willing to learn from you all, and this has been a useful forum thread for all.
well i did not say it is totally right, but it do assist. sometimes it has conflict within top level management which I saw couple of times. Hence, if you have both, it is better. Some companies do not care much on this, but some company does. If you talk about CEO, COO position, then it will be also take into consideration. But it must always come together with experience, as qualification alone will not make it.

Note : As I say, it do assist but depending on the situation. Thus, it not a compulsory to have master degree, but if you got chance and time to do it, why not

(^__^)

0.0455sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:19 PM