Sony XPERIA™ Z Ultra | Official Thread V8, Android 4.4 KitKat Now Available!

afif95
post Jun 20 2014, 07:27 PM

180 posts

Alas after a few months of usage, my ultra is now broken. Water got into my phone. Turns out the rubber on the charge flap came off while it was in water. So ultra users, take care of that.

Btw, does anyone know where I can repair this phone for cheap in subang area? Sony is out of the question, becausenAP set. (Regret my decision now)

This post has been edited by afif95: Jun 20 2014, 07:36 PM
afif95
post Jun 20 2014, 09:02 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Aventador700lp @ Jun 20 2014, 08:56 PM)
try dry it out for a few days,and turn on see if it works,last time water also get into my zu due to broken usb flap,after a few days for drying it is working again until now blush.gif
Thanks for the response Aventador700lp!

I've put the poor thing in rice overnight, and then left it to charge for a few hours (thinking that some electric fairy might come and revive my phone). Would drying still work?

The phone was wet to the point where the front and back cameras got water inside. Was yours the same?

Add: If my phone works without repair, I'm interested in your Incipio case hehe biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by afif95: Jun 20 2014, 09:06 PM
afif95
post Jun 24 2014, 07:19 PM

180 posts

Sent my phone to a shop in summit usj to get it checked. Hopefully the damage isn't too bad. Now charge also tak masuk.

Pray for me my ultra warriors tongue.gif
afif95
post Jun 24 2014, 07:21 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(stevenX @ Jun 24 2014, 04:39 PM)
http://www.androidsas.com/2014/06/xperia-z...-specs-out.html

Hmm sound like the new Xperia Z2 Ultra wont equip with new processor.

Now im catching Z2 ultra news , since i had miss to own a Z ultra.
The display should really be 1080p, since the first one is already 1080p what. Nice that they decided to upgrade the camera thumbup.gif
afif95
post Jun 24 2014, 10:11 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 24 2014, 07:53 PM)
Actually no point going beyond FHD or 1080p resolution. It consumes battery more for a 6.4 inch screen and on 1080p i hardly notice pixelation. I don't get the point why need to innovate such large resolution for a phone.
True, but I read an article somewhere that QHD is there because there's a growing demand for it.. Like how people would ways go for higher resolutions.
afif95
post Jun 26 2014, 11:47 AM

180 posts

The guy called me today and quoted 900, need to change the motherboard because damaged already

raymondtong94, is this an okay price?

ADD: Due to some personal factors, getting a new one is not an option for me. sad.gif

This post has been edited by afif95: Jun 26 2014, 12:16 PM
afif95
post Jun 27 2014, 07:43 PM

180 posts

Back in the game boys! biggrin.gif
afif95
post Jun 28 2014, 09:49 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 27 2014, 10:29 PM)
nice to hear that. everything in prestige condition? thumbup.gif
Very fine indeed! Enjoying my big screen now but sadly lost everything in the previous mom's storage sad.gif
afif95
post Jul 12 2014, 08:56 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(merchant9 @ Jul 10 2014, 11:19 PM)
I'm using note 2 but saw this beast in the Digi center. Love it. The size is suit for gaming and watching video.

What's the price now? Should I wait for Z2 ultra?

Thinking either to get this phablet or Samsung Galaxy tab S tablet phone at 8.x inch.
Long-term wise, camera aside, this phone can last quite a few long years as it's powered by top-end components. Snapdragon 800 , 2GB RAM, Quad-core Krait 400 at 2 Ghz, Adreno 330,the list goes on. This phone isn't the God of all phones (Though you can probably say that for the size haha), but it can last a really long time. I would imagine Z2 ultra to be at the same standard in terms of longetivity if not better.

And 8.0" phone? Brother, Z Ultra at 6.4" already feels too big already haha
afif95
post Jul 15 2014, 11:22 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jul 12 2014, 09:35 AM)
remember this photo?
this is the most awkward when you hold it to your ears.
What is that even... ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 12 2014, 11:07 AM)
The biggest smartphone I have used to date is mediapad X1. With its thin hazel is still manageable n I have zero problems pocketing it. I don't think any gadget bigger than it can be comfortability used as a phone. The X1 is only marginally bigger than the XZU

[attachmentid=4050838]
Just read about the phone today. Looks very impressive and nice price. Next version coming out soon?

This post has been edited by afif95: Jul 15 2014, 11:26 AM
afif95
post Jul 15 2014, 05:06 PM

180 posts

Well I was talking about the Mediapad. But I guess it's the same across the board?

If there's no successor, I guess my baby is staying with me for quite some while :3
afif95
post Jul 16 2014, 09:29 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jul 15 2014, 07:01 PM)
can wait for me? i will bring in a tempered glass protector from taobao next month, front and back. brand is Glass-M.
One more set pls?

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Jul 16 2014, 06:26 AM)
Not to mention the very fast 4.4.4 update.

Unfortunately people at XDA heard rumors that sony won't be making any new ultra.

Not sure why sony did that but at least here I heard from a SA that this is the best selling sony phone before the Z1 officially launch
That's kind of funny considering the ultra is impossible to find in public nowadays. I get mega excited when I see someone with one lolz
afif95
post Jul 19 2014, 08:30 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Jul 18 2014, 10:51 AM)
Been getting "Insufficient Storage Available " error message when updating apps.
4gb+ available on internal.
Cache cleaned, unused apps uninstalled, cant move apps to sd.
My last option is to root and remove /data/adlib files.

Any other steps/options?
Maybe back up apps then factory reset? (will the same problem resurface?)
Been on stock rom all this while np. No time to root honestly.
Try using Clean Master app to clear junk files. Honestly that's the only thing I can think of. Factory reset should work.

Edit: T2 got move app to SD function? I want that on my ultra! This 64gb microsd needs some good use hehe.

This post has been edited by afif95: Jul 19 2014, 08:31 AM
afif95
post Jul 21 2014, 08:39 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jul 19 2014, 10:23 AM)
sorry for double post.
cyloh
mR.hyDE
afif95
izzat95

for the tempered glass, will charge you guys for RM120, front and back. if interested, please drop me a PM. thanks. smile.gif

EDIT : please wait for my personal review about the glass 1st. i ordered mine and need to wait for test. flex.gif
Awaiting your review! biggrin.gif

Any reason why we won't be getting app to sd function?
afif95
post Jul 21 2014, 12:36 PM

180 posts

http://www.anandtech.com/show/8274/underst...ids-camera-hal3

If L comes to us, this might mean better photos. Personally, I'll start shooting RAW.
afif95
post Jul 22 2014, 07:34 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(clarkblitz @ Jul 21 2014, 08:29 PM)
Hi guys,
Wanted to ask,
How much can I sell my baby Z Ultra 3G version?
Bought in Oct 2013,
Tempted in G3 joh... especially the back buttons
Any takers here?
(sorry if I'm in the wrong place)
Depending on the condition, maybe 700-800.
afif95
post Jul 24 2014, 01:10 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jul 24 2014, 12:52 PM)
Any of you guys on 4.4.4 firmware, do you guys experiencing blank words? There are also some delays when typing.
I sometimes do. Like typing a bunch of letters but nothing comes out kan? The delay also sometimes I kena. Happens quite infrequently as I often reboot.
afif95
post Jul 25 2014, 06:52 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Jul 24 2014, 01:21 PM)
LTE unit or 3G unit? mine is LTE 6833
Ayam AP (Will buy ori in the future lol) , C6802. Don't find a use for LTE really cuz I'm in Melaka most of the time.

I suppose it's a bug with the software?
afif95
post Aug 2 2014, 12:20 PM

180 posts

Guys, kind of went out of date with rooting the ultra. What's the latest method on the newest software version? Much thanks. Such appreciate. biggrin.gif
afif95
post Aug 8 2014, 10:30 PM

180 posts

Would Sony Centre take my AP set in? I want to replace the rubber flap

0.0247sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:27 AM