5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom
Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Guide To Identified Fake & Ori Memory, All Brands & Pic Comparison

RiCHBoyZ
post Aug 1 2006, 12:43 PM, updated 6y ago

1,560 posts

As fake memory cards have now proliferated throughout the marketplace, it is important to be able to spot a fake. This page includes methods to spot fakes, and examples of fake cards.

Why should you care?

* Inferior quality card - you're not getting what you paid for
* No warranty - when the card fails, you're out of luck
* Fake cards sometimes have invalid partition sizes, making it likely to fail
* It will drive costs of genuine cards up

Spotting a fake
Unfortunately there is no software which will test the card, and ensure that it's genuine. You must manually scrutinise your card, (both visually and by testing it's performance), to get some idea of it's genuinity.

Presentation quality and differences:

Example of fake 1GB Sandisk SD Card

This particular card was also missing a notch, making it quite easy to spot:

Example of fake 2GB Sandisk CF Card

Note the faded red print on the back, and the "TM" next to "CF" at the top right side on the fake:

Note there is no serial on the bottom of the fake (serial blurred on the real one):

Note the fake box has no hologram:

Other example of Sandisk 2GB CF Card; Note the poor print and alignment of label:

Note the poor quality workmanship on edge, print quality and alignment of text:

The SanDisk card manual was different to the real thing as well (note that the manual on the right hand is from a Sandisk Ultra II, wheras the manual on the left is for a 'flash memory card'):

Courtesy : http://www.overclockers.com.au/wiki/Fake_Memory_Cards

This post has been edited by RiCHBoyZ: Aug 1 2006, 01:31 PM
RiCHBoyZ
post Aug 1 2006, 12:44 PM

1,560 posts

Fake Sony Pro Duo 2GB. Note that the fake card has poor quality printing and does not have the same various extrusions and intrusions as the genuine card. With the number of lips and dips on the genuine card it isn't difficult to spot the fake.

Klik Here For more Identified on Sony Pro Duo 2GB

More Sony Fake & Real Memory Stick

This post has been edited by RiCHBoyZ: Aug 1 2006, 12:57 PM
RiCHBoyZ
post Aug 1 2006, 12:48 PM

1,560 posts

others i will post later.... if you got same info please contribute! TQ
yangxi
post Aug 1 2006, 01:09 PM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

thanks .. useful information

*right pic = FAKE

*left pic = FAKE

This post has been edited by yangxi: Aug 1 2006, 01:11 PM
keewah
post Aug 1 2006, 01:18 PM

407 posts

remember to put the source - http://www.overclockers.com.au/wiki/Fake_Memory_Cards
RiCHBoyZ
post Aug 1 2006, 01:27 PM

1,560 posts

Fake Memory on Ebay!!

This post has been edited by RiCHBoyZ: Aug 1 2006, 01:43 PM
alextan99
post Aug 1 2006, 01:45 PM

Wassup
2,645 posts

Good info thanks a lot....
WhizzWork2005
post Aug 1 2006, 04:49 PM

1,433 posts

Thanks for sharing...
Good info....
herzihussin
post Aug 1 2006, 07:35 PM

289 posts

ok..good job..i oso donno..
name
post Aug 7 2006, 07:20 PM

1,014 posts

good job man biggrin.gif
nice work biggrin.gif
besh besh ..

szesiang86
post Aug 11 2006, 12:22 PM

52 posts

how about 512MB SanDisk? i suspect mine is fake cos got problems with it
zidane88
post Aug 11 2006, 12:31 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(szesiang86 @ Aug 11 2006, 12:22 PM)
how about 512MB SanDisk? i suspect mine is fake cos got problems with it
how bout sanddisk 1gb memory stick??
STERN
post Aug 13 2006, 04:19 PM

325 posts

ok,what's the different between buying fake or original if i bought MSPD 1GB for rm110,is it the size? or is it the warranty?
does the original take less memory size than the fake?
i bought one from lelong for rm110.
do tell me , coz i dont want to be cheated.
thank you
tailtwist
post Aug 20 2006, 08:54 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(STERN @ Aug 13 2006, 04:19 PM)
ok,what's the different between buying fake or original if i bought MSPD 1GB for rm110,is it the size? or is it the warranty?
does the original take less memory size than the fake?
i bought one from lelong for rm110.
do tell me , coz i dont want to be cheated.
thank you
have u read the links posted ealier??just a few posts above yours??
fake will a smaller memory size n WILL NOT last long.......according to the website
pabase
post Sep 21 2006, 10:59 PM

28 posts

Any1 got compare the M2 & MicroSD?
I jz worry my M2 & MicroSD is fake 1. Bcos all this has come to my original set hp.
nextimelah
post Sep 22 2006, 05:32 PM

22 posts

i bought a 1GB MS duo from lelong for RM116. It works great on my cybershot, but throws out access errors when used with an adapter on my clie pda. but good enoughlar can store up 900MB+ for so cheap. my reasoning is by the time this memory card goes kaput even if it's a few months time, i still cover my costs. eg.

today: ori 1GB = RM200, fake 1GB = RM100
by the time the fake one spoils: ori 2GB = RM100...

hahahaha...
silverchain
post Nov 6 2006, 01:26 PM

503 posts

Hello, i wanna ask something..i just bought a Sony Highspeed MS Pro Duo 2 GB from a friend. And he said the product was original...but after do alittle of a research i found out that Real MS Highspeed 2GB when read on PSP should be 1910 MB...but mine when read on PSP is 1939 MB..is it fake???? Tell me if you guys need to see the picture of the MS to tell whether it is real or fake..I hope you guys can help me icon_question.gif
shadowmaster
post Dec 2 2006, 09:17 PM

107 posts

look like 2 of ur pro duo pic are fake.

see this one. from SONY website.

http://www.ecat.sony.co.jp/mediabattery/memorystick/image_pop.cfm?PD=23217&KM=MSX-M256NU/M512NU/M1GNU/M2GNU&PCT=21325

i bought 1 from my friend, only RM100+, same with the pic. lucky biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by shadowmaster: Dec 2 2006, 09:21 PM
hwlim5441
post Dec 12 2006, 02:11 PM

83 posts

how abt 512 mb one?
magic gate?
m4dc4t
post Dec 14 2006, 08:59 AM

Just wondering how to avoid this fake memory.there are thousand memory out there and we know only few.any idea?smile.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0202sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:09 AM