5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Bursa Traders V5

twhong_91
post Aug 4 2014, 09:47 AM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Aug 3 2014, 10:36 AM)
That's right. It will be recorded as a line item- investment in associate. However, balance sheet will not yet taken in. If it is their subsidiary, both P&L and balance sheet will be combined and consolidated.
great info. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

anyhow, today market green but forum so silent. whistling.gif
twhong_91
post Aug 4 2014, 10:01 AM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 4 2014, 09:58 AM)
When profit...no need make noise whistling.gif
haha pink u must be laughing all the way to the bank today. rclxms.gif tongue.gif

any tipsy for small kacang like me? rolleyes.gif
twhong_91
post Aug 4 2014, 10:08 AM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 4 2014, 10:05 AM)
I'm Dividend Warrior edisi Bolehland...where will go laughing to bank...u ingat I'm Ah Boon meh tongue.gif

Got a few counters go ex-divvy this week though rclxms.gif
so nice. rclxm9.gif huat huat.

received dividend also good, money in the pocket ad. brows.gif
twhong_91
post Aug 4 2014, 08:49 PM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Aug 4 2014, 08:20 PM)
missing together with MH370?
possible hmm.gif
twhong_91
post Aug 9 2014, 09:46 PM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Aug 9 2014, 08:18 PM)
Waaaa..... panjang time no see.

How are you?  smile.gif

Trading slumps happens and would likely happen in the future again.

Sometimes it's not the trader's skill is at fault, it's just that the market conditions is not conclusive to your prefered trading setup.

And no, it is not that your trading is not your type of tea.
It's just the damn market.

tongue.gif

It happens and the better traders know when to just lay off.... like taking time to go sailing tongue.gif

if you would recall recently I have been saying a couple of times already it's the goreng season.
And yes, most would have noted the better fundamental stocks, there are more than fairly valued (note this)....
and plays since the start of that bola cup had been centered on goreng.

The plays have more the less shifted. tongue.gif
It's not quite the same (if you know what I mean. smile.gif )

What had worked like a charm early in the year and last year did not seem to work as smoothly...

So if you realise the market setup is not suitable for your trading setup and you do not have a back-up trading setup, just relax and take a break.

You really do not have to trade all the time.

Remember, in stock trading, think of yourself as the hunter....

Know when to hunt..
and when not to hunt....

else you would end up as a dead itik.... tongue.gif
boon come back with a long comment rclxms.gif

i tot that u had gone missing already. sweat.gif
twhong_91
post Aug 14 2014, 10:52 AM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Aug 14 2014, 10:42 AM)
You need to think simple...

One. You are not here to outsmart the market.
No one can ever be smarter than the market ALL the time.
Remember this. biggrin.gif

Catalyst is like a reason to buy a stock.
If you cannot find a reason to buy a stock, then how do you expect others to buy the stock?

Quarterly profits is usually a reason to buy a stock.
This is correct.
The expectation of better profits aka the market bets that the stock will see better profits...
will normally see the stock moves ahead during the month it is expected to announce profits...

Ah Ben profits results is due this month....

Normally, in a lot of cases (*cough* *cough*)..... the market they 'know'....
Which means normally...
the profits do follow the immediate trend...

So what is Ah Ben doing now?
it is trending lower.....  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

not a good sign... yes?

Then you can do some simple 6c6c....

Last month Ah Ben posted 2 mil profits vs 10 mil profit the previous year...
(*yes we compare the quarter result vs the same quarter the previous year*)
that was very poor...

the coming quarter... this month...
Ah Ben profits result is to be compared with last year profit of only 3 million (yea last year also poor)

which means the bar is not that high....
but yet... the market doesn't seem to be enthusiastic at all...... wink.gif

not a good sign.... yes?

Regarding trend....
the saying or teaching is to follow the trend yes?
current trend is down...

if you buy now.... what are you doing?

Think about it.....  biggrin.gif
ah boon, like this i very scared le. my holding last quarter net profit decreased but overall FY2013 net profits increased. but the last quarter did mention that the hike of tariff is likely to affect this coming quarter result which will be announced this month, and this few days the share has been dropping from 0.8x to 0.79 now. rclxub.gif

which means it is possible that they have a not so good result this coming quarter. sweat.gif

twhong_91
post Aug 14 2014, 12:18 PM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Aug 14 2014, 11:05 AM)
Nothing's ever a sure thing in the market...
and yes.... there are times when the market .... they can get it wrong.

(hehe.... this is why stock market very the interesting ma.... tongue.gif)

Having said that....
if I was a betting person...
in this example of yours....
I would say the odds favour the stock's profits performing poorly this quarter.
I somehow agree with you but I might just wait for the coming quarter, lets see how it goes and if really performing poorly, i will take it as a lesson and move forward. thumbup.gif
twhong_91
post Aug 26 2014, 09:46 AM

1,637 posts

Benalec lo haha
twhong_91
post Sep 6 2014, 03:03 PM

1,637 posts

Boon,
http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed...cements/1729309

refer to the above announcement, the price acquired by the director is 0.66 per share but i check the chart, lowest on 28 Aug was 0.675. How did he acquired at 0.66 per share? hmm.gif
twhong_91
post Sep 6 2014, 06:39 PM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 6 2014, 03:23 PM)
hehe.... good question cause I also dunno how.

This is like conman's job. Lol.

Btw, boom do u know ken holdings Bhd? Any comments?
twhong_91
post Sep 7 2014, 10:36 AM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 7 2014, 08:44 AM)
It's not too bad of a company but perhaps a bit smallish.
I have seen its properties before and it's pretty decent.
Growth is good also.
Problem is it's smallish and it's a property stock.
property stock not good meh? or bubble burst coming soon? i have property stock already, but this ken looks very healthy, so im interested. brows.gif
twhong_91
post Sep 7 2014, 02:31 PM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 7 2014, 11:23 AM)
Eh?

Ah Hong... I am sure I did not use the words bubble burst.

tongue.gif

Unserstand what I am saying in that last sentence.
Stocks it's all about managing what yiu are doing.
Manage your risks.

smallish and its a property stock.

i guess the main issue lies with the word "smallish"

now headache, hunting for value stock coz my tissue paper report macam kao sai sweat.gif
twhong_91
post Sep 7 2014, 09:42 PM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(spring onion @ Sep 7 2014, 02:36 PM)
toilet paper still got value of 80 sen. still can sell tomorrow

about property stocks, it's good to have some nod.gif
tmr confirm gap down already doh.gif

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 7 2014, 06:31 PM)
Ah hong,

You have to understand how the market thinks.
There are many property stocks.
Most have enjoyed good earnings.
However...the sector is no longer cheap.
Future or prospective investor s are going to be choosy.
Damn choosy.
They will most likely to nick pick over all the small issues.
Future projects la...
Land banks la...
Ability to deliver la...
Marketability la...
All will be scrutinized.
Even size of earnings.
They are NOT going to be silly and go overboard in the sector.

So ....if they are going to be choosy...why shouldn't you?

Do not buy and hope others will uncover what you think is a gem cos opinions will differ.

Buy only when you are totally convinced it is good and others will also.

That's my thinking....
It might differ from yours.

Well as I have said before, anyone can always disagree.
I could be wrong and this is a forum to share and discuss ideas.

Market might disagree with me and who knows, Ken could go up and up.

Ok?

you are correct ah boon kor, I already have 2 property stocks. i should choose another type of stock i think, btw, normally i dun like to choose those stocks when many people are discussing and promoting, i usually prefer "diam diam" ones where only few people discuss ones. tongue.gif
twhong_91
post Sep 8 2014, 09:54 AM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 8 2014, 08:44 AM)
Ah Hong,

Here is Ken's chart.

As you can see, the stock has had a nice run since Feb 2014, particularly from Feb to May.
Which however, coincided with the stock doing a 1 into 2 stock split.
Which makes you wonder..... ya?

With the help of Uncle...

It's future projects...

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...three-projects/
The profit growth DESPITE smallish sales revenue...

Current profit is about 24 million or an eps of around 12 sen and a pe of around 8.3.
Fantastic profit margin.
Net asset around 99 sen. wink.gif

Ah... not many would be comfortable to see the current stock price trading above its NTAB.

Saw this other news clip.

http://www.starproperty.my/index.php/artic...jb-city-centre/

And that would explain a fair bit... ie why Ken has such a higher profit margin...
money from the rental income is good..
this compensates the almost non-existent profit from its construction business....

Hope those info helps in your decision makings.... smile.gif
Yes, there's a fair bit of risk involved in too popular a stock.
I believe this phenomena is known as 'thinking as a crowd'...
it has its dangers....
I am sure you have seen it here....
last time there was the stock called Smartag...
and not too recently, the debacle on Green Packet ASSet sale.....
Yup, the stock forum cliches.

Having said that, those 'diam-diam' ones also got its dangers...
sometimes alone, one could err by being stubborn on one's own views....
the mindset gets fixated that it's ok because one had done their own research and that one could be wrong.... sweat.gif
and in the market...
if the general herd does not agree with your thinking...
well the risk is .....
that the stock could be ignored despite its peak earnings performance...
resulting the stock become a coma stock.....  sweat.gif
and coma stocks... they could trade lower one....  shakehead.gif
especially when they turn in a poor profits report....

Yup... do not ever forget... stocks are risky.

icon_rolleyes.gif
i see. thanks ah boon kor, u r being helpful as always. biggrin.gif

give up on ken, now eyeing other stocks, just cut loss on my ntpm. lousy counter. sweat.gif
twhong_91
post Sep 9 2014, 01:30 PM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 9 2014, 08:21 AM)
Ah FooFoo!!!!!!

brows.gif

I see you love investment quotes...

Here are more for you.... I think you would like this....

Think long-term.

If you aren’t willing to own a stock for ten years, don’t even think about owning it for ten minutes

When we own portions of outstanding businesses with outstanding managements, our favorite holding period is forever.

Whether we’re talking about socks or stocks, I like buying quality merchandise when it is marked down.

....and of course.............. BUY LOW SELL HIGH.  brows.gif

and These... LOL .... you probably no likey. tongue.gif

You don’t have to move at every opportunity.

You don’t have to be a genius to invest well.

Don’t be fooled by that Cinderella feeling you get from great returns.

Bad things aren’t obvious when times are good.

Don’t buy a stock just because everyone hates it.
whistling.gif

Actually not too clever on which stock you are referring to.

Could it be KEN? or could it be NTPM?

I guess it's NTPM.

Correct ah?

I got one more opinion for your consideration.
Of course, you are always free to regard it as an opinion filled with fear.

NTPM was considered a consistent growth stock.
Growth was excellent the past 3 fiscal years.
I am sure you are aware of this fact, rite?

since 2002, profit went from 44mil > 49m > 53m.

That's a good set of numbers.

However with the last 2 set of DECLINING profits, current profits now have dropped to only 48m.

And as you are also aware, companies profits are gauged versus the same quarter period the previous year.
Yes, let's discount the current poor numbers and look ahead.

Why?

Comes next quarter in Nov, if you are a shareholder in NTPM, you MOST likely DO NOT want to see business articles from theEdge announcing profits report like how it did last Friday that NTPM profits PLUNGES some 41% blah blah blah......

So in Nov 2014, NTPM will be announcing profits for its Q2.

Let's see how much NTPM made for its 2013 Q2 numbers... cos THESE ARE THE NUMBERS that NTPM will be gauged on.....

pasting the same quarter report history of NTPM again....

we can see that last year... NTPM numbers were extremely GOOD.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

It made 16 million in profit........

which means the coming quarter profit, NTPM must better 16 million profits....

That's a VERY HIGH BAR set.................

remember NTPM this quarter and posted a profit of only 9.8 million.

just imagine... even if NTPM profits improves to say 12 million..... those profits would still be less than what it achieved last year.

so if I was a gambling man... I would dare put 3 big sen... and bet that the next quarter... NTPM should see poorer/declining earnings too.... sweat.gif

If wrong... I lose my big 3 sen lor.... hehe....

so would I be GREEDY and be FEARLESS and buy NTPM now????

hehe... I am a scaredy cat .... and I would say...... no.

tongue.gif

and also not forgetting...
from the horses own mouth...
profits declined due to higher cost of raw material, labor and utilities, especially electricity and gas.
Source: http://theedgemalaysia.com/business-news/3...to-rm7-mil.html
I ask myself... are these problems temporary or are these issues gonna persist for quite some time in the future?

boon, i agree with u. NTPM has been in this business for ages, when the profits decline by 40% the first thing in my mind is they fail to reduce the costs which was stated in their previous financial report that they had plans to reduce it. In addition, these costs are expected to increase due to the implementation of GST. I dont think their business is going to improve, but the chances of going down is very high.

Lastly, the personal care segment is the segment contribute positively and the key driver of pushing its net profits, however the revenue of its personal care segment has reduced (1.xx% if not mistaken).
twhong_91
post Sep 9 2014, 08:21 PM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 9 2014, 03:33 PM)
I like your way of reasoning.  thumbup.gif
Keep it up.
As long as you make sound rational decisions with your stocks, you will do well.  nod.gif
hopefully ah boon gor. i am always learning, especially from u. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Sep 9 2014, 06:59 PM)
Wah boon gor, good replies there.
Hope that the new factory in vietnam will translate better profit for NTPM. I will probably go in couples of lots first.
But the anti chinese sentiments probably affect the operation there too  sweat.gif

Reduce in revenue indeed a really bad indicator  sweat.gif ....even setting up new factory doesnt help to boost the company's revenue....
they did mention in their last quarter reports that the new factory might be making losses in the next few years before making profits. On top of that, the losses are not significant which means that if they are doing good and making profits, it is also not significant as well.

just my 2 cent smile.gif
twhong_91
post Sep 12 2014, 08:18 AM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 12 2014, 07:40 AM)
Leading....as in term of stock chart.

As a trader, you need to know which stock is outperforming.
The WHY is also needed.

Sometimes we just need to follow the leaders..
Sometimes we look for the DUH cases.. laugh.gif
Cases where the better fundamental stock is underperforming the lsector leaders....

..and for now, Tekseng is the leader already.
Having said...I also note the UMA. tongue.gif
Yup..shoot so fast until get speeding ticket.

Homer outperform last year?
In terms of fundamentals or stock price?
PE so damn high????
Huh?
Got play wrong mo?
I think homer should be a better choice as compared to tek seng. Homer's net profits higher than tek seng and PE is also lower, which means that it is much undervalued.

twhong_91
post Sep 12 2014, 08:43 AM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 12 2014, 08:37 AM)
Ah Hong,

Those remarks are observatory remarks.
It's nothing about which is the better stock.

In the stock market, biasness is the worst enemy of a trader.
When we observe issues like market sector, we need to see it as it is....
and not as per our feeling.

For example, if you note the charts I posted earlier, clearly Tekseng is the current market performer in terms of stock performance.
Whether it deserves it or not is irrelevant.
For example, I cannot say that Homer is better just cos I own Homer shares...
or Homer is better just cos Homer's profits is better.
It's not the issue....

This is Tekseng chart. (OR you can refer to posting #2116 yet again )

This is Homer chart.

Clearly Tekseng is the better stock no?

(LOL! some quick eye traders would be note the interesting development in Homer chart. tongue.gif)

( Shit... I have been posting so much on Homer.... some might think I am doing some massive hard core promoting... laugh.gif)

Later I would post the comparison chart in the sector......
if based on the charts, clearly tek seng has performed better than homer but homer macam got some activity coming soon, volume surges so high.

tek seng is performing better might due to its recent outstanding quarter report, market expects its next quarter report to be good as well? or just purely fry up the stock becoz of its recent outstanding quarter report?
twhong_91
post Sep 13 2014, 09:54 PM

1,637 posts

Boon what is the software that u used to compare the prices' movement?
twhong_91
post Sep 15 2014, 02:26 PM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 14 2014, 08:47 AM)
This one is from Cimb trading platform.
thanks, too bad Hle does not provide such benefit. sad.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0450sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:53 PM