My fungers must had been stone drunk!!!

tongue.gif tongue.gif
Don't play play hor flex.gif
TSBoon3
post Jun 20 2014, 01:10 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Jun 20 2014, 01:06 PM)
Don't play play hor  flex.gif
Scared jor..tongue.gif

Long time you no give me tipsy. tongue.gif
SUSwankongyew
post Jun 20 2014, 01:14 PM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Jun 20 2014, 12:53 PM)
You said wan mah last time  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Lots of people say things and attribute them to boon, but they don't necessarily come from boon. I remember HOMERIZ target price in this thread was 1.60. At first started as a joke, then people took it seriously...
lambethwalk
post Jun 20 2014, 01:20 PM

2,635 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jun 20 2014, 01:10 PM)
Scared jor..tongue.gif

Long time you no give me tipsy. tongue.gif
Got mah, ah-bra laugh.gif

Homer 1.60 looooo..... lai lai lai laugh.gif
lynetnonyma
post Jun 20 2014, 01:47 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Jun 20 2014, 12:53 PM)
You said wan mah last time  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
You better find proof. This Boon3 very good in looking back 10,000 posts and quote back what he said or didn't say....

This post has been edited by lynetnonyma: Jun 20 2014, 01:47 PM
lambethwalk
post Jun 20 2014, 01:57 PM

2,635 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Jun 20 2014, 01:47 PM)
You better find proof. This Boon3 very good in looking back 10,000 posts and quote back what he said or didn't say....
Hahahaha... he also can't be bothered smile.gif

TSBoon3
post Jun 20 2014, 02:51 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Jun 20 2014, 01:57 PM)
Hahahaha... he also can't be bothered smile.gif
Huh...... tongue.gif
TSBoon3
post Jun 20 2014, 02:56 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Jun 20 2014, 01:47 PM)
sweat.gif

Water wash also cannot clear.... tongue.gif
twhong_91
post Jun 20 2014, 10:17 PM

1,637 posts

Boon, if a company, the last quarter result drop a bit but overall net profits increased, dividend is same as last year, how would u interpret?
TSBoon3
post Jun 20 2014, 11:49 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Jun 20 2014, 10:17 PM)
Boon, if a company, the last quarter result drop a bit but overall net profits increased, dividend is same as last year, how would u interpret?
This one, always a tricky issue and it also depends on whether you are an investor or trader.

Most important, you need to gauge whether the poor qtr result is a temporary blip or the weakness is the start of a long term weakening.

twhong_91
post Jun 21 2014, 12:51 AM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jun 20 2014, 11:49 PM)
This one, always a tricky issue and it also depends on whether you are an investor or trader.

Most important, you need to gauge whether the poor qtr result is a temporary blip or the weakness is the start of a long term weakening.
the drop in net profit is mainly because of the decrease in sales volume and the hike of tariff. the hike of electricity cost has increased the cost of overhead, my interpretation is there might be some minor effects on the net profits due to the hike of tariff. However, the management stated that they have some plans/projects to tackle this problem, if they able to do so, of course it would be short-term, am i correct? hmm.gif hmm.gif
TSBoon3
post Jun 21 2014, 08:11 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Jun 21 2014, 12:51 AM)
the drop in net profit is mainly because of the decrease in sales volume and the hike of tariff. the hike of electricity cost has increased the cost of overhead, my interpretation is there might be some minor effects on the net profits due to the hike of tariff. However, the management stated that they have some plans/projects to tackle this problem, if they able to do so, of course it would be short-term, am i correct?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Sometimes, decrease in sales could be temp...
I might be wrong but I reckon a drop of around 10% is not too much of a concern
But I would probably advice you to check out the operating margins.
Is there a drop?
If margins drop significantly along with declining sales, then it's a big concern.

Rising costs.... now that's a issue.
If the company cannot pass on this rising cost to the customer (by raising prices), then it's a worry.
The shareholders of the company has to shoulder all these costs increase.
Not a good sign.....

Suggest you to wait and see the next qtr......
TSBoon3
post Jun 21 2014, 09:24 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Jun 20 2014, 12:18 PM)
I always think that people who constantly ask boon for tips are a little silly since HOMERIZ has yet to really take off. It is not too late to buy into it unless you want to avoid being too concentrated in a stock. What the requests for tips really show is that people are really looking for short term tips when boon has indicated that he is perfectly content to buy something and sit and wait for a couple of years or more.
Actually I find it very tedious to talk stocks here at times.

When you asked me about SKPetro and I came back with some opinions on the stock, it gets boring to see other forummers view it as a tip! doh.gif

If you guys and gals know me, I am not one to give tips.
I believe I have the responsibility to myself and others to NOT simply mislead others.
Giving a tip based on misleading information is the least I would want to do...
I cannot live past myself doing such petty stuff just to enrich myself.

Regarding Homer.

This is actually a stock that I just discuss openly with gark
Yes, in my opinion (which could be wrong), I felt Homer should be valued at around 1.60 within a year.
That time, Homer was around 68 sen or so.

Now despite the superior results shown by Homer, tremendous growth and an unbelievably good result...
I think many would say Homer is kinda underperforming...
Homer is just trading around 80 sen...
Pathetic actually once you start comparing with other flying stocks.... tongue.gif

So what's the deal?

I had already voiced out the concern regarding the stock.....

it's a furniture stock - many still misunderstand and have a negative bias against the sector.
Not that I blame them...
Furniture companies is usually associated with furniture showrooms that gets burned down....
Many just don't like and trust such business....
They think it's all inside con job.
I don't blame them...

the lack of coverage....
an undiscovered stock is an undiscovered stock....
it runs the risk of being a sunset stock for a very long time....
which research house is covering it?
Kenanga had a research done on it...
but the research was horribly terrible....
Profit estimates were behind the curve (trailing profits were already more than the estimates given by the analyst! Duh! doh.gif)
The price target was simply given - it was based on TA... and the TA was faulty! Duh! doh.gif
KLSE is not a matured market...
without proper coverage... the stock is...... unloved.....

lack of news coverage....
Star had a coverage on the company recently...
but that's about it.....
when Homer announces its good result past couple quarters, there was ZERO mention. Duh!

lack of institute funds......

And all these issues still remain today......
That is why you don't see the stock go up bang band sound..... sweat.gif sweat.gif

In fact, I just wrote the following comments yesterday..............
The furniture sector stocks is probably the most misunderstood sector.

Most thinks that the furniture stocks are those that we tend to see 'open shop one day and then burned down the next'..........

Sad but true.

Many have such bad misconception about the stocks.

Some of these listed furniture shops are export oriented and despite the incredibly good profit growth and with fantastic cash flow too but due to the misconception, many just don't want anything to do with these stocks.

With people ignoring the underlining fundamental of these stocks in general, we get these stocks trading at super low earnings multiple.

For example, Ah Lat, trades only at less than an earnings multiple of 4.

Maybe there is some concern on Ah Lat's recent factory problems in Vietnam....

Maybe the recent stengthening of the RM versus the USD is a concern (these companies enjoy more profit if the USD is UP versus the RM)...
And this is where we stand on Homer today.

Are you guys and gals gonna hold that 160 as if it was some holy words cast in stone? tongue.gif

Or do you think it's high time to re-evaluate the trade?
Maybe those fungers of this Ah Boon was so damn intoxicated when it ran out the figures 160...... laugh.gif

twhong_91
post Jun 21 2014, 09:34 AM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jun 21 2014, 08:11 AM)
Sometimes, decrease in sales could be temp...
I might be wrong but I reckon a drop of around 10% is not too much of a concern
But I would probably advice you to check out the operating margins.
Is there a drop?
If margins drop significantly along with declining sales, then it's a big concern.

Rising costs.... now that's a issue.
If the company cannot pass on this rising cost to the customer (by raising prices), then it's a worry.
The shareholders of the company has to shoulder all these costs increase.
Not a good sign.....

Suggest you to wait and see the next qtr......
there is a drop of 3.9% in margin, and 2.90% drop in 4Q sales. 3.9% is minor/significant boon?

The Board expects the business environment in the coming financial year ending 30 April
2015 (“FY2015”) to be more competitive due to the mounting costs pressure and keen
competition.
Both the tissue and personal care segment will continue to operate in a tough
environment as most of the FMCG (“Fast-Moving Consumer Goods”) companies continue to
shift their focus from protecting margins to increasing volumes. Meanwhile, the rise in labour
and overhead costs is expected to dampen the Group’s profitability further.
The increase in
electricity tariff rates in January 2014 and natural gas tariffs in May 2014 will cause overhead
costs to escalate.
In light of these challenges, the Group has strategic plans and control measures put in place to
mitigate the impact from these adverse conditions. Several cost-savings projects have been
identified and approved to improve the Group’s operational efficiency and keep a tight rein
on costs to drive down waste and inefficiencies across the group’s business units. We are
looking into ways to strengthen our customer base and improve our distribution channel. The
Group is also looking at developing new products and opportunity to venture into new
business segments if the expansion synergizes with the Group’s current business model.

the rise in labour
meaning the profits are expected to drop? blink.gif
TSBoon3
post Jun 21 2014, 09:54 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Jun 21 2014, 09:34 AM)
there is a drop of 3.9% in margin, and 2.90% drop in 4Q sales. 3.9% is minor/significant boon?

The Board expects the business environment in the coming financial year ending 30 April
2015 (“FY2015”) to be more competitive due to the mounting costs pressure and keen
competition.
Both the tissue and personal care segment will continue to operate in a tough
environment as most of the FMCG (“Fast-Moving Consumer Goods”) companies continue to
shift their focus from protecting margins to increasing volumes. Meanwhile, the rise in labour
The increase in
electricity tariff rates in January 2014 and natural gas tariffs in May 2014 will cause overhead
costs to escalate.
In light of these challenges, the Group has strategic plans and control measures put in place to
mitigate the impact from these adverse conditions. Several cost-savings projects have been
identified and approved to improve the Group’s operational efficiency and keep a tight rein
on costs to drive down waste and inefficiencies across the group’s business units. We are
looking into ways to strengthen our customer base and improve our distribution channel. The
Group is also looking at developing new products and opportunity to venture into new
business segments if the expansion synergizes with the Group’s current business model.

the rise in labour
meaning the profits are expected to drop?  blink.gif
3.9% drop in margin and 2.9% drop in sales is not significant.....
and yes, increase in labour costs will eat into profits.

... and when you factor all these into the bigger picture.... what do you get?

If you do not own the company, do you find this as an attractive company to invest in?
twhong_91
post Jun 21 2014, 10:03 AM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jun 21 2014, 09:54 AM)
3.9% drop in margin and 2.9% drop in sales is not significant.....
and yes, increase in labour costs will eat into profits.

... and when you factor all these into the bigger picture.... what do you get?

If you do not own the company, do you find this as an attractive company to invest in?

I would sell off the stock since the profits are going to be dampen which means that the growth of the company will slow down/stagnant/not growing. However,

Strategic plans and measures, I wonder if a company announces such a statement, is it really mean that they have the above mentioned plans/projects? Or it is a way to relieve their shareholders? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

TSBoon3
post Jun 21 2014, 10:11 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Jun 21 2014, 10:03 AM)
I would sell off the stock since the profits are going to be dampen which means that the growth of the company will slow down/stagnant/not growing. However,

Strategic plans and measures, I wonder if a company announces such a statement, is it really mean that they have the above mentioned plans/projects? Or it is a way to relieve their shareholders?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
I think it's just normal for any company.

A company should always make plans and counter measures whenever they face challenges to their profitability.

For the investor or the trader.... I believe what matters most is result.

Yes, it's result oriented (especially for traders).
The traders usually would not to sit and wait for the company to turnaround.......

Why? A company not churning out good profits will not seduce others to buy the stock.
Without buying interest, how else would the stock go up?

twhong_91
post Jun 21 2014, 10:14 AM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jun 21 2014, 10:11 AM)
I think it's just normal for any company.

A company should always make plans and counter measures whenever they face challenges to their profitability.

For the investor or the trader.... I believe what matters most is result.

Yes, it's result oriented (especially for traders).
The traders usually would not to sit and wait for the company to turnaround.......

Why? A company not churning out good profits will not seduce others to buy the stock.
Without buying interest, how else would the stock go up?
I see. thanks for explaining boon, u re a good guru. rclxms.gif

hope to learn more from you. rclxms.gif
TSBoon3
post Jun 21 2014, 10:20 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Jun 21 2014, 10:14 AM)
I see. thanks for explaining boon, u re a good guru.  rclxms.gif

hope to learn more from you.  rclxms.gif
Err.. actually you need to consider if my comments suits you or not.

Because my comments are more 'trader bias'......

if I was more 'investor bias'.... then I would be considering the value part of the equation...

because if such issues are temp, and it causes a huge drop in share prices...
then one with an investor perspective would use the value issue as the basis for them to actually buy more of the stock.

yup, buy when no one wants the stock.

Like I said before, one needs to understand oneself....

You need to know your own edge.

Are you a good trader?

Are you a good speculator?

Are you a good investor?

Or are you simply a punter?

tongue.gif
twhong_91
post Jun 21 2014, 10:36 AM

1,637 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jun 21 2014, 10:20 AM)
Err.. actually you need to consider if my comments suits you or not.

Because my comments are more 'trader bias'......

if I was more 'investor bias'.... then I would be considering the value part of the equation...

because if such issues are temp, and it causes a huge drop in share prices...
then one with an investor perspective would use the value issue as the basis for them to actually buy more of the stock.

yup,  buy when no one wants the stock.

Like I said before, one needs to understand oneself....

You need to know your own edge.

Are you a good trader?

Are you a good speculator?

Are you a good investor?

Or are you simply a punter?

tongue.gif
Well, in the past, I was a fool, thinking to make quick bucks from the market (basically i wont hold a stock for a long time) when it rise, i sold it off, when it dropped, i sold it off too. In the end, I made a big mistake in my investment (not investment I think sweat.gif ) I think my mind-set was wrong in the first place, in the end I lost 30% of my initial investment in the past 3 years.

There was a time where I had stopped trading for a while because of that issue. Until I read your comments and your ideas of investing. I try to learn from you and hope to gain a return of 10% a year (hopefully). So I started to find stocks that have growth, just like what you would have mentioned every time. rclxms.gif

Right now, I have a REIT and another growth company in my portfolio, I plan to hold it in long term, so now I consider myself as an investor, as I dont check the prices of stocks frequently (In the past I always checked the prices of stock). I only check it when I am free and every time after 5pm and also the announcements.

152 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0329sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:32 PM