GaMinG HeadseT Club V2
Apr 25 2014, 01:09 AM
218 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Kuantan |
Wow nice V2 ady..my HD800 doesnt qualify as gaming headphone?
Apr 25 2014, 01:39 AM
Apr 25 2014, 01:44 AM
Apr 25 2014, 01:51 AM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Apr 25 2014, 01:48 AM) Wait a freaking minute didn't you just only recently got your mining rigs? I remember giving you guides about it. So what setup you have now since you're selling it all off? My actual pc still havent completed until now loool..Bitspower took their sweet time today only sending the parts..Only reason I'm selling the mining rigs is to buy ASICs hehe.. Have you guys read the thread on Mad Lust Envy's gaming headphones roundup on head-fi? It's more console-focused but some good info there too. I'm not sure if we can link to other forums here though :S |
Apr 26 2014, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Apr 26 2014, 10:42 PM) Eh chill lah no issue one. Share the link here. Always look forward to reading mass reviews for true comparisons. Here's the link. For a newbie to gaming headphones i learned a lot reading thishttp://www.head-fi.org/t/534479/mad-lust-e...pro-added-edits He reviewed the Alpha Dogs too, might be worth a read bro Am I the only one that gets turned on by the TH900's earcups..looks so silky smooth you can swim in it haha.. This post has been edited by bl@ze: Apr 26 2014, 11:37 PM |
May 13 2014, 03:11 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Wahh...Audeze LCD2? I can't really tell apart the Audeze cans though..why not the X or XC? |
May 15 2014, 03:38 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « My amp finally arrived..just finished hooking everything up and initial impression is everything sounds wider, with more body and tighter bass. Going to fire up BF4 and test it now..too bad my pc not complete yet so I can't try it with the SB ZXR. One nice bonus is the amp came with a balanced output when the one on Audio GD website show 2 headphone output..my DAC also has balanced...now I'm tempted to go looking for a balanced cable for the headphone This post has been edited by bl@ze: May 15 2014, 03:41 PM |
May 15 2014, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 15 2014, 03:43 PM) Sweeeeeeeeeeeeet. I wanna crash your house and try it lol. Haha ya planning to use optical signal into the mini-i to avoid the ZXR problematic output..I'm now hearing details never before heard from songs I've heard hundreds of time before..damn..didn't think I was missing so much all this time..Btw don't use the ZXR signal and amplify it. Straight digital out from your PC would be better. Balanced cables? Go ask E1. The ALO ones cost about 450-500 or so. Gonna be my next upgrade. But now I stay with single ended first. Haha. BF4 sounds good too..brings new meaning to the word 'immersive'. Feels like my head was immersed in a bucket full of audio goodness QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 15 2014, 08:43 PM) I know that feeling too well..luckily my bitspower parts arrived last week and xspc parts arrived today..just waiting for psu now.. |
May 17 2014, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 17 2014, 03:10 AM) Oh my the poison..haha..my current stand pales in comparison to that..Anyway my pc build facing a bit of a problem..the quad 290s+xspc razors means none of the pcie slots accessible..not even with risers..my sound blaster zxr crying... Im using msi big bang 2 btw.. Might have to let it go and find another solution for my gaming surround sound needs.. Sifus know of any good usb solutions? Or any solutions at all SSJBen This post has been edited by bl@ze: May 17 2014, 02:50 PM |
May 17 2014, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 17 2014, 03:03 PM) Dude why do you even still need the soundcard. Straight USB out to DAC. End of story. You already have a full blown setup right there. Hmm but i thought for gaming its better to have SBX or dolby aupport? Anyway my zxr might be for sale for cheap soon Hmm, alright. Will look for one. Thanks mate. |
May 17 2014, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 17 2014, 03:31 PM) Lol. Who ask you get so much GPUs. Haha i know right..classic example of a first world problem..ive been looking at usb sound cards but they all look kinda mediocre..sigh i should create a meme for this...In all honesty bro, no point getting above 3 cards. 2 cards is optimum. 3 is at the limit. I really suggest you leave the mining to your other rigs and leave this to gaming. Mining does damage cards in the long run too. So get a triple. Keep the sound card. You should be fine. Edit: ![]() This post has been edited by bl@ze: May 17 2014, 03:50 PM |
May 17 2014, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 17 2014, 03:48 PM) Get the Creative SoundBlaster Omni then, it provides SBX as well. Not being sold in Malaysia though, so you need to order from Amazon or eBay. Wow i wasnt aware of the omni card. Good idea! Even has a mic and optical out..should be perfect for me..I thought I explained that sound quality doesn't matter on soundcards, be it external or internal. You're just gonna use it for its DSP, not the DAC. You can even sell your ZxR for some money and use that for the Omni instead. Alternatively if you're okay with Dolby Headphone, the Asus Xonar U3 provides it too with optical out and it can be found for RM175 or less locally. Anyone interested in a RM500 SB ZXR? QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 17 2014, 04:06 PM) +9999SSJBen for leader of the gaming audio world! QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 15 2014, 03:43 PM) Sweeeeeeeeeeeeet. I wanna crash your house and try it lol. He quoted me 1k for the green line cables..only 6 feet too..wonder if its worth it lol..maybe i should go for custom pcwork cables?Btw don't use the ZXR signal and amplify it. Straight digital out from your PC would be better. Balanced cables? Go ask E1. The ALO ones cost about 450-500 or so. Gonna be my next upgrade. But now I stay with single ended first. Haha. |
May 17 2014, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 17 2014, 06:27 PM) Oooooh sorry i misread. Thought your meant balanced interconnects. Yeah 1k is normal. My ALO Reference 16 cable is already $679USD. just a 4 pin so should save some money there no need for adapter. Something to give some warmth to the hd800 might be nice but tgh I just want to use the balanced output from my amp hahaBut it's to you. You find out what's your budget limit like first. Can't go wrong with the green line cables though. But I need to know 2 things. You want 3-pin or 4-pin balanced? And what kind of sound you're looking for? |
May 17 2014, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 17 2014, 07:50 PM) Nah, nice neutral warm sound. Nice..any distro in malaysia? Or just buy direct?http://www.doublehelixcables.com/store/ind...1&products_id=1 Choose HD800 under "Headphone Type" and Neutrik 4-pin XLR under "Termination". Got up to 8 feet length. Pretty good value for money. Of course there are high end models lah. Like this. http://www.doublehelixcables.com/store/ind...1&products_id=7 |
May 17 2014, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 17 2014, 08:01 PM) Buy direct. These custom cable makers got no distros here. Yep waiting time of 6-8 weeks.. Be warned though. Sometimes because of multiple orders it will take awhile to ship. Wow the thread got moved..had to search for it.. maybe this is a better place for it Someone selling Phillips Fidelio X1 for RM700+ used..worth it? |
May 20 2014, 06:22 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 20 2014, 04:26 PM) Just postage straight loh... sometimes, taking the dive is needed. Well for the price, perhaps (maybe the R8 was overestimating). I mean part of the reason why the X1 is so highly regarded is because of how well it does across everything yet being such a fun headphone to listen to is largely due to its price. RM700+ for an X1 is a great deal, although the slightly more expensive AKG K612 is even better in the sense that it is more refined. QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 20 2014, 05:32 PM) True. Leap of faith. Like I did with the Cypher Labs. Hahaha. Never regretted it. Haha yeap.. The X1 is like on the other side of the coin to the HD800..one is the girl you party with and the other is the girl you marry Hmmmm, I really reeeeeally have to try the X1 one of these days. Never mind, we road trip your place also. Bwahahaha. They might not be on the same level though..another comparison I can think of is the LCD-X vs HD800 I guess..if you have both your collection quite complete.. And the price not bad also leh...damn poisooooon.... This post has been edited by bl@ze: May 20 2014, 06:23 PM |
May 20 2014, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 20 2014, 06:46 PM) Marry the HD800, causes she's more.....revealing...about the details. Right? Haha damn right..not to mention the biggest....soundstage But seriously can't compare also lah. Totally different sound signatures. Beyerdynamic and Sennheiser can go head to head, but sennheiser always wins in bass department while Beyer is more forward, less laid back and less warm. Audeze and Fostex then yes, AKG against Shure. But otherwise it's all down to sound preferences. You pick a can you like, doesn't mean the other is bad, its just that you prefer your current sound signature. The SB Omni is hard to get le..now I'm looking at the Xonar U7..but it has SPDIF coaxial instead of optical. No difference between them right? Only the connection? |
May 20 2014, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 20 2014, 10:01 PM) I tend to find Beyers to actually be warm sounding personally. I mean, part of the reason why it is actually more revealing than other headphones it competes against is due to that signature V-shaped signature they always have. Funnily I already have U3..been using it with my laptop..I'll have to go digging around for the optical adapter though..I threw it into my excess pc parts bundle when I bought it last year If the Fidelio X1 needs to go up agaisnt something to its class, that's the DT990 Pro. The best way to describe the X1 is you take the DT990 with its beautiful bass, tame the brightness on the treble and give a boost to the mids. This is why the X1 is such a great headphone to own when it came out about a year and a half ago, when the craze was all over the DT990s. Do NOT get the U7. Asus and Dolby claims to have Dolby Headphone in use in their Dolby Home Theatre software but no matter how I tried to configure the damn thing, it never comes close to DH. It sounds more like Dolby ProLogic II instead, which instead of downmixing a multi-channel source the DSP actually upmix a stereo source into a 7.1 field. I won't say it is bad for every single game, but for the most part it sucks. There is a huge difference between the Omni's SBX Surround and the Xonar U7's "headphone surround" which doesn't have a name. They do not sound the same, at all. Not even remotely close. If you want DH, get the Xonar U3 which is 3 times cheaper than the U7 and actually freaking works properly. Perhaps you can try getting an Omni through eBay? Oh well I guess I'll try ebay as the U3 is needed for when I travel.. *Edit: OK just ordered one off ebay. Costs RM370 inc. shipping and import duty..interesting that they were able to calculate the tax right at checkout..should be here in 2-3 weeks. Now to sell my SB ZXR lol.. Hmm how does the DACmini stack up against my matrix mini-i? So tempting..the omega also...*drool* This post has been edited by bl@ze: May 20 2014, 11:19 PM |
May 22 2014, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 22 2014, 09:22 PM) Because... their new 2014 Compass 2 just came out of the blue like 2 days ago. Then they proceeded to update their entire line-up... Wah bro Ben going US can bring back souvenir a? Like a balanced cable for my HD800 Oi, LCD-X + Compass 2 lah. No paypal or credit card?! Whoa, you walk into stores with cold hard cash to purchase your stuff??? I'll enquire and see how long they take to send the Omega Stands first, since I'm gonna be shifting house in the next 2 months and also going to the US in August or something like that. The last time I purchased from Massdrop, it took 7 weeks for my stuff to arrive... not including the days made waiting for the group buy to be over. So that was about 8+ weeks total. Had an interesting experience today..driving long distance so I thought WTH so I used my can unamped with my Lumia. Ok la..its not as bad as expected..I would say the HD800 was at 50% its normal performance.. Volume wasn't a problem but the bass felt like the headphone hadn't eaten for a week(hitting a wet blanket comes to mind) and the highs felt like broken glass scratching my ears LOL. ....and it was a 6-hour drive (Btw I know not supposed to be using headphones while driving but curiosity got the better of me. The road from Kota Bharu to Kuantan pretty straightforward anyways Now back home already... I have a new appreciation for my Precision 2 I definitely have to try it with Borderlands 2 once my Omni arrives.. This post has been edited by bl@ze: May 22 2014, 11:02 PM |
May 22 2014, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 22 2014, 11:17 PM) Hahahahahhahahahahhahahaha. If any audiophile pass by you sure say 'FUUUUUUUUUUUU ada legend dengan HD800 dia balik kampung!' Looooool. Hahaha I did get a few stares but I think it has more to do with the fact that the darn thing is so huge and looks like something out of Star Wars Yeah man, you don't appreciate how good your AMP/DAC is till you listen without it. My phone could barely muster a base kick. But at max volume it actually felt neutral, albeit volume abit soft. |
| Change to: | 0.0464sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:11 AM |