Intel® Core(tm)2 Duo Overclocking Board, Report your issues/results here.

pcmoddingmy
post Aug 31 2006, 04:46 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Aug 31 2006, 10:44 AM)
Ya quite nice, built in Memtest86 but no adjustable multiplier and max Vdimm 2.2v. FSB termination max 1.5v (default 1.2v), NB/SB max 1.8v (1.5v default), Vcore max 1.80v....
But i tried not passing the 485MHz barrier so back to DS3 now
Max VDIMM sucks.. about 2.1V only.. but there's a simple pencil trick which works on almost any Biostar mobo that has that "2.3V DDR" jumper. I'll see if I can get the pencil trick posted sometime soon.

Anyways, I will be getting the TForce P965 Deluxe soon. Hoping to do 3.7GHz on my soon-to-be E6300 thumbup.gif
pcmoddingmy
post Sep 1 2006, 02:11 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Sep 1 2006, 12:13 PM)
passed 10 hrs priming at 472x3=3.3Ghz (this time i got it rite biggrin.gif ) in the furnace sweat.gif  sweat.gif

[attachmentid=132591]

next step, put more vdimm and do the 1M and 32M SuperPI...priming will only be done at night unless i can get a good hsf this afternoon thumbup.gif
Nice clocking at stock Vcore there. notworthy.gif
Is yours a week 27 or 26?

But 89ºC at stock Vcore seems crazy... and I thought Prescotts were supposed to be hotter shocking.gif

This post has been edited by pcmoddingmy: Sep 1 2006, 02:18 PM
pcmoddingmy
post Sep 4 2006, 07:16 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(ddww @ Sep 4 2006, 06:46 PM)
lol... by looking through your sig i wanna ask how do u clock your E6300 at 300x9??
Double LOL...
E6300 at x9 multi?
C'mon savadi... you can do better than that! shakehead.gif

Edit: And since when Cooler Master started making True Power FMA 450W power supplies? You mean Real Power, is it? IIRC, only Enermax makes FMA power supplies... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by pcmoddingmy: Sep 4 2006, 07:20 PM
pcmoddingmy
post Sep 12 2006, 09:58 PM

498 posts

3GHz at 1.280Vcore achieved! Overclock + Undervolt! Full load (10 hours dual Prime STABLE) only 52ºC!

Test Setup:
E6300 @ 30GHz | 429FSB | 1.280V
Thermalright SI-120
Biostar TForce P965 Deluxe
OCZ PC2-8000 Ti Alpha VX2 2x1GB 4-4-4-9 472.5MHz
Radeon X800XL 512MB
FSP Epsilon 700W

3GHz | 1.280V | 429.5MHz FSB | TR SI-120 (air-cooled)

This post has been edited by pcmoddingmy: Sep 12 2006, 10:02 PM
pcmoddingmy
post Sep 12 2006, 10:35 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(blaxez @ Sep 12 2006, 10:11 PM)
impressive! any secrets behind?
No secrets actually...
You just need a good board that provides stable Vcore because if it fluctuates, it will easily error out during Prime.

Btw, it was a retail boxed E6300 processor. icon_rolleyes.gif
pcmoddingmy
post Sep 12 2006, 11:19 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Sep 12 2006, 11:09 PM)
i tot the cpu-z vcore is kinda  rclxub.gif since if i even put extra voltage on the vcore, it will show undervolt...i dunno la shakehead.gif
That happens if you enable CE1 and EIST in the BIOS. Usually we disable them when overclocking. wink.gif
pcmoddingmy
post Sep 12 2006, 11:23 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(ksl279 @ Sep 12 2006, 11:18 PM)
hi all is 1.4+ vcore safe for E6600 ? currently i'm on this...

http://img106.imageshack.us/img106/2522/conroe3dm06jh7.jpg
1.4V at 3GHz is a little too high IMO. What's the temp? Core Temp? I bet it was over 60C, is it?
Just look at my E6300... it does 3GHz at 1.28V only. But then, mine was Allendale blush.gif

Is it dual Prime stable at 3GHz 1.4V? If yes, you can try to slowly drop the Vcore as you progress.

This post has been edited by pcmoddingmy: Sep 12 2006, 11:24 PM
pcmoddingmy
post Sep 12 2006, 11:46 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(ksl279 @ Sep 12 2006, 11:40 PM)
noo...bro, mine is 667 leh nt 800 sob sob...no $$$ cry.gif
Any D9 can do over 800 easily.
Heck, even my old skool DDR533 kit can do over DDR800 easily... D9s of cause.
Don't let the numbers fool you. Newer D9s can do over DDR1000 easily flex.gif
pcmoddingmy
post Sep 12 2006, 11:52 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Sep 12 2006, 11:48 PM)
iyes, my statement was wif ce1 and eist disable...cpu-z does not really show the right voltage...i'd prefer to use easytune (since mine is giga mobo), closer to what being set in bios, but then again the fluctuation wise, not sure la...that's why i also dunno which one to use...
Well, CPU-Z does show right Vcore on my board (TForce P965). It only gets a little cracky when above 1.5V. Checked with Biostar's monitoring tool and CPU-Z's reading is same with it...
The best is of cause to stick a DMM onto the measuring point, but I still can't figure out where to read Vcore on this damn board. doh.gif
pcmoddingmy
post Sep 12 2006, 11:53 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(ksl279 @ Sep 12 2006, 11:50 PM)
oops...last question.

since my ram rated 3-4-3-8 DDR667, is it possible to run ddr800 with same timing ? ...noob question  laugh.gif
Yes... you can even run it at 3-3-3-8, provided you give it over 2.5V!
If you don't like the idea of killing your fresh RAMs, just drop it to 4-4-4 laugh.gif
pcmoddingmy
post Sep 13 2006, 12:01 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Sep 12 2006, 11:54 PM)
bro,ur ram is wat chip?d9gkx? rolleyes.gif
i think if we increase vcore until certain vcore,cpuz will show 1.213v,anyone can confirm?
and pcmoddingmy's cpuz is showing true vcore,coz normally it will show 1.213v
Nope... old skool Fatbody cheers.gif
But sadly, they're no longer with me anymore cry.gif
Yup... looks like almost everytime I push above 1.5V, CPU-z will crap out and display 1.213V. The highest I've seen displayed correctly was up to 1.440v something..
pcmoddingmy
post Sep 14 2006, 04:45 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(Evogenix @ Sep 14 2006, 04:31 PM)
wanna ask you guys, will 2.5vdimm kill da ddr2 ram?

Evogenix
Not for Micron D9.
Other chipset such as Elpida will not even be stable at 2.5V.
Anyways, for 24/7 usage do not exceed 2.4V... unless your RAM is warrantied up to 2.5V like OCZ does notworthy.gif
pcmoddingmy
post Sep 14 2006, 06:01 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(Evogenix @ Sep 14 2006, 05:11 PM)
ic

I heard alot ppl talking about d9.
Whats the characteristic of d9 chipset? "FatBody" is the best among those d9?

edited : found! most of d9 i see can do 4-4-4-x @ 400-500MHz

Evogenix
Well, basically you can see a Micron logo on the IC along with "D9xxx" written on the IC.
Fatbody is not the best, but Fatbody is the reason why Micron is popular among overclockers. Fatbody means the IC is bigger and it looks like DDR1 TSOP IC. Most DDR2 BGA IC is about half the size of older DDR1 IC.
Micron stop producing those Fatbody already, but the newer D9 is much more better.

QUOTE(ddww @ Sep 14 2006, 05:37 PM)
how do u see whether the warranty covered 2.5v? how do the manufacturer detect whether we go up to 2.5v and burned our chip?
your board can go up to 2.5v mer?
If it is covered up to 2.5V, it will be written on the product page/website. My OCZ RAM is default at 2.3V and supports EVP (Enhanced Voltage Protection) up to 2.5V.
Well, they have their own ways of detecting overvolted RAMs. Anyways, no one will warranty for burned RAM. Its easy to identify burn marks on RAM... whistling.gif
pcmoddingmy
post Sep 15 2006, 10:29 PM

498 posts

XP-120 or SI-120 shouldn't have issues with RAM installation because it is taller. You can easily slide in and install memory on the DIMM slots. These heatsinks were designed to not only cool the CPU, but to cool PWM and RAM too.
pcmoddingmy
post Oct 3 2006, 04:53 PM

498 posts

Here's my little E6300 Super PI 1M attempt...

16.719 - pcmoddingmy
- 3387.7MHz, 484 x7 / Biostar TForce P965 DLX / 2GB DDRII-968, 4-4-4-9 / TT Big Typhoon VX

Apparently, my board maxed out at around 472FSB... 484FSB is only barely stable. Let's see what I can do with the Asus P5W64 WS Pro which I will have in my test bench soon... wink.gif
My E6600 should be on its way too... tongue.gif
pcmoddingmy
post Oct 3 2006, 09:36 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(eltonchay @ Oct 3 2006, 05:13 PM)
u got a pair of nice ram  rclxms.gif  wat brand is tat? i think u can go further wit ur spec thumbup.gif
Yup... those were OCZ PC8000 Titanium Alpha VX2 2GB kit.
The problem is my board is limiting me... and 2.2VDIMM max sucks.
I just got the Asus P5W64 WS PRO fired up just now... let's see if I can squeeze more out of my E6300. flex.gif
pcmoddingmy
post Oct 3 2006, 11:51 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(kcnyc @ Oct 3 2006, 11:03 PM)
Mod the Biostar.....ehhehehe.
Modded already...... got over 2.5VDIMM but the board refuses to go over 484FSB. vmad.gif
pcmoddingmy
post Oct 4 2006, 03:33 PM

498 posts

Something you Core 2 Duo freaks must see: Asus P5W64 WS PRO

pcmoddingmy
post Oct 4 2006, 04:20 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(kcnyc @ Oct 4 2006, 03:57 PM)
Does not help overclocking. lol  If in an enclosed case, it will be a fire hotspot!  sweat.gif

Its good for people who has 4 monitors.....hehehehe.  Joking joking.....

Nah seriously this board is mad good at overclocking.  Components are of high quality.  Thinking of volt modding mine soon....ehhehe.
Well, currently the Asus P5W64 WS PRO is the best 975X overclocking board on the planet. I tested mine to be stable up to 486FSB right out-of-the-box!
Will post some screenies later this week... currently tied up with a sh1tload of work! sweat.gif
pcmoddingmy
post Oct 7 2006, 11:04 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Oct 7 2006, 10:45 PM)
OT : does any1 here using naked C2D, i mean take out the heatspreader??
Unlike other processors, C2D's ISH is soldered to the core.
However, I read that it is possible to remove the ISH by heating it up just right so that the solder will melt. Check out XS's C2D ISH removal thread...

0.0517sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:02 PM