126 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Bottom

[V23] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club, Lowyat.Net Key caps are here!!!!

min86
post May 29 2014, 11:21 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ May 29 2014, 10:35 AM)
Said many times. Lightsaver is best. Can get TK number of keys, and only slightly bigger than a TKL. Personally, my endgame keyboard.
Thanks for the recommendation. But 96 keys not reallly attracts me. Previously i was waiting for the redscarfd II which is 77 keys, similar to lightsaver but without the function keys on top row. But when the picture is shown, feeling not really like it. Thus i think i would just go for normal tkl layout.
Though the price for redscarf is quite attractive, cost around rm500++ for complete pcb, casing, switches and etc

QUOTE(zennasyndroxx @ May 29 2014, 10:45 AM)
it all depends on your budget leh.
My budget is around 1k for new one, anyone knows how much orion cost? I don't know where to source this product
Was looking at Nerd TKL but found nearly $500 usd for a new one, beyond my budget already
with this amount of budget any tkl recommendation? Perhaps any Hao owner here like to sell their used one?
ntw
post May 29 2014, 11:33 AM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ May 29 2014, 09:08 AM)
i have almost the same problem with both my dsa spacebar from hyperfuse and dolch.
mine doesn't stuck though, just that it feels a bit more restrictive to press down and pop back up.
i believe it's got to do with mis-aligned stem and stab sad.gif
what keyboard you using? i only tried it with my ducky shine 2.
my nerd tak datang lagiĀ  doh.gif
the exact correct description!! not stuck, but restrictive. its not noticeable during normal typing, the force i type on always gives it enough impact to pop right back up. only when im carefully pressing it down slowly only i'll notice the symptom.. btw, im using it on ducky zero.

QUOTE(noobandroid @ May 29 2014, 09:17 AM)
i think i met this situation when the stab was installed wrongly
filco?

Heh... the infamous halfway key. I believe it is misaligned stabilizer stems coming from the molding process in PBT. That and the weight (!) of the fully PBT cap making it hard for the spring in the keycap to bounce back. Obvious solutions would be to:

1. Use a thin o-ring (not optimal)
2. Use a small round spring. The mod is in my archive in reddit. Reply then I'll show you how it looks like. Basically, just bigger than your switch size and long enough to reach the keycap.
3. Change the spring in the switch. This one have to do some de-soldering.
4. Remount the stabs.
5. Send SP an email and ask for replacement.

p/s; The reason I'm sure it's the PBT is because the Taihao set doesn't have this problem. I'll be keeping this set on.
Partially true. PBT spacebars tend to warp a bit.

Yup. Slight warping on the PBT process. Confirm will happen with Cherry stab keyboards.
mine is the DSA Dolch from SP, its ABS. and the keycool PBT i had didnt give me this problem
1. tried on both thin and thick o-rings, still pop up halfway
2. i've seen your spring mod. but cant find the spring anywhere... sweat.gif
3 and 4. lazy to desolder. this weekend project
5. noobandroidjustnits jom?

This post has been edited by ntw: May 29 2014, 11:36 AM
justnits
post May 29 2014, 11:36 AM

Mechanical Keyboard Addict
2,968 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ May 29 2014, 11:33 AM)
the exact correct description!! not stuck, but restrictive. its not noticeable during normal typing, the force i type on always gives it enough impact to pop right back up. only when im carefully pressing it down slowly only i'll notice the symptom.. btw, im using it on ducky zero.
filco?
mine is the DSA Dolch from SP, its ABS.
no i'm not going to send back to sp lol
seeing that i got 2 dsa spacebar and they both are the same, send back also same.
on another note, did u lube your stabs? i didn't lube mine yet.
zennasyndroxx
post May 29 2014, 11:45 AM

Work Hard, Spend Harder.
585 posts

QUOTE(min86 @ May 29 2014, 11:21 AM)
Thanks for the recommendation. But 96 keys not reallly attracts me. Previously i was waiting for the redscarfd II which is 77 keys, similar to lightsaver but without the function keys on top row. But when the picture is shown, feeling not really like it. Thus i think i would just go for normal tkl layout.
Though the price for redscarf is quite attractive, cost around rm500++ for complete pcb, casing, switches and etc

My budget is around 1k for new one, anyone knows how much orion cost? I don't know where to source this product
Was looking at Nerd TKL but found nearly $500 usd for a new one, beyond my budget already
with this amount of budget any tkl recommendation? Perhaps any Hao owner here like to sell their used one?
If you're not going for fullbacklit led then you can go for phantom PCB. Then you need to get teensy controller, diodes for 87 keys and also if I'm not mistaken 2 resistors for caps and scroll lock led.

I'm not sure whether is it possible but you can get nerd TKL (as them to install cherry stabs for you if you don't want to go through the hassle of sourcing the stabs on your own, and get any other cheaper TKL case, then youll have to install the diodes and all also.

Else, wait for any TKL group buy at enjoy click. And also I think there's a orion groupbuy going on at geekhack. You could always check that out.
dadudeneverabides
post May 29 2014, 11:49 AM

Mechanical Kuda Ping Keyboard
1,105 posts

No go for 77 keys. I basically need my function rows (MMO and work needs those), so I won't be doing myself any favours if I cut those off.

QUOTE(ntw @ May 29 2014, 11:33 AM)
filco?
mine is the DSA Dolch from SP, its ABS. and the keycool PBT i had didnt give me this problem
Confirm costar stabs no have this problem, but my cheapo costar keyboard will squeak unless I lube the mofo like I'm planning to go... nvm this is a SFW forum.

Desolder only needs 5 minutes of your time. No balls do it bring my house next weekend (this weekend not free). I lube and mod your stabs also for RM5 per cluster. I'd do it for free but I don't want you to have wrong ideas, so I must charge. I will do clipping, lubing (high performance lithium automative grease) and pampering for your keyboard.

QUOTE(justnits @ May 29 2014, 11:36 AM)
seeing that i got 2 dsa spacebar and they both are the same, send back also same.
ALWAYS lube everything. Bloody ghpad taught me my lesson well. Lubed cherry stabs feel divine to press. Even better than costar if you ask me.

Also, what news of le Raindrop? I'm painting everything blue and white in anticipation.
yukihatsu
post May 29 2014, 12:12 PM

672 posts

Based on the comments regarding DSA Dolch's spacebar issue I'm not really looking forward to the keycaps anymore. Spent so much but get this kind of quality. Quite disappointing leh. cry.gif
TS0168257061
post May 29 2014, 12:19 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Said many times. Lightsaver is best. Can get TK number of keys, and only slightly bigger than a TKL. Personally, my endgame keyboard.
Heh... the infamous halfway key. I believe it is misaligned stabilizer stems coming from the molding process in PBT. That and the weight (!) of the fully PBT cap making it hard for the spring in the keycap to bounce back. Obvious solutions would be to:

1. Use a thin o-ring (not optimal)
2. Use a small round spring. The mod is in my archive in reddit. Reply then I'll show you how it looks like. Basically, just bigger than your switch size and long enough to reach the keycap.
3. Change the spring in the switch. This one have to do some de-soldering.
4. Remount the stabs.
5. Send SP an email and ask for replacement.

p/s; The reason I'm sure it's the PBT is because the Taihao set doesn't have this problem. I'll be keeping this set on.
Partially true. PBT spacebars tend to warp a bit.

Looks like a custom 60% with blockers for HHKB layout. Estimate would be around 2k?
Yup. Slight warping on the PBT process. Confirm will happen with Cherry stab keyboards.
Custom?
Brother, DSA Dolch is ABS material.
The thing got to do with spacebar I guess because of the stem.
Too bad I dont have any 6.25x custom to try, at least they are pcb mounted stab.
But too bad sad.gif

redscarf 77 is good for you.
RM500 for a complete custom is very good price already.

orion is 450usd which translate to at least 1500RM.

there is kmac1, 330-350usd only. grab that if you want.

you use it on your upcoming nerd tkl brows.gif
forget about ducky.

QUOTE(zennasyndroxx @ May 29 2014, 11:45 AM)
If you're not going for fullbacklit led then you can go for phantom PCB. Then you need to get teensy controller, diodes for 87 keys and also if I'm not mistaken 2 resistors for caps and scroll lock led.

I'm not sure whether is it possible but you can get nerd TKL (as them to install cherry stabs for you if you don't want to go through the hassle of sourcing the stabs on your own, and get any other cheaper TKL case, then youll have to install the diodes and all also.

Else, wait for any TKL group buy at enjoy click. And also I think there's a orion groupbuy going on at geekhack. You could always check that out.
both enjoy click and gh orion orders are shipped.
so i dont think there is any leftover. maybe spanthor himself got some stock up. maybe laugh.gif

QUOTE(yukihatsu @ May 29 2014, 12:12 PM)
Based on the comments regarding DSA Dolch's spacebar issue I'm not really looking forward to the keycaps anymore. Spent so much but get this kind of quality. Quite disappointing leh. cry.gif
Rm250 sell me fast now.
it is not quality issue.
its just some compatibility issue.
I use also no problem whistling.gif

dadudeneverabides
post May 29 2014, 01:14 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ May 29 2014, 12:19 PM)
Brother, DSA Dolch is ABS material.
Too bad I dont have any 6.25x custom to try, at least they are pcb mounted stab.
But too bad sad.gif

you use it on your upcoming nerd tkl brows.gif
forget about ducky.
both enjoy click and gh orion orders are shipped.
so i dont think there is any leftover. maybe spanthor himself got some stock up. maybe laugh.gif
Rm250 sell me fast now.
it is not quality issue.
Ya, sorry. Wasn't looking at Dolch, just that my previous experience with SP's DSA profile caps are like that.

Nonetheless;

min86
post May 29 2014, 01:55 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(zennasyndroxx @ May 29 2014, 11:45 AM)

Thanks for the advise, phantom is not my choice as i would like to have bling effect. I am considering nerd tkl now, any chances where i can find cheap tkl case for nerd?

Yeah the redscarf price is tempting, but i'm not really into the layout
thinking to get nerd tkl now
ntw
post May 29 2014, 02:49 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ May 29 2014, 11:49 AM)
Confirm costar stabs no have this problem, but my cheapo costar keyboard will squeak unless I lube the mofo like I'm planning to go... nvm this is a SFW forum.
Desolder only needs 5 minutes of your time. No balls do it bring my house next weekend (this weekend not free). I lube and mod your stabs also for RM5 per cluster. I'd do it for free but I don't want you to have wrong ideas, so I must charge. I will do clipping, lubing (high performance lithium automative grease) and pampering for your keyboard.
ALWAYS lube everything. Bloody ghpad taught me my lesson well. Lubed cherry stabs feel divine to press. Even better than costar if you ask me.
im planning to do it this weekend la. but havent get the lubes yet, those from 7-11 ones can pakai?

QUOTE(yukihatsu @ May 29 2014, 12:12 PM)
016 and min86 are proud owners and they didnt face the same issue. probably need some tuning.

Rm250 sell me fast now.
it is not quality issue.
i guess mostly because of the stem la. yours on lubed cherry stabs? PS: u already have one set, dont be too greedy with other ppl's set. whistling.gif
zennasyndroxx
post May 29 2014, 03:22 PM

Work Hard, Spend Harder.
585 posts

QUOTE(min86 @ May 29 2014, 01:55 PM)
Thanks for the advise, phantom is not my choice as i would like to have bling effect. I am considering nerd tkl now, any chances where i can find cheap tkl case for nerd?
I'm not sure whether will it fit but this: http://mechanicalkeyboards.com/shop/index....ct_detail&p=280
justnits
post May 29 2014, 03:39 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(zennasyndroxx @ May 29 2014, 03:22 PM)
I'm not sure whether will it fit but this: http://mechanicalkeyboards.com/shop/index....ct_detail&p=280
that's for filco or oni.
doesn't fit a87.
also...it's out of stock for a long time already cry.gif
zennasyndroxx
post May 29 2014, 03:48 PM

Work Hard, Spend Harder.
585 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ May 29 2014, 03:39 PM)
that's for filco or oni.
doesn't fit a87.
also...it's out of stock for a long time already  cry.gif
aiseh sad.gif

well, nerd tkl means get nerd's casing? brows.gif

too bad no skinny for nerd. skinny looks smexy
justnits
post May 29 2014, 04:04 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ May 29 2014, 11:49 AM)
Also, what news of le Raindrop? I'm painting everything blue and white in anticipation.
baru finish production i believe
hmwgbworld
post May 29 2014, 04:14 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(min86 @ May 29 2014, 01:55 PM)
If u can do the assembly and tuning by yourself really save a lot, since:
Nerd TKL pcb = 55usd
Acrylic Case = 70usd
smd components and mx switch source from taobao or china forum.
Should be less than 200usd i think.
dadudeneverabides
post May 29 2014, 04:23 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ May 29 2014, 02:49 PM)
im planning to do it this weekend la. but havent get the lubes yet, those from 7-11 ones can pakai?
016 and min86 are proud owners and they didnt face the same issue. probably need some tuning.
i guess mostly because of the stem la. yours on lubed cherry stabs? PS: u already have one set, dont be too greedy with other ppl's set.  whistling.gif
I use Lithium grease. Normally you can use it for automotive purpose, but I was browsing ACE hardware that day and saw it was going for RM8 for the whole tube instead of RM 20+. You can use it for many things other than lubing, but I like this one because it gives the best performance I've seen so far.

Application is harder because you need to apply some on a cotton bud.

Buy one tube and you'll thank me later when stuff in your house need greasing.
yuktsi14
post May 29 2014, 05:44 PM

Gloomy Sunday
2,585 posts

you can get Superlube Synthetic Grease 21030 (recommended by 016) from ace hardware. Less than 30RM according to my mum. Way cheaper than taobao icon_rolleyes.gif

http://www.super-lube.com/files/pdfs/Super...ility_Chart.pdf

This post has been edited by yuktsi14: May 29 2014, 05:45 PM
justnits
post May 29 2014, 05:53 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ May 29 2014, 05:44 PM)
you can get Superlube Synthetic Grease 21030 (recommended by 016) from ace hardware. Less than 30RM according to my mum. Way cheaper than taobao  icon_rolleyes.gif

http://www.super-lube.com/files/pdfs/Super...ility_Chart.pdf
i got tamiya grease tongue.gif
just that i didn't put on my ducky yet.
from the looks of it, in order to put it properly, i need to dismantle it and desolder everything.
if i'm going to do that, i'm going to do more mod, such as spraying the case and plate, changing led, not sure about changing switch yet.
until i got my tkl, i won't be touching my ducky yet tongue.gif

also, the ace hardware in penang doesn't carry superlube *pouts* cry.gif
yuktsi14
post May 29 2014, 05:56 PM

Gloomy Sunday
2,585 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ May 29 2014, 05:53 PM)
i got tamiya grease tongue.gif
just that i didn't put on my ducky yet.
from the looks of it, in order to put it properly, i need to dismantle it and desolder everything.
if i'm going to do that, i'm going to do more mod, such as spraying the case and plate, changing led, not sure about changing switch yet.
until i got my tkl, i won't be touching my ducky yet tongue.gif

also, the ace hardware in penang doesn't carry superlube *pouts* cry.gif
I just asked my mum. The ace in ikano has plenty. Just need to make sure those tamiya grease are plastic friendly

http://imgur.com/a/lhLqo
justnits
post May 29 2014, 06:03 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ May 29 2014, 05:56 PM)
I just asked my mum. The ace in ikano has plenty. Just need to make sure those tamiya grease are plastic friendly

http://imgur.com/a/lhLqo
i rmbr using tamiya grease for my 4WD battery powered car on it's plastic gears...so it should be safe tongue.gif

126 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:21 AM