137 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

LYN Christian Fellowship V7 (Group), Bible Hope never disappoints!

funny duck
post Jun 11 2014, 01:20 AM

#Icebear for President
739 posts

QUOTE(punkolyte @ Jun 10 2014, 06:28 PM)
Dude,

Regarding your OCD, I've got no say in that. Pray for a miracle cure? Anywaay, your addiction to porno.....I'm glad you actually brought up this topic because every single freaking church will just say that it's a sin and one ought to stop and pray yadee yadaaa blablabla...and yet, never have I come across a pastor/elder/leader who actually gave a effect-on-life point of view or rather a rational/mental ways to stop, only spiritual and by that it means "you go to hell because you watch porn, so STOP. Just pray and case closed". So really, thanks for your honesty.

While I can't really help you out here, I suppose I can help you pinpoint a few things that could help you with your bad habits. First of all, I am guessing you are in between 16-23 years old dude and still a student. I would say it's quite normal especially when you're at that age......and single.
Of course I have more to say but first let me ask you these few questions:
1) What is YOUR OWN personal opinion of sex before marriage? Is it okay to have one night stands? What about couples who are madly in love? (I don't want to hear repeated stuff from your pastor or stuff you have read, I want YOUR VERY OWN opinion)
2) Do you approve of it especially with all your friends and everyone else you know doing it? It is so normal and a huge achievement that you're a sad pathetic loser if you're still virgin? Would you be like everyone else, just for the sake of not being called a loser?
3) Do you intend to get married some day?
Thanks for your replied and indeed thanks for not laughing me and for knowing my serious difficulties that im facing right now.

1)i have my own personal system which i wont think of having sex with my partner if im not married yet. Even I'm allowed to do that before marriage i wouldnt do that neither because it is my principal.

2)Nope. Nope and nope i wouldn't follow others ppl wrong foot step.

3) For sure, yes.
SUSleonhart88
post Jun 11 2014, 01:42 AM

1,686 posts

why does have african, chinese, european people?Adam and Eve are from Israel right. then african people from where?
Sophiera
post Jun 11 2014, 01:45 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Jun 11 2014, 01:42 AM)
why does have african, chinese, european people?Adam and Eve are from Israel right. then african people from where?
Adam and Eve are not any race. The original human has all the potential genes for the variations we have today.

As they are the forefathers of Israel, they're also the fore parents of Asians, European, African ect ect
SUSleonhart88
post Jun 11 2014, 01:47 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jun 11 2014, 01:45 AM)
Adam and Eve are not any race. The original human has all the potential genes for the variations we have today.

As they are the forefathers of Israel, they're also the fore parents of Asians, European, African ect ect
Thanks for your answer. Then who is the first Asian and African? I like watching wuxia dramas

This post has been edited by leonhart88: Jun 11 2014, 01:48 AM
Sophiera
post Jun 11 2014, 01:49 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Jun 11 2014, 01:47 AM)
Thanks for your answer. Then who is the first Asian and African?
That one, I dunno. Don't think anyone knows specifically who was the first 'african'. It's a slow mutation over many many generations.
SUSleonhart88
post Jun 11 2014, 01:55 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jun 11 2014, 01:49 AM)
That one, I dunno. Don't think anyone knows specifically who was the first 'african'. It's a slow mutation over many many generations.
then why is now not getting any mutation again?
Do you agree with ecclesiastes 1:18? If agree don't want to ask you anymore since will add my sorrowness
SUSleonhart88
post Jun 11 2014, 01:57 AM

1,686 posts

ecclesiastes 1:3-14. I don't need to work hard then?coz everything is no use to chase money. so sophiera, are you not materialistic woman?
Sophiera
post Jun 11 2014, 02:06 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

?????

Your question isn't clear. What does race have anything to do with meaningless of life?

As for mutations, you won't see the change until many many many generations, long after you're gone. Just because it doesn't happen in your lifetime doesn't mean it's not happening.

And for working hard, work is important. It's in fact holy The thing is working until no relationship, no health, no conscience ect ect is the problem.
Sophiera
post Jun 11 2014, 02:10 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

P.s It's not that humans start to sprout tentacles or something. The most recent example close to home are Chindians. They're not chinese, nor are they indian. Have a whole group of people mixing together and you have a new variation.
dinnor
post Jun 11 2014, 09:14 AM

198 posts

QUOTE(dinnor @ Jun 10 2014, 03:48 PM)
hi guys, anyone here done watching movie "Son of God" yet?
it's true story of Jesus accordingly or ?

i'm muslim by the way
can reply to my post above.. ?thanks
pehkay
post Jun 11 2014, 11:27 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(dinnor @ Jun 11 2014, 09:14 AM)
can reply to my post above.. ?thanks
Why do you want to know?

It's a movie ... definitely some "artistic license" were taken that were not accurate.

This review seem reasonable : http://www.blogos.org/gotquestions/son-of-God.php

This post has been edited by pehkay: Jun 11 2014, 11:31 AM
TSunknown warrior
post Jun 11 2014, 11:38 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(funny duck @ Jun 8 2014, 09:13 PM)
Heiii brothers and sisters in christ. I am a christian here. I have seen this thread lying around many times already , but i dont have a chance to drop by. But today there are reasons that make me to seek for helpers and guidance on my problems which has been bothering me years.

To be quick and straight i have been diagnosed with a problem which it is called OCD( obsessive compulsive disorder). It is the worst thing that could have happen in one person. It drives me crazy all year long because of this problem laying around inside my head. What it really does is controls one's mind and may make you go crazy because of what it tells you to do,but when you try to neglect the thoughts your mind will tell you that something bad will happen. So this hasn't end just like this yet,if you do what it says then there will be like a compulsion or repetition that will force you to do stuff over and over again.

This OCD some of you may heard of it already but still if anyone wants to know more about this 'OCD' you can google it and you may have a clearer view on what I'm suffering right now. 

So guys... The 2nd problem is the main problem that leads me to this thread. To be honest with you guys this might be very difficult for me to share it out but in the end i still have to face the problem. Oh right...sooo yea guys i think im addicted to pronography...i have tried so many times to stop going back to it already but in the end i still fell into temptation. I dont know what to do guys. Whenever i watched it later on i will feel so regret and so ashamed so i always pray to God and ask Him for forgiveness and ask Him to help me to overcome the temptation. But the very next day i have the feeling to watch it again and you know what...ended up watching that stupid stuff again.

I want my life to be change and i want to be christ like so that i can reflect to others how good God is. But these problems are blocking my path to the christian's life styles.

So fellow bros and sis in christ i hope you can at least pray for me to being able to overcome the anxiety and temptation through my life. And i hope that my life will be drawn towards Lord Jesus Christ.

Thank you for lending me your eyes haha and may the good Lord bless you all.
QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jun 7 2014, 03:52 AM)
Could you elaborate on this please?
Hi Sophiera,

How r u? Sorry took awhile to reply, was away for few days.

The thing about being a Christian is not to be sin conscious all the time.

Hebrews 6: 1-2
1 Therefore let us move beyond the elementary teachings about Christ and be taken forward to maturity, not laying again the foundation of repentance from acts that lead to death,a and of faith in God,
2 instruction about cleansing rites,b the laying on of hands, the resurrection of the dead, and eternal judgment.

Hebrews 6:1 means don't build your life (laying again foundation) on repentance over and over again. Don't be Sin conscious. Doing this, will only impede your spiritual life. God calls this elementary or very basic kindergarten. But be Christ conscious. And I can prove this in the following verse.

What did the Apostle Paul wrote?

Philippians 3:12-14
12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13 Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Here Paul is saying in verse 12, One should always cultivate an open mind to learn and press on. FORGET the past, the wrongs, the sins, yes FORGET it, don't focus on it but press on towards the goal and our GOAL is heavenward in Christ Jesus meaning, always be Christ conscious.

And WHAT is Christ conscious? , when you fall into sin, God wants you to be Christ-conscious. This means that when you have missed it, God wants you to be conscious that in Christ, you have forgiveness of sins through His blood. God wants you to be conscious that Christ was wounded and bruised for your sins, and that the chastisement for your peace was upon Him. (Isaiah 53:5)

When you are Christ-conscious, you will have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. (Romans 5:1) You will know that you are the righteousness of God in Christ because He who knew no sin was made sin for you. (2 Corinthians 5:21) He took your sin and now you have His righteousness.

So when you fall, don’t be conscious of your failure and feel bad or condemned. Instead, be conscious of who you are in Christ, pick yourself up, dust yourself off and continue your walk with God.

Hope this helps you in your spiritual walk with God. smile.gif

Here are 2 more verses for you to ponder.

1 Timothy 1:19 - holding on to faith and a good conscience, which some have rejected and so have suffered shipwreck with regard to the faith.

1 Timothy 3:9 - They must keep hold of the deep truths of the faith with a clear conscience. (not works of sin or iniquity)

QUOTE(ik3da @ Jun 7 2014, 11:25 AM)
Thanks for the insight. Will pray and believe, truly do not want to argue with my wife bout it  smile.gif
Hi ik3da,

Hope you caught hold of what I've just explained to Sophiera, it is what I meant. So don't worry about your son doing what wrong, keep on confessing the promises of God. Be God conscious rather than Sin conscious.

QUOTE(skydrake @ Jun 7 2014, 05:03 PM)
hi all, it's been some time i did not reply in here. unknown warrior, i had a suggestion for u to create an automated "LYN Christ Followers List:". u can use google doc and create a form for them to fill in and put a link to view. a lot easier that u don't have to update so many time. all u need it's to monitor it.

So sorry that I'm able to help because my internet connection is are too expensive and too slow for me to make the form for u. I'm sure there is always someone in here to help u with it.

nowdays i only can online and download few page in my offline pocket and read some discussion in here.

alright guys, time to offline now. God bless everybody (^o^)
Hey Bro, good suggestion and I know how to use google docs but I prefer to keep it here because at least the word of God can reach a wider audience of bro n sis.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Jun 11 2014, 11:55 AM
Sophiera
post Jun 11 2014, 06:30 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

Hi UW, not so good in the health department. Sakit perut, cirit birit water and all cry.gif

On the plus side, I finally have Unifi.
nerdyone
post Jun 11 2014, 10:15 PM

Validating
17 posts

Hey guys, just wondering anyone fancy being a part of a contemporary / worship band?
pehkay
post Jun 12 2014, 09:07 AM

145 posts

Not really ^^;

pehkay
post Jun 12 2014, 09:11 AM

145 posts

CHRIST NEEDING BROKEN VESSELS TO BE CHANNELS OF LIVING WATER

Christ does not need whole vessels; instead, He needs broken vessels. This is because only broken vessels can be channels of living water. Whole vessels can only be cisterns of dead water (Jeremiah 2:13). The biggest problem today is that it is hard to find any wounds or scars in most Christians. Most of us do not have any wounds, scars, marks of death, or experiences of the cross. Even though we have been saved and truly have Christ’s life in us, this life has no way to come out. The reason is not that our behavior is too poor or too good but that we are too whole and too impregnable. Because we have no wounds, Christ has no way to be released from within us.

Suppose a person is quick-tempered and appears arrogant. It would be relatively easy for such a one to become humble because he may often examine himself and condemn his irritability. Suppose another person is meek by nature and apparently humble. It would be harder for such a one to know himself. Instead, it would be easy for him to become proud before God. He may think that the other person is irritable and arrogant while he is meek and humble. What is this? This is real pride. Sometimes when we go to visit people, the wife says, "My husband is too quick." What she means is that her husband is quick but she is not and that she is meek but her husband is troublesome. However, she is actually more troublesome before God than her husband. It is hard for many of the saints who have a number of good points to make any spiritual progress. This is due to the fact that they have listened to many messages not for themselves but for others.

Some of the saints do not seem to have a bad temper; they are as gentle as sheep. However, they always listen to messages not for themselves but for others. When they hear a word concerning breaking, they think, "Brother A is quick-tempered, so he surely needs to be broken. Sister B is not good either, so she also needs to be broken." It never occurs to them that those who are meek need to be broken even more than those who are quick-tempered.

It is often easier for God to deal with a stubborn person than with a pliable person. Someone may seem to be so pliable, like a rubber ball, that God has no way to break him. When a certain situation arises, he does not care. When he is dealt with by his supervisor, he does not care. When he is dealt with by some of his family members, he cares even less. Like a rubber ball, he bounces back whenever he is hit, and he bounces up whenever he is thrown down. This kind of person is indifferent toward everything; he is unbreakable. He cannot be broken by one person, nor by two, three, or even five persons. However, if he were a glass, he could be broken with a single stroke.

If a sister cannot be broken by her husband, her son, or her daughter-in-law, people will praise her, saying that she is really spiritual because she cannot be broken by anyone. However, we must realize that because she is not broken and cannot be broken, Christ has no way to live out from her. What she lives out is her whole self, her smooth and refined self, but not Christ. Christ has no way to live out of her.

Neither our kindness, our good deeds, nor our morality can represent Christ. Only Christ Himself can represent Christ. Nothing that we have, even if it is good, can represent Christ. The progress of a Christian’s spiritual life does not depend on how much he has changed; rather, it depends on how much he has been broken and to what stature Christ has grown in him. In other words, the growth of a Christian hinges on his being broken and Christ’s increasing in him.
TSunknown warrior
post Jun 12 2014, 09:45 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(nerdyone @ Jun 11 2014, 10:15 PM)
Hey guys, just wondering anyone fancy being a part of a contemporary / worship band?
If you don't mind an old guy in the band. laugh.gif

anyway I'm in Praise & Worship team, just fyi.

Don't mind though if the time and day for practice is right.
TSunknown warrior
post Jun 12 2014, 10:01 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jun 11 2014, 06:30 PM)
Hi UW, not so good in the health department. Sakit perut, cirit birit water and all cry.gif

On the plus side, I finally have Unifi.
you know, what you can do is, everyday pray to the Lord for good health.

I know it works because Even though I'm around people with flu, cough, etc, doesn't catch on.

Was almost caught with bad sore throat but I told God, I'm leading in P&W, I need my voice, so God answered & delivered.

I want you to know that you have a right to this as well., you can pray for this anytime and everytime, don't need a reason for good health, it's been paid for by the blood of Christ.

Just exercise your faith.

QUOTE(pehkay @ Jun 12 2014, 09:11 AM)
CHRIST NEEDING BROKEN VESSELS TO BE CHANNELS OF LIVING WATER

Christ does not need whole vessels; instead, He needs broken vessels. This is because only broken vessels can be channels of living water. Whole vessels can only be cisterns of dead water (Jeremiah 2:13). The biggest problem today is that it is hard to find any wounds or scars in most Christians. Most of us do not have any wounds, scars, marks of death, or experiences of the cross. Even though we have been saved and truly have Christ’s life in us, this life has no way to come out. The reason is not that our behavior is too poor or too good but that we are too whole and too impregnable. Because we have no wounds, Christ has no way to be released from within us.

Suppose a person is quick-tempered and appears arrogant. It would be relatively easy for such a one to become humble because he may often examine himself and condemn his irritability. Suppose another person is meek by nature and apparently humble. It would be harder for such a one to know himself. Instead, it would be easy for him to become proud before God. He may think that the other person is irritable and arrogant while he is meek and humble. What is this? This is real pride. Sometimes when we go to visit people, the wife says, "My husband is too quick." What she means is that her husband is quick but she is not and that she is meek but her husband is troublesome. However, she is actually more troublesome before God than her husband. It is hard for many of the saints who have a number of good points to make any spiritual progress. This is due to the fact that they have listened to many messages not for themselves but for others.

Some of the saints do not seem to have a bad temper; they are as gentle as sheep. However, they always listen to messages not for themselves but for others. When they hear a word concerning breaking, they think, "Brother A is quick-tempered, so he surely needs to be broken. Sister B is not good either, so she also needs to be broken." It never occurs to them that those who are meek need to be broken even more than those who are quick-tempered.

It is often easier for God to deal with a stubborn person than with a pliable person. Someone may seem to be so pliable, like a rubber ball, that God has no way to break him. When a certain situation arises, he does not care. When he is dealt with by his supervisor, he does not care. When he is dealt with by some of his family members, he cares even less. Like a rubber ball, he bounces back whenever he is hit, and he bounces up whenever he is thrown down. This kind of person is indifferent toward everything; he is unbreakable. He cannot be broken by one person, nor by two, three, or even five persons. However, if he were a glass, he could be broken with a single stroke.

If a sister cannot be broken by her husband, her son, or her daughter-in-law, people will praise her, saying that she is really spiritual because she cannot be broken by anyone. However, we must realize that because she is not broken and cannot be broken, Christ has no way to live out from her. What she lives out is her whole self, her smooth and refined self, but not Christ. Christ has no way to live out of her.

Neither our kindness, our good deeds, nor our morality can represent Christ. Only Christ Himself can represent Christ. Nothing that we have, even if it is good, can represent Christ. The progress of a Christian’s spiritual life does not depend on how much he has changed; rather, it depends on how much he has been broken and to what stature Christ has grown in him. In other words, the growth of a Christian hinges on his being broken and Christ’s increasing in him.
bump for devotion reading.
hotjake
post Jun 12 2014, 11:15 AM

194 posts

become serious kopitiam d, achievement unlocked biggrin.gif
subimpact
post Jun 12 2014, 11:49 AM

402 posts

not sure if i should quit my job and go fulltime ministry

137 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top