Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

Mackiddo
post Aug 18 2014, 06:19 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Bill2012 @ Aug 18 2014, 09:31 AM)
I see MOM first year I f service entitle 7 days right? My first three month should be 3/12 X 7 days correct? Should be 1.75 days after my 3 months of work.

But why my boss said I am only entitle leave after ONE year of service? Meaning my first year of service i HAVE NO annual leave.. Wow..
nothing unusual here, you are earning your leave for this year to be use next year.
Mackiddo
post Aug 19 2014, 08:57 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(xabi14 @ Aug 19 2014, 10:51 AM)
Anyone purchase insurance (medical, life, pa, ci) in Singapore? Do we really need?
QUOTE(sgrealestate @ Aug 19 2014, 03:33 PM)
for a objective assessment... send pm to yinyum  rclxms.gif
yinyum is the obvious choice thumbup.gif
most important is hospitalisation plan, unless you Co cover you suficiently

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Aug 19 2014, 09:00 PM
Mackiddo
post Aug 22 2014, 05:51 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Aug 22 2014, 04:46 PM)
Coz now I'm thinking... Maybe after start work, no time to go open account on weekdays. That's why I want to know if can just open with IPA since I will only receive EP card maybe 2 weeks after this.

some branches open till very late & on weekends too.
Mackiddo
post Aug 23 2014, 02:25 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(UncleanOne @ Aug 23 2014, 08:55 AM)
I will drive to singapore to drop the stuff. then will park my car in jb (my bro's house).
Malaysia plate number? changes are pretty high that they will wanna see what's inside the box.
Mackiddo
post Aug 24 2014, 07:34 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(wsm @ Aug 24 2014, 04:33 AM)
Hi all,

I will be moving to Singapore to work soon. As the room I rent do not provide internet, :

1. Is it advisable to subscribe home broadband? Or mobile broadband is more suitable as I may need to cancel the contract if the place do not suit me?
2. Can a house have 2 accounts from the same provider i.e. 2 starhub broadband account within the same house?

wireless broadband is the way to go. Make sure you test out the signal 1st before you subscribe.
Everyone is using fibre optics now, so you can't have 2 account under the same roof since there's only 1 line.
Mackiddo
post Aug 24 2014, 09:44 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(trade_mark @ Aug 24 2014, 09:07 AM)
Oh thank you for the info! smile.gif Will make contact with them.
no them, it's the same person but I won't put too much hope, his reputation supersede him.
Mackiddo
post Aug 26 2014, 06:00 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Aug 26 2014, 04:41 PM)
The nation's choice is POSB/DBS but i prefer OCBC. Though lesser ATMs than POSB/DBS but you will be glad to see no queue for OCBC. But who still does frequent withdrawal anyway since IB, NETS, credit cards etc are so convenient now. You can try the 360 Account if you are planning to get a credit card as well.
sad to say, not all got credit card sad.gif . Online transaction is Sg is pretty straight forward though.
Mackiddo
post Aug 27 2014, 10:28 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ahtom82 @ Aug 27 2014, 11:18 AM)
which bank card have auto top up feature? I know is citibank can do that, their card comes with the ezlink which u just tap using the citibank credit card and it will continue top up itself once running low in credit.

does the ocbc one comes with it?
DBS also have, in fact a lot of bank CC also have. I don's see the point coz normal ezlink card also can be tie in to CC (or GIRO?) for auto top up.
Mackiddo
post Aug 30 2014, 06:13 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(0126910937 @ Aug 30 2014, 02:07 PM)
May i know how many of u here is working in sg but stay in jb? And also can someone recommend me an app bsides Google maps for guidance in taking public transit in sg. Thanks
None is more famous than The King himself, Lester1987
Mackiddo
post Sep 5 2014, 04:45 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 5 2014, 02:35 PM)
S'pore government intend to build/attract knowledge based economy or service oriented business.

So if you are in those line of work, such as banking, F&B, retail, tourism - chances to get PR is higher.

I heard many cases those in manufacturing line, PRship is hard to get. Slowly this industry is moving out due to high cost
true to that.... and they squeeze every drop out of us too sad.gif
Mackiddo
post Sep 6 2014, 10:53 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Sep 6 2014, 10:27 AM)
Anyone know when a SPR couple buy resale hdb, the 3 years waiting rule applied to both husband and wife or anyone from them has obtained pr more than 3 years is good enough?
you need two ppl to buy, so it applies to both. I think by the time 3 years is almost up since it was announced, they probably gonna extent it to 5 maybe ?
Mackiddo
post Sep 6 2014, 03:58 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 6 2014, 01:26 PM)
haha, it is true that we're easier to get back our home, but looking on the other side, our only choice is S'pore if we wanna survive in JB, not to mention the high price property and foods thanks to S'pore.
actually food are not a lot more expensive than major cities in Malaysia like KL, Ipoh and Penang.
Mackiddo
post Sep 6 2014, 11:53 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 6 2014, 11:21 PM)
haha,but after gave to parents left not much to save lo..
woo.he's doing quite good, mind to share which field?
and thanks for giving us some hope..haha..
sometime feel lost in engineering especially after saw those ppl in sg finance earn so much.
I also felt lost in engineering at time. Always envy of those in banking like deodorant. But also good lar, he give me motivation to strive harder !
Mackiddo
post Sep 8 2014, 05:21 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 8 2014, 04:40 PM)
I can foreseen it..actaully I don't really like to work in SG..unless can get into MNC which is quite tough without PR..maybe I'll try learn and suffer for 1st 2 yrs 1st and try to make a way out. rclxms.gif
patient my friend. Everyone also think of joining a big mnc. haiz. I also wanna join a bigger MNC. Just keep on ungrading your skill.
Mackiddo
post Sep 16 2014, 07:54 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Sep 16 2014, 12:53 PM)
need advice, if sign a agreement with company but havent started working and another company counter offer and if i want to accept, possible? what should i do?
simple, just pay whatever it takes to break the 1st contract. A couple of months pay ?
Mackiddo
post Sep 18 2014, 10:25 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Sep 18 2014, 10:55 AM)
Ya just pass. Do I get title like Irs being the mrs?  :drool:
You see even the welding inspector talking so big shot like he own the ship like that. You would think the higher hierarchy welding engineer would be the king and the hull or whatever thing engineer and naval architect would be rolled out red carpet and served with champagne when on site. Outside people don't care one. They all are being looked at as how you look at workers on site. They also certified electrician, certified crane driver bla bla bla. Without electrician approval the building cannot turn on power, wah geng leh. In the end just a worker  :D .
I also geng leh. Work as petrol kiosk pump attendant. Consider Oil & Gas also. I no pump petrol can bring down the whole public transportation system.
Mackiddo
post Sep 28 2014, 05:37 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(HenDa @ Sep 28 2014, 12:54 PM)
stay near office + take taxi as needed > driving

you still can go back MYS once every month and speed on MYS highway <3

btw, got my PR approval  biggrin.gif
driving doesn't mean going to work only.
Mackiddo
post Sep 30 2014, 07:13 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Sep 29 2014, 01:23 PM)
Anyone knows if Malaysian SPR can apply US Visa at US Embassy in Singapore?
yup. I did it early this year. plan early.
Mackiddo
post Sep 30 2014, 08:50 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Sep 30 2014, 07:49 AM)
How long did the visa took to get approve after the interview?
the process took around 4 days after approved. Mine is a social visit/work visa. The interviewer actually able to tell you if succeed or not on the spot. Just a walk in the park after showing them my company letter. They courier my passport back to me.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Sep 30 2014, 08:53 PM
Mackiddo
post Oct 8 2014, 09:18 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Oct 6 2014, 11:51 PM)
Old Town White coffee? Can't think of other Malaysia kedai kopi in SG biggrin.gif

Anyway... I still think the Starbucks here is cheap. At least the most expensive one from what I see on the menu when I passes by... is like 7+.

Still I haven't buy any Starbucks yet tongue.gif Hesitant to pay that much for coffee biggrin.gif
I always felt Starbucks is overpriced but still full of ppl

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0631sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:55 AM