8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

Fiona Chin
post Jul 21 2014, 10:35 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 20 2014, 11:38 PM)
hi, your property expert is here  laugh.gif  ask yourself these questions 1st;

1) is it for investment or own stay?
2) if own stay where do you work?
3) do you drive?
=.=" iskandar is nearly the whole south johor.. except kukup and pangerang side...

it really depends on saihoe's intention..

besides HSR, MRT side would be a great idea too...
Detached one with security armed with m16 how much? Working location at Central, drive but don't want pay MY's VEP. Malaysia latest stamp duty how much? Got MY version of ABSD? Can't afford SG anymore have to move North, hope the winter are not coming.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 21 2014, 10:58 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 21 2014, 12:05 PM)
hmm.. central which area? tj pgr, raffles, marina side or orchard or city hall/suntec?

msia, for local selling rpgt is high at 30-15% below 5 years... as for buying there's the legal fees + stamp duty on s&p around max 3-4%... other tax/duty only applicable for foreigners.. other fees also negligible

note comparing sg-my... sg always pride themselves for hvng no capital gain but how the gov make $$$ is by charging stamp duty... they say it is a duty on your document not on the transaction... for layman it is the same, if u gotta pay u gotta pay no matter how u label it.. why put it that way? to attract foreigners to invest in sg..

also one big advantage if u r working in sg is u can use sg's bank to finance msian projects.. this works very much in your favor..

fiona jie cannot afford? dont joke ler... but i believe staying in msia offers more value...

for landed i would say go for johor west, not jb.. there's a lot of gated guarded housing estates that area extremely beautiful...
All those area all use AYE come down from Tuas la... no affect one. biggrin.gif

I heard MY raising something to cool down the market. Bank also less loan after few houses. Looking to buy landed heavily fortified jail cells, don't know can rent out or not, those people mostly buy themselves since they already working in SG? Got good property management property in JB, 2 months commission annually to take care the house? Later house become meth lab.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 22 2014, 11:54 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 21 2014, 11:57 PM)
what do u mean? dont get it..

raise OPR by 25bp, its like sibor... so as a result some banks raise BLR by 25bp also..  well, true to a certain extent, u can always do financial engineering.. huh? why la buy until like that... those usually <rm400k landed will end up like that.. buy proper landed at the right segment then you will hv a proper place of course comes with a price.. like sg, rental yield in msia for landed is bad, u will get -ve cashflow, for rental high rise is better.. but of course i know of people getting +cashflow for landed but initial outlay is high.. yeaps, lots of msians bought as weekend home, weekdays work in sg.. weekend like a bawse in msia

ermm, rental can always nego.. problem is real estate agency mkt in msia still not that well regulated like sg, have to really find good agents to manage it for u.. meth lab? you're in luck... worse still it becomes a chicken coop  laugh.gif

ini mau?  brows.gif

Only familar with SG market, West MY don't know. That one how much? Drive speed boat go one15 how long?

QUOTE(NoDirection @ Jul 22 2014, 10:52 PM)
Hi guys. Let say if a person is no longer working in sg, how does he/she move a large sum of SGD to Malaysia?
Worry on the 10k USD limit if your money haven't wash yet. Or just cross the causeway daily with 9999.99 USD. Hire runners if you have billions to transfer.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 23 2014, 02:20 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Jul 23 2014, 01:32 PM)
drool.gif

Many people may want to start arguing with u.

Grab some popcorn first
We don't know. Valid reason if he have investment with double digits returns. Month month 1k cash go in leh. If go Sentosa 1 round of Sic Bo my 1k become 2k, or 30k if lucky lo.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 24 2014, 11:08 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(sporean82 @ Jul 24 2014, 10:50 AM)
if lets say 1.5yr as PR do you think can/good chance to get Citizenship ?

anyone did it before?
Possible, one of my siblings received the citizenship invitation letter less than a year after he got his PR. I guess the letter mean approval in principle, however he did not go for it. Can't see what is so attractive of him... Some need years to get that letter, but it will come. Refer to the post few pages before for PR for your chances.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 26 2014, 03:20 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(kelwin2504 @ Jul 26 2014, 11:08 AM)
Anyone working in NTUC Income in SG before? I will be reporting on duty in Sep 2014! First step for new working environment, Cheers!
Just don't post any sensitive comments online like your predecessor, you will be fine.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 27 2014, 11:51 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(Naughty by Nature @ Jul 27 2014, 11:19 AM)
after reading thru the discussion here, noticed that there's some very successful Malaysians here, people like seantang, deodorant, fiona chin & keelim. any word of wisdom from the elites?
Just like your parents tell you, study good good, work hard hard, save much much = life good good. Parents won't cheat you one. Those who tell you those are not applicable anymore because they can't make it themselves, why you want hear from people who can't make it?
Fiona Chin
post Jul 28 2014, 10:06 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(re_freako @ Jul 27 2014, 01:20 PM)
I agree with u. I've work 10 yrs still never PR yet. Received 2 letter of invitation from singapore national and talent division for surveying my lifestyle in sin. Can I blend with the society bla bla bla ... I'm a saver just whack all the monthly salary back home since 2006 and keep buying till 2012 I stop. Now suddenly I feel the urge to apply PR n settle down may b in sin or back to Malaysia. Worried of force citizenship up taking offered by sin government due some friend kena. After buy hdb flat, reject citizen downgrade to ep HDB flat force sell. My wife not working. The bad thing I not eligible to buy HDB resale due non-pr. My monthly income grow 400% compared to 10yrs ago same for annual income. However the benefit is I able to make full use of the golden period of property rush few years back in Malaysia. Whether becoming a PR or not becoming one it's based on own way of investment and thinking no right or wrong. I just dislike any government to hold my hard earn money and tell me what to spend and where to spend. I already have a wife I do not need second restriction. Those who do not have property in Malaysia, the style go sin work hard straight purchase HDB flat, have huge paper gain u r 80% chance settled down in sin. Join the citizen culture and better off be citizen since you can get bto. Many of my friend who have hdb have the mindset retire in malaysia after 55yrs old. To me life after 55yrs old in stressful environment will u look like 65? There is no right or wrong just personal preference.
What is your rental yield now and how much did it appreciated? For comparison purposes since my unit was also bought around 10 years ago. 3 bedroom condo unit in SG, current rental yield around 5%, unit's price grew approximately 2 time in paper value. A dip in SG property market now, so looking for new place to keep my money, but I don't want pay another stamp duty in SG that can buy a unit in Malaysia in full cash. KL good investment or not? My hometown yield very sad, bought 1 7-8 years ago yield 1-2% and sometime need ah long to correct rent.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 29 2014, 02:46 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 29 2014, 10:58 AM)
Basically:

PROS:
1. More education subsidy
2. SG kids allotted primary school seats before PR kids
3. Increase chances in purchasing landed homes
4. Rubbing shoulders with men-in-white and enjoy numerous perks ... since i'm an active GRL  laugh.gif

CONS:
1. Malaysia embassy "disowns" you the moment you started the SG citizenship application process. They treat you like traitors. sad.gif
2. Not enough benefits to separate between PR and SG - nevertheless, a few prominent figures are actively campaigning that ABSD is removed for SG but maintained for PR. So, we shall wait and see.
3. Kena targeted by Malaysia Police for "saman" since you can't produce MyKad anymore.  doh.gif
4. Can't buy low-cost housings in Malaysia anymore  tongue.gif

Basically, I'm here for the long-haul. I don't want to be caught in a situation that I ended up saying "I wish I have converted" when the gov implemented something new. By then, the government will definitely tighten the requirements.
PROS:
1. The subsidy not really promising. Baby bonuses good though.
2. Ok fair enough but much can be done like charity work to the schools.
3. Ya this one problem, my parents got rejected under personal ownership recently, then go buy using company name and problem solved (another house to inherit icon_idea.gif ).
4. Hidup papa Singapore but I don't stay at Tanjong Pagar, and don't like Vivian for now.

CONS:
1. MY embassy useless anyway. So not a cons.
2. They should do more for the citizens so PRs will have more tendency to convert. Now its feel like convert no convert no different. Convert liao you put us aside and face the same problem as the locals. Look at those so many complains from locals day day.
3. Local also kena so tak apa lah.
4. MY low-cost housing only for kronies's kronies. Hidup hidup.

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 29 2014, 11:48 AM)
1. you can still buy property in sg without buyer's stamp duty... if u have cash even no worries, if u take loan as long as you can meet the tdsr then that's fine...
2. for msia properties, segmentation is very important.. compared to sg, msian property data is insufficient, therefore finding the right type of property at the right area at the right px is important...
Residential one how? Got legal lobang? Last house I paid 200+ k stamp duty for my part of nation building and contribute to the fireworks coming NDP. cry.gif

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 29 2014, 01:20 PM)
True. But since almost everyone wants to move up the career ladder, it isn't wise to continue staying as PR and being in a gov stat board. Chances are, you'll be left in one corner and rot.
Huh, SG promise us fair treatment based on merit leh. cry.gif They want to follow Malaysia's footstep prioritising one group of people?
Fiona Chin
post Jul 30 2014, 06:34 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 29 2014, 09:47 PM)
bad timing. Think lots of people will be moving in after the VEP and toll rates fiasco. Rent sure increase kaw kaw coz demand is high.
Less car on the road and higher rental? rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif Hidup pap!

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 30 2014, 03:38 PM)
resi sg cannot tongue.gif commercial can.. resi for stay not investment.. d idea is to buy commercial for resi use.. service apartment ^^
Service apartment very hard to earn one and 1-2 unit so small scale many thing to manage. Not a full passive income not interested.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 31 2014, 12:54 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 31 2014, 02:35 AM)

Em... you sure or not? Cannot convert office to service apartment one. For commercial buildings to do that you need a large enough area maybe few storey together or the whole block. You buy one unit change to service apartment sure no approval from gahmen. Management also won't allow. Neighbour day day complain. Who want different strangers coming going every week, bad security...

Last time do property management during internship, serviced apartments, especially those no name small one, very hard to get steady flow of tenant. You can get 50% occupancy rate annually kena lottery already. Last time tried to convert one old block to mix development also cannot, only can make office, few shops below sell lunch.

Best is still office and shop lot but can't afford. Most people stay in residential because they can't break into commercial unit, big buck company come in sweep all then flip prata. And serviced apartment is considered residential unit, don't know need pay ABSD to convert or not.
Fiona Chin
post Aug 4 2014, 01:06 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 1 2014, 03:17 PM)
the building is already designated for commercial with dual purpose, approved by URA.. facilities for both purpose is already there.. that's why SGD3300psf.. management is the one providing such a service.. the place already designated as commercial, high traffic is already expected but of course not all business are allowed..

=.=" why la compare with those no name.. we are talking bout sommerset, ascott, fraser, shangrila, far east standard.. not hdb commercial make-shift residence/hostel... understanding market segmentation is important..

office, shops are still commercial.. there're small units around.. but current demand is at grade-a offices which is nearly impossible to buy, that's why ps100 is gold.. no, service apartment is not residential, it is commercial.. i think u get mixed up with the terms
condo is residential (min 6 months), out of the question already since it is subject to absd.. we are talking bout commercial.. that's why i gave ps100 as an example where you can just buy 1 unit without the trouble of managing it yourself, fareast is offering to manage it.. well, anyway dont think there would be similar projects like that anymore, developers are keeping all the goodies for themselves now
Serviced apartments are residential la, you tell this to your clients you sure get back fire. Kopi o license blink.gif , complain to CEA. PS100 is 100 commercial units and hotel above, they term it SOHO + hotel but URA doesn't care them, still under commercial plot. You cannot convert to serviced apartments in commercial plot. You can however do long term lease as office unit, since SOHO you can stay there with those attached bathroom, kitchen and stuff. But cannot do your serviced apartments 7 day rent minimum period and no way near few hundred per day. Direct stay at hotel better already like that. Wah feel like part time property agent also thumbup.gif .

My ex company songlap 6 units, want or not flip prata sell to you I take 10% commission. 4 already taken for office rental, 1 more reserved. Monthly rental below 5 digit. Where got 500*20 = 10k per month.
Fiona Chin
post Aug 5 2014, 04:06 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 4 2014, 04:09 PM)
wat u say.. am not going to argue, not selling nor buying ntg to gain... wanna report feel free to do so.. watever u think doesnt matter, the law is the law.. wanna argue go do it with fareast.. i dont rep them

u wanna flip prata, flip telor, flip pisang go ahead.. not interested, just sharing info.. u take commission u get fined.. i say rental as office is 12psf, u twist n say 10k that's your prob.. give u clap  rclxms.gif

neway, anyone going NDP this year?
Commenting only on this:

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 31 2014, 02:35 AM)
lets say u sign lease agreement for 2 years, then office rental drop.. u have the option of switching the unit to a residence, when ppl wanna stay short term, etc 1d-1w they stay at oasia hotel (going rate for similar size SGD 600++/night @ agoda), if not mid term 1w-6 months at the unit.. lets say command SGD500, you give management $100 to clean n manage booking per night, u get nett sgd400.. lets say management is bad they rent out only 20 days per month, still you get SGD 8k/month.. but of course this is not fixed and subject to ups and downs and gst
btw, no units are for sale anymore.. all snap up 3 years ago liao  cry.gif
Office space to serviced apartment, Marahsia law? Daily rate 500SGD? Carrot head rent? But ok la on the right track to be salesman with anyhow statement. rclxms.gif Got license take commission also got fined?
Fiona Chin
post Aug 15 2014, 09:10 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(xabi14 @ Aug 15 2014, 01:49 PM)
Hi, I got a job offer in MNC IT company in Singapore.

May I know what is the norm salary range for IT Consultant? They offering me SGD130k p.a.

Currently my pay in MY is appx. MYR200k p.a. Shall I except the offer in SG?

Have no idea what is the salary range in SG. Kindly advise. Thx
Stay in a 2-3 bedroom condo, drive a Lexus maybe, 1-2 overseas trips, that's about it with a 130k pay.
Fiona Chin
post Aug 16 2014, 09:47 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Aug 16 2014, 06:34 PM)
U r making it sounds pretty pathetic hahahahaha.  130k income in this land is pretty good!  1-2 oversea trips? Make it 10 and 5 stars and still keeping the lexus and condo.  Just driving a car in this land itself already made u a class above a lot and opens up a lot of legs.  If you live without a lexus and roll with MRT, easily save 5k a month and still live nicely on good food and clubs. 1 year later 60k (RM 150k) in the bank.  I know someone who earns that much and doing it.  A car made him suffer a year but nothing serious. 

Just my 2 cents tongue.gif
Come lets do a fast calculation.

130k income after tax should be 120k, 10k per month. Find a 1.3-1.4mil 2 bedroom condo, 35 years loan for max 80% loan, monthly installment about 3.5k+/-. Lexus the 250k model, after the 50% down payment, 10 years loan, 1.5k roughly? That's 5k gone. Say oversea trip 5-6k each, 7-8 days Europe / US type. Divide out the oversea trip, left 4k each month or 130 buck each day to eat drink play buy and feed the car. Not a very good life compared to the his 200k rm pay in MY. 200k rm stay bungalow drive bm then get carjacked already right?

Money not enough cry.gif .
Fiona Chin
post Aug 25 2014, 08:39 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(trade_mark @ Aug 23 2014, 07:30 PM)
Hi friends,

I'll be moving to Singapore in October, will be looking for room to rent in the next coming weeks, was wondering if anyone can recommend any good and reliable house agents?

If anyone can PM me the details that would be awesome. Thanks!!! smile.gif
Better do some google of the average rent in the area and what can/can't do. Agents are sales people, don't believe everything they say. Later they tell you you can sublet your room out for the weekends if you go back home, and charge 150 per night because some hotels are charging 300 per night. 1000 rental room is cheap already, rent out 4 nights you can cover your monthly rent + extra income.
Fiona Chin
post Aug 27 2014, 10:54 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(0126910937 @ Aug 26 2014, 07:22 PM)
Hi i need to clarify something, u know when any employer wana  hire some1 they will ask if u hav any criminal record rite? The thing is to wat extend or criminal record the sg govt will reject ur job application? Bcoz rite now got company wana hire me n they r in the process of getting for me the working permit from the sg govt. So of coz the sg govt wil scan n find out who dafak iam rite?
You served your time / paid your fine, that's why you are called ex-criminal. Hiding the info make you a criminal, again, and future ticket to Changi prison for fraud. SG has yellow ribbon project, don't worry, not all employer shunt ex-criminal.
Fiona Chin
post Sep 5 2014, 12:16 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 5 2014, 09:45 AM)
I applied quite some as well, but I wonder if they feel troublesome to apply EP, or maybe I am really not that good gua... wink.gif
I've been applying for around 2months ad, maybe should find a job in msia and accumulate 1-2 years experiences 1st.
You applying a diploma job can't be expecting a degree pay. You need to understand why there is WP, S Pass and EP in the first place and why they raise the EP requirements recently. All these is to ensure the local interest are kept, not make you, a foreigner, getting a job that easy by low balling the locals. The Fair Consideration Framework protecting the mid range. Top range still open for grabs. Wait few more years later another policy come out to protect job above 12k cry.gif . Anyway, the conventional engineers' starting pay always pathetic. Saw some applications in fiance office much lower than your 2.4k shocking.gif , 2 years exp, from university of don't know where. You have to start some where.
Fiona Chin
post Sep 6 2014, 12:57 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 5 2014, 05:28 PM)
haha,ok, but then being a SG grad and worked in sg before, you will sure get good offers here.
I actually don't really like to go SG work as well, but being born in JB...haiz...haha
Family in JB and work in SG is the best group in this thread, earn SGD spend RM. Others have to leave their families, travel at 30,000 feet back home.
Fiona Chin
post Sep 6 2014, 11:16 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Sep 6 2014, 09:45 PM)
biggrin.gif Got many high-earners here, our pay maybe just their 1/10th tongue.gif
QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 6 2014, 10:57 PM)
I see, not bad. I got a ok offer previously, but I rejected cuz wanna wait for other opportunity. Feel damn regret...
less than 2k u can survive, but basically u cnt save any money, in that case what's the point working in spore..haha
Just start somewhere and don't feel bad about it. No need to compare with others. Some one close to me started 1.8k engineering job, 8 years later cross the 10k mark, so yeah, work hard you younglings.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0498sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:51 AM