> So difficult making rm200 a day meh?

scorptim
post Apr 17 2014, 03:14 PM

700 posts

Aiyo, technically what TS posted is not wrong, even though a bit exaggerated...most people selling food, the profit margin is at least 100%, meaning if they sell something for RM2, the cost is only RM1 or less. So technically all of you arguing about cost, I really don't think that the cost is the main issue here.

Then again the real issue which makes it not as simple as TS says is...how can you sell such amounts/volume of your product? For a burger stall to sell 40 burgers in a day is not exactly easy as there's just too many burger stalls around, plus you also need to make sure your burger tastes good in order to compete with the other stalls.

The same applies for all the other examples given...its not just about working hard, its also about talent and how good you can make your prodcut, if your product is crap...how hard you work also no use la.
scorptim
post Apr 17 2014, 04:31 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2014, 03:22 PM)
which part is abit exaggeratedi correct it.

so you saying a packet of nasi lemak selling for rm1.00 cost 50cent to make? a packet of teh tarik will actually cost 80cents to make?

if you can sell 40 burgers you are doing well above average liao, 40 burgers 1 night is like selling 4 burgers in 1 hour. in my place there is only 1 burger stall within 300 meters radius. there's only 2-3 stalls around the whole area.

if you sell 20 burgers per night, you already making more money than average in /k. bear in mind it's rm5 per burger, no egg no extra cheese extra patty yo.

if you don't have talent you can always pump more heart into it. making burger is not rocket science. you don't need to win an award for people to continue buy from you.

but then again what's the attitude of average Malaysians?
I said AT LEAST 100% profit margin, which means it could be more....things like teh tarik all profit margin would be around 500% easily, the cost most likely 20 to 30 cents only.

correct its 4 burgers in 1 hour, but you also know makan business la, its not rapid flow of customers whole day, certain hours of the day there would hardly be people buying burger from you. for the hours you did not sell anything, you need to accumulate your taregt to the next hour and so on. There is no guarantee you can sell 4 burgers an hour. Do you personally know people who sell burgers? why not try ask the abang yg selling burger how many burger he can sell in a day...40 is not as easy a target to achieve as you make it sound....if sell 20 burgers a day...lets assume rm2 is your cost per burger...the balance rm3x20 = rm60 per day = RM1800 per month (including weekends). Seriously, how many ppl work for rm1800 per month including weekends, if got they memang sohai la.

I believe that everyone needs to find things which they are suited to doing, something that they have at least some talent in. Of course you can pump more heart into it, but how far will heart alone take you? Especially when it involves cooking, talent is very important, people not gonna buy burger from you if the taste/quality is just about the same with what they are able to fix for themselves at home. It doesn't need to be great, but it needs to be good tasting at least to have a steady flow of customers.

On the bolded part, where the hell do you live that burger with no egg no extra cheese and patty to be RM5???? i think if just burger biasa with single patty maximum also RM4 in most places....seriously you sell burger biasa rm5...then really don't expect much people to buy it unless the taste is FEET LICKING GOOD.
scorptim
post Apr 17 2014, 04:47 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2014, 04:38 PM)
depends which burger they have rm3,4,5. egg is never standard, extra cheese, extra patty all add abit but at most rm2.

burger stalls sell at night coz night time only mamak & 7-11 open, some old town & mcD. if you open near cyber cafe 1 hour 4 burger should not be a problem.

also burger stalls rely on their own special sauce to make a difference.

sadly most people don't know where they excel, or what their talent is, ever sadder thing is many don't even get to know themselves.
Oh ok. Luckily not all RM5. haha.

Open near cyber cafe usually have to deal/kamcing with the cc owner and need to have lobang, some places even need to pay money to majlis perbandaran and kaki pau..but I get your point, location is definitely important.

I would say that the bolded part is the main problem, if everyone know what their talent is and concentrate on it then they will excel for sure regardless where or how they do it, but in all I do agree with you that its not hard (not super easy either, but definitely not hard) to make more than 2k if you're not picky =)

0.0126sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:06 AM