> I suspect utar grad quality

LaiFany
post Apr 16 2014, 09:42 PM

150 posts

UTAR =/= KTAR. Learn the difference.
I have to agree that the level of English proficiency here in UTAR is downright terrible.
I disagree with the fact that the examination here is easy though. Tips are non-existent unlike some of the other private universities. There is no such thing as a study break either. It's 15 weeks of lecture, tutorials and practicals followed by finals without any breaks.
Keep in mind that I'm only speaking for those who aims to score. Passing is fairly easy here in UTAR, but scoring is a whole different story.
And I think the stress only comes during mid semester when all of the assignments start simultaneously. Did I mention that we cannot resit for an exam? Retaking the whole unit is the only option if you've failed.

I've been exposed to a fair number of tests questions ( and past year finals) by many other private universities with the help of friends, and I have to say, UTAR rides in the top tier in terms of difficulty and complexity. I've used Foundation in Science papers ( and similar subjects from other courses )to compare, so as to be fair.
If you're curious, those universities ( and 1 college ) are Sunway, Monash(MUFY), KTAR, Taylors, UTP, MMU, and INTI.
So it's a bit unfair to judge UTAR without even catching a glimpse of what the top scorers here are going through. Period.
LaiFany
post Apr 16 2014, 09:46 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(staind @ Apr 16 2014, 09:08 PM)
I have a group of Utarian friends who claimed that, Utar is high quality compare to public U.

Evidence? Utar fail rate is higher. 10 ppl go in, 4 ppl graduate. Whereas, in public U, 10 ppl go in, almost 10 ppl graduate.
QUOTE(hirano @ Apr 16 2014, 09:40 PM)
By that logic, safe to say your UTARian friends are stupid.
Ain't that too harsh, hirano.
The higher fail rate in UTAR is mostly due to the presence of many students that shouldn't be here in the first place. UTAR accepts any Tom, d*** and Harry.
LaiFany
post Apr 16 2014, 10:13 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Apr 16 2014, 08:52 PM)
And do you think that UTAR is the only uni in Malaysia where you can't resit for the exam again if you failed?

Nope.

Those who failed the foundation, can go saupei la. People can go on "reading" (yes, reading) the whole textbook, but still get an E grade. They do not know the technique of studying (which may differ from person to person).

You said that sem break is only 2 weeks? Study more than other uni? Haha. Bet they only take like what... 4 subjects per semester? Meh. You want to compare, please compare the subjects number and credit hours.
Yes, studying techniques are important and good grades cannot be justified by merely hard work as opposed to what is taught in SJKC's.
I don't think we study more than other universities though our sem breaks are short. Personally, I think my lecturers don't cover enough to equip us properly for the finals. shakehead.gif Touch N Go is the best way I could describe it. That's why students are often in for a surprise during their finals.
For Foundation, we take 5 subjects for 3 trimester. Meaning 15 subjects in a year. As for degree, my course dictates that we take 5-7 subjects during long semesters and 1-4 during short ones.
LaiFany
post Apr 16 2014, 10:15 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Apr 16 2014, 10:10 PM)
ITT, kebodohan yang teramat.

You don't go to local universities to get "tough education", "grind through classes". You go there for the high quality communities.

You get connections, learn from domain experts/peers and so on. You grind domain skills that you cannot get from going to classes. Classes are just basic supplements. If you need to "grind" through it and feel that it is difficult, you're doing it wrong.
This. It's not about the tough education. It's about all the people you meet and the experiences you get during the journey. Sadly, UTAR focuses on the former.
LaiFany
post Apr 16 2014, 10:38 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Cloud9Nos3 @ Apr 16 2014, 10:28 PM)
i dont giv a f* during in class but i pass all , never fail in my life and holding 1st class bachelor now. what so hard? stop complain and just do it la. Complain complain no use.

There is always student studying so hard but fail and student who sleep in class but pass with flying colours.  smile.gif

study is only a stepping stone to start better in career la, why so serious. too serious and be a loser . This is to all student who is in ktar and utar.
It's a nice sentiment but lu ktar ke utar. tongue.gif

0.0181sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:45 AM