AMD Radeon™ Discussion V11, Latest - 14.12 | WHQL - 14.12

stringfellow
post Apr 25 2014, 12:07 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Apr 24 2014, 09:00 PM)
Cheaper then Dell Eco 4K(30hz refresh rate)...  Samsung 4k UHD(60hz refresh rate) cost RM1,840
TN panel. That's why it's cheap. A good start though towards making it affordable. From Linus's observation, blue and purple color shifts. Still can't hold a candle to IPS (Dell UP2414Q) or IGZO (Asus PQ321Q or Dell UP3214Q).

Rig nearly finish. A few more little touches and it should be done. i7 4770K and R9 290X in Crossfire.

Nearly bought that R9 295X2 at Jayacom for future SFF build just now. Wasn't happy with the runaround and bullshit I got from them regarding the PSU power requirement to run the thing. I'm sure anyone who had the intention of buying that 295X2 had made their research on how much power it needs (12V rail, two 8-pins delivering 28A of power).

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Apr 25 2014, 12:10 AM
stringfellow
post Apr 25 2014, 10:49 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Apr 25 2014, 10:09 AM)
so.. TN panel no good ? 1 billion Color,  when test it  seem got Super fast Respond for 4K LCD, it can do 60HZ refresh rate for 4K LCD (Asus/DELL) seem charge double then SAMSUNG...
Color reproduction is the main gripe for TN panels. Most folks like CallSignVega who go for TN panels because of its response time, and in his case, for his preferred Lightboost gaming. If all you do is gaming, then TN panel should be fine. Others who do media manipulation like video and photo editing, wide color gamut befitting Adobe RGB standards is important so that the end result of their edits appear constant. You dont want the photos you edited and about to print to appear orange on print when it looks like red on screen. If you've watched LinusTechTips, they do mention color shifts in the blue and purple for that Samsung. Whites and blacks are also reproduced more faithfully on IGZO/IPS panels on the Asus and Dell. TN panels like Samsung tend to wash out on blacks.

Simply put, Samsung for gaming only, Asus and Dell for gaming and multimedia editing. If you cannot differentiate between the color reproduction or just dont care much about it, Samsung is fine.
stringfellow
post Apr 25 2014, 10:51 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Apr 25 2014, 10:40 AM)
so its your RIG that APES need to do OT yesterday night  drool.gif
TitanFall theme?
The Titanfall theme is partial, the theme is about how HOT the 290X cards are, hence the name "Furnace". tongue.gif Still need to soften the harsh orange glare shining towards the interior panel with that Titanfall design, too bright. Thinking of softening it with either nylon or wax paper. Or maybe change it to white LED strip. Have not decided yet.
stringfellow
post Apr 25 2014, 06:58 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Apr 25 2014, 02:52 PM)
its not just like what he said also, for example i like my monitor to produce more natural colours hence i go for IPS panel as well

TN doesnt show very natural colours, hence i find it not worth it nod.gif
Precisely. Maybe I need to type in simpler terms. You can't magically arrive at 4K at that cheap of a price without corners cut. Previously it was 30Hz instead of 60Hz, now it's TN panel. All the market is doing is driving up purchase so that enough people are buying these 4K panel to warrant producing them at high volume and low price. Last time, low volume therefore high cost, BUT they did not skip on QUALITY. Depends on the end user to decide if he can "tahan" seeing TN panel's inadequacies.

QUOTE(sai86 @ Apr 25 2014, 05:44 PM)
not sure about the orange color, but from the pic, can't really say as it kinda too bright as you said.
but the overall theme is juz  thumbup.gif
if you don't mind, what is your work or things that require you to build such powerful pc?
no offense as i saw you are the 1 or the few that's been getting/building the niche item on gpu. (which is impressive)

as it stands now, current gpu will need to CF/SLI to support 4k. will the next gen we'll see single gpu to power up 4k at maximum graphic settings? or at 20nm? hmm.gif (60 or 120 fps)
Those shots were simple FB shots. Photoshoot to happen later, with proper ambient lighting. I fly planes for a living.

You CAN run 4K with a single Titan/780Ti/TitanBlack/290X provided you turn down the eye candy to medium with no AA. That'll give you good enough framerates to be enjoyable to play. Question is, people buy 4K panels to run games at its most beautiful, if had to scale down, might as well stick with 1080p and turn up all settings to maximum. I belong in the camp that believes in turning up settings all the way up, and spec builds based on that. In restrospect, I believe it's wiser to first decide what panel/monitor you're using at what native resolution, and THEN ONLY build your rig based on what runs best at that resolution. A lot of potential wasted when you build a rig first, then find out that it cant run games at native res maxed out settings.
stringfellow
post Apr 28 2014, 08:15 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Done.

Moving on to the next SFF build.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Apr 28 2014, 08:16 PM
stringfellow
post Apr 28 2014, 08:50 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(R3b0rn @ Apr 28 2014, 08:23 PM)
May I know how much does it cost to build this?
You got PM. The cost approximately 1/3 the cost of my previous build.
stringfellow
post Apr 28 2014, 10:02 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Apr 28 2014, 09:43 PM)
may i know the parts used to built it?

this is a AMD GPU build right? hmm.gif
Yup.

Intel Core i7 4770K
2 x AMD Radeon R9-290X in Crossfire
Asus Z87-DELUXE GOLD motherboard

Crucial M500 960GB SSD
WD Green 4TB HDD *both hidden underneath that custom "Furnace" PSU cover*

White Corsair Graphite 600T with custom full acrylic side panel, and custom "Titanfall" back panel.
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2X8GB DDR3 RAM 1600Mhz C9 GOLD

EK-Supremacy Clean CSG GOLD CPU Waterblock
2 x EK-FC 290X Acetal Nickel with Backplate GPU Waterblocks
2 x EK-D5 pumps with GOLD Pump Mod Kit. *It's a shame cant see it from front side*
Seasonic X1250 PSU
Phobya 200mm Xtreme Rad (front)
XSPC 240mm Rad (top)
Phobya Balancer 250 GOLD Reservoir
Black Primochill Advanced LRT tubing.
Million Dollar PC "Vanilla Sands" GOLD Sleeving.
Tons of Corsair white 120mm high volume low speed fans.
GOLD fittings from Monsoon. *wanted to wait for Bitspower but too slow/no news of the gold fittings*
Orange LED x 3, one underneath PSU cover, one hidden behind rad at top of mobo, another hidden at front. Planning to change to white LED to keep the Titanfall interior panel visible in white*

stringfellow
post Apr 28 2014, 10:19 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Apr 28 2014, 10:11 PM)
APES must've been giving massive discounts for it to be 1/3 the price of your main build. @.@
It's 1/3 the price of a Tri-SLI Titan build before. I know how much profit margin system builders like APES get, even though we're closer than just "customer-business maker" relationship, I don't skimp out on them. If they don't survive, it's a loss to the PC building and modding scene. Can't have the customer untung all the time, and seller rugi until they can't keep afloat.

QUOTE(marfccy @ Apr 28 2014, 10:11 PM)
thanks biggrin.gif

really sweet build, aesthetically and in terms of performance. would like to see how it performs at 4K rclxms.gif
Tested Titanfall and Battlefield 4 briefly, 4K60 with no AA/FXAA, Titanfall is easily rock solid 60fps, BF4 gets around 45-60fps. Temperature never above 70C. I'm just anxious to run Crysis, I foresee having to scale back to get it above playable framerates.
stringfellow
post Apr 28 2014, 11:08 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Apr 28 2014, 10:40 PM)
Bro, never said anything about leading to the loss of modding scene or skimping out. Just saying you got a good deal.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Before you assume any further, some of the parts are bought myself, APES didn't supply them. The two graphics cards for example, are purchased separately by myself.
stringfellow
post Dec 27 2014, 12:36 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Dec 27 2014, 11:54 AM)
stringfellow? brows.gif
QUOTE(skylinelover @ Dec 27 2014, 12:10 PM)
Rich is richer poor is poorer sad.gif cry.gif

Now first in the country with a 4K 60Hz G-Sync monitor as well. Anyone who was at the PIKOM Fair last week would've seen it at APES's booth.

0.0470sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:08 PM