AMD Radeon™ Discussion V11, Latest - 14.12 | WHQL - 14.12

sai86
post Apr 17 2014, 05:33 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(devillightning1 @ Apr 16 2014, 07:40 PM)
1080p, still havent go CF, but now wondering if I should go anot liao
for me no.
1. your resolution is 1080p only. an OC 290 will be sufficient.
2. drop down MSAA to get higher FPS.
3. unless you got extra $$ don't mind to go. but CF290 for 1080p is very wasteful. rather get dell u2713hm or above than the extra gpu.
4. yes, CF now as you get 1440p monitor or above whistling.gif
sai86
post Apr 18 2014, 01:50 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(bl@ze @ Apr 18 2014, 11:50 AM)
Do you think can hit 120fps at 1440p with xfire 290?
Im building my pc soon so wonder if i should go single 1440p or eyefinity 1080p..
depends. if eyefinity, the bezel muz be very thin thin thin. else, for me its a blowoff. or get a Curve UHD monitor brows.gif .
if 1440p unable to satisfy you, there's still 1600p. although the price is kinda sweat.gif but cheaper than 4k atm or so.
sai86
post Apr 25 2014, 10:40 AM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Apr 25 2014, 12:07 AM)
TN panel. That's why it's cheap. A good start though towards making it affordable. From Linus's observation, blue and purple color shifts. Still can't hold a candle to IPS (Dell UP2414Q) or IGZO (Asus PQ321Q or Dell UP3214Q).

Rig nearly finish. A few more little touches and it should be done. i7 4770K and R9 290X in Crossfire.

Nearly bought that R9 295X2 at Jayacom for future SFF build just now. Wasn't happy with the runaround and bullshit I got from them regarding the PSU power requirement to run the thing. I'm sure anyone who had the intention of buying that 295X2 had made their research on how much power it needs (12V rail, two 8-pins delivering 28A of power).
so its your RIG that APES need to do OT yesterday night drool.gif
TitanFall theme?
I'm sure these sales person did not knew much about 295X power requirement unless they dwell into it.
the Samsung 4k TN is a great start to embrace 4k earlier. Jayacom already got display set for this samsung monitor? would love to see it in person.
sai86
post Apr 25 2014, 05:44 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Apr 25 2014, 10:51 AM)
The Titanfall theme is partial, the theme is about how HOT the 290X cards are, hence the name "Furnace". tongue.gif Still need to soften the harsh orange glare shining towards the interior panel with that Titanfall design, too bright. Thinking of softening it with either nylon or wax paper. Or maybe change it to white LED strip. Have not decided yet.
not sure about the orange color, but from the pic, can't really say as it kinda too bright as you said.
but the overall theme is juz thumbup.gif
if you don't mind, what is your work or things that require you to build such powerful pc?
no offense as i saw you are the 1 or the few that's been getting/building the niche item on gpu. (which is impressive)

as it stands now, current gpu will need to CF/SLI to support 4k. will the next gen we'll see single gpu to power up 4k at maximum graphic settings? or at 20nm? hmm.gif (60 or 120 fps)
sai86
post Apr 26 2014, 09:20 AM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Apr 26 2014, 08:22 AM)
14.4 WHQL driver is out
between this and RC1, any different? from guru thread. there's 2, wonder how much is the impact hmm.gif
- Notice ARB_compute_variable_group_size is missing from WHQL
- no, OGL is newer in RC1

sai86
post May 1 2014, 04:58 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(flexus90 @ May 1 2014, 04:55 PM)
Budget below 1k biggrin.gif
go get the 280X sapp Tri-X. alot of user selling it around <Rm1k depends on the other brand.
its powerful enough to drive most game on max setting for 1080p.
sai86
post May 1 2014, 08:24 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(devillightning1 @ May 1 2014, 08:21 PM)
Thanks to cstkl1 performance in BF4 since a lot better in DX11 instead of damn low FPS of 50-70. 3DMark 11 physics score also reach 10k haha, later go home start benchmarking. The issue is too high CPU voltage lol...
laa. means your veno-x kenot withstand dy. go delid the proc brows.gif
sai86
post May 2 2014, 09:37 AM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ May 2 2014, 08:01 AM)
Hi all. Want to ask owner that use R9 series card.. I was doing burn in test in furmark, and the temp max go to 86C in within 5 mins, and stay that long in next 10mins. Fan 80%. Is it still safe?

Thinking to get Arctic Acelerror 7970 Extreme, but if 86C is normal/safe temp, might saving the moneh. biggrin.gif
yes safe. its very safe. but what is the vrm temp? also furmark is a stressing software until your gpu die. so in normal circumstances, you'll hardly hit that constant temp. (unless u run furmark 24/7/365 whistling.gif )

my 7870xt almost hit 100C on gpu and 110 on VRM and yet its still very safe below the max temp. icon_rolleyes.gif
**this temp is impossible to hit on gaming.

This post has been edited by sai86: May 2 2014, 09:38 AM
sai86
post May 2 2014, 11:16 AM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ May 2 2014, 10:55 AM)
I see. Thanks for the info. Err. Im not sure about the VRM. Is it important as well?

I also notice that the review by our sifu goldfries for Asus DCUII R9 280x and furmark 15 test, temp is 86C while owikh Sapphire R9 280X Toxic and furmark 15 test, temp is 82C.

Guess i'll skip the Arctic Accelero then. tongue.gif
yes. VRM temp > GPU temp. n sometimes VRM temp may be way higher than GPU temp alot. monitoring it is important as well as mostly VRM temp will hit 125C first than the GPU temp.

GPU-Z is able to show both GPU and VRM temp.
normally, i wont go and do Furmark as it stress the hell out of d gpu alot. sweat.gif

sai86
post May 2 2014, 07:30 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

the new vapor-x fan is so freaking quiet shocking.gif
i need to crank up my speaker volume to 58 to make it audible. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sai86: May 2 2014, 07:35 PM
sai86
post May 3 2014, 10:07 AM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ May 3 2014, 12:20 AM)
Time to sell your HD7970 and get that haha
sold. now waiting to get another gc.

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ May 3 2014, 12:24 AM)
Got any source bro? hmm.gif
I think he has his eyes set on 780 Ti already. brows.gif
In Deciding process. that Vapor-X is sexy. wub.gif
waiting for review to see how good the vapor-x can OC.

on the powercolor pcs+, the only downturn of it is the 'Performance/Uber' mode in which the fan noise is juz a little under 50 dba, which is extremely loud.
the Quiet mode is superb with its noise lvl, but not the uber mode sadly.

This post has been edited by sai86: May 3 2014, 10:08 AM
sai86
post May 3 2014, 11:36 AM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ May 3 2014, 11:22 AM)
LOL, go go go with 780 Ti, fastest single GPU out there. brows.gif My only reservations with the Tri-X style cooler is the fan rattling issue, hopefully it doesn't affect this model.

I think you can just stick with Quiet mode, since the recorded temp is 76C only, compared to 6x ++ on Uber. Of course remember to add in +/- 10C due to our hot weather. laugh.gif
juz notice you are using zotac 780ti amp as well. may i know how is the temp, fan noise and OC performance?
sai86
post May 3 2014, 02:14 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 3 2014, 01:44 PM)
His is the normal GTX780 AMP!, not the Ti version. Hahahah.

What's your budget like? If you can go higher you can get the GTX780Ti GHz Edition or GTX780Ti Lightning.
<Rm2.5k. hence aiming the Zotac ti amp. but still another 3 weeks to go before getting 1.
Ghz Edition is the beast iinm, in our shore.
at this price point, for me going either 780ti or 290x is not wrong, but the thing to choose is, which Tech do you/I wan to go.
sadly we can't get the best of both world in 1 rig. else, i would love to marry 780ti with 290x.
nvidia (780ti)- Shadowplay, shield, Better frame-pacing (apply to single gpu?), TXAA (got a forumer told me that it blur out sucks iinm), Physx (recent game did not use this special effect?), best single gaming gpu for my budget.
amd (r290x) - mantle, tress fx wub.gif ,RadeonPro+Sweetfx (this is insanely a must for SP game), cheaper and performance is not losing out much to the above, <- the only pros i'm able to figure out.
sai86
post May 3 2014, 02:26 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ May 3 2014, 02:17 PM)
already got 7970, buy a Nvidia card then proceed to use both brows.gif

swap the cards whenever you feel like using AMD or Nvidia brows.gif
already sold d 7970, hence getting a new card. lol. require physical strength.
after taking out d 7970, i only realize how quiet my PC has been. laugh.gif
sai86
post May 3 2014, 04:02 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

PowerColor R9 290X Devil 13 Dual Core sneak pictures!!! whistling.gif

This post has been edited by sai86: May 3 2014, 04:02 PM
sai86
post May 3 2014, 07:13 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ May 3 2014, 05:42 PM)
Habis, satu lagi poison for you. laugh.gif
Don't worry, this should be poisonless to most ppl here. its Dual core = 295X2.
hence, not many ppl will be able to afford or will go for it. its a niche market for enthusiast.
sai86
post May 4 2014, 10:28 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(llk @ May 4 2014, 10:10 PM)
Picture leaked by China website, www chiphell.com

Can read also in Videocardz
i''m not sure about air cooler. Since AMD ref is with watercooler, what will be the pricing for the Air cooler? and how is the temp?
i think its better to go for the ref 295X2 than air cooler for this monster.
sai86
post May 16 2014, 02:43 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

Will we get the vapor-x version for r290x? saw the 8gb is an exclusive to OC UK.
sai86
post May 16 2014, 03:16 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ May 16 2014, 03:09 PM)
that credit page of heaven usually run at over 1k fps, some gpu will coil whine like mine last time. I bet ur card will whine when running 3d mark ice storm too.

What i did to eliminate it is to set global frame limiter with msi afterburner to 200 fps.

My gpu coil whine gone after few months of usage btw.
No, amd canceled 8gb card. Ocuk get exclusive deal to sell those that already preproduce by sapphire.
that is damn sad. the i-Fan is great sad.gif
sai86
post May 17 2014, 05:26 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(meons @ May 17 2014, 05:23 PM)
not me but my customer.. 
he buy wrong card  lol... i told  him to buy dual unit of R9 290X  if  GTX780TI@titan  no stock... but he  go buy  R9 295X2 sweat.gif  sweat.gif
hantu betoi tokey kedai whistling.gif
sama jer. should say 2 pieces of 290X instead of dual 290x = 295X2 tongue.gif

0.0327sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:10 AM