♠The Nexus 5 Official Thread V7♠, 4.4.3 (KTU84M) launched :D

kuance
post Apr 26 2014, 10:43 AM

899 posts

guys... My Galaxy nexus officially died today working in my factory and dropped from high scaffolding. I really LOVE nexus, so I am thinking of the new nexus 5.

Any guy out there may shine some light on me giving some opinion? nowadays, HTC M8 or Samsung Galaxy S5 got "tablet-like" battery performance, but i really love to be a flash-aholic and play around with lotsa custom rom.

One more issue i am thinking was that i heard Nexus 5 facing problem with dropped data with 4.4.2 and no one has fix that even in custom rom? is that true? if yes then its a big turn down until the 4.4.3 shows up with fixes....

Guide me please guy! give some open minded OPINION HERE
kuance
post Apr 26 2014, 10:59 AM

899 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ Apr 26 2014, 10:51 AM)
For flashaholics are there any other choices?

I was from HTC M7 and although HTC replaced me with a new set after almost a year - its there collecting dust.

Never been happier with Nexus 5 - just read my sig
what about the data drop issue... are there any rom out there that temporary fix that out rather than waiting for 4.4.3 google update??

And i tot HTC have those boom sound or so whatever speaker it is... nexus 5 have problem with low volume?

thanks for brainwashing me.... my hand is sided on the nexus 5 now actually : )
kuance
post Apr 26 2014, 11:17 AM

899 posts

[quote=Xnet,Apr 26 2014, 11:08 AM]
[quote=kuance,Apr 26 2014, 10:59 AM]what about the data drop issue... are there any rom out there that temporary fix that out rather than waiting for 4.4.3 google update??

And i tot HTC have those boom sound or so whatever speaker it is... nexus 5 have problem with low volume?

thanks for brainwashing me.... my hand is sided on the nexus 5 now actually : )

My only gripe with Nexus 5 is the weak GPS
Other than that I have not had any data drop issues.

For your viewing pleasure

[attachmentid=3946501]

[/quote]

I tot there is a lot of apps out there can dead lock GPS in a second??? plus there are a few AOSP rom that do hardcode of it for a better gps performance....
kuance
post Apr 26 2014, 11:37 AM

899 posts

i have one question here.... in XDA... our nexus 5 is refer to

"Nexus 5 Original Android Development"

OR

"Nexus 5 Android Development"

i cant see the diff? why seperated?
kuance
post Apr 26 2014, 11:49 AM

899 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Apr 26 2014, 11:42 AM)
original forum is for those group of first tier dev like PA, CM, AOKP, Slim, etc...
and the another 1 is for those second tier dev as their source coming from first tier dev, e.g PAC rom are combine of Pananoid/AOKP/CyanogenMod.
thanks for clarifying... good to see u here djlah.. i know u from the Gnex... lol... seems like i gonna join the hammerhead soon!
kuance
post Apr 26 2014, 11:54 AM

899 posts

anyway...the n5 is a non-removable battery... what happen if there is bootloop ...like gnex.. i will just plug the batt out... then go into recovery if any **** happen...
kuance
post Apr 27 2014, 03:46 PM

899 posts

called 1gadget to inquiry... screw it... talking attitude like S**t... really... DD is so much better regarding of service
kuance
post Apr 28 2014, 01:09 PM

899 posts

anyone have the red nexus 5? now no stock for black... only white and red.... which is better among the only choice now?
kuance
post Apr 28 2014, 01:31 PM

899 posts

QUOTE(kllam @ Apr 28 2014, 01:28 PM)
the darkside is strong in me, that's why choose black
i also side on the black... but the problem is no more stock... left with the white and red... and i need a phone urgent now as my gnex died.... HOW!!!! sad.gif

kuance
post Jun 12 2014, 01:24 PM

899 posts

Guys, its been quite sometimes i haven post anything here and I remember back to the Gnex day I am quite active in forum. Anyway since Im free today, I just want to share some of my setup of my Nexus 5 and some comment about it.

First of all, I am using 4.4.3 Rastakat + 4.4.3 Trinity Hybrid. And with an updated new radio for 4.4.3. There are many reason behind I am using this combo as previously I am a big fan of PA 4.3/4.4 but why Rastakat now. Let me explain.

First of all, Rastakat ROM is really INSANELY smooth, sure i always tell myself, heck man, N5 is already a fast phone, throw any crap rom in, it will run as smooth also. But guess I am wrong here. Once Rastakat is on your hand for a week or so, try going back to PA, Purity, Slim, Mahdi, or any other rom and it will make you feel "somethings wrong". Next why with Trinity, the answer is Trinity works very very well with Rastakat. Super fast, and the battery is awesome. Franco and ElementalX is good too. But what I can tell, Franco is not as fast as trinity but with franco color, and elementalX got too many feature that i Dont need at all. My battery life is very good during idle, 100% went to sleep at 12am, wake up at 7am, it went down to 98%, and believe me, sometimes when I'm lucky, I get 99%. With about 20 hours on battery, I will get an average of 3hr30min SOT, with fairly above average usage. Trust me this number is legit, and those who claim 5 hours SOT. The only way I can think of achieving that is to on your screen standby at homescreen with minimal brightness doing nothing till it flat out.

Afterall, I WARN YOU AND I DO NOT want to repeat again. N5 is originally FAST! with whatever ROM you put in. But Rastakat+Trinity makes a different. For flasholic out there, try it out and you will know why i say so.

And oh ya, as for the 4.4.3 radio, people around XDA have mixed review. for me, i dont find anything different. Digi user.

This post has been edited by kuance: Jun 12 2014, 01:28 PM
kuance
post Jun 12 2014, 01:43 PM

899 posts

QUOTE(xxdesire @ Jun 12 2014, 01:29 PM)
Legit review  thumbup.gif
Tried before Rastakat. Gooding battery life even with its kernel  biggrin.gif
Since Rasta and Trinity update liao to 4.4.3, and this weekend sure very boring at work, I'll flash and test  brows.gif
Yeah, you should try, Rastakat have officially 4.4.3 but with trinity i think they still dont have it officially. You need to search in trinity thread XDA to find the 4.4.3 trinity hybrid kernel to download.

EDIT: or maybe i should just give u guys the link:) (not sure if this is agaist the forum rules)

Rastakat 4.4.3 ROM: http://fitsnugly.euroskank.com/?rom=rastak...vice=hammerhead

Trinity 4.4.3 Hybrid: http://goo.gl/38Uxte

New radio: http://downloads.codefi.re/autoprime/LG/Nexus_5/Modems ( GET THE LGD820_KTU84M_RADIO.zip)
kuance
post Jun 12 2014, 04:33 PM

899 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Jun 12 2014, 04:09 PM)
wasn't that we need to get 821 for radio ? sorry if i miss out something....
not sure about the 821... but i saw 820 with 4.4.3 for nexus 5 and so i assume that is for us.

and as for those link for rastakat and trinity, read back a page or 2. I've give a full link there.
kuance
post Jun 12 2014, 04:51 PM

899 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Jun 12 2014, 04:40 PM)
thanks... after post only i saw ur link.
downloading the rom now.

currently with elementx kernal, will flash this kernal try see the diff.
remember to wipe cache and dalvik. XD have fun and let the rasta fly smile.gif

0.0433sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:23 AM